Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wednesday promotion at the Jackpot

• 27-07-2008 8:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭

SEEING DOUBLE???

NO, WE’RE OFF AGAIN…

EVERY WEDNESDAY

If you never got a chance to play in the one table satellite for the Paddypowerpoker.com Irish Winter Festival of Poker tickets, don’t worry…

WE’RE DOING IT ALL AGAIN

Yes, from the 30th July, any player finishing first or second in our Wednesday €40+€5 freezeout will win entry into a one table satellite being held on the 3rd September at 8pm.

The winner of that satellite will win a ticket into the €500+€50 NLH Freezeout being held at Citywest as part of the Paddypowerpoker.com Irish Winter Festival of Poker. And if you finish second you will be entered into the €200+€20 NLH re-buy event at the winter festival.

Please be advised that seats won for the satellite on September 3rd are non-transferable. Likewise, the two entries for The Paddypowerpoker.com Irish Winter Festival of Poker won at the September 3rd satellite are non-transferable. For the satellite, players will receive 3500 chips with a 30 min clock for the first 3 levels and a 20 min clock thereafter. The satellite will start at 8pm on Wednesday September 3rd. The Paddypowerpoker.com Irish Winter Festival of Poker runs from the 24th-27th October. All details of this tournament can be found at www.thejackpot.ie. In the event of a player winning a seat in either of these tournaments and that player is playing the main event, this prize will be refunded in cash upon proof of entry into the main event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Anyone up for a last longest in this tonigth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

How many people do they normally get for this?

Usually 5-6 tables. Good craic.

i think it was 70 last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

I think im gonna take a spin in to this tonight first tournie in the Jackpot. Does it start at 9?

Fantastic little tournie will defo be back for it.

Great job Duke. Lovely tournament, great structure.

You start with 100 BB's and a half hour clock, all for €45. Good numbers too, 60ish last night.

Highly recommended.

A few players commented to the poker room staff about the structure of the tournament a few weeks ago and like a flash they responded and now it is the best structured weekly tournament in Dublin imo.

This is defo how a poker room should be run. Well done to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I agree,
    Well done Mellor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Like a flash? I was harassing Sarah for the last maybe 8 months about this structure.

Pffft, lets not get all back slappy here. They took their time.

It was a sweet move though and the structure is now excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

I was harassing Sarah for the last maybe 8 months

ya durty fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

ITT-Pat wrote: »
    ya durty fecker

worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭ElectraBlue

Killme00 wrote: »
    Great job Duke. Lovely tournament, great structure.

You start with 100 BB's and a half hour clock, all for €45. Good numbers too, 60ish last night.

Highly recommended.

I agree - where else can you get a good night out for that price!? First time I played last night, out just before the bubble. GG!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

This is still on for tonight presumably?

yup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

how many runners this get last week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Any idea what time I would win this at? I've work the next day ;)

Hmm, you'd win it about the 12th of never ;D

but it might end at about 1-2ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭digiman

Mellor wrote: »
    Hmm, you'd win it about the 12th of never ;D

but it might end at about 1-2ish

That doesn't seem to bad, I will obviously be running like God to win in that time. Would have thought it would have been longer with all this talk of better structures and that. I might make my monthly live poker appearance then so

Wel, i'm basing this on the average over the last weeks, I didnt play last week,
    so if this new structure is amazing, its 3 latest i'd say (the nitty types get bored early here, leaving the laggy fish who don't understand stack size ;))

It got 51 runners and the final table started a little after 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

might give this a spin tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

I shall be making a sober appearance at this, no doubt ill be out first as per usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

boardsie last longest anyone?

pwned by rag2gar :(

50+ runners maybe 60... was packed. and the structure for this is quality for 40 bills. best weekly tournament???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

yeah brilliant tourney- struggled badly through first half, 1800 at the break, survived somehow (no doubt due to the structure), got going eventually, took a bad hit on final table bubble blind on blind, my AJ no good for KJ, and so landed on the final table as short stack- all in with 33, called by 22, 2 on the river :mad: but a really good tourney, great craic, met some old friends and a few new ones..definitely be playing this again

Sorry bout that! :rolleyes:

consultech wrote: »
    Sorry bout that! :rolleyes:
    Was enjoyable, table draw at the start was slim on value. But a good laugh, a few strange questions though.
    And the value soon followed
    Hit Keith with a pretty bad beat 16 players out.
    Great structure for 40 blips, almost €2400 prize pool,
    €920 for first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Well done Mellor, time to take it up a gear and start playing some bigger tourneys, you have the game, no doubt

rag2gar wrote: »
    Well done Mellor, time to take it up a gear and start playing some bigger tourneys, you have the game, no doubt

he's a luck box, set no good against his over pair, and getting his AQ in as a huge dog against my KJ all in pre... disgraceful player that chap! :p

Yeah, I did get lucky in two spots. But they were the only two times I was in behind.
    But in defense, A10<10 5, AK < K 5
    after after only playing 3 hands over 45 mins (two were blind hands),
    my raises still weren't getting through I open with JJ and get 4 callers :eek:,

I blame my inspired double BB squeeze, image building all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Im glad i got stuck the 50 quid in cash before the tournament now and clearly had to stay to get out of the hole. I ran good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Was enjoyable, table draw at the start was slim on value. But a good laugh, a few strange questions though.
    And the value soon followed
    Hit Keith with a pretty bad beat 16 players out.
    Great structure for 40 blips, almost €2400 prize pool,
    €920 for first

Was that you with the J9h against Keith's A9, with you hitting the flush on the river?

Yup, that would be lucky hand number you. Which one were you at the table.

BTW to any one reading, its a little more complex than A9 vre J9, :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

I just moved into seat 2 when that hand happened. You were running all over the table after that, raising minimum of one in every three hands, re-raising Declan a few times and getting more walks than i've ever seen! You completely owned the table!! It was frustrating as hell as I so soooo card dead it wasn't funny :(

Well played though, good to put another face to a boardsie!

[FROM MY POST IN ANOTHER THREAD...]

...played...a wee bit nittilly. Only got it in as an underdog once with 22 v 33 at final table after I isolated Jools' (?) extremely shortstacked all-in (2.5 BB's) and spiked a deuce on the river on her rolleyes.gif Also had my AA cracked by JJ AIPF for bout 20% my stack etc etc.

2nd in chips 5 handed I reckoned I was on course for a top-two finish, plus entry to the satellite for 500NE event, but biggest turning point came at 2000/4000 when I raised first in from SB with A4s and got a caller in BB. He had been playing pretty loose/3-betting his edges (AK x 2/QQ I think) pre-flop a bit, and I had been a bit busy from late position with A-small etc, but showing decent hands like AJs/99/AK 3 of the times when not called.

(Pot 30k) Flop K-4-2 rag. I lead for Half pot, he min-raises (We both have about 45/50k left). In hindsight I think I probably made the right laydown, still had about 30k left, and I hadn't seen this kind of apparent value-raising from him before. He showed A9 afterwards anyway. Had he shoved my line may have been different (?). He played the other stack sizes off me well though, there were 2 with less than me left.

Have only ever played in two of these - 2nd & 4th place respectively...

Lao Lao wrote: »
    I just moved into seat 2 when that hand happened. You were running all over the table after that, raising minimum of one in every three hands, re-raising Declan a few times and getting more walks than i've ever seen! You completely owned the table!! It was frustrating as hell as I so soooo card dead it wasn't funny :(

Well played though, good to put another face to a boardsie!

The only reason he hadn't started this earlier was because of Jeff, Gary and I. Once he sucked out on me he just opened his game right up. The A6 hand at the start was a perfect example of using position and, to be honest, the A9 v J9 hand at the end (for me) was a great hand as we were both adjusting our ranges to catch each other.

I was really impressed with how you played overall Mellor. You are dead right about the table being sick thin on value. Mark aside and the guy who shoved into my trip Aces there really was so little dead money there. You definitely had the best seat on a very bad table though. Next time I want position on you and we'll see how good you run :D

Well done mate.

Thanks Keith.
    I was pretty happy with my position early on, (example the A6 and K10 hands) and you're right about adjusting once you, Jeff and Gary left. Pretty much was able to keep that up until the end.

I didn't post the final hand. Might as well.
    I had just turned down a deal in my favour
    Heads-up blinds 4k/8k
    I raise my button with Q10spades, I make it 20k
    Villian flats.
    Flop is 6s10cJs
    Villian leads for 30k (70-80k behind, i cover my a decent bit)
    I shove, he calls and shows 78
    Drawing thin as two straight cards complete my flush, and if he hits top straight, I still have 14 outs
    Board bricks out, Cash + ticket

Thanks Keith.
    I was pretty happy with my position early on, (example the A6 and K10 hands) and you're right about adjusting once you, Jeff and Gary left. Pretty much was able to keep that up until the end.

I didn't post the final hand. Might as well.
    I had just turned down a deal in my favour
    Heads-up blinds 4k/8k
    I raise my button with Q10spades, I make it 20k
    Villian flats.
    Flop is 6s10cJs
    Villian leads for 30k (70-80k behind, i cover my a decent bit)
    I shove, he calls and shows 78
    Drawing thin as two straight cards complete my flush, and if he hits top straight, I still have 14 outs
    Board bricks out, Cash + ticket

Well done mate - You were on my right at final table, weren't you?

Yeah, seat 1, chiplead

I came 4th in this again last night, second week in a row...

Who won it in the end?

It's that time again... The sunny ("sunny") evening might keep people away though?

I'll be shootin for final table number 4 out of 4 played later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

well im not going to be there tonight so you could win it alright

mickste wrote: »
    well im not going to be there tonight so you could win it alright

haha, indeed. Did you keep all the chips last week and win it?

TBH A part of me's been dyin to get knocked out of this fookin thing early on the last two weeks so I can get a decent night's sleep...

Some of the maddest $hit I've ever seen luck-wise at this last night. Those of you who were there know what I'm talking about (I'm not referring to my own luck).

Out in 10th :( Would've been a lot deeper but for the above...

Who won it?

how many runners?

30 or so, nothin tanfastic... €550 or so for first AFAIK, 6 paid.

Vera's game will have had an effect on this without a doubt

yeah i was surprised it got 30

Yeah, was expecting 15 or so, the night to win a sat ticket