Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting accused of being racist

• 26-07-2008 12:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Has anyone else here been accused of racism by the immigrants for no good reason? Its happening to me all the time lately. Its funny but confusing at the same time. I like most immigrants in Dublin especially the Polish but these racism accusations are pissing me off. Mostly the Africans accusing me but 1 Polish woman did too.

I'm naturally rude its my style I can't help it I always cut in front of people getting on the bus and 3 times in the past 2 weeks Africans came up to me saying **** like "Do you have a problem with me because I'm black?" and stupid **** like that and this Polish woman was asking me something with a mad thick accent so I said "what the hell are you talking about? speak english" and she started calling me a racist.

A couple of my friends got accused by the Africans of racism too. Is this becoming a trend in Dublin? Do the immigrants have the idea that Dubliners are racist or something? They're probably right though Dubliners are racist *****. Everyone knows that. They're racist towards people from different towns let alone other countries.

Has anyone else here been accused of a being a racist by Africans or other immigrants?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭BogWog

Another thing remember those immigrants that got stabbed a few months ago in Drimnagh the immigrants seem to think that those Polish lads were killed cuz they were Polish. It was in Drimnagh for **** sake. Its a bad area. That kinda **** happens. If Irish people moved into the **** areas in Krakow there'd probably be loads of Irish immigrants getting murdered not cuz they're Irish though. Because they were wandering around the wrong area.

I think the immigrants have the wrong idea about the Irish. They've probably been watching too many films and they're getting us mixed up with the racist Americans you see in the films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

BogWog wrote: »
    They've probably been watching too many films and they're getting us mixed up with the racist Americans you see in the films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Well said. Been drinkin tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

I like most immigrants in Dublin

Yeah you are a racist. What immigrants dont you like? and why dont you like them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Get used to it. Ireland has seemed to be leaning always towards racism against non-white people, ever heard stories of racism against whites in Ireland on RTE, etc...? Well I haven't. It's nothing new, I've been accused so many times now of being racist I've lost count.

Example, I was working at a festival there a few weeks back and in the canteen me and my mate were at a table, we'd finished our dinner and were about to head then a black man sat down beside us and we stood up, in doing that he goes "do you have a problem with me?" me and my mate thought he was joking but he was geniune.:rolleyes:

Saying that working in a retail shop like myself you get alot of immigrants and I never had a problem ever with any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

You are not racist(well i dont think you)

People tend to use racism to escape situations e.g. You aske yer wan to speal english ans she snapped...

A bit OTT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

"what the hell are you talking about? speak english" and she started calling me a racist.

It's quite rude and condescending, but not racist.
    Do the immigrants have the idea that Dubliners are racist or something? They're probably right though Dubliners are racist *****. Everyone knows that. They're racist towards people from different towns let alone other countries.

Contradicting your point here a little. A lot actually.
    Another thing remember those immigrants that got stabbed a few months ago in Drimnagh the immigrants seem to think that those Polish lads were killed cuz they were Polish.

No one thinks that. It was a case of decent folk vs. scumbags, not Irish vs. Polish, even the thickest polish people understand that.

If there was ever any doubt, the solidarity, heart and generosity shown by irish people in the aftermath of the murder made everything clear.
    If Irish people moved into the **** areas in Krakow there'd probably be loads of Irish immigrants getting murdered

Lol, what do youy think Poland is, like Beyrut or something?
    Has anyone else here been accused of a being a racist by Africans or other immigrants?

I train people in my work, a lot of foreigners. I've been called racist, usually in ridiculus situations - one fella said that we gave him the slowest computer because he was black. I always confront these people and they usually back off, because they know that they've nothing to back it up with, and are just chancing their arm.

But once I involved HR and went down disciplinary route. I din't really care that much, but this lad was really mouthing off and we decided that it'd would be good to have some mark of it in his file, for the sake of people who will have to work with him after his training. And it's our policy to do it, ever since.

Guards get called racist a lot, and I know that some of the started charging people with slander for that.

What I mean is, by now everyone knows that there are chancers out there who will use the race card whenever it suits them, so it's much easier to stand up and defend yourself than it used to be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

bog....wog ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

If a non-national asks you on a bus "are you racist" they are just trying to embarrass you.
    Shout "yes" and maybe the rest of the bus will start cheering!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Happened to me before, had to explain to the guy that I thought he was an asshole because he was an asshole, nothing to do with his skin colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

It's never happened to me. Maybe a bit of manners might be in order.

Having said that I have not worked with too many but I do know that when you've useless ****ers who are foreign getting disciplined etc, they play the racist card a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I'm sure I've read the name bog wog on Stormfront before...probably wrong though.

Never been called racist, mainly because my best mate is Libyan so it wouldn't really hold up if I was there chatting to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mollydolly271

yes, it is happening too often now as above poster said the work place is the worst for it. i have seen it in many situations where the "are u racist card" is played when they r getting in trouble for something.i suspose u can blame the likes of "the equality athority" and the likes for taking so many of these cases and putting employers in the situations that they r afraid to say boo to theese people and therefore end up being racist to the irish staff as they get in trouble for the same things forginers get away with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I'm naturally rude its my style I can't help it I always cut in front of people getting on the bus and 3 times in the past 2 weeks Africans came up to me saying **** like "Do you have a problem with me because I'm black?" and stupid **** like that and this Polish woman was asking me something with a mad thick accent so I said "what the hell are you talking about? speak english" and she started calling me a racist.

Sounds like you're just an ignorant p***k, but no you're not racist.

Invincibleirish I don't like the gypsies. They're arrogant two faced pricks. I had 2 Romanian friends good friends too and every time Irish thugs were messing with them they got me to help them out but every single time their Romanian friends that didn't speak English were messing with me trying to rob me they wouldn't help me out at all. They'd side with their other friends just cuz they were Romanian. In my experience most Romanians are like that so **** them.

Haha gavin I know exactly what your talking about. Thats exactly what I'm talking about. They have some sorta preconception that we're racist or something. Like I said they've been watching too many films.

ojewriej wrote: »
    No one thinks that. It was a case of decent folk vs. scumbags, not Irish vs. Polish, even the thickest polish people
    understand that.
    Yeah exactly. My friend got stabbed in the arse last year but not because he wasn't from Inchicore just because he ran into a bunch of scumbags in Inchicore.
    Lol, what do youy think Poland is, like Beyrut or something?
    Eastern Europe is mad as **** from what I hear.

I train people in my work, a lot of foreigners. I've been called racist, usually in ridiculus situations - one fella said that we gave him the slowest computer because he was black. I always confront these people and they usually back off, because they know that they've nothing to back it up with, and are just chancing their arm.
    Yeah I don't get it. It must be all these films about white racists in America and England that get these Africans going. They take it as truth and think white people must be racists.
    Guards get called racist a lot, and I know that some of the started charging people with slander for that.
    I can understand that. The gardai usually have real attitude problems and act like ignorant bastards if I wasn't Irish I'd probably misinterpret it as racism too.
    What I mean is, by now everyone knows that there are chancers out there who will use the race card whenever it suits them, so it's much easier to stand up and defend yourself than it used to be.
    What pisses me off is Ireland isn't that racist at all so they shouldn't be abusing Ireland by playing the racist card just cuz they can. I've never had a shred of racism in me so it pissed Africans start calling me racist. They have the wrong idea. I love Africans. From living my whole life in Ireland with only white people its brilliant having black girls moving in. All Irish people like black women. I don't understand why the crazy bitches think we're racist though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Haha gavin I know exactly what your talking about. Thats exactly what I'm talking about. They have some sorta preconception that we're racist or something. Like I said they've been watching too many films.

Good man.;)

Wouldn't be a fan of the Roma Gypsies myself, if you've ever read my two threads on After Hours about two incidents with them I ahd you'd know. BTW didn't really understand your post but on all Roma Gypsies origin from Romania.

bog....wog ?
    Princess Innocent Knickers???
    Nolanger wrote: »
    If a non-national asks you on a bus "are you racist" they are just trying to embarrass you.
    Shout "yes" and maybe the rest of the bus will start cheering!
    But I'm not a racist thats what bothers me. A few of my friends are racist ***** and they bother immigrants every chance they get but I like immigrants. I shouldn't be the one getting accused of this ****.
    meglome wrote: »
    Happened to me before, had to explain to the guy that I thought he was an asshole because he was an asshole, nothing to do with his skin colour.
    Yeah a ***** a **** nobody should have to keep their opinion to themselves just because the **** happens to be from a different country.
    Jay D wrote: »
    It's never happened to me. Maybe a bit of manners might be in order.

Having said that I have not worked with too many but I do know that when you've useless ****ers who are foreign getting disciplined etc, they play the racist card a lot.
    Yeah that seems to be the case. They're playing the racist card even though theres no racism going on.
    I'm sure I've read the name bog wog on Stormfront before...probably wrong though.

Never been called racist, mainly because my best mate is Libyan so it wouldn't really hold up if I was there chatting to him.
    What the hells Stormfront? You can be racist and have a Libyan best friend at the same time. What the hell are you talking about?

yes, it is happening too often now as above poster said the work place is the worst for it. i have seen it in many situations where the "are u racist card" is played when they r getting in trouble for something.i suspose u can blame the likes of "the equality athority" and the likes for taking so many of these cases and putting employers in the situations that they r afraid to say boo to theese people and therefore end up being racist to the irish staff as they get in trouble for the same things forginers get away with...
    Yeah its ****ed up. I can understand why they'd be pissed off about Irish society because it probably is hard for them to get jobs because they're not Irish but its ridiculous them accusing normal people of being racist just because they don't roll a ****in red carpet out for them to get on the bus.
    Gillo wrote: »
    Yea I am an ignorant prick. I don't mind being called that because its the truth.

Good man.;)

Wouldn't be a fan of the Roma Gypsies myself, if you've ever read my two threads on After Hours about two incidents with them I ahd you'd know. BTW didn't really understand your post but on all Roma Gypsies origin from Romania.
    Yeah I hear the gypsies some sorta nomadic tribe they're not originally from Romania they just swarmed to Romania because there were no laws stopping them from moving in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

All Irish people like black women.

I'm not particularly mad about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

and this Polish woman was asking me something with a mad thick accent so I said "what the hell are you talking about? speak english" and she started calling me a racist.

Sigh :rolleyes:
    You are a white European as is this Polish women. It is impossible for either of you to be racist towards each other.
    You might dislike her culture or her nationality but that is xenophobia and not racism.
    Do the immigrants have the idea that Dubliners are racist or something? They're probably right though Dubliners are racist *****. Everyone knows that. They're racist towards people from different towns let alone other countries.

Yep, I've endured countless culchie jokes after moving to Dublin. A swift reply labelling all Dubs as junkies or living in tenements keeps them quiet. :P It's all good fun.

Once again OP, a Dub cannot be racist against someone from Leitrim or Sligo or wherever. You might hate their background but that is not racism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

+1.
    Perhaps they are reaching for the lowest common denominator in asking if you're a racist as your behaviour would appear boorish and socially inexplicable. Whereas you may not be as gruff with Paddies and if you were then there'd be no reason as to enquire if your behaviour was racist and a toe up the hole would suffice for dealing with ignorance.
    Someone's already pointed out the contradictition in original post but I don't see it addressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cutting in front of people on the bus? Cop on! Queue cutting is one of the most ignorant, obnoxious things a person can do.

However, it does irk me when people who aren't white assume that any negativity towards them is based on skin colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

It bugs me that BogWog seems to think that being an ignorant prick to everyone is somehow better than being an ignorant prick to only some people.

He's still an ignorant prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Nah, he is racist and also an ignorant prick..... :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Noopti wrote: »
    Nah, he is racist and also an ignorant prick..... :rolleyes:
    Yep and he only sees the better half of himself. The other half is in his blind spot that only people on the recieving end of his ignorance/arrogance can see. Then react and so it that Fortuna's wheel spins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I'm naturally rude its my style I can't help it

no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

tbh wrote: »
    no?

He's too cool for school. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

micmclo wrote: »
    Sigh :rolleyes:
    You are a white European as is this Polish women. It is impossible for either of you to be racist towards each other.
    You might dislike her culture or her nationality but that is xenophobia and not racism.

Yep, I've endured countless culchie jokes after moving to Dublin. A swift reply labelling all Dubs as junkies or living in tenements keeps them quiet. :P It's all good fun.

Once again OP, a Dub cannot be racist against someone from Leitrim or Sligo or wherever. You might hate their background but that is not racism

what if they're black and from Leitrim??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A guy cut in front of me in the ! to pay for petrol, it was a big Q as the station is the cheapest around, "here, back to the end of the Q" in a very angry tone,

Q skippers are the lowest of the low even lower than roma gypsies who i've had far to many dealings with.

Yes I hate them, One of them tried to rob my girlfriends purse and only for the fact she was a girl I would have given her a good kicking.

Black people = cool, Got offered a job in Nigeria and only for the fact my Gf would kill me if I went I'd love to have gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

OP, most interesting poster I've seen on boards in a while. Tell us more.

And no, Im not being sarcastic. Seems like this place could do with a few more truth tellers. Its very obvious this guy is not saying this stuff for shock value.

Keep the truths coming..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I must do lots of obnoxious, inconsiderate, thoughtless stuff myself so - I can always explain myself by saying "it's my style, I can't help it".

OP, Roma gypsies are not necessarily Romanian. They come from many countries around the world - granted, the biggest population of them is in Romania, but it's not the only country they come from by a very long shot. And Romanians aren't necessarily gonna be Roma gypsies. That's like saying all Irish people are travellers. It pisses Romanian people off greatly.

It definitely seems like thievery is integral to Roma culture, but I'd be hesitant to label them all as malicious thieves. There is no proof of that.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Moved from Dublin City.

Last summer I was doing my standup routine at an open mic night. I did a bit on waitresses and how no one dreams of growing up to wait tables all their life when this English gent starts heckling me. He kept going on about how his wife was a waitress and how dare I insult him. I spent about 5 minutes ripping into him at which stage he came at me on the stage and as I shouted for security to "get the English cunt off the stage," I was greeted with booing and people in the audience calling me racist.

Still got asked back to perform the week after so at least one patron enjoyed it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭forestfruits

Last summer I was doing my standup routine at an open mic night. I did a bit on waitresses and how no one dreams of growing up to wait tables all their life when this English gent starts heckling me. He kept going on about how his wife was a waitress and how dare I insult him. I spent about 5 minutes ripping into him at which stage he came at me on the stage and as I shouted for security to "get the English cunt off the stage," I was greeted with booing and people in the audience calling me racist.

Still got asked back to perform the week after so at least one patron enjoyed it. :D

Hilarious!! He obviously just didnt understand he was a stand up gig, probably wandered in off the street by accident- maybe he thought you were giving a lecture or were there to make friends and compliment the audience!!!

Getting back to you Bog Wog - I doubt your a racist, sounds like you dont discriminate at all your just ignorant to everyone!

OP, most interesting poster I've seen on boards in a while. Tell us more.

And no, Im not being sarcastic. Seems like this place could do with a few more truth tellers. Its very obvious this guy is not saying this stuff for shock value.

Keep the truths coming..

no offense, but that's quite a weird post.

Hilarious!! He obviously just didnt understand he was a stand up gig, probably wandered in off the street by accident- maybe he thought you were giving a lecture or were there to make friends and compliment the audience!!!

One of the reason I got into standup was the unique ability to verbally abuse people and get away with it. Where else can you call complete strangers the most horrible names imaginable and have people clap?

From that post, I started thinking you were David McSavage, until I got to the bit about people clapping.

tbh wrote: »
    From that post, I started thinking you were David McSavage, until I got the to bit about people clapping.

Jesus man, I know I'm not exactly the second rising of Bill Hicks but if I was Dave McSavage I would have done society a favour and hung myself from a rafter years back. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Yeah I hear the gypsies some sorta nomadic tribe they're not originally from Romania they just swarmed to Romania because there were no laws stopping them from moving in.
    They largely come from Romania because they were literally the slave class there until the start of the 20th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

I wouldn’t blame the foreigners you're talking about here for misinterpreting that as racism; they probably just assumed you were so outlandishly pig-ignorant (which you were, in both cases) that it surely must have been race related.

As long as you're going around behaving like that you can expect to create hassle for yourself, and it'll be coming from people of all colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

You can be racist and have a Libyan best friend at the same time. What the hell are you talking about?
    Agreed.
    Dudess wrote: »
    However, it does irk me when people who aren't white assume that any negativity towards them is based on skin colour.
    Call a white person a sh|t for skipping the queue, they'll laugh at you. Call a black person a sh|t for skipping the same queue, and you're a racist for calling him a sh|t, as a you're trying to say they're the same colour. Thus, call them all bastards, and you should be ok.
    and only for the fact she was a girl I would have given her a good kicking.
    Oh, so you're sexist now as well? :P

=-=

Oh, and Romanians hate and despise the Roma.

Dudess wrote:
    the_syco wrote: »
    Call a white person a sh|t for skipping the queue, they'll laugh at you. Call a black person a sh|t for skipping the same queue, and you're a racist for calling him a sh|t, as a you're trying to say they're the same colour. Thus, call them all bastards, and you should be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

No I have never been accused of being a racist in all my years living in Dublin and coming across people of ethnic minorities on a very regular basis never once.

Which makes it seem odd that you claim its been happening to you all the time lately

stiring up some hate OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Has anyone else here been accused of racism by the immigrants for no good reason? Its happening to me all the time lately. Its funny but confusing at the same time. I like most immigrants in Dublin especially the Polish but these racism accusations are pissing me off. Mostly the Africans accusing me but 1 Polish woman did too.

A couple of my friends got accused by the Africans of racism too. Is this becoming a trend in Dublin? Do the immigrants have the idea that Dubliners are racist or something? They're probably right though Dubliners are racist *****. Everyone knows that. They're racist towards people from different towns let alone other countries.

No, but then again I don't try and justify my social ineptitude as 'It's just my style'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭milmo

Lived and worked with Africans both here and in Africa.

The ones I knew used the race card regularly once they realised that it worked to their advantage. Usually to chance their arm to get something they weren't entitled to or more often to deflect attention when they were snared for breaking the rules.

No I have never been accused of being a racist in all my years living in Dublin and coming across people of ethnic minorities on a very regular basis never once.

Which makes it seem odd that you claim its been happening to you all the time lately

stiring up some hate OP?
    Yeah I'm setting up the Dublin KKK branch and I'm trying to recruit. Wanna join?

Hahaha that is funny. He musta been real pissed off when you referred to him as "this English ****".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I remember this year i wanted to dress as a kkk to a custome party! Twould have been class; walking on the streets and the gards stop me to find that i is black!!!!!

Dude, whatever rocks your boat... We can't all have the same characteristics!

Are you American MIN? Whereabouts are you from? I went over to Philadelphia for a year. Its cool as **** that place. I didn't know theres actually a Rocky Balboa statue there in real life.