Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irelands Got Talent!

• 25-07-2008 6:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

With Your A Star cancelled (its rumoured to be) do you think Irelands Got Talent might happen?

The British and American versions have been big in ratings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Ireland has no talent though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

phasers wrote: »

Seconded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Won't happen, those shows cost over ST£1 million per episode to produce, with the economies of scale here, the same production will just look like eurostar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

That would be a terrible idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Enough of these rubbish shows already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Does Ronan Keating come from Spain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Does Ronan Keating have talent?

Even though I love shows like The Apprentice (UK production values required however...), I would rather stick pins in my eyes that watch either of these crappy talent shows.

Does a bear **** in the woods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Sorry but Ireland has talent

U2, Snow Patrol, Westlife, The Coronas etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I presume phasers here was joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Even Brendan Kilkenny has more talent than The Coronas.
    As for Westlife - how much talent does it take to hold a microphone?
    There's no talent in Ireland anymore - it's all celebrity nonsense now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Delighted to hear about You're A Star and agree we need something but what? I think we could do a successful season of Irelands' Got Talent and anythings' worth a chance at least once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Ireland has a wealth of talent its just unfortunate that the only acts popularised are girl / boy bands and "models", Irelands Got talent is a woeful idea as RTE would no doubt do it on the cheap.

JP Liz wrote: »
    Sorry but Ireland has talent

U2, Snow Patrol, Westlife, The Coronas etc

You my friend are:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Its happening

Source RTE.ie

Gráinne Seoige has been announced as the presenter of new RTÉ television programme 'The All Ireland Talent Show'.

The show, which will be broadcast on RTÉ every Sunday night from 4th January 2009, promises to be Ireland's biggest ever country-wide talent contest.

'The All Ireland Talent Show', which will offer a prize of €50,000 for the winner, is now inviting hopefuls to audition at various locations around the country over the next month.
    The show will have five judges representing five different regions around the country - Dublin (City & County), West (Connaught), North (Ulster), East (Leinster except for Dublin), South (Munster).
    Each region will have a judge with ties to the area and it is their job to select and mentor the best five acts in their region.
    The final five from each of the five regions will go forward to the live finals stage early next year.
    RTÉ Television unveiled further details for The All Ireland Talent Show today, when it revealed the five judges who will represent each of the five regions pitted against each other in the nationwide competition. Each region has his or her own judge who will pick and mentor their regions' best five acts to go forward to the live stage early next year and compete for the grand prize of 50,000 in the All Ireland Talent Show.
    First up is Boyzone's Shane Lynch who will mentor the Dublin region. The popstar is just back from a tour of Asia and Australia where the band were promoting their chart topping Greatest Hits album. Flying the flag for the West is Gaelgóir and Galway resident Weatherman Daithi O'Sé. The North will be represented by Eurovision winner, ex - MEP and Derry-native, Dana, she will be on hand to impart her valuable advice and experience to potential contestants. The Afternoon Show's Bláthnaid Ní Chiofaigh from Co. Meath will be fighting her corner for the East and last but by no means least RTÉ and Cork's own John Creedon, fresh from his stint on Fáilte Towers, will be mentoring the South.
    The judges will be scouring the country looking for the best talent Ireland has to offer: Viewers can expect rows, altercations and serious disagreements, as well as serious talent being showcased, as the judges get behind their region. Each judge will also have 2 advisors to help them make their decision. Shane Lynch will have Gerry Ryan Show's Evelyn O'Rourke and John Keogh. On hand for Daithi O'Sé will be Paisean Faisean's Bláthnaid Ní Donnacha and novelist and and 'RTÉ Radio 1's 'Eleventh Hour' presenter, Paraic Breathnach. In Dana's corner Majella O'Donnell and BBC's Joe Lindsay. John Creedon will have the support of Michael Healy Rae and ex - Six band member, Sinead Shepherd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

So this is what RTE believe the people of Ireland crave
    wrote:
    Viewers can expect rows, altercations and serious disagreements

I feel sick. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

...and all hosted by the ubiquitous Seoige. Talk about flogging a dead horse.
    RTÉ never fail not to surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

It'll either be in a big concert hall with bad sound or a tiny studio in RTE. Can they not build a new studio or rent a place for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Does a bear **** in the woods?

I can assume from that comment that they actually dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Oh no. Expect rubbish sound, wonky camera angles (why hasn't RTE decked that quirky sideways camera angles are crap) and even worse talent...

Face it everyone. These programmes make a fortune in people voting and such like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Car crash tv of the highest order, Shane Lynch "mentoring" people? "Roight so heres how yous hold your mics, remember to make sure yous lips are movin in time with the words cos if they dont people will cop that yous aint singing at all like!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

oh god, when does it start? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Christ, just tape the karoake night of some **** hole pub and broadcast it. Its the same thing really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭muffinman

What is it with RTE continuously recycling their "celebrities" on absolutely everything??
    Daithí O Sé as a mentor in a talent contest? They really need to get some serious people as judges..
    And €50,000 as a prize? It's definitely going to be a You're a Star at the Helix job of some sort again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭midgetflynn

hmmm,not sure if this will work to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭JemimaPD

Ok Kinda need to rant and make ppl aware who have yet to attend the auditions what they need to know just in case all venues are alike. I was at the Dublin Auditions with a friend and it was hectic and stupid and disorganised and staff knew nothing of what was going on, and if they did they were very vague with answers.

I queued with my friend at 7.30am when the doors should have opened. At around 9am we were moved from the front entrance (Doors still closed) to the rear entrance. From there we queued again to get the audition number. From there we joined a second queue to go into the audition with a "producer" or better yet just someone from the team. The audition room was like a private car space with a curtain to conseal who was behind it. The room we were waiting in was in fact a car park with a roof, no heating, no bins for rubbish and only 4 port-o-loos (which were discusting) which were to be used by over 2500 auditioners, family/friends. Forgot to mention one other thing, THERE WAS NO SEATING AVAILABLE AT ALL UNTIL THE FIRST AUDITION WAS COMPLETED. We werent even allowed to sit on the floor due to health and safety reasons. Thankfully a Spar was only around the corner so a few could leave and get some hot drinks/food while the rest waited in line. Performing Groups were in a different queue and seemed to go quickly into the first audition while the solo singers, Dancers and other acts were left watching in dispair as there was only one person doing the judging for them. Every hour the "producers" from all the different audition sections disappeared into a meeting to decide who should go thru to the next audition with the Celebrity Judges. We were completely left in the lurch about what was actually going on until we finally got closer to the top of the line. The "producer" told a person who was auditioning whom i got on really well with, that when they go into the meeting they give out a list of the types of auditions and the decision on who should go thru is then made by a higher person based on the information given and variety. (I THINK THIS IS WRONG, if it is true). Eventually my friend had finished her audition and we managed to find a seat in the Holding Area. The Holding Area was just a cordoned area in the same area as the queues right beside the port-o-loos. By now everyone there was giving out like mad. Who cud blame them. On average from the time of queueing at the front of the venue to completion of the first audition, everyone was STANDING FOR 8.5 HOURS. What a joke. We waited in the Holding area for a further hour and half before someone came out with a list of who got thru. Some of the people who had practised in the queue and were really good were turned away. Ok this is my experience from the audition yesterday, but i feel as tho everyone who is looking to audition needs to be aware of what they may face. I only hope that i'm wrong and their venue(s) are more organised.

Points to consider for people who may be auditioning:

1. Make sure you have downloaded the Application form (6 pages) which has a disclaimer and terms and conditions of Auditioning. Anyone under the age of 18 must have the form signed by Parent or Gaurdian (Usual Clause). Fax in the form or telephone the company in charge to get on the priority list so you can avoid a long time queueing.

2. Bring a Lunch pack (or better yet an entire fridge) because you could be there for the entire day.

3. If you are intending on bringing small children or you suffer with problems with legs or feet or cannot stand for too long, Bring a portable stool in case there is no seating facilities and kids toys to keep them entertained.

Good luck to everyone who auditions. Dunno if I should complain or not, I'm sorry but I needed to rant anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

lol how did I know there'd be a big Liveline piece about this?

I have no sympathy for anyone who turned up to this...what did they expect? This is RTÉ...amateur, cheap and tacky is all they know...
    [edit] Actually that's a little unfair...since most of the people turning up to these auditions are youngsters with no sense, it's reasonable for them to expect to be treated like something other than farmyard animals...no real surprise to me that they weren't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

...no, wait it doesn't.
    Anyone sit through this? The average age of the punters were about 12 and Im not sure how many were Irish:confused:.

I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Saw the judges and wasn't too impressed - turned it off once I saw the first girl butcher Hallelujah (sp?).........and was then put through! That was enough for me!

🤪

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭anladmór

im not white myself but oh **** it seemed like an advertisement to say 'look how mutlicultural are we'

it was poor, i knew one of the lads in one of the hiphop groups and i think there decent but it was not very good.

like the little girl, how did she go through? singing a song from high school musical?:eek:no performance no nothing.

and what about the rocker kid without the shirt? LOL

and what about shane lynch saying 'this is still a christian country' so your not true.

i'll watch it again, because the west is much funner than dublin, and probably more unique acts but just awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭spatchco

tried it for half an hour,,,,only for brain dead,rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what about those pair of lovelys on the poles?

It had the same as appeal as Britains Got Talent. Television for idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Joanna Ride xD
    Honestly the funniest thing ever on RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

spatchco wrote: »
    tried it for half an hour,,,,only for brain dead,rubbish

What where you expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Ireland has got talent!

Problem is, Talent has no interest in appearing in crap television shows:eek:

ps. 99% of people who win XFactor and other such shows are no-mark warblers:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

I watched it and, having marvelled at Grainne Seoige's breasts, am covinced that Ireland does have talent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

elshambo wrote: »
    Ireland has got talent!

Problem is, Talent has no interest in appearing in crap television shows:eek:

ps. 99% of people who win XFactor and other such shows are no-mark warblers:eek:

PS. is that a proven statistic?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Who were the other 2 judges?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Wheels wrote: »
    PS. is that a proven statistic?

Yes!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

What a show, demonstrated everything great about RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 seanasdf

eh I saw worse on RTÉ over Christmas.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭DesignLady

Caught the last ten minutes. So bad it's brilliant! This is better than Peter Kay's show at mocking tv talent contests.

All the oompa-loompas seemed to get the day off work to attend and don't even gt me started on the make-up. Consider that make-up always looks washed out on tv so how much must they all really have been wearing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

DesignLady wrote:
    This is better than Peter Kay's show at mocking tv talent contests.

The whole thing did come across like a satirical show now that you mention it. :D

Just awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

DesignLady wrote: »
    All the oompa-loompas seemed to get the day off work to attend and don't even gt me started on the make-up. Consider that make-up always looks washed out on tv so how much must they all really have been wearing?

As far as I remember, this was done on a Saturday and Sunday. But then again gone are the days of the majority of people working Monday to Friday.

The reason I remember it was at the weekend was cos I think there was a few phone calls to Liveline after the auditions in Dublin complaining about the venue - somewhere down off Capel Street, near Smithfield I think? Anyway, the place was freezing and kids were there all day in the cold. Can anyone else remember the calls? I wonder will they be on tomorrow complaining about it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

The worst thing is that when the girl who sang Hallelujah got through, I realised that that was as good as it was going to get.

I stopped watching it then so I don't know if I was right or not, but I suspect so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

janeybabe wrote: »
    The worst thing is that when the girl who sang Hallelujah got through, I realised that that was as good as it was going to get..

I suppose it is best that they ruin a good song at the start of the show. Rather then drag the whole unending process out for several weeks only to be disappointed by a bad rendition of Hallelujah :)