Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Leftie Thread

• 25-07-2008 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Are you a lefty like me? How awesome are we, like? Conquering adversity in this right handed world that doesn't cater for 7-10% of the population. Rise up and let yourselves be known.

In some other cultures we would have been oppressed so we'll cut the normies in this country some slack (a little bit). My mother was forced to use her right hand in school but it's alright, she isn't a schizophrenic after it. I come from a family of 6, 4 of whom are lefties.

So what kind of problems have you faced as a lefty? Can't use scissors? Clumsy as hell? I am.

I'm only left handed when it comes to writing and drawing really. For the most part, my right arm is stronger. I also use my mouse in my right hand but that's probably because I find it better to be entering commands with my left. The rumour is that we're better off in sports and arts and I'm pretty awesome at both :D In my year in art college there are about 9 lads of which 4 or 5 are lefties.

So this is a thread for us special people, normies feel free to praise our plights. It's not easy being so great in a world not made for us you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Kitog and proud of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ambidextrous FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Kold wrote: »
    So what kind of problems have you faced as a lefty? Can't use scissors? Clumsy as hell? I am.

You need this place

I'm a leftie for opening bottles and when my right arm gets tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

I come from a family of 6, 4 of whom are lefties.

I'm only left handed when it comes to writing and drawing really.

Ditto for me.

Both my parents are right handed but me and all my siblings are left-handed. Three against two, We win!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Thank god Christy Brown was a left footer, by the way. Otherwise he'd have been screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm the only leftie in a family of seven, and I don't have to do any ironing because they all think left handed people can't iron :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

Yay, finally, people more like me! Polar bears are left handed! Kurt Cobain and other good musicians were left handed. And so on.

When I was younger I used to really want to write with those cool felt type pens in school. But I can't. Because my hand smudges what I've just written! Grr...

My right hand actually genuinely feels weaker than my left all the time. I can carry more in my left hand, etc. I can't even hold a mug of tea with my right hand, its too heavy or something!

Did you ever notice though, that a lot of lefties have a very odd way of holding a pen when they write? Very awkwardly? I just hold it normally, but some I know wrap their fist around the pen like its a snake they're grabbing around the neck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

phasers wrote: »
    I'm the only leftie in a family of seven, and I don't have to do any ironing because they all think left handed people can't iron :D

Genius! :D

Leftie too, I hate most tin openers :mad:
    Can't use those felt pens either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Artists:
    Albrecht Dürer
    M.C. Escher
    Hans Holbein
    Paul Klee
    Michelangelo
    LeRoy Neiman
    Raphael
    Leonardo da Vinci (looks like we had the Renaissance locked down

Musicians:
    David Byrne (Talking Heads)
    Kurt Cobain (Nirvana)
    Phil Collins (Genesis)
    Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins)
    Dick Dale (guitarist)
    Noel Gallagher (Oasis)
    Jimi Hendrix
    Isaac Hayes
    George Michael (Wham!)
    Joe Perry (Aerosmith)
    Robert Plant (Led Zepplin)
    John Lydon a.k.a. Johnny Rotten (Sex Pistols / Public Image Ltd.)
    Seal
    Ringo Starr (the Beatles)
    Paul Simon (Simon & Garfunkel)

Footballers:
    Johan Cruyff
    Pelé -Edson Arantes do Nascimento
    Diego Armando Maradona
    Romario

Misc:
    Herbert Hoover
    Harry S. Truman
    Gerald Ford
    Ronald Reagan
    George H.W. Bush
    Bill Clinton
    Benjamin Franklin
    Joan of Arc
    Ramses II
    Tiberius
    Alexander the Great
    Julius Caesar
    Napoléon Bonaparte
    Josephine de Beauharnais
    King Louis XVI of France
    Queen Victoria of England
    King George II of England
    King George VI of England
    Prince Charles of England
    Prince William of England
    Jack-the-Ripper
    Matt Groening, cartoonist
    Bart Simpson
    Fidel Castro, Cuban leader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I'm a leftie, and have been learning to play guitar right-handed. Would it be easier to re-string it upside down? anyone know?

tbh wrote: »
    I'm a leftie, and have been learning to play guitar right-handed. Would it be easier to re-string it upside down? anyone know?

I've been learning to play right-handed too. I think it's whatever is easier because as I said, my right arm is stronger but I have more control over my left hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

chords = easy, strumming=so hard!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I have the best mix. Right handed 'cause I'm not a plank. But left footed so I almost always have a place when I play football!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭captainzapp

my friend got me left handed tin opener there. and my sister got me a left handed writing pad from the leftorium in sanfrancisco. its awesome. the spiral thing is on the right so i can write all the way across! i work in the process department in an engineering firm and loads of them are lefties here, its very bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

dee8839 wrote: »
    I just hold it normally, but some I know wrap their fist around the pen like its a snake they're grabbing around the neck!

I've always thought that was to stop your hand from smudging the ink when writing, lefties tend to have their hand up around over where writing.

I'm a rightie, but do lots of things with my left hand. Never noticed till recently that when I brush my teeth I hold the brush in my left hand, no idea why. I use a calculator with my left hand too, something I've not noticed other righties doing. My computer mouse is always on the left, which is hilarious when you see a right handed person try to use it. I also swap the knife and fork every time I pick them up, though I've noticed this is something a lot of people do.

Maybe I'm actually left handed, or just a spaz? I can't right with my left hand though.

Lefties live shorter lives though.

jor el wrote: »

The light that shines twice as bright etc.

I hold my pen/pencil/paintbrush fairly low down but keep it above so my hand is not trailing from the side. Like a dart almost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

dee8839 wrote: »
    When I was younger I used to really want to write with those cool felt type pens in school. But I can't. Because my hand smudges what I've just written! Grr...
    I've always thought that was to stop your hand from smudging the ink when writing, lefties tend to have their hand up around over where writing. .

So that's what I've been doing wrong!!:D It looks sore to write that way though!

Maybe I'm actually left handed, or just a spaz? I can't right with my left hand though..

When you were learning to write were you forced to use your right hand? If so maybe by nature you're a lefty!

I knew it was a matter of time before someone said that! But if what I said about you being a natural lefty is true, you're coming with us!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

FunkZ wrote: »
    I have the best mix. Right handed 'cause I'm not a plank. But left footed so I almost always have a place when I play football!

take that, mutants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I'm a leftie and I hate that smudgie thing, no nice pens for me :( You can always tell a leftie from the ink smudge all over the side of their hand.

I'm a bit spastic with my right hand, if I try to feed myself I just get food everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Leftie here too - and I don't get the problems lefties have with tin openers, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Im a leftie but i do things with my right too, the most fvcked up is i play hurling left handed but if i give tennis a lash i play right.....WTF?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

My father and mother were beaten to use their right hand when writing in school. All my bor's and sister are lefties as am I.

Smudging the ink never bothered me, but if you are worries about it, put a post-it under your little finger. It's a trick I learned using charcoal and pencils in art. No more smudging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I was a lefty when I was young but some lovely Christian nun decided it was the mark of Satan so she tied my left hand to the desk and forced me to use the dexter... as a result my hand writing is sh!te and this used to get me in trouble with other teachers later in my educational days.

However, I still use the sinister for a number of things; knife, guitar, pistol in my military days and also shot off the left shoulder with the SMLE and Bren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

It's more difficult for lefties to write as they are pushing the pen across the page where as rightsers pull the pen.

I'm a lefty for writing, brushing teeth, eating but right for just about everything else, also right footed. I could barely throw a tennis ball with my right hand. My sister is also the same where as our parents and 2 other sisters are purely right.

I'm decent at sport but useless at art.

At school, I always had to sit on the far left so as not to bang elbows with the enemy. Can't really think of much else, you don't need much strength at all to use a can opener.

I used to always switch the mouse to the left when I was younger cos I couldn't handle it on my right, though I stopped bothering when I started using computers in school/work so I can manage it with my right hand now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Artists:
    Albrecht Dürer
    M.C. Escher
    Hans Holbein
    Paul Klee
    Michelangelo
    LeRoy Neiman
    Raphael
    Leonardo da Vinci (looks like we had the Renaissance locked down

Musicians:
    David Byrne (Talking Heads)
    Kurt Cobain (Nirvana)
    Phil Collins (Genesis)
    Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins)
    Dick Dale (guitarist)
    Noel Gallagher (Oasis)
    Jimi Hendrix
    Isaac Hayes
    George Michael (Wham!)
    Joe Perry (Aerosmith)
    Robert Plant (Led Zepplin)
    John Lydon a.k.a. Johnny Rotten (Sex Pistols / Public Image Ltd.)
    Seal
    Ringo Starr (the Beatles)
    Paul Simon (Simon & Garfunkel)

Footballers:
    Johan Cruyff
    Pelé -Edson Arantes do Nascimento
    Diego Armando Maradona
    Romario

Misc:
    Herbert Hoover
    Harry S. Truman
    Gerald Ford
    Ronald Reagan
    George H.W. Bush
    Bill Clinton
    Benjamin Franklin
    Joan of Arc
    Ramses II
    Tiberius
    Alexander the Great
    Julius Caesar
    Napoléon Bonaparte
    Josephine de Beauharnais
    King Louis XVI of France
    Queen Victoria of England
    King George II of England
    King George VI of England
    Prince Charles of England
    Prince William of England
    Jack-the-Ripper
    Matt Groening, cartoonist
    Bart Simpson
    Fidel Castro, Cuban leader

And now,
    Some famous Right handed people!

Everyone not named on the above list :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Lord Muck

huzzah for Lefties !
    I'm a 100% leftie for everything , i'm out there and i'm loving every minute of it ! In work , out of 7 lads in the office 4 are lefties , we like to sit around moaning about the rightist facists and how 'the man' likes to keep us down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I'm a leftie, as is my sister and my father. That's 3 out of a family of 5. I hope that's not a sign that we're in-bred ;).

I've never had a problem with computer mice, I can use it in my right hand pretty much as fast as your average user. Scissors drive me nuts though whenever I have to use them which thankfully isn't all that often.

Go Lefties!

Rob_l wrote: »
    And now,
    Some famous Right handed people!

Everyone not named on the above list :D

Man that list and the people I didn't include (me for example) are way more than 7-10% of awesome people.

Alexander the Great, pretty much the most successful person ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

tbh wrote: »
    if you've started right handed don't change now.I play rh and feel it works in my favour for fingering,but you'll need to do extra work on picking.I did a play writing module in final year and we were nearly all lefties.Although i was the best obv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

My mum is left handed. I am right handed but when I eat my dinner I have my fork in my right hand and knife in my left hand. I am always getting told I should have them the other way around.

I remember reading on the interweb before that high percentage of gay people are left handed. Funnilly enough out of 5 of my friends who are gay 4 of them are left handed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

leftie and proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

gazzer wrote: »
    My mum is left handed. I am right handed but when I eat my dinner I have my fork in my right hand and knife in my left hand. I am always getting told I should have them the other way around.

I remember reading on the interweb before that high percentage of gay people are left handed. Funnilly enough out of 5 of my friends who are gay 4 of them are left handed.

the internet backs up your claims
    http://www.narth.com/docs/lefthand.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

gazzer wrote: »

Is left-handed fisting more difficult on the one right hander?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm left-footed - was a bit of a nuisance for dance/floor routines when I was doing ballet and gymnastics as a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Kitog and proud of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

the emails to my gmail from this thread triggered some left handed google ads for left handed people.
    was having a look at one site, and i never realised ye had it so bad...
    ye need special clocks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Whenever i meet a fellow lefty, i feel a certain kinship with them! We're rare enough, ye know!

My Dad was making tea recently and handed me a mug in such a way that was damn difficult to take it from him with my left hand. My right arm is stronger and i use it for more manual activites, but writing and lifting mugs / cups are all done with my left :)

I hate when you have novelty mugs with hilarious pictures and phrases on them but only you can see them because of the left-handed way you hold the cup :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

GF told me that apparently a lot of scientists (or maybe just medical scientists) are left handed. In the lab she works in, about 25 out of 30 people are left handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

I'm only left handed when it comes to writing and drawing really. For the most part, my right arm is stronger. I also use my mouse in my right hand but that's probably because I find it better to be entering commands with my left.

Aye me too. Though the mouse thing is the only real instance where I use my right hand. I use a fork, throw, play guitar etc left handed.

I think we got the best people of each field when you look at it:

Leonardo Da Vinci - Best artist ever/generally smartest most greatest human being ever (well besides me of course)
    Jimi Hendrix - Best guitarist ever.
    Pele - Best footballer ever.
    Alexander The Great - Best conqueror/military commander ever.
    Jack The Ripper - Best serial killer ever
    John Dillinger - Best bank robber ever.
    Bart Simpson - Best Simpson child.
    Paul McCartney - Best Beatle.
    Robert DeNiro and Steve McQueen- Joint best actors.
    Seal - Best singer named after a marine mammal.

The righties should really just bow down and serve us. It makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Creature wrote: »
    Leonardo Da Vinci - Best artist ever/generally smartest most greatest human being ever (well besides me of course)

Wasn't he ambidextrous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I'm a lefty as well.

One thing I also do when setting up a new PC or Laptop for somebody is make sure it set-up for a lefty.

Mouse of the left {with to cable tied so it's just to short to reach the other side, Phone on the right and the whole system tilted more to the right of the desk....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

ojewriej wrote: »
    Wasn't he ambidextrous?

Well ok he may not have been pure but as far as I know he was mostly a leftie. I think we can let him away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Bongomc

Kitog and proud of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Azphyxi8

I'm a leftie!

Play left handed guitar.
    I can't use a right handed ice cream scoop.

Lefties rock!

ojewriej wrote: »
    Wasn't he ambidextrous?

No he was a lefty, there's a theory that his right hand was paralysed.

It's kinda funny though, I'm the only lefty in my life drawing class which is hilarious when my teacher gets us to do some of the exercises.

She likes to get us to switch hands a lot so it means that my easel is always turned the other way and she also gets us to rotate to eachother's drawings so I end up turning the easel that I move to and whoever's behind me has to switch it back, these are big easels too so it's a lot of bashing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

another Citéoig here! :D

the Nuns bet it out of my mam but my siblings are lefties too..

The stupid B of a teacher I had bet the crap out of me for drawing my e's backwards. She blamed her morning sickness and got away with it. :mad:

I was never asked up to the black/whiteboard in school as when I would write I would deliberately smudge what had wrote.
    I always tend to burn my arms when ironing as the cord of the iron is positioned on the wrong side so my OH does it all
    An Electric lawnmower is a disaster as us lefties tend to get caught up in the fecking wire.. we do at home anyway so my OH does it

i am artisitc I paint,I play a fiddle with the strings backwards also bless myself with the wrong hand and don't know my left from right (this way and that way)