Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Gaa star arrested

• 24-07-2008 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

A Dublin star was arrested on suspicion of assault after an incident on O'Connell Bridge on Monday night.
    The player in question is believed to have spent time with other members of the Dubs' panel earlier in the day before going socialising with friends.
    He was questioned at Store Street Garda Station before being released without charge.
    A file is being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions. (The Star)
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/newsinbrief.html

So any ideas who this might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Oh wonderful, another round of random speculation, dotted with the occasional 'Dirty Dubs' rant thrown in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭minime1

AndyP wrote: »
    Oh wonderful, another round of random speculation, dotted with the occasional 'Dirty Dubs' rant thrown in.

From me or rte.ie??

minime1 wrote: »
    From me or rte.ie??

Each to their own and all that but personally I would not be arsed posting a story like this until there was some more substance to it, like a name. Secondly, I dont really care who it is to be honest.

Listen I'm a Dub too and just posted the story to to see if there was any substance to it. If you aren't too bothered to who it is why did you read the thread? The title was fairly obvious to what it was about!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Maybe you should concentrate on the words "suspicion" and "released without charge" rather than wondering who it was.

When, of if, there are actual charges or a trial is time enough to comment on any of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Each to their own and all that but personally I would not be arsed posting a story like this until there was some more substance to it, like a name. Secondly, I dont really care who it is to be honest.

Of course a true dub wouldn't :rolleyes: [snipped]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Goes to prove

they are the same off the pitch as they are on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

muletide wrote: »
    Goes to prove

Quit trolling and add something intelligent to the discussion.

wow sierra wrote: »
    Maybe you should concentrate on the words "suspicion" and "released without charge" rather than wondering who it was.

When, of if, there are actual charges or a trial is time enough to comment on any of this.

Really does it matter? Gaa players no matter what county they're from should have the common decency to behave themselves being in a position of influence to those that are younger than ourselves. Full stop. A scuttering discrase to the GAA TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

muletide wrote: »
    Goes to prove

Quit trolling and add something intelligent to the discussion.
    Ah leave him alone, that's the best he can manage. Gotta make allowances for those less fortunate than ourselves, Christian duty and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

stepbar wrote: »
    Really does it matter? Gaa players no matter what county they're from should have the common decency to behave themselves being in a position of influence to those that are younger than ourselves. Full stop. A scuttering discrase to the GAA TBH.

I agree with you to a certain extent but in fairness gaa players don't get paid. Is it right to have a player's (whoever it is and whatever county he's from) private life made public?

That's not to say the nosy part of me isn't curious to who it is:p

Hagar wrote: »
    Ah leave him alone, that's the best he can manage. Gotta make allowances for those less fortunate than ourselves, Christian duty and all that.

Condoning acts of lawlessness there are we?

lorweld wrote: »
    I agree with you to a certain extent but in fairness gaa players don't get paid. Is it right to have a player's (whoever it is and whatever county he's from) private life made public?

That's not to say the nosy part of me isn't curious to who it is:p

Being citizens of the country (aside of what they get paid or what they do for a living) they have a duty to uphold the law TBH. No excuse TBH. Is comes with the territory (being a Dublin footballer). You can't expect not to have the amount of media coverage given towards the Dublin footballers and expect to get away with acts of stupidity TBH.

Being citizens of the country (aside of what they get paid or what they do for a living) they have a duty to uphold the law TBH. No excuse TBH.

Yeah but if I or any other Joe Soap was in involved in an assault case it might make our local rags but not The Star or The Hearld which this has being reported in. Honestly I'm not condoning his behaviour but really does it have to make the national papers?

That must have gone over your head, but no matter.

Condoning acts of lawlessness there are we?
    Sorry I must have missed a bit, has anyone been convicted of lawlessness?
    No?
    For shame, bearing false witness against thy neighbour is a sin.

On the other hand you could be just be from Wexford...

Yeah but if I or any other Joe Soap was in involved in an assault case it might make our local rags but not The Star or The Hearld which this has being reported in. Honestly I'm not condoning his behaviour but really does it have to make the national papers?

It does because Dublin is national news. What happens in and around Dublin is national news. With a population the size of what else can you expect TBH?

That must have gone over your head, but no matter.

Sorry I must have missed a bit, has anyone been convicted of lawlessness?
    No?
    For shame, bearing false witness against thy neighbour is a sin.

On the other hand you could be just be from Wexford...

Well being arrested would suggest that an act was commited. To be fair a guard doesn't arrest someone for the craic. They must have rang Paul Caffrey. I'd say he's a handy man to have in suitations like the above.......

It does because Dublin is national news. What happens in and around Dublin is national news. With a population the size of what else can you expect TBH?

I understand where you're coming from but I'd hate to see Gaa players being treated like premiership footballers in the UK and have their private lives scruitinised by the media. In all fairness Gaa players get feck all thanks as it is. I'd worry it might stop players partaking in their county teams as they might feel its just not worth it. Whereas soccer players get alot of money, playing the game is their job so they expect this exposure. Just my opinion though.

This thread will be locked soon, it is a nonsense. Nobody has added anything constructive and it is getting ridiculous IMO.

And what have you added that is constructive?:rolleyes:

So I take you condone a gaa player play acting? True or False?

I understand where you're coming from but I'd hate to see Gaa players being treated like premiership footballers in the UK and have their private lives scruitinised by the media. In all fairness Gaa players get feck all thanks as it is. I'd worry it might stop players partaking in their county teams as they might feel its just not worth it. Whereas soccer players get alot of money, playing the game is their job so they expect this exposure. Just my opinion though.

Gaa players lives become public knowledge when they ingage in stuff as described above. Papers are sold on the back of johnny scoring ten points in the championship. You have to take the good with the bad especially when your're a position that Dublin players are in with the increased media exposure they get. They're plenty of players who can live their lives with any hassle.

Well being arrested would suggest that an act was commited.
    Well if a guard arrested him he must be guilty.
    Sack the judiciary, close the courts, dispense with the barristers and solicitors. Send home the jurors. Suspend the Constitution.
    A Dub has been deemed, by a Garda no less, to have transgressed the law, get a rope someone...

minime1 wrote: »
    And what have you added that is constructive?:rolleyes:

I was going to add something but when I saw the pettyness of other posters I decided against. Kaimera or Smashey will sort this out soon enough.

Well if a guard arrested him he must be guilty.
    Sack the judiciary, close the courts, dispense with the barristers and solicitors. Send home the jurors. Suspend the Constitution.
    A Dub has been deemed, by a Garda no less, to have transgressed the law, get a rope someone...

Hager you seem to have missed the point. It wouldn't matter what county he was from. As I've said guards don't arrest people for the craic. There was obviously a reason for same. He was probably drunk and abusive and needed a quick sharp lesson in the law to calm him down.

I was going to add something but when I saw the pettyness of other posters I decided against. Kaimera or Smashey will sort this out soon enough.

Go ahead so. It seems like you condone this sort of behaviour.

I said nothing of the sort, spewing rumour and hear say before any conviction will do nothing but get this website into trouble. Remember innocent until proven otherwise.

In fairness stepbar I think you are starting to come across as a bit of a troll. Noone has being charged yet so Pride Fighter isn't condoning any kind of behaviour.

I said nothing of the sort, spewing rumour and hear say before any conviction will do nothing but get this website into trouble. Remember innocent until proven otherwise.

Well give us your opinion so? Would that not sort out any inaccuracies we have?

In fairness stepbar I think you are starting to come across as a bit of a troll. Noone has being charged yet so Pride Fighter isn't condoning any kind of behaviour.

He hasn't exactly said anything TBH.

Hager you seem to have missed the point.
    Not at all, there is in law a presumption of innocence until guilt proven.

To intimate that the player concerned was guilty with due recourse to law is to invite a libel case on Boards as publisher of said intimation.

Don't put Boards in that position, we can do without indiscriminate unproven allegations.

Are we on the same page now?

To intimate that the player concerned was guilty with due recourse to law is to invite a libel case on Boards as publisher of said intimation.

Don't put Boards in that position, we can do without indiscriminate unproven allegations.

Did you happen to read the rest of my post? and my other ones? Unproven allegations against anonymous? :rolleyes: I love to know who is going to be suing Boards.

Agree fully with this.
    Stepbar, anti-social behaviour of any type cannot be condoned. But this appears to be shambolic tabloid journalism on RTE's part. We dont know who the person is, the person has not been tried, we dont know the full story. There are so many variables to this it would be inappropriate to draw a conclusion (trial by boards.ie).
    Therefore I am against any inappropriate behaviour but nobody has been proven guilty of a crime.

Unproven allegations against anonymous? :rolleyes:
    If he's anonymous why are you bothering condemning him? Odd to say the least.
    I love to know who is going to be suing Boards.
    There is a sticky at the top of every single forum on Boards. Read them, it'll show how serious the written word is taken in Ireland.

Agree fully with this.
    Stepbar, anti-social behaviour of any type cannot be condoned. But this appears to be shambolic tabloid journalism on RTE's part. We dont know who the person is, the person has not been tried, we dont know the full story. There are so many variables to this it would be inappropriate to draw a conclusion (trial by boards.ie).
    Therefore I am against any inappropriate behaviour but nobody has been proven guilty of a crime.

Cop out TBH. The fact that any person (GAA player or not) is engaging in unappropriate behaviour is wrong. As I've said it doesn't matter what county he's from, the fact that he is carrying on in this fashion is shocking, bearing in mind that young kids look up to the likes of him.

Of course a true dub wouldn't :rolleyes: [snipped]

Look my WUM friend, I really dont care less. I still have to get up for work in the morning, pay bills and a mortgage and worry about slightly more important things than as yet unfounded allegations about an un-named footballer. [snipped]

And this thread is taking the path I predicte earlier, was never the basis for anything like decent discussion.

If he's anonymous why are you bothering condemning him? Odd to say the least.

There is a sticky at the top of every single forum on Boards. Read them, it'll show how serious the written word is taken in Ireland.

And tell me who is going to sue an anonymous person? In fact why are you commenting so? Why is anybody? Because they feel a bit sickened by what's happened. It sounds like you're not very perplexed by it.

Look my WUM friend, I really dont care less. I still have to get up for work in the morning, pay bills and a mortgage and worry about slightly more important things than as yet unfounded allegations about an un-named footballer. [snipped]

And this thread is taking the path I predicte earlier, was never the basis for anything like decent discussion.

And don't we all. I'd suggest not posting here again so. You've made you're point very clear. There are people out there who do care about the state of our national games and folk like our dublin friend don't go any way to support our cause.

So Stepbar, if and when said player is named will you publicly accuse him of the offences before any case might be taken (leaving you and Boards open to legal action).

If he's name is disclosed won't be by me. Anyhow side issue (at the moment) TBH. If a name is to be produced it's more than likely as a result of the national papers producing same. So to be fair at that point it's common knowledge and deserves the amount of scrutiny one can give .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Who cares - Dublin arent gonna win anything anyways apart from Leinster - LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

carrying on in this fashion is shocking

What 'fashion'? What exactly has he done that you don't approve of? You've no idea what he did, do you?

The fact that it's in the Star says it all for me. He could have done anything from look at his neighbours cat funny to going on a murder rampage.

How you can come to any conclusions based on that article says a lot about you.

Mont wrote: »
    Who cares - Dublin arent gonna win anything anyways apart from Leinster - LOL

Hahaha - LOL is right! That's so funny.

What 'fashion'? What exactly has he done that you don't approve of? You've no idea what he did, do you?

The fact that it's in the Star says it all for me. He could have done anything from look at his neighbours cat funny to going on a murder rampage.

How you can come to any conclusions based on that article says a lot about you.

What we know is that a Dublin player was arrested. So you tell me what he "could" have been arrested for? Being drunk and disorderly? Having 10 ounces of coke in his back pocket? As I've said Guards don't arrest people for the craic.

What we know it that a Dublin player was arrested.

We don't know this. It seems likely, but not certain. This is the Star remember. It could have just been someone that was out with the team. Until there's a name, we won't know.
    So you tell me what he "could" have been arrested for? Being drunk and disorderly? Having 10 ounces of coke in his back pocket? As I've said Guards don't arrest people for the craic.

I'm not going to speculate and jump to conclusions. It could have been a simple misunderstanding.

I think the title in itself is funny - Dublin GAA star - i mean how many people outside of the PALE even knows a GAA star from Dublin apart from TBH Jayo and fair play to him by the way - surely this should take up 12 pages of the Dublin Herald at least - sure on All-Ireland Day - half of Dubs wont even know there is a GAA match on - the West-Brits will be more interested in watching West Ham V Hull - jackeens righteous:P

Uuugh. You're not even hiding you're trolling are you? If you're not going to say something on the topic then stfu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭hunter164

I know who it is. But I'm not naming names. :D

We don't know this. It seems likely, but not certain. This is the Star remember. It could have just been someone that was out with the team. Until there's a name, we won't know.

I'm not going to speculate and jump to conclusions. It could have been a simple misunderstanding.

Would you stop. Please :rolleyes: Are you telling me that a national paper would go to the trouble of producing an article if there wasn't substance to it? Journalists talk, Gardai talk. Gaa players talk. The public talk. It's rediclus to suggest that what was printed is a lie. Rediclus.

Dont believe everything you hear stepbar.

Ok so who is it that was arrested TBH it could have been anyone on the Dublin football team - not one of them would be a surprise - you cant rule any of them out and you know this too - for example tell me who you think it wasnt - tough one isnt it ?
    Oh my God! Mont will ya give it a rest with the trolling!