Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai raid sex shop and seize 65,000 euro worth of porn dvds

• 24-07-2008 09:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭

I thought this would be a good one for after-hours :D

Apparently Gardai raided a sex shop in William St. in Dublin and seized about 65000 euros worth of sex dvds.

Now I wonder if the guards keep the dvds :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Any link?

Or reason why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Diairist

if you bring in a haul of possibly contaminated crystal meths and if you carry many armloads of dvd's out of a shop, some of which maight be 'the sound of music' with a vile attempt at dubbing it in Czech - naturally one haul will take longer to catalogue as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭jcrowbar

I'm pretty sure some "unlucky" guard will have to watch through all of those dvds to check for illegal content.

He'll have one sore wrist after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Was it an illegal unlicenced shop ? No doubt they wont all end up on the bonfire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Last raid I heard about was in Naas. The reason for the confiscation is due to the fact that the videos were not classified.

Some garda is going to have a great time classifying them so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

here's the link

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/national-news/gardai-seize-1300-pornographic-dvds-worth-65000-1439674.html

I wouldn't recommend shaking a guards hand in the next few days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

illegal porn dvd's......the guards will be looking for hardened criminals so

/i'll eh....be going so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Stupid outdated law.
    It's not like we can't watch porn on he internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

They were just talking about this on Adrian Kennady... I mean I don't listen to that show.

/walks off into the sunset distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Terry wrote: »
    Stupid outdated law.
    It's not like we can't watch porn on he internet.

Theres porn on the internet?

it's even on the tele to :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

So will these dvds be on sale on adverts.ie soon??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

jcrowbar wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure some "unlucky" guard will have to watch through all of those dvds to check for illegal content.

To true, imagine having to press play that many times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

swingking wrote: »

no they wont, because they are too busy with YORE MA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

utick wrote: »
    no they wont, because they are too busy with YORE MA

instaban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Feck...

btw what do they do with all the **** they seize??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭BenjAii

The real tragedy here is that there are people paying €50 for porn DVD's.

Hello!, there is this new invention called the "internet" and ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Holy moly thats a lotta money shots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Is hardcore porn illegal in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Mossy Monk wrote: »

Good question, probably is seen we are extremely good practicing catholics.

What is hardcore porn though?. I mean whats hardcore to some isn't hardcore too others, depending on your tastes etc etc...

exactlly ,some like their tea and coffeee that bit stronger but also depends on ones mood .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭BenjAii

Does it really matter ? The internet doesn't have any borders, that's where most of it is ......

latchyco wrote: »
    exactlly ,some like their tea and coffeee that bit stronger but also depends on ones mood .

And some like their tea and coffee with a car battery wired to their nipples, barbed wire on their todger and with a 18" rubber cock deep in their anus, but that just a normal weekend to probably 50% of boardsies. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Feelgood wrote: »
    Good question, probably is seen we are extremely good practicing catholics.

What is hardcore porn though?. I mean whats hardcore to some isn't hardcore too others, depending on your tastes etc etc...
    Pretty sure the step up from softcore to hardcore is simply penetration shots.

And some like their tea and coffee with a car battery wired to their nipples, barbed wire on their todger and with a 18" rubber cock deep in their anus, but that just a normal weekend to probably 50% of boardsies. :D
    Jezeeze ,i live a very sheltered life .Man /womon ,womon on womon does me ,without all the electrics tyvm :D

Mirror wrote: »

Yeah but their are people out there (particular wimmins) that would count the useless ****e of topless chicks walking down a beach with her kegs flapping around as hardcore porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,898 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Mirror wrote: »

yip and there's no horns in softcore, nothing got to do with barbed wire...

Yeah but their are people out there (particular wimmins) that would count the useless ****e of topless chicks walking down a beach with her kegs flapping around as hardcore porn.
    Oh I know, different strokes etc., but I believe that's the definition on how you class porn, legally speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

No. Up until about 12 years ago the authorities enforced the law on porn using a banned list, and if you were a video rental outlet and your movie was on said list then it was deemed illegal. Generally video shops stayed ahead of the game by importing new releases which had not made said list. It was basically a cat and mouse game. Now the law has changed and basically any movie which is not classified (PG, 12, 15, 18 etc) is illegal to rent or buy. I'm not sure if the classification authority is the Irish Censor Board or the BBFC in the UK, or now run by a European organisation. But generally speaking porno movies at that time when the law changed were not classified which is the reason why video clubs in the late 80's/90's (at least the legit ones) suddenly had to stop renting these films to the public. This was an easy way to effectively ban porn and give the impression hard core porn was illegal, leaving softcore on the shelves. I know at that time when it was VHS tapes, the guards in 1 station used pass the tapes around amongst their mates :) Today however we have the Internet, and sex shops generally only sell movies which have been classified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

swingking wrote: »
    I thought this would be a good one for after-hours :D

Apparently Gardai raided a sex shop in William St. in Dublin and seized about 65000 euros worth of sex dvds.

I felt a great disturbance in the Force,. as if millions of pervs suddenly cried out in terror :pac:

R0ot wrote: »
    I felt a great disturbance in the Force,. as if millions of pervs suddenly cried out in terror :pac:
    That's the second time I've seen that line used in a convoluted manner this week. Still makes me smile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

yip and there's no horns in softcore, nothing got to do with barbed wire...

no penetration, close up oral or genital shots, or cum shots is the general rule.

Flaccus wrote: »
    no penetration, close up oral or genital shots, or cum shots is the general rule.
    But you can wear a uniform .Even a police one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

firstly E50 for porn like the other poster said.. i had to check it on a calculator to be sure !. I was thinking.. E5 each but wait WTF FIFTY YOYO !!

What is hardcore porn though?. I mean whats hardcore to some isn't hardcore too others, depending on your tastes etc etc..

all depends if you have 5 nazi prozzies in your cellar spanking you... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I wonder which sex shop it is....

I went to school on South William St and there's at least 4 sex shops there.
    Ah, lunch times were fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Anyone remember the controversy over that film 9 songs being passed by the censor? We still have a banned books list afaik.
    The idea of censors makes me cringe, ministry of truth ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

I think the real question is why anyone actually pays for porn anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

jcrowbar wrote: »

theyve all got sore wrists anyway,imo..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

Flaccus wrote: »
    you sound like a disappointed guard..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Wait .. You can get p0rn on the interweb?

Jes, what next? Free music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

kowloon wrote: »
    Anyone remember the controversy over that film 9 songs being passed by the censor?
    That was a non-event, but I was surprised the film was passed and it was a landmark decision all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Jebus that was a **** film......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

kowloon wrote: »
    We still have a banned books list afaik.
    The Censorship of Publications Board can place a prohibition order on a book which lasts 12 years. A prohibition order on a periodical can last 3, 6 or 12 months but "A second or subsequent prohibition order on a periodical is permanent"

Apparently a prohibition order kicks in once it has been announced in Iris Oifigúil (http://www.irisoifigiuil.ie/). Do a search there for "prohibition order" this is what my first result gave me(From June 2003)
    (Sizzling Sex Stars)is unfit for viewing because the viewing of it would tend, by reason of the inclusion in it of obscene or indecent matter, to deprave or corrupt persons who might view it,

There is four in the January 19th 2007 Issue, with the same reason given.

More info here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/recreational-activities-in-ireland/censorship-in-ireland/censorship_of_publications_in_ireland/

LadyJ wrote: »
    I wonder which sex shop it is....

I went to school on South William St and there's at least 4 sex shops there.
    Ah, lunch times were fun!

You went there on your lunch!? :eek: :p

I thought I was bad bringing my then GF at the time home for lunch :D. I lived VERY close to my secondary school. O good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Now they just need to raid the moist wipes and vaseline factories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Sherifu wrote: »
    Now they just need to raid the moist wipes and vaseline factories.

LMAO

Nah a decent pharmacy for Kyjelly would do...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

On a serious note, I find it embarrassing how this piece of news would be received by other 1st world nations.

I walked up Thomas street from the city centre yesterday evening (yeah, I'm hard as nails me...) and saw three drug deals, and several junkies goofing off in full view of the general public - absolutely no attempt to hide or conceal the business. Meanwhile we're pissing away police resources raiding hand-shandy houses. I mean who are they protecting? kids know porn is free on t'internet. I'd feel a lot better if the Office of Consumer Affairs launched an investigation into the f**king price of the DVD's. You'd really need to be a wanker of every sort to pay 50 lids for a DVD you'll only ever see the first three minutes of... [End of Rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Note to self: Close the damn curtains at night :(

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,380 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

According to a mate, 5 sex shops were raided by the Gardai yesterday, and one will be closed down. This is a f**king disgrace - with vioent crime so high and worsening, and the Gardai have nothing better to do to than "raid" sex shops for porn DVDs? Pathetic.

Hardcore pornographhy IS completely illegal in Ireland, as the film censor refuses to classify such films. This puts us out of line with the rest of Europe and the USA in this regard. There is a major need for law reform here and Ireland is deeply, deeply backward in this regard. Policing what grown adults can and cannot view as entertainment is not a feature of a 21st century developed country.