Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scope Wanted

• 24-07-2008 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭

Good quality scope wanted

Looking to spend about 300 or so on a good scope and suitable mounts and such.

Need a fine reticle as it'll be used for targets as well as hunting. Something like a fine mil-dot would be perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Bobby_1

check out opticswarehouse.co.uk i got my scope from there. ordered on the sunday parcel arrived on the thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

You could also try ebay. One of the lads in BRC told me he has got unbelievable value there. As in €1600 scope for €600 landed :eek:

ebay.com not ebay.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Currently looking at this Tasco. It seems very cheap, but the reviews are good. Is it just going to be useless on high magnification for targets or will it be decent. Also, if it will be useless, roughly how high will it go and still be good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

have a good look at this link from steve
    http://opticswarehouse.co.uk/categories.asp?cat=12 and pick a GOOD one:D

Currently looking at this Tasco. It seems very cheap, but the reviews are good. Is it just going to be useless on high magnification for targets or will it be decent. Also, if it will be useless, roughly how high will it go and still be good?

I wouldn't be too keen on Tasco, they're cheap and that's because they are cheap.

Get a scope that you can live with for a long time. Be especially careful of variable power scopes because the cheaper ones don't have good glass and they get very dark when zoomed.

the square root of fcuk all use for targets, even at 50m

thehair wrote: »
    have a good look at this link steve

Why do you call everyone steve? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 wallyhering

i had a tasco 50x6x24 ill rect with range finder.got it cheap on ebay 50 euro in my hand. i had no complaints crisp view not too heavy. try to match the cost of the scope to your rifle say 1000 rifle 300 scope. thats what i was told at the time, hope this helps;)

Okay, further prodding has unearthed this. Any thoughts? Also, given the mil-dot seems geared towards specific figures, is it worth bothering with overall? Would the fine plex reticle be more useful for bunny-bashing and targets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

Okay, further prodding has unearthed this. Any thoughts? Also, given the mil-dot seems geared towards specific figures, is it worth bothering with overall? Would the fine plex reticle be more useful for bunny-bashing and targets?

very nice scope from steve:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I have a Nikko Nighter 8-32x60 AG IR scope. I think it is one of the better cheaper scopes. Glass is good turrets tight. I use it @x16 mag most of the time and it has a fine cross hair line with mill dots, easy to see all your targets and the bulls eyes. Got from opticswarehouse for €260 inc p&p.
    Remember the bigger the objective lens the bigger the view that the eye see's.
    My son has the same scope but in 6-24x56 AG IR and I would notice the difference in the eye view with the smaller objective lens at the same x16 mag.
    The infra red mil dot is great for night foxi hunting :D

Ideally I'd like a slightly smaller objective, maybe 40-44, as I worry that at 50mm my cheek weld will be compromised holding my head up to see through the eyepiece. Not a problem with the adjustable comb on my target rifle, but potentially a problem with a sporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭dos29

I'd give that burris a thumbs up anyway. I have the 4.5-14 version an I cant fault it. There seems to be an option on there to get target turrets for $23 or something so thats something else to definately consider if you decide to get that one. The lifetime warranty is good too. I've dealt with their customer care too,(nothin wrong with the scope!), but they couldn't help me enough!
    I think the bottom line with burris is they are EXCELLENT value for money. What you pay for one of their scopes is minimal compared to a lot of makes, but you still get a very high quality product. Thats my opinion anyway.

Cheers dos, that's great to hear. I was going to go for the target turrets alright. What reticle do you have and how do you find it?

I have the ballistic plex, which works to a degree. my rifle is .223 and some ammo matches the plex better than others. In the long run its more of a nice to have than a need to have. Maybe if you were hunting and encountered ranges from 100-500yds it would be more useful, but for target its fairly redundant. Good clear glass though.
    One slight drawback, so yoy have as much info as possible. The entire eyepiece twists to adjust zoom. They can be quite stiff, I know mine is. Again, probably more of a problem if hunting, when you need a different level, and quick! But not a problem for target.

To be honest this is going on a .22lr for now, and possibly on a .17 HMR at some point as well, so not going near 500 yards. You'd advise the fine plex then for fairly fixed ranges?

One very handy feature on a scope for targets is a quick range setting. The one I have can be set to 100 yards, 50m etc. with a turn at the objective end. Saves an awful lot of clicking on the turrets.

The other advantage of a large objective lens is light. The smaller the objective lens the less light it gathers and this is especially important with zooms because the number of lenses will also reduce light.

Just something to think about.

Absolutely, fine plex would be spot on.
    And out of curiosity, RRPC, when you say quick range setting on the front, your not talkin about the parallax adjustment, are you?:confused:

Okay, found and ordered a Weaver V-16 4-16x42 with a fine crosshair target dot reticle, which is about perfect. Looks a very nice deal and gets good reviews, a lot of guys across the water seem very fond of them. €205 after shipping. Even if I get hit for the various extra charges it works out quite nicely.

Right, turns out I forgot the US have some sort of embargo on shooting kit at the moment, so that order has been cancelled for me, and I'm seeking something of the same sort again, so any recommendations are once more welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Whats the story on the embargo IWM ? By the way what company were you hoping to get the weaver optics from if you dont mind ?? Im after a new scope myself and had looked at a few from Big Bass Pro shop not sure if they deliever optics or not. But that embargo yoke will have put an end to that for the moment...

Optics Planet RH.

Seems anything that can be stuck, screwed, glued, welded or nailed to a gun can't be exported. It's a pain in the far end to be honest. now having difficulty sourcing the same scope outside the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Optics Planet RH.

Seems anything that can be stuck, screwed, glued, welded or nailed to a gun can't be exported. It's a pain in the far end to be honest. now having difficulty sourcing the same scope outside the US.

Well that has made a mess of everything. Thanks for the heads up IWM.

Don't I know it! Only place I found mine over here is Midway UK, for only a few pounds short of the same figure in pounds before shipping as I was paying in dollars, including shipping, and that's just ridiculous, don't think I can justify paying 500 quid for a 250 quid scope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Some ultra cheap sights here - and the prices include shipping. http://www.dealextreme.com/products.dx/category.914

Not your ornery onager

Try this crowd IWM. http://theopticzone.com/weaverscopes.aspx
    They were great to me before and they have weaver, classic V. not sure if thats the same model as you were lookin at but if not ya might find somethin close. They did have to get an export license for mine though and that can take a while. Worth askin if they still ship overseas though.

dos29 wrote: »
    Absolutely, fine plex would be spot on.
    And out of curiosity, RRPC, when you say quick range setting on the front, your not talkin about the parallax adjustment, are you?:confused:

The very word! thanks dos29 :) could not for the life of me think of it yesterday morning.

Right, turns out I forgot the US have some sort of embargo on shooting kit at the moment, so that order has been cancelled for me, and I'm seeking something of the same sort again, so any recommendations are once more welcome.

If you had a friend in the states, this would be a great buy and they could ship it to you and you'd still be well ahead of the posse.

Though the reserve is still not met on the item :(

dos29 wrote: »
    Try this crowd IWM. http://theopticzone.com/weaverscopes.aspx
    They were great to me before and they have weaver, classic V. not sure if thats the same model as you were lookin at but if not ya might find somethin close. They did have to get an export license for mine though and that can take a while. Worth askin if they still ship overseas though.

Would like to thank dos29 for the information and for anyone else who's looking to get a quality scope cheap, this crowd will indeed ship here. They said it could be 2-4 weeks for the export licence, but them's the breaks. It's actually also the cheapest place I've found. Well worth a look for anyone I'd say. My scope is coming in under €200 shipped, and it looks to be a serious enough piece of glass for the money.

Glad it worked out. Hopefully it lives up to your expectations!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Lemon3

It Wasn't Me, I'm thinking of going a similar route for a scope, based on what i'm reading here and was wondering how the scope will be sent, as i hope to avoid any extra charges when it arrives.

I actually forgot to mention that side of it in my earlier post, so thanks for the reminder,
    and as this is for you too IWM, hopefully ye find it benificial.
    As a lot of threads here on the same subject say, there isn't really a surefire way to be certain of the end cost.
    Far as I remember, theopticzone deliver via USPS. These aren't as strict as UPS on duty, but they're still a lottery at best.
    I got a scope, rings, bases and covers without any extra payments, but a few months later I got a laser rangefinder and got stung.
    BUT......
    When I got stung, it still came in way under Irish or UK prices. Thats what ya kinda got to balance before buying.
    Another reason why I maybe got stung second time round might have been cos it was around Christmas time,
    an ye might remember there was a step up in customs around then.
    Either way, there ARE savings to be had, and at worst your taking a calculated risk on whats the LEAST you'll save!

To be honest, I always estimate to get stung for a generous tax helping. If it doesn't happen, fan-diddly-tastic, but it can go either way. I think The Optic Zone are shipping via USPS (for the thoroughly reasonable sum of about $28 for second day air service) and the whole lot including shipping is coming in under €200, so can't complain. Even if I get stung it's the price of something truly woeful here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

The rule of thumb I use for getting stung is : item + shipping + tax = change to $ to € and keep the same figure . its never far out, but still works out cheaper! If your after a scope for €300 the NcStar mark3 which was reviewed in ISD a few months back is quite good . It retails here for around 300 but you can bring it in from Canada much cheaper with no import worries. try this link http://www.riflescope-shop.com/markiii They have good clarity and 30mm tubes side paralax . for that money , what to loose . I have one on my foxer till the 4200 bushnell arrives and it works fine. Or heres another guy that says he'll ship to Ireland , although I have'nt used him yet http://sightwonders.com/ the Millet tactical looks good. hope this has helped. Or a guy in Cyprus the Nikko stirling are fairly good and over 300 in Ireland. ps check out the Export orders tag on the bottom of the page :D link;http://www.airgunforhunt.com/index.php?catalogue&telescopic_sites&f=nikkostirlinglogo

Cheers for the info fish slapped, but I've already paid for a Weaver V16, which looks lovely. Currently awaiting it to be shipped, as it's coming from the US, so export permits are needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

no problem man but its still worth checking out that export orders page , they're just a little bit bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Lemon3

In the end I ordered from http://www.opticswarehouse.com Got a Leupold scope off them as cheap as from the US and delivered 3 days after I ordered with no customs duty worries. Recommended. Oh, I also used my VAT number for extra savings.