Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your least Favourite pub in Ireland?

• 24-07-2008 5:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

No small amount of competition,especially in Dublin.
    I'd say 4 Dame Lane..pretentious,overpriced kip with sullen,incompetent barstaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Wax in dublin. Most unfriendly place in the world, 3 hours in there and only one person would talk to me. Place was full of pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Dicey Reilly's in Dublin. Nice spot, great beer garden but ignorant ***** working behind the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

q-bar

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It always seems to me that the worst bar I have encountered is always the place where all my mates want to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

Ron Blacks (version 2, not the original).
    Dandelion
    Doyles
    Cocoon
    City Bar
    McTurkels
    4, Dame Lane

Overpriced, pretentious kips the lot of them. Any place that decides to raise the price of drink as the night goes on. Any place with bouncers in wool coats and gloves, even in the middle of summer. Any place that charges you e5.50 for a pint, and the bar person doesn't even give you a smile. Any place that hands you out a pint, and then closes up and asks you to leave 10 minutes later (Sin é). Any place with a black in the jacks.

It would make you want to stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pretty much anywhere shirts and skirts congregate, Living Room, Front Door, ...
    Tea towel shirts ftl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The Middle Shop in Leixlip.
    Full of menopausal men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Oliver St. Gogarty's wrecks me. There are actually very few bars in Dublin that are spectacular at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Terry wrote: »
    The Middle Shop in Leixlip.
    Full of menopausal men.

Isn't that your regular??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

The Bodega in Cork. So gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Feelgood wrote: »
    Isn't that your regular??
    No.
    My local is the Riverforest Hotel.
    Also lotsof menopausal men, but it has a wide range of people, I sometimes get job offers there, the staff are great and so are the pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

IronMan wrote: »
    Ron Blacks (version 2, not the original).
    Dandelion
    Doyles
    Cocoon
    City Bar
    McTurkels
    4, Dame Lane

How did Cafe en Seine not make that list?

I agree with most of them, but I thought McTurcaills was more of a normal pub type place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Actually there's some kip in Maynooth where yer man beghind the bar through an absolute micky fit because i told him he left me 50 pence short(this was a while ago).

eoin_s wrote: »
    How did Cafe en Seine not make that list?

I agree with most of them, but I thought McTurcaills was more of a normal pub type place.

To be fair McTurcails isnt the worst in the world but it IS expensive.Plus they have an absolute dickhead of a black in the jacks,always roaring on his phone with his feet almost up on the taps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Anywhere full of pretentious scenester ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

The Concorde, The Donameade Inn, The Manor Inn.

3 in a row...

The Concorde, The Donameade Inn, The Manor Inn.

3 in a row...

Donaghmede in is Glassing Central.Kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The Concorde, The Donaghmede Inn

Oh good choice!! Also the Old Boro in Swords, hate that kip.

Didn't like 4 Dame Lane when I was there once but, eh, I didn't actually know that's where I was since there was no signs or anything up outside telling people that that was the name of the place. So I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

CPT. SURF wrote: »

Isn't that a restaurant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Dicey Rileys.

A cool pub let down by surly staff and serious overcrowding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Here_Young_Wan

Grogans.....such a bunch of posers and has beens....also we get it. You like art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Anywhere the "important" people congregate.
    Reminds me of the heckling Bill Bailey got once for saying he was in a pub called Lillys Bordello (is that how it's spelt?). Classic. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭COH

'The Bank' on Dame St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

taidghbaby wrote: »
    q-bar

I was in that place in Dublin once. Sterile atmosphere and overpriced mainstream booze.

One of the worst pubs I was ever in was a place called McHugh's in Sligo. Barman was a right ignorant p***k in there. Would have walked out of there only for I was with a group of friends watching the Ireland-France soccer match.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Any place where accountants and their ilk hang out.

Most of them have been named already (mostly by IronMan).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭TirEoghain

Can't believe Coppers never got a mention!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Any pub that resembles a niteclub during the day
    Any pub that serves food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

The George ... I can never find a chick in there

... well, maybe once, but I am not going to go through that again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

+1 to Cafe Insane. Horrible place.

Also the Pav and Kiely's. Full of protentious D4/Trinners ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

Flannerys.. could well be added,

what is wierd it that, if people move around a lot, how come , pubs still have the same kind of people in them every time you go there.. , mmm but they do..

used to like Bruxelles, never really the same after the smoking ban, and got charged 5.50 for a guinness tonight.. nngh.. f that..

and hate to say it.. well on this thread , but , its not where you are but who you are with.. ( as long as they are not charging over a fiver for a guinness, and the bar staff are good, and it isnt full of pushy rude c**ts , slim pickings these days.. oh why oh why oh why)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Yore Ma's
    Not really of course! I'll be in for a drink soon. :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Popinjay

Used to know a girl who worked in 4 Dame Lane.

Warned me that if I was ever in there ordering spirits & a mixer to specify my brand of spirit too because as the night wears on some of the staff may or may not (disclaimer :D) have poured the expensive vodkas etc. instead of your smirnoff or what have you, basically doubling the price of your drink if you looked drunk enough to not notice.

Fortunately, it was never my kind of place anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Popinjay wrote: »
    Used to know a girl who worked in 4 Dame Lane.

Warned me that if I was ever in there ordering spirits & a mixer to specify my brand of spirit too because as the night wears on some of the staff may or may not (disclaimer :D) have poured the expensive vodkas etc. instead of your smirnoff or what have you, basically doubling the price of your drink if you looked drunk enough to not notice.

Fortunately, it was never my kind of place anyway.

That's good practice anywhere.

A lot of bars fill the bottles with the optic measures, which say "Smirnoff, Gordons etc, with generic spirits, so whereas, when you order a "Vodka and Coke", you think you're getting Smirnoff and Coke, whereas, it's actually Tesco vodka.

And they're not, I believe technically breaking any laws, unless you ask for "Smirnoff and Coke".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Right today I'm going to start my boards posting on a positive note.

The best in Dublin is my local - Campions on the Malahide Rd (Balgriffin), but apart from maybe Degsy I doubt any boardies have ventured in.

They've local (ie - Dublin) bar staff, no doorstaff to fvck up your night. And they serve everyone from locals, to farm labourers, to travellers and all in one big happy mix.

Worse, well for me (I'm keeping away from the city centre since its pretty much covered) goes to The Beaumont House (surly barstaff but the pint is grand). Next is 'The Golf Links' in Portmarnock for the same reason as The Beaumonth house.

An absolutely woeful pint, most pretentious shower of **** stains has to go to Gibneys of Malahide.

Worse pubs I've ever seen for trouble has been almost anywhere in Leixlip, but that was a long time ago, when the garda station was closed from something like 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mairt wrote: »
    The best in Dublin is my local - Campions on the Malahide Rd (Balgriffin), but apart from maybe Degsy I doubt any boardies have ventured in.

Been there a good ten times, all after funerals.

Seemed nice but I can't help associate it with bad experiences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

"RedXIV
    Wax in dublin. Most unfriendly place in the world, 3 hours in there and only one person would talk to me. Place was full of pricks"

Used to love that place on wednesdays, went a little downhill with the croud it attracted changed. Haven't been there in months. Very reliable for great music though!

Can't really think of any pubs/clubs I don't like tbh... Once theres beer, some sort of music and a few mates a good night can be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

CPT. SURF wrote: »
    k99_64 wrote: »
    Isn't that a restaurant?

Nope, the Bodega is also a bar. I liked the place before it closed and re-opened recently. Apparently the "clientele" is gone to sh*t and it's €10 to get in the front door now!! :eek:

My most recent least favourite pub is Murray's in Lusk. Went there last week with 2 Italian friends I hadn't seen in a while and we got the dirtiest looks I've ever had in my life. It was like we weren't welcome as we weren't locals or something... :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Jim Doyles in Bray

i would rather chop my leg off then step over the threshold of that hovel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 eoinmaclove

the Bailey is a fairly horrendous spot.

Grogans would be grand if not for the clientele.

More out of town, the Bell in Blanchardstown isn't very nice at all. either is the Barbican in Castleknock.

There are probably 000's of crap bars in Ireland, but we're blessed with some great ones as well.

irishbird, is that the place next to the Porterhouse on the seafront?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

"Ten" in Waterford City, Sh*te Music, sh*te beer, ignorant bar staff and its full of scumbags!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭captainzapp

citi bar easily.

they entice you in with their 2 euro drinks but charge you a tenner at the door. which means you have to but at least 6 drinks to just break even. and you have to buy beer or shots all night. i mean youd think a vodka and lime would be 2 euro but they charge 2 euro for the dash as well. its evil.

you might not mind all that if it was a decent bar, but its not. its awful.

Aspiration wrote: »
    irishbird, is that the place next to the Porterhouse on the seafront?

it is indeed

Mairt wrote: »

i am going to answer for Des "no F" seeing as he is banned.

He goes to Campions too

irishbird wrote: »
    it is indeed

Myself and MIN and a bunch of her friends were there last Sunday and had a glorious time! ...I can see what you mean though but we spent our time in the beer garden and I think I only liked it because of all the food stalls around :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

irishbird wrote: »
    i am going to answer for Des "no F" seeing as he is banned.

He goes to Campions too

He told me that before, but I drink there all the time and I've never seen him.

He's banned?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

Ah yes citi bar I remember that place, definately a crap spot. Ok so 1 pub in the world I hate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭rowlandbrowner

fibbers.... bloody elitist metalers and any club frequented by next brand shirt wearing middle management types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Q bar, Citi bar, Reds, Break for the Border, Barcode, Panama....