Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are my parents stupid?

• 16-07-2008 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Please I need to get your views on this.

I love my parents, but lately I have some problems with them.

Today I had an argument with my dad. He is a taxi man, and start telling me that the taxi commisioner I think, said that they have got no complaints about ''foreign taxi drivers''...which he said was bull****.

He then slowly built up to a rant about those 'Nigerians' ...I said he was talking crap..you can't judge a whole group of people like that. He then went on about how I was wrong because he was a taxi man and had experienced it..I said I don't care if you have picked up 3,000 Nigerians its still stereotyping(I was also wondering how he knew they were Nigerian)

He then got pissed off and said I don't know what I am talking about.

I said I'm right, because history shows that the settled population will slander a whole group of people who have immigrated. They did the same thing with Irish/Italians/Chinese in USA.

He then went onto say that 'its not everyone but the vast majority are dirty and don't know where anywhere is...I want to know do immigrants have to take the taxi driver test for the license?

I was then talking to my mum and this is what reallly pissed me off. She's one of those 'won't form an opinion people'.....I said 'do you have a problem with the image that the irish have'...her response? Its upto you to defy that stereotype, and thats what people will say to you.

She then went onto say how they have a repuation for being like that....to which I replied don't be a ****ing idiot and for some reason got upset and through water at her before storming out. I was so sad, and I don't know what got to me, but it was the whole stupidity of what they were saying.

So yeah can people give their opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

don't throw water at your moma. bold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

yeah, you're parents are idiots and probably too old to change. Do they keep that crap in check around normal people or your mates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

You're right to be upset, but you're not going to change anything arguing with your parents. Its an argument you will come across time and again, and it is good that you speak out against it, just remember to pick you battles, use your energy when it matters, or when it might make a difference.

My parents were the same, and it bothered me a lot when I was younger, but I know my Dad was brought up in a different time. He works hard and has earned the right to his opinions. I can discuss the issue with him, and through reasoned argument we can agree to differ, he can appreciate my point of view, and I can appreciate where he got his - if you can approach it like this without throwing water, you might be doing well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

OP you're more clued in and tolerant than your parents are. Your dad made a sweeping generalisation and you mam stuck her head in the sand.

You're in the right but you aren't going to change their views. Stick to your own principles and be tolerant of their opinions. Parents can be a minefield!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

Why is it nobody ever gives out about ebay ads which state 'Will not ship to Nigeria/insert other african country due to scammers'? its terrible (yawn) but some places/people/footballteams/Religions have a poor image.:rolleyes:

In Ireland we "drink too much and are great craic", many Irish people dont fit with this at all but the stereotype continues nonetheless, Germans are efficent, the Japanese are hard workers etc etc.

Nigerians get the 'untrustworthy thing' my response is live with it the world goes on - its wrong but in reality (and its not just older generations either) most people have a bias or two they just wont admit them and wont know unless the circumstances present themselves that might allow it to present itself, there are so many high moral rollers on boards it astounds at times. Time will prove that people are in actual fact good and not bad your Dad might soon see this about the Nigerian taxi drivers.Who knows?

Let you father have his views based on his experience in the industry he works in untill proved otherwise, a trip to an African country might do this?! You should'nt force your attitude on him its not as easy for some to adapt as others eg. younger people. I call it an attitude as you dont state how many Nigerians you have come in contact with.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭BizzyLizzy

Hi guys,Today I had an argument with my dad....

....and for some reason got upset and through water at her before storming out. I was so sad, and I don't know what got to me, but it was the whole stupidity of what they were saying.

Kid you know nothing of the world yet! Listen to your parents. They aren't stupid... the dogs on the street know what they know. The only ones who don't know what is going on "out there" is our politicians.

Your parents are worried and concerned about the future, the future YOU are going to inherit! The livelihood of the Irish taxi driver is in serious jeopardy, thanks to the blatant ignorance of the current taxi regulator, a former secretary who took over when her boss, the original regulator high-tailed it out of there.

Open your eyes, cop on to yourself, show respect for your parents and apologise to your mother for being so disrespectful, you should be ashamed of yourself. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭patrickdt10

such a brat. tryin to be so p.c. my sister is the same feckin way. Nigerians - where to start, back to africa ye pack of . irish lads need jobs fist and foremost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Reminds me of the Churchill quote:
    Show me a young conservative and I'll show you someone with no heart. Show me an old liberal and I'll show you someone with no brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

First and foremost NEVER THROW WATER AT YOUR MA, that is plain disrespectful.

IMO both your parents are illiterates and I do not mean that in the sense that they do not have any education.

As I recall the government has mandated that people with refugee status work or get education, this is a welcomed idea because now they can work and stop sponging the taxes we all pay! This has seen a rise in immigrants’ scourging for jobs. Driving a taxi is very flexible so it would be the preferred choice also having sat navigators in cars means you don’t need to know the location to get there.

Stereotyping is typical, in America people still go “Ye ****ing Irish go back to your country” and with the way the market is (share prices, unemployment, recession) this stereotyping would continue. The fact of the matter is every country needs immigrants (legal & illegal). They do the dirty jobs no one would do for wages you wouldn’t take. I reckon you have family in either Australia or America.... like most people do how they (your parents) would feel if they had to be put through the rants of people.

BizzyLizzy; your comments astound me... the fact that you would think “the livelihood of the Irish taxi driver is in serious jeopardy” due to Nigerians’ drivers is astounding, the livelihood of everyone is in serious jeopardy! No one knows what would happen in 10 years time, such is the way of life!

Patrickdt10; why Nigerians? Why not Chinese/Indians/Mexicans...
    Nigerians do are known for their craftiness and crooked nature, but it is wrong to taint everyone with the same brush.

And OP, they are your parents... You don't have to do as they do or talk as they talk, you are perfectly normal having your own opinion. At the end of the day it's your opinion and they can't take that away from ya:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Hi guys,

Today I had an argument with my dad. He is a taxi man, and start telling me that the taxi commisioner I think, said that they have got no complaints about ''foreign taxi drivers''...which he said was bull****.

He then slowly built up to a rant about those 'Nigerians' ...I said he was talking crap..you can't judge a whole group of people like that. He then went on about how I was wrong because he was a taxi man and had experienced it..I said I don't care if you have picked up 3,000 Nigerians its still stereotyping(I was also wondering how he knew they were Nigerian)

I said I'm right, because history shows that the settled population will slander a whole group of people who have immigrated. They did the same thing with Irish/Italians/Chinese in USA.

He then went onto say that 'its not everyone but the vast majority are dirty and don't know where anywhere is...I want to know do immigrants have to take the taxi driver test for the license?

I was then talking to my mum and this is what reallly pissed me off. She's one of those 'won't form an opinion people'.....I said 'do you have a problem with the image that the irish have'...her response? Its upto you to defy that stereotype, and thats what people will say to you.

She then went onto say how they have a repuation for being like that....to which I replied don't be a ****ing idiot and for some reason got upset and through water at her before storming out. I was so sad, and I don't know what got to me, but it was the whole stupidity of what they were saying.

I think you're the idiot. Your parents have a view on something and you don't agree with it so you throw water at your mother and walk out?

I personally don't agree with your parents views myself but I don't think their opinion on something would make them idiots. Raising a disrespectful little ****e like you though probably would make them idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

You shouldn't diss the rents. They put the school uniform on your back and put food in your mouth.

Their views are a little antiquated, but probably not too far from the truth. Just doesn't sit comfortably with the 21st century "I'm cool with everything" point of view.

Anyway, go out and experience the world and form your own opinions based on your own experiences. That is really the only solution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

BizzyLizzy wrote: »
    Kid you know nothing of the world yet! Listen to your parents. They aren't stupid... the dogs on the street know what they know. The only ones who don't know what is going on "out there" is our politicians.

Your parents are worried and concerned about the future, the future YOU are going to inherit! The livelihood of the Irish taxi driver is in serious jeopardy, thanks to the blatant ignorance of the current taxi regulator, a former secretary who took over when her boss, the original regulator high-tailed it out of there when he foresaw the impending invasion of the foreigners.

Open your eyes, cop on to yourself, show respect for your parents and apologise to your mother for being so disrespectful, you should be ashamed of yourself. :mad:

Please tell me this is sarcasm...?

Yeah, op, you're parents are stupid, but unfortunately it's just their generation... Tbh, they are welcome to their opinion so long as they don't actively insult anyone to their face.

But throwing water at your mother wasn't a smart move.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I will not tolerate racist remakes in this forum.
    I have infracted everyone who has made one and I'll be banning from here on it.
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Your parents aren't stupid, far from it. Your dad is basing opinions on real life experience.

You are basing opinions on pie-in-the-sky idealism and theory, and can seemingly only articulate yourself by throwing water at your mother.

Who is right and who is wrong is not the issue here. The issue is that you assume people to be 'idiots' simply because they have a contrary viewpoint to your own. A secondary issue is your behaviour towards them because of this, and your inability to articulate yourself coherently and courteously.

I have differing opinions with my parents all the time. That doesn't make them, or me, an idiot. It certainly doesn't make me have a big strop in the kitchen, either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

You threw water at your mother because she did not agree with you?
    Wow, I guess the apple did not fall far from the tree.

You sound like a spoilt brat, I am not saying you parents are right, or wrong.
    But entitled to their opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

TBH,

Their is a disproppiante amount of credit card and internet performed by Nigerians. So although a large percentage of the them may be OK. you have to face up to the facts that there is a large number of them preforming criminal activity which tarnishes the name of others.

Their is alos a problem where the PC brigade are reverse racists who can not face up to the fact that an ethnic minority has a a larger proportion of crime that other groups.

As for you Dad, taxi drivers are having a hard time of late, he's worried abotu putting a roof over your head, best just grin and bear his comments.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

This thread is going downhill into areas beyond the crux of the matter. Everyone stick to the topic at hand which is disagreement with parents plus his reaction. Anything else and I'm locking it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Please tell me this is sarcasm...?

Which part?

MIN2511 wrote: »
    BizzyLizzy; your comments astound me... the fact that you would think the livelihood of the Irish taxi driver is in serious jeopardy due to Nigerians drivers is astounding, .....

Where exactly did you get that quote from?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Stay on topic or this gets locked. Take it to PM if you have a problem with a previous posters comments

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Stay on topic or this gets locked. Take it to PM if you have a problem with a previous posters comments

Okay, apologies. Enough BS. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

While i dont agree with your parents views i can see where they get them. Alot of the older generation are this way. Old dog, new tricks etc etc...

But throwing water in your mothers face and calling her a " ****ing idiot " is just not on. If that was my mother i would have been kicked out of the house for that. Best you go appologise :)

Also, if you cant debate/talk about a subject in a mature manner, its best you dont do it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭little lady

The livelihood of the Irish taxi driver is in serious jeopardy due to deregulation and the flooding of the market with new drivers regardless of where they are from.

OP my dad has been a taxi driver for over 30 years and he has the same opinion as yours, however this isn’t due to him driving for a living it’s due to the way he was brought up, his experiences working in the UK when he was younger and his life experiences.

You have a right to your opinion and to express it but so do your parents and you shouldn’t be getting upset because your and their opinions aren’t the same. Also, as annoying as your parents are\can be, you should respect them, they are your parents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Your dad has an opinion you don't agree with.
    Your mum choose not to get involved in a row between the man she loves and her child whom she loves.
    Your mum encouraged you to make up you own mind.
    Sounds to me your mum loves you and your father, is a typical dad.

What was your reaction though? Throw water at your mother? You should be ashamed of yourself. Seriously. You can't be proud of that. Adults don't act that way.
    As for your argument with your father, well thats growing up. You'll know you've grown up, when you have this discussion and it doesn't end in a strop; when you can respect him for everything else he's done for you, and not disrespect him over a single comment/view point.

Personally I've grown to love the banter & debates I have with my father. I've also come to realise that through out my growing up he didn't always argue points he believed. He played devils advocate more often than not to encourage discussion and debate.
    We still debate sometime ridiculous point over a pint. It's great craic and I love my father for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭giddyup

ted1 wrote: »
    TBH,

Their is a disproppiante amount of credit card and internet performed by Nigerians. So although a large percentage of the them may be OK. you have to face up to the facts that there is a large number of them preforming criminal activity which tarnishes the name of others.

Their is alos a problem where the PC brigade are reverse racists who can not face up to the fact that an ethnic minority has a a larger proportion of crime that other groups.

As for you Dad, taxi drivers are having a hard time of late, he's worried abotu putting a roof over your head, best just grin and bear his comments.

I agree with everything this Churchillian wit has said. Stephen Hawking - watch out. Dawkins - the Simonyi chair is under threat. Chomsky - pack your bags. Taxi for Eco. A bright day for Ireland's future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Original Poster, You are young, you see the world through eyes that have not yet been forced to reconcile themselves to the unfairness that life can sometimes throw at people. That's not a bad thing, it's just the way it is for you right now.

I'm guessing that your parents aren't very well educated? My Dad left school at 11 and worked his arse off, days, nights and weekends (as did my Mam) bringing in cash so that myself and my bro could eat and be clothed. Our school jumpers were knitted instead of bought...the usual story for lots of us that grew up in the late 1970's and early 80's.

My Dad (in particular) was famous for throwing out remarks such as your own Dad did, at our dinner table. When Ireland began taking in refugees from Bosnia and Serbia my Dad announced one night that those Serbs, Croats and Bosnians should be sent home because 'they're out every night rapin' women! They got a taste for it over there'. This was something a colleague had told him was happening in Cherry Orchard in Dublin (where many of the refugees were staying).

It drove me mad and we had massive rows about it but now I understand that my Dad's remarks were based on a fear of the unknown. My Dad was afraid that because these men would work for less than he would, he thought he was in danger of being replaced. He knew he had no skills to get any other type of job and he was afraid. What would happen if he lost his job? How would he feed his family? Where would the money for schoolbooks come from? What about birthdays and Christmas? (We couldn't afford to go away on holidays so there was no fear of losing that) :)

As it happened he didn't get replaced by any rampant rapists :D and over the past few years his attitudes have mellowed a lot. He's gone from an ardent Sinn Féin and anti-Europe person to one who thinks that Europe should expand and let Eastern European countries join and says things like "We got a lot from Europe, other countries should be allowed to get something too".

As an adult now I have a lot more life experience under my belt and I can understand his fears and how undervalued he felt in his own job. I'm ashamed of some of the things I said to him and my high-horse attitude. However, life goes on.

Your parents are not idiots. Neither are you! I totally disagree with your Dads viewpoint but I understand his fear. Sometimes these people do have a point but they are unable to express or articulate that point in any other way than by making ridiculous OTT statements. They don't have the logical reasoning or language skills to do so any other way than with anger and hostility. That's wrong but once you understand it you can work to change it, not by directly challenging it but through dialogue and discussion.

The fact that you threw water at your mother is absolutely disgraceful as is the fact that you call your parents 'idiots'. However, the fact that you feel bad about the water bit shows that at least you know it was wrong. Don't ever let that happen again. People are entitled to their opinions, even if they are wrong.

efla wrote: »
    You're right to be upset, but you're not going to change anything arguing with your parents. Its an argument you will come across time and again, and it is good that you speak out against it, just remember to pick you battles, use your energy when it matters, or when it might make a difference.

My parents were the same, and it bothered me a lot when I was younger, but I know my Dad was brought up in a different time. He works hard and has earned the right to his opinions. I can discuss the issue with him, and through reasoned argument we can agree to differ, he can appreciate my point of view, and I can appreciate where he got his - if you can approach it like this without throwing water, you might be doing well

Bloody good post from r3nu4l which pretty much nails it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

If I'd ever thrown anything at my mother, I'd have been out on the street. That was an incredibly immature and ignorant thing to do. I hope that you've apologised to her, she must be feeling incredibly hurt right now. Your Dad also deserves an apology.

The simple fact of the matter is that you're always going to have a love-hate relationship with your parents. You love them, but because see them in yourself, you don't want to be like them. Therefore you will be contrary to them at times. Accept this fact and life will get a lot easier.

People are entitled to their opinions, no matter how daft, stupid and ill-informed you consider them to be. Grow up, and learn to handle other people's opinions. From your post, you sound like a teenager.

Pie in the sky idealism is all well and good, but wait until you have practical experience before you start bleating on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭tobiesheba

I don't mean to be patronising but as you get older you learn that not everybody is going to think like you or agree with your viewpoints. Your parents are entitled to their views, just as your entitled to believe differently.

However you're not entitled to abuse somebody just because they don't think like you. If you had been having this conversation/debate with friends and one of them had disagreed with you would you have verbally assualted them and thrown water at them? Probably not because they probably wouldn't want to be friends with someone who would treat them like that. However your mother will always be your mother and she will always love you and you have treated her horribly. I think you really need to apologise to her and try to control your temper.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

She then went onto say how they have a repuation for being like that....to which I replied don't be a ****ing idiot and for some reason got upset and through water at her before storming out.

I hope that today you are ashamed of your behaviour.
    I sincerely hope that you intend to apologise to your mother for throwing water at her. The second you did that you lost your argument.

Whatever your parents views are, they have brought you up as best they could.
    Yes their views are antiquated, so are a lot of my parents views. In a lot of things we are poles apart in how we think.
    I may not respect some of their views, but I respect their right to have them and I can state what I think on a certain subject and leave it at that. I suggest you do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

I disagree with people describing the OPs parents as "idiots". His dad conceded that not all nigerians/whatever were "Like that", and his mother told him that if he had a problem with it it was up to him to do something about it.

OP I think you're being a bit of a drama quenn to be honest. And throwing water at your mother, wtf is that about?

I think you need a bit of cop on, you'll disagree with your parents on a lot of things in the course of your life, that doesn't automatically make them bad people, and it certainly doesn't warrant you throwing a hissy fit and storming off like a spoilt brat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

tobiesheba wrote: »
    I don't mean to be patronising but as you get older you learn that not everybody is going to think like you or agree with your viewpoints. Your parents are entitled to their views, just as your entitled to believe differently.

However you're not entitled to abuse somebody just because they don't think like you. If you had been having this conversation/debate with friends and one of them had disagreed with you would you have verbally assualted them and thrown water at them? Probably not because they probably wouldn't want to be friends with someone who would treat them like that. However your mother will always be your mother and she will always love you and you have treated her horribly. I think you really need to apologise to her and try to control your temper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I agree with everyone regarding else regarding throwing water at your mother. Not nice.

But I can understand how you feel when your old man said told you to shut up because you don't know what your talking about. You're entitled to your opinions. However, you are doing the exact same thing as he is in one way.

Him not wanting to hear what you have to say
    You not hearing his side and trying to change his mind

They're quite similar. Aplogise for the water throwing part (if you haven't already) and remember that you can't always change people's opinions. People will like you more and value your opinions if you respect their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭rescue26

Did your Dad actually use those words or is that your spin on it. What a spoilt brat you are. You should be totally ashamed of the way you acted. Im presuming your young but thats no excuse for acting like a 5 year old. My dad has his opinions on stuff and no one will ever change his mind and we do end up disagreeing but never for one minute would I treat them like you have done.If i did, I no where they would tell me to go. Out of their house. Because thats exactly what it is, their home and if you dont like they way they act or their opinion then move out and get your own place. Why are people calling the parents idiots, what, cos they have an opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Well firstly, go out buy some flowers or whatever and give them to your mother, tell her you love her and that you're really sorry.

Secondly, you mother has likely had to listen to your father talk crap for the last what 30? years - and its not that she doesn't have an opinion - its just that she's probably used to not getting a word in edgeways at this stage and doesn't bother.

Ok, your father is an opinionated jerk - so is mine. Trust me my father is well capable of blaming everything on someone else. I can't abide all that negativity and blame and haven't spoken to him (he lives abroad) in about 5 years. People say to me - oh you've only one father you should talk to him - and as I point out - its not that I'm not talking to him - its just that I have nothing to talk about.

The only advice I can give you is that when your father wants to talk crap - let him, don't rise to it - no matter how off the mark he is - because the only one getting annoyed here is you, and life is too short for that.

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

Hi guys,

Your parents are stupid for letting your disrespectful and violent behaviour go unchecked and for allowing you to remain under their roof. NEVER ASSAULT YOUR MOTHER AGAIN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I doubt you would have thrown that water over your father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Sounds like you broke a commandment there to win a silly arguement

Fighting with your parents gets you no where
    Nod and smile - then think your are older than me and I will have to choose your nursing home - evil laugh mwahhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

This is a typical view of a teenager who thinks he/she knows everything when they know nothing and have no respect for their parents or to appreciate that they have been around much longer than they have and probably do have a better view of the world. You're the one giving out your parents and you have the cheek to throw water at your mother because you got angry?? If my 3 year old did that theyd be slung up to their room. WHat were you thinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Ronaldo2

First of all no way should you be throwing water over your mother or anyone else for that matter. You cannot attack someone just because they don't agree with your opinion.
    Secondly, your parents are from a different generation than you and will have different opinions on a lot of issues. Instead of fighting with them over it, try to discuss, debate these issues with them.
    Unfortunately rascism seems quite deeply ingrained in Ireland, that doesn't mean it wont change though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Hi guys,

Today I had an argument with my dad. ......

Few points.

1. You should have got the head kicked of you for throwing water at your mother and a good slap for talking like that to your father. How dare you show disrespect like that.

2. What age are you ? Where do you get this "know it all" attitude from ? You think you are smarter and know more about the world then your parents ? Wake up.

So your old man thinks Nigerians are dodgy. So whats your point ? They're not ALL dodgy ? Well aren't you great. You deserve some sort of award, defender of political correctness. Congratulations.

Oh good you read a history book and now your an expert over your father of X times more life experience then you.

Typical little brat that has started showing its head the last few years.

Why hasn't your father knocked seven shades of ****e out of you ? Your a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

not sure exactly who it was that said

"when i was 15 my father was a damn idiot. when i got to 22 i was amazed how much he'd learned in the last seven years."

touchy-feely tree-hugging why-can't-we-all-just-get-along liberalism is all very well, but it's not the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Monosharp: No more of that. There is a policy in PI on abuse.

If you cannot articulate your points without resorting to it, then dont post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Deadevil129

Op, you've been attacked enough at this stage so I'll offer a little sympathy instead...

I know it's infuriating to hear somebody rant on about a paticular race in a way that's not very flattery, not very PC and probably bordering on racism. I only know because I happen to live with a relative who's incredibly anti-everyone. If you're not from Dublin, England, France or another western European country then I'm afraid this person wont want to know you. I've spent years listening to their opinions on Muslims (women hating murderers), Romanians(theiving bastards), Americans(God damn idiots), the Japanese(women hating murderers again for some reason) and so on and so forth. It used to cause blazing arguments between the two of us but I've just learned to block it out. It's hard to do and it's infuriating but they wont listen to any sort of reason because they've formed their opinion on their experiance (or lack of in some cases) and you can't blame them for that.

Maybe your father is slightly ignorant to other cultures and such, maybe he's not the most articulate person at putting across his point and it came out completely un pc. These aren't things you can hold against him, as posters have said before he's of an older generation and probably a little stuck in his ways.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I hope that today you are ashamed of your behaviour.
    I may not respect some of their views, but I respect their right to have them and I can state what I think on a certain subject and leave it at that. I suggest you do the same.

So how come you can't respect my views instead of sending me a post to say I "Received an infraction for Racist Views"

I have been acused of using sarcasm and of using the "N" word, none of which is true, and compared to the "tone" of others, IMHO I have been positively saintly! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

+1 on another infraction for off-topic moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

BizzyLizzy wrote: »
    So how come you can't respect my views instead of sending me a post to say I "Received an infraction for Racist Views"

I have been acused of using sarcasm and of using the "N" word, none of which is true, and compared to the "tone" of others, IMHO I have been positively saintly! :cool:

I can't see what you originally posted as you edited the post.

If you have a complaint about the treatment you feel you've received from a moderator, then please take it to the Feedback forum or communicate via PM rather than clog up this forum.

Please read the charter located at the top of this forum for guidelines on posting in Personal Issues.

dudara

Zulu wrote: »
    +1 on another infraction for off-topic moaning.

You? moan? NEVER! :D

dudara wrote: »
    I can't see what you originally posted as you edited the post.

If you have a complaint about the treatment you feel you've received from a moderator, then please take it to the Feedback forum or communicate via PM rather than clog up this forum.

Please read the charter located at the top of this forum for guidelines on posting in Personal Issues.

dudara

I removed the word Foreigner as it was misconstrued to read as Niger**n.

Thanks for the info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Your father is right in what he is saying about his experiences. He is wrong to use that as his proof the entire group is like that. But you can understand why he does.
    He's generalizing based on his experiences which is wrong but understandable. If he was generalizing about something trivial like movies or music based on his experiences with it people would say 'ok fair enough' but because it's about people it's easily to cry racism. It's ignorant but not racist.
    Racism is hating someone just for being themselves. He's giving out about a group based on his experiences with them. That's perfectly legitimate. But using it to tar the entire group is ignorant. Nothing more.
    In Mount Joy Prison almost the entire Nigerian prisoner population are in for fraud. Based on this information it's easy to see where the view that Nigerians are all scammers comes from. Myopic yes, racist no.