Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Really stupid things you've done

• 15-07-2008 1:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭

Got a letter from the guards - I got €20 petrol and never paid for it... Whoops! In the same station, I got €10 petrol and gave them €20.
    I'm naturally blonde :)

So, has any one else done any really brain dead things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

The Queen wrote: »

YORE MA!!!

sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

signed up for boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

replied to this post:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

The Queen wrote: »

I found this horse dead on the road one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Said yes to setting up a contract in LIMERICK. Seriously the most boring place on the planet.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Steve_o wrote: »
    YORE MA!!!

sorry

*Loads shotgun while humming a tuneless song to himself*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Wazdakka wrote: »
    *Loads shotgun while humming a tuneless song to himself*

*Legs it*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I was landing a plane once and instead of aiming for the runway i lined it up for a straight road beside it. I still have no idea what i was thinking. The co-pilot pointed it out to me in time thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I was landing a plane once and instead of aiming for the runway i lined it up for a straight road beside it. I still have no idea what i was thinking. The co-pilot pointed it out to me in time thankfully.

A Passenger plane??

Forgot to pull out !

Sorry honey!

Wazdakka wrote: »

A Passenger plane??

It wasn't an airliner but there was passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

KaG1888 wrote: »
    Forgot to pull out !

Sorry honey!

Made me spit out my tea

Alicat wrote: »

Made me spit out my tea

Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Got a wrap-around skirt caught in a door and kept on walking....

:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Alicat wrote: »

Made me spit out my tea
    Better buy a test ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

So, that's what caused the trouble at Dublin Airport last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

Ran into a tree. No good reason for it. Was out jogging, and I just ran into a tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Sorry :o

It's ok :P
    Sherifu wrote: »
    Better buy a test ASAP.

I've done 8 already in the past 20 mins! :eek:

I think I'm clear ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I was skiving off work one day, and had a big complicated excuse planned saying I was stuck in Cork (other side of the country) due to missing my train home. So the boss rings and I concentrated hard on my foolproof story, she was very understanding and said she looked forward to seeing me the next day.

I put the phone down. And stared at it. It was my home phone. :eek:

Do I get the stupidestest prize?

sueme wrote: »
    I was skiving off work one day, and had a big complicated excuse planned saying I was stuck in Cork (other side of the country) due to missing my train home. So the boss rings and I concentrated hard on my foolproof story, she was very understanding and said she looked forward to seeing me the next day.

Lol! How did that end up?

Possibly, your boss might pip you to it if they never copped it themselves though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

i gave the pope aids.sorry catholics. edit:sue,how,why? never mind.

i gave the pope aids.sorry catholics.

Deep down, I knew he liked it bareback, to hell with the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I am always falling UP the stairs:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I think your boss deserves the stupidest prize! :p

Just to ensure I win this coveted title...

When I was interviewing for the job above, I had taken the morning off the job I had at the time, again with some complicated excuse. So there I was sitting in reception looking all smart and professional, CV in hand. Then my current boss walked in to make a delivery. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Brilliant!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Wait... why did your boss ring you?

Dord wrote: »
    I think your boss deserves the stupidest prize! :p

I think she would agree, for hiring me in the first place, after that incident. I went off sick then as I couldn't face her, handily got pregnant and very sick, then had maternity leave, a couple more months of sick pay and left. So I never had to see her again. Its ok though, it was an American company.

Wait... why did your boss ring you?

That's the kind of employee I was. The nightmare kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Can't believe I'm admitting to this... Erm I kind of bought a kettle a couple of months ago. Now I'm a real tea addict and the minute I got home I was whippin the kettle outta the box bout to lash on a cuppa tea. 'Cept when I took the kettle outta the box there was no plug or flex with it. I was raaaaaagin!! Rang up the boyfriend, had a big rant about this sh1t always happenin to me and legged it swiftly back to the shop, kettle in hand. I marched straight over to the customer service desk and read them the riot act for sellin kettles with no plugs or anythin! Sure how was I to work the feckin thing huh! The woman looked at me in confusion and then opened the lid on the kettle and took out the rolled up cord and plug.. <crinnnnnnge> :o:o:o:o:o

And they say men never read the instructions :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

tribulus wrote: »
    And they say men never read the instructions :p

Aaaaaarrrgghhhhh :o Gettin mortified all over again thinkin bout it! :P

You should! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

about 8 years ago i was very drunk and there was a cue in the chipper, i wasnt prepared to wait any longer so i decided to get into my car and drive 15 miles to get chips.

That was the dumbest thing i ever did.

I learned my lesson.. i woke up the next morning in the passenger seat covered in a poole of partly digested curry cheese chips.

One and only time i ever drank and drove in this country.. and i ruined my seat and a grand pair of jeans.. could be worse.. could have killed somone :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I was staying in a mates house and was taking a shower when I got the sudden gut-wrenching urge to take a dump. I decided that instead of cutting my nice hot shower short that it would be better to dump in the shower and wash it down the drain. It was only then that I realised that fecal matter does not dissolve easily. I ended up having to scoop it all up with my hand and walk over and back to the toilet until the shower was clean.

They never suspected a thing, but were probably wondering why I took so long for a shower and ended up stinking the place out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭LeoGilly

I was staying in a mates house and was taking a shower when I got the sudden gut-wrenching urge to take a dump. I decided that instead of cutting my nice hot shower short that it would be better to dump in the shower and wash it down the drain. It was only then that I realised that fecal matter does not dissolve easily. I ended up having to scoop it all up with my hand and walk over and back to the toilet until the shower was clean.

They never suspected a thing, but were probably wondering why I took so long for a shower and ended up stinking the place out

That's rotten!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

Forgot to pull out !

Sorry honey!

class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

I'm always doing stupid things!! Most recent one happened Saturday before last. I was out celebrating my sister's birthday and as per usual I was on the dancefloor giving it my all. Now with music I like I will dance normally to it. However, with music that's not really my thing I usually rip the p*ss out of it. Anyway, an Irish song came on and I decided to do a jig in my heels while extremely drunk. Lets just say the three things don't mix and Ive had a sprained ankle ever since and it's bruised too. Not the brightest idea :o

In Parc Asterix on France I was on a rollarcoaster. When it was going past the bit we got on at it was going really fast so I threw my arms out of the sides in glee and pretty much karate chopped the small girl at the front of the queue on the head. The ride kept going forever, it went flying past the start 3 more times after that, and she was still on the ground with a crowd of people around her all the time so I couldn't see if she was alright, could only hurtle by screaming "je suis desoleeeeeee". Tried to go over to her when the thing finally stopped but a grim looking Obelix pointed me towards the exit. The shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

In Parc Asterix on France I was on a rollarcoaster. When it was going past the bit we got on at it was going really fast so I threw my arms out of the sides in glee and pretty much karate chopped the small girl at the front of the queue on the head. The ride kept going forever, it went flying past the start 3 more times after that, and she was still on the ground with a crowd of people around her all the time so I couldn't see if she was alright, could only hurtle by screaming "je suis desoleeeeeee". Tried to go over to her when the thing finally stopped but a grim looking Obelix pointed me towards the exit. The shame.

lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Lol that's brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭ACW

The ride kept going forever, it went flying past the start 3 more times after that, and she was still on the ground with a crowd of people around her all the time so I couldn't see if she was alright, could only hurtle by screaming "je suis desoleeeeeee". Tried to go over to her when the thing finally stopped but a grim looking Obelix pointed me towards the exit. The shame.

That mental image will stay with me until the end of my days. Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Ran into a tree. No good reason for it. Was out jogging, and I just ran into a tree.
    I walked into a lamp post, but I have to claim it was in the middle of the footpath.

:DThat's hysterical. I know it's wrong I get pleasure out of children's pain but hey I'm on the path to hell anyway!!

trowelled wrote: »
    :DThat's hysterical. I know it's wrong I get pleasure out of children's pain but hey I'm on the path to hell anyway!!

Don't worry, half the queue were laughing their head off! I dunno, the French must be sadistic or something! I'm pretty distinctive because of my height, so every 10 minutes for the rest of that day I'd hear laughing and turn around to see a group of strangers flinging their arms out and cheering at me. So embarrassing, but kinda funny in retrospect as long as I didn't brain damage the poor girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Don't worry, half the queue were laughing their head off! I dunno, the French must be sadistic or something! I'm pretty distinctive because of my height, so every 10 minutes for the rest of that day I'd hear laughing and turn around to see a group of strangers flinging their arms out and cheering at me. So embarrassing, but kinda funny in retrospect as long as I didn't brain damage the poor girl!

Youre a legend!!!

I am sadistic, I do get a sort of sick pleasure out of kids falling!! Was once on the bus and there was a kid on the seat in front of me. He kept stumbling, Fell over on the seat a couple times, then tripped as he was going down the stairs, he didn't fall down the stairs but it was a close call and then when he finally got off the bus he tripped over his buggy. I was in stitches, thought it was funny my friend didn't quite understand!!

trowelled wrote: »
    I am sadistic, I do get a sort of sick pleasure out of kids falling!! Was once on the bus and there was a kid on the seat in front of me. He kept stumbling, Fell over on the seat a couple times, then tripped as he was going down the stairs, he didn't fall down the stairs but it was a close call and then when he finally got off the bus he tripped over his buggy. I was in stitches, thought it was funny my friend didn't quite understand!!

Lol at the sadism! I wonder if the kid was on a sugar rush or something. But I understand, it's always the things you're not supposed to laugh at that're the funniest somehow, isn't it?
    I prefer adults falling personally though, especially when they know they're falling and try to stop it but fail. The moment of desperate flailing makes the resulting crashland all the more cartoony and fun.
    Youre a legend!!!
    Cheers! What a nice thing to say :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

about 8 years ago i was very drunk and there was a cue in the chipper, i wasnt prepared to wait any longer so i decided to get into my car and drive 15 miles to get chips.

theres something wrong with me, the first question I asked was 'jesus, who'd drives 15 miles for chips' :rolleyes: