Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hair Disaster - what to do...

• 14-07-2008 5:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭

Hey All...

I went to get my normal reddish brown colour in on Fi - and it went really really dark - black almost. But I was heading to Galway so was nothing I could do. I rang them today and she said I'd just have to wait until it faded and thee was no point in coming in. Now I'm going to Bristol for 5 week and I didn't want to go over looking like death warmed up!! So I went to another place, into Cowboys and Angels in town and they fixed it, its almost back to the colour I wanted now.

I'm out 180 euro now though, 70 from the first time and 110 from getting it fixed. My friends think I should ask for a refund but I'm not sure - I'd feel like a twat if they said no. What do ye think? Or has it happened anyone before?

Grainne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭northdubgal

Ring in, make an appointment to see the manager and say which stylist you want to discuss so she can be there too. Explain the situation clearly and the fact that you were told that it couldnt be fix when obviously it was.

Don't let her put you off, and there's clearly no point in speaking to her; you need to see someone else who won't shout all over you.

That said, hairdressers can be very difficult on things like this, but you have nothing to lose by going in and potentially money to gain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

haha hi chick! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Definitely go and try get your money back!

You payed them to perform a service, they stuffed up.... you asked them to fix the stuff up, they said they couldnt... when obviously it could be!

Sure all you can do is give it a go anyway! Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Good luck with getting your money back... Same thing happened me in Jeff Devines in Cork and I had to pay to get it fixed elsewhere. They gave me no satisfaction.

It makes me so mad :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Aspiration

MJOR, Jeff Devine's burnt my scalp a few years ago and when I told them my head was burning they brushed it off and said "it was normal to feel uncomfortable". I was so upset I literally ran out of the place. I never want to deal with them again.

G86, I think you should definitely try to get your money back. As everyone else has said, they said there was nothing could be done when clearly they could have rectified it had they wanted to. The least they could have done was had you go into the salon and discussed it with you face to face as opposed to dismissing you over the phone.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭StandnDeliver

a few of these products help your hair colour fade, head n shoulders,clinic,washing up liquid. Make sure you moisturise your hair with a good conditioner after though.

i would note that your unhappy with the hairdressers,ask for the manager,or just change hairdressers,and put it down to one of those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Name and shame
    so it doesnt happen to any1 else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭MJOR

Aspiration wrote: »
    MJOR, Jeff Devine's burnt my scalp a few years ago and when I told them my head was burning they brushed it off and said "it was normal to feel uncomfortable". I was so upset I literally ran out of the place. I never want to deal with them again.

Best of luck!

Oh my hair was breaking off so much so that the other hair dressers gave me a free treatment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭litup

A similar thing happened to me a few years back (although Cowboys and Angels were the culprits, funnily enough!). I went back to them and they fixed the problem and gave me my next couple of visits free.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

LouOB wrote: »
    Name and shame
    so it doesnt happen to any1 else

Lunatic Fringe destroyed my hair when i phoned up to complain that my hair looked like a mushroom, i was told that i would have to go back to the same stylist, i told her no way in hell i was letting her near my hair again.

I was told that was the only option, so i had to go and pay €150 to get it fixed somewhere else and they had to cut it really short because all the layers were different lenghts

i phoned them back told them this, their attitude was so what. i had been going there for 4 years, i will never set foot in that place again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

irishbird wrote: »
    Lunatic Fringe destroyed my hair when i phoned up to complain that my hair looked like a mushroom, i was told that i would have to go back to the same stylist, i told her no way in hell i was letting her near my hair again.

I was told that was the only option, so i had to go and pay €150 to get it fixed somewhere else and they had to cut it really short because all the layers were different lenghts

i phoned them back told them this, their attitude was so what. i had been going there for 4 years, i will never set foot in that place again

where is this butcher of hair located
    fair play IB for starting the ball rolling

ive been going to T&G (Toni & Guy) on dame st for years
    wont let any1 else near me

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I'd definitely go back to the hair dressers in question and ask them for a refund! But speak to a manager, not just whoever's on the front desk. If it's a chain of hairdressers, and they don't give you any satisfaction, report it higher up like to their head office or something.

I've been going to Toni & Guy in Dundrum since it opened, and have to say I'd never go anywhere else. One time I couldn't get an appointment there and really needed to get my hair done, so I went to the place next door and they absolutely butchered my hair. Layers all over the place, and the stupid stylist couldn't even blow dry it straight, she had to put a ghd through it after it was dry to get it to sit, and even then there were bits sticking out where the layers were too choppy. I nearly died when I saw it, and complained to the manager. Got a free haircut, but it was totally awful! When I went in to my usual guy in T&G the following week to get it sorted out he couldn't believe the mess it was in. OK, so I had to pay for another hair cut, but he was really nice and gave me a big tub of Redken conditioner which usually costs around €20 for free!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭StandnDeliver

MJOR wrote: »
    Good luck with getting your money back... Same thing happened me in Jeff Devines in Cork and I had to pay to get it fixed elsewhere. They gave me no satisfaction.

It makes me so mad :mad:

i go to the training school upstairs,i find it grand,the teacher breda is sound out.