Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Subaru Legacy diesel

• 13-07-2008 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭

im thinking of buying a new legacy the boxer diesel one. Ive never been in a subaru in my life so dont know what they drive like but it looks like a lovely car and seems fairly reasonably priced. Anyone here tested one or driving one?
    any feedback would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Split off from the the old (petrol) Legacy thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

woody27 wrote: »
    im thinking of buying a new legacy the boxer diesel one. Ive never been in a subaru in my life so dont know what they drive like but it looks like a lovely car and seems fairly reasonably priced. Anyone here tested one or driving one?
    any feedback would be great.

I got one about 10 days ago and another guy here, 245 has one also, we've compared notes.

I still can't believe I have bought such a complete, eye-catching car for the money:eek:. All my mates thought I had spent around 40 grand (one thought it was around 50:D). Really smooth engine, 4wd grip - I'd say it's a bit of an enthusiast's car. Only downside so far is a slight lack of grunt at low revs but I think this is improving a bit as the engine loosens up. Still running in but mid-range poke for overtaking is very good. Smoothness and refinement are the big pluses also.

It does attract a bit of attention from the basket-ball wearing set though I think. It's gas - you can see them looking at the Subaru badge and bonnet scoop and wondering is it some new type of enlarged Impreza or something:)

Reliability from Subaru should be pretty good but the engine is completely new so there is a possibility, like anything unproven, that faults may arise. Three year warranty though, I wouldn't fret too much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭woody27

ya i think they are one of the best looking cars out there right now. I was looking at the mazda 6 but i think out of the two the subaru is by far the best looking. I cant wait to test drive it. Whats the spec like? And one very important question are the seats comfortable my back kills me in my current car after an hour or so driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

pburns wrote: »
    I got one about 10 days ago and another guy here, 245 has one also, we've compared notes.

I still can't believe I have bought such a complete, eye-catching car for the money:eek:. All my mates thought I had spent around 40 grand (one thought it was around 50:D). Really smooth engine, 4wd grip - I'd say it's a bit of an enthusiast's car. Only downside so far is a slight lack of grunt at low revs but I think this is improving a bit as the engine loosens up. Still running in but mid-range poke for overtaking is very good. Smoothness and refinement are the big pluses also.

It does attract a bit of attention from the basket-ball wearing set though I think. It's gas - you can see them looking at the Subaru badge and bonnet scoop and wondering is it some new type of enlarged Impreza or something:)

Reliability from Subaru should be pretty good but the engine is completely new so there is a possibility, like anything unproven, that faults may arise. Three year warranty though, I wouldn't fret too much...

I've always lked the legacy and was a bit disappointed to see so few on the roads.Their first diesel came just at the right time and is bang on the money at 30k.The only other desirable diesel at that price range (IMO obviously) is the Octavia vRS but that cant quite match the uniqueness of the legacy. I do hope we see more of them on the roads from now on.
    BTW whats the fuel economy like pburns??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

As PBurns says, its a great drive - reviews criticise the steering for lacking in feel but I've driven a lot worse. It corners like its on rails and has a lot of mid-range grunt although the lower rev ranges feel a bit dead for a diesel. Its the most petrol like diesel that I've driven and has the typical Subaru burble when revved under load. The ride is very good - it soaks up all the bumps which isn't bad considering that its on 45 profile tyres. It looks really good with the twin exhausts and bonnet scoop.

As far as spec is concerned - dual zone climate control, HID headlights, symmetrical AWD, 6 CD player, cruise control, leather steer wheel & gear knob, electric folding door mirrors, wiper de-icer, heated seats, stability control and metallic paint as standard.

Its rated at 50 mpg average - my trip computer is reading 5.2 L/100 km on country backroad running but the engine is still quite tight. I haven't done a brim to brim check yet.

It definitely catches the attention of boy racers - it looks subtle yet its a Subaru with a bonnet scoop which confuses them I think. No-one's tried to race yet so they seem to know that its not one of theirs.

I don't think that there's much else on the market at that price that compares in terms of the overall package - it depends on what's most important to you though.

245 wrote: »
    Its rated at 50 mpg average - my trip computer is reading 5.2 L/100 km on country backroad running but the engine is still quite tight. I haven't done a brim to brim check yet.

It definitely catches the attention of boy racers - it looks subtle yet its a Subaru with a bonnet scoop which confuses them I think. No-one's tried to race yet so they seem to know that its not one of theirs.

I don't think that there's much else on the market at that price that compares in terms of the overall package - it depends on what's most important to you though.

My trip computer is showing 6.6l/100km. but I've had more stop/start city driving than usual lately and my running-in may not have been quite as meticulous.

My only concern is sometimes leaving the car on the street overnight especially at weekends. Everyone keeps telling me I'll have to be careful where I park it and I actually had a guy in a beat up Peugeot van pass a sneery comment along the lines of 'flash poser' in traffic yesterday. I wasn't looking for that type of attention but you could see his face screwed up in a pique of jelousy:mad:
    woody27 wrote: »
    ya i think they are one of the best looking cars out there right now. I was looking at the mazda 6 but i think out of the two the subaru is by far the best looking. I cant wait to test drive it. Whats the spec like? And one very important question are the seats comfortable my back kills me in my current car after an hour or so driving

I was on the verge of buying a Mazda 6. Two things put me off. First of all the 2.0 diesel Mazda engine has a reputation for giving lots of trouble. I've read this online and even had it confirmed by a Mazda mechanic. Secondly, although nice to drive it's not in the same league as the Legacy with it's AWD and silky-smooth, burbly engine. The 6 is a new model though whereas the Legacy will be replaced within 12 months. I don't see that as a big issue, in fact it gives me something to trade into in a few years if I'm happy to stick with Subaru...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

The 6 is a new model though whereas the Legacy will be replaced within 12 months. I don't see that as a big issue, in fact it gives me something to trade into in a few years if I'm happy to stick with Subaru...

Wouldn't see that as a disadvantage, the way Subaru has ruined the Forrester and Impreza with newer models. Hopefully they won't do the same to the Legacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭kevmac

I have a Spec B Legacy which I love to death except the lack of torque - you really have to screw it to get wallop.

Drove the Boxer diesel last week and without doubt it is the most refined diesel yet - even better than the renowned 2 litre BMW diesel.

Subaru are working on upgrading the engine from 148bhp to two other power ratings of 177bhp and 204bhp according to Car Magazine although I never care about power ratings in Ireland - I just want to know the torque figure!

There will be a 3 litre flat six diesel in next-gen Legacy in late 2009 with a 240bhp 3.0 and a 300bhp 3.6, yikes.

Japan could only give Subaru Ireland 200 Legacy diesels this year - they sold out in the first week of July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Is the Boxer 2.0 diesel engine in the Legacy estate??

My dad is in the market for a diesel wagon at the minute and this would be high up on my list of suggestions to him if it was.

kevmac wrote: »
    Japan could only give Subaru Ireland 200 Legacy diesels this year - they sold out in the first week of July.

What?!:eek: You sure? I thought there were at least 500 coming in. When I was collecting my car the salesman said that they were flying out the door and he was having difficulty getting them. I took it with a pinch of salt TBH...
    Fizman wrote: »
    Is the Boxer 2.0 diesel engine in the Legacy estate??

My dad is in the market for a diesel wagon at the minute and this would be high up on my list of suggestions to him if it was.

O yes, estates are a mainstay of the Subaru brand. Look 'em up on Carzone. You actually have a choice of standard estate or jacked-up Outback version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭kevmac

That figure was the amount Subaru Ireland were alloted by Japan in March.

Maybe things changed since then.

Japanese diesel engine factory is still not at full capacity until February 2009 so limited supplies.

I know one dealer who asked how many Subaru Ireland were getting - he was told 200 and he cheekily replied: "Right, I'll take them all!"

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

and apparently no saloons in uk due to supply issues also. I'm assuming that there is little discount available on these from dealers then?

Interested in an outback as new forrester doesn't look too good and can't justify fuel bills in current one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

There are 30 Estates (Sports Tourers) on Subaru's UK site registered Mar 08 onwards with nominal mileage starting from 20K STG. (Should supply be difficult here, for any would be takers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The British don't bother much with saloons in the Legacy's market, majority sold would be estates or outbacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Terrific car these.

And the real beauty about them is that they are not a mondeo, avensis or the like.......they a different and subtle but an animal too!

The dealer network is small tho' - I heard in the trade of one dealer in Tipperary who gave his up his delaership 2 weeks ago citing Scooby's as too hard to sell..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

I'm going to be in the market for a new car come '09, I have always liked Subaru. They've always been to expensive to run..If reports are good I will probably wait for the 170bhp version. Hopefully there will be a six speed box with the higher output model. PBURNS or 245 have you gone for the estate or the saloon version. Does anyone know what the new model is like.

Read a post on a website in the uk that one dealership sold 17 "blind" in other words, people went ahead and bought them without test driving.

Most people buy new cars without even test driving them, it's madness I know but fact. Based usually on what they have driven in the past from the same manufacturer and expecting more of the same. Although the average buyer is more interested in looks/image, reliability/costs, practicalities, perceptions etc and all that rather than a drivers car with dynamic ability.

The all new Legacy model looks like it will be an evolution of the present one.

http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/News/articleId=126468

The Estate (Sports Tourer) is a better proposition overall than the saloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

My trip computer is showing 6.6l/100km.
    You have a trip computer?? They're obviously too embarrassed to put one in the Forester 2.5 petrol - i'm getting 10l/100kms on a long run, 13 around town.:)

TomMc wrote: »
    Most people buy new cars without even test driving them, it's madness I know but fact.

interested in this 'fact'. any data to back it up? Have never met anyone who bought a new car without a test drive so have to say I seriously doubt its a fact but am willing to be convinced.

PBURNS or 245 have you gone for the estate or the saloon version.

I went for the saloon (think PBurns did too). I don't need an estate for day to day driving and its too long for the average roadside parking space.

Advice on this forum was to buy the estate as that's what normally sells better secondhand in the world of Subaru, but I reckon that its because buyers were willing to sacrifice fuel economy for practicality. This isn't a problem with the diesel and I think that there's a whole new market both new and secondhand for the diesels.

copacetic wrote: »
    interested in this 'fact'. any data to back it up? Have never met anyone who bought a new car without a test drive so have to say I seriously doubt its a fact but am willing to be convinced.

I bought my last three (new) cars without test driving then. I'm obviously insane for (a) buying a new car and (b) not driving them beforehand :eek:. I usually do a lot of research before buying and haven't found 'features' that I wasn't aware of from reading up on the car. To my mind the usual dealer test drive doesn't give any idea of what a car is like - you'd need to have it for a weekend and use it for your normal driving routes etc.

I also find that it keeps the dealer on his toes if the speed of the transaction is kept up - they seem to spend most of the test drive in trying to figure out how to push the deal past you at a time when your mind is on other things. Without the test drive, they're on the back foot, not you.

Edit:

I don't recommend this approach btw - I'm happy doing it and it works for me but for some people the test drive is an important part of the experience, a sort of automotive foreplay, if you will....

There are an awful lot of people out there who are brand loyal and will buy the same marque of car every few years. And it is a very large minority. Your traditional Toyota, VW (blind faith) for example wouldn't seriously consider anything else. When it's time to change they go ahead regardless of test drives and all that. It is more about a cars packaging, practicalities, the new car factor with the latest extras (gadgets/gimmicks) than the driving experience itself. Any experienced salesman who is genuine will confirm that. It applies to most marques whether mass market or at the premium end. Renault, Peugeot, Nissan, Honda, BMW and many more - there sales are mostly to repeat customers, not the floating one. When it comes to brand new cars people go on stats and all round feel, desirability. Mercedes for example have shed loads of customers who tell their local dealer/salesperson, I want the same as before and when you have it in stock let me know - it is conducted in a very casual manner (by phone even), as all they want is more of the same with a newer reg. Cars are fashion accessories and status symbols today, keeping up with the Jones and the like, so the driving experience is taken for granted or undervalued.

It is different with used cars as people are much more weary of buying someone else's troubles. In the second hand market people are more open minded and imaginative and will buy car marques they may never have driven before and so like to get the feel of things. Then they request a test drive which is only right and proper.

Most people buy new cars without even test driving them, it's madness I know but fact.

I wouldn't be so sure it's 'fact' but it's not as outrageous as some are suggesting. Some people just want more of the same in a new number plate either for the 'prestige' or because they don't want to be messing with replacing consumables, doing NCTs etc. Members of the board wouldn't be representative of the car-buying populace as a whole. The middle-aged, middle-of-the-road set are pretty undemanding I think.
    245 wrote: »
    I don't need an estate for day to day driving and its too long for the average roadside parking space.

Advice on this forum was to buy the estate as that's what normally sells better secondhand in the world of Subaru, but I reckon that its because buyers were willing to sacrifice fuel economy for practicality. This isn't a problem with the diesel and I think that there's a whole new market both new and secondhand for the diesels.

I have saloon and that's fine I think for the Irish market. The Legacy Estate has a big following amongst the horsey set in Britain where they're generally fonder of shooting-brakes anyway. Incidentally, I have memories of a young Colin McRae taking part in the Circuit of Ireland near my home in a Legacy (saloon) before the Impreza-era.

lads I didn't say it was 'outrageous', I just said it isn't a fact. Toms reply confirms for me that he has no evidence to back it up and he has even changed 'most' to 'large minority' so obviously doesn't even believe it himself.

I understand it was probably just a trip of the tounge to make a point though. I agree that some people won't test drive but in my experience a dealer doesn't take you seriously if you don't so everyone does. You would have to really not want to test drive a car to not do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

There is a dealership in my neighborhood that imo are simply the worst shower I have ever had the misfortune to deal with - yet every second car around the place is sold by them, do people just decide they want a new car and turn up at the local dealers and buy .... something, as long as its newer than theirs ?

they must also take the ridiculous trades allowed by these guys, fools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Troll.

lads I didn't say it was 'outrageous', I just said it isn't a fact. Toms reply confirms for me that he has no evidence to back it up and he has even changed 'most' to 'large minority' so obviously doesn't even believe it himself.

I understand it was probably just a trip of the tounge to make a point though. I agree that some people won't test drive but in my experience a dealer doesn't take you seriously if you don't so everyone does. You would have to really not want to test drive a car to not do so.

The large minority was to do with people who stay with the exact same model or latest version of same regardless. The real conservative / unimaginative lot that would't consider anything else. Do you think the average Corolla or Golf buyer that gets a new one every 2/3 years actually test drives them, no the majority don't. Salespeople are the ones who have the experience to know this best, whether they would admit it or not. It is probably not in their best interests to say so and that they can take these customers for granted, but that is the way it is.

The majority or most refers to wider new car sales in general. Many dealers (salesfolk) today are just glorified order takers, test drives are a pain in the arse, a necessary evil. They often do not have a demo to test drive. There may be loads of bland transport out there, but cars today are fairly generic, with mass market stuff much more reliable than in the past (80's/early 90's), so ultimately people go on perceptions. If there is more demand than supply dealers can be as complacent as they like. But with the Celtic Tiger no longer roaring so hard, this will come back to bite them as it is doing so already. Only genuine sales people with a professional approach should thrive and that is the way it should be. Although from reading another thread it is sad that some people buy a car from one dealer over another for the sake of a few euro when they had a better shopping experience and were treated in a much more polite & professional manner elsewhere. I'm sure if they went back they would match the deal. People should value the element of "courtesy" & "respect" more as it will be a factor later on where aftersales and warranty/servicing work is concerned. As many dealers do not want to know you once you have bought. Your the bees knees when your buying (or a potential punter) but afterwards wouldn't look at you as old business.

Many all new model cars have to be ordered far in advance, that I'm often amazed how many (non car enthusiasts) have the latest model so quickly when a demo would not have been available to test drive when they ordered. Qashqai been a prime example. They appeared from relatively nowhere in a short space of time. With manufacturers creating niche/crossover vehicles which become/replace/reinvent the norm/maintream market, this is becoming quite common. And since most married people with kids now have to show deference to their wives preferences (at least in one car families) is it any wonder storage space, cup holders, image/badges for the school run / shopping trips and the like are more important than engineering or driving characteristics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Although from reading another thread it is sad that some people buy a car from one dealer over another for the sake of a few euro when they had a better shopping experience and were treated in a much more polite & professional manner elsewhere. I'm sure if they went back they would match the deal. People should value the element of "courtesy" & "respect" more as it will be a factor later on where aftersales and warranty/servicing work is concerned. .

I'm guessing this refers to my post in another thread. Unfortunately the 'good' dealer wouldn't take my trade in (depite being in good condition with FSH, apparently garages just don't want 2 - 3 yr old high mileage cars), so i had no choice but to deal with the unprofessional lot. A big discount (damn sight more than a 'few euro') helped me get over it though. As for warranty work etc: I have absolutely no intention of returning to the place I bought it; I'll be going somewhere where I'll get 'courtesy' and 'respect'.

Sorry, no worries there PM, just didn't see that fact mentioned (too lazy to look over the whole thread again:) ) but if the dealer would not take your car and sell it on in the trade, they do not deserve your business. So you did the right thing. But the thing is if you go to a main dealer for servicing having bought elsewhere, you have to admit you cannot expect quite the same level of customer service as if you did. Doubt they would be quite as flexible or as accommodating. Idealistic but I wish you well with your new motor. Hopefully many km's of hassle free motoring.

___

It's just I know of some people who go miles out of their way for the sake of a few hundred euro, when a local dealer (and more professional) will be the best option in the longer term. Why give business to people who aren't all that bothered about aftersales. It is more important where cars are concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

What exactly was the topic of this thread again? :D:D:D

peasant wrote: »
    What exactly was the topic of this thread again? :D:D:D

Sorry forgot to take my tablets this morning .... going off in tangents.

___

All I will say is the Legacy is all round a better engineered and more involving car than the C5. But each to their own if comfort and ride quality is your thing. Time will tell if the Citroen is as Teutonic as they would like to make out. It kind of reminds me of the Laguna before last - very distinctive but will probably age quickly too. The Legacy is more understated and poised so is somewhat timeless. It will also be going strong in 10 years time, not so sure about the Citroen. One is for a short term fling the other for a long term marriage.:D

C5 is very handsome, has lots of gadgets but with a 1.6HDi engine it's gonna be dog-slow. I've driven a 407 with the same engine and it's bloody sluggish. Added to this the C5 (and 407) are quite heavy, even for their class.

As i've stated here before - the CO2 figure for the 110 1.6HDi is identical to the 140bhp Mazda 6. That's a pretty pathetic effort for a brand new model.

Horses for courses though, it depends what your priorities are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

C5 is very handsome, has lots of gadgets but with a 1.6HDi engine it's gonna be dog-slow. I've driven a 407 with the same engine and it's bloody sluggish. Added to this the C5 (and 407) are quite heavy, even for their class.

As i've stated here before - the CO2 figure for the 110 1.6HDi is identical to the 140bhp Mazda 6. That's a pretty pathetic effort for a brand new model.

Horses for courses though, it depends what your priorities are.
    Agreed about the high CO2 but that is because the wrong engine is in that car.
    It should be at least a 2ltr. The 1.6 has to work a lot harder to pull the body of a family saloon and hence the high CO2 figures.
    The exact same engine in smaller cars (mini, 207, 308, C4 etc) has much better CO2 figures and makes for a much better buy IMO.
    The 1.6 shouldn't be allowed in a 407 for example (IMO). Sluggish and stalls easily. Then again, some people want the 1.6.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

I test drove a Legacy Diesel at lunch time today and I must say I was very impressed. The engine sounds odd at idle, it really is like a bag of spanners but once it revs up it sounds nice. The power is just right for the car, it has a very healthy level of spec and with low road tax, a very competitive on the road price and the knowledge that it will probably never break down, I think it's a fantastic bargain.

When I'm looking to change in 2009, we'll definitely be giving the Legacy some serious consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

That Boxer diesel was the most timely addition to an Irish car market I've ever seen.

I'm not surprised that it is flying out the showrooms, it deserves to.

I think the high fuel consumption of the petrol models and the large(only by Irish standards obviously) petrol engines are what held them back here for so long.

Now with their diesels being as good as the rest for economy in spite of having the handicap of 4 wheel drive they'll do much better, and deservedly so. I must admit I'm very impressed with Subaru for having the balls to make a flat 4 oil burner as well, especially when these days cars seem to be getting more and more similar.

The C5 is very poor for CO2, as well as being based on a 4 1/2 year old design(the 407 really is that old and is actually getting a facelift very soon with cleaner Euro 5 diesel engines), and is very likely to depreciate like a stone due to Irish buyers being so conservative with their car buying habits.

It does look very classy, but the 407 with the exact same 1.6 HDi can get into 16% VRT, so why can't the C5, especially when its predecessor with the same engine managed 16% VRT?

I would have serious reservations about a 1.6 in a C5 or a 407 being up to the job performance wise. There's only so much that can be done with 110 bhp;)! In the UK and the continent 2.0 diesels in this category are the norm - why are we so special that people are thinking of 1.6 diesels? I mean 0-100 in 12.2 and only 191 km/h of a top speed is very poor these days.

In its favour is the apparent German-ness of the car, apparently it's very good over the bumps, very quiet and the fact it is easily the best looking car in the class, not to mention the comprehensive spec list too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Slightly off topic.

Looking at the post July list price for the Peugeot 407 the 1.6 HDi actually retails at more than the 2.0 HDi. :eek:

If this is the case then why sell the 407 with the 1.6?

Love the new Legacy diesel btw, great value for €31k.

The styling of the next model legacy is very nice.

Subaru are onto a good thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

Now if only they would do an automatic...

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

bazz26 wrote: »
    Slightly off topic.

Looking at the post July list price for the Peugeot 407 the 1.6 HDi actually retails at more than the 2.0 HDi. :eek:

If this is the case then why sell the 407 with the 1.6?

Love the new Legacy diesel btw, great value for €31k.

Think you'll find a facelifted 407 hiding in car compounds somewhere in Ireland which means its summer sales time at Peugeot.

Will be harder to shift the 2.0HDI thus the ultra low price.

what will the residuals be like on the suburu legacy?

Will they hold their value? Thoughts?

Is there any kind of options list for the legacy and outback?
    They are well kitted out of course, but no option for parking sensors/different alloys etc?

Have to say the diesel outback looks a great buy with full heated leather, electric memory seats and all the usual extras compared to the audi allroad or xc70.

Is there any kind of options list for the legacy and outback?

There is an accessories brochure that has PDC, wiper sensor's and some other options that might be worthy of consideration.

One thing that struck me was the Legacy I drove had only xenon lights, yet the accessories brochure says it comes with bi-xenon lights. Anyone know if the bi-xenons are just an option or should the legacy come with bi-xenon's as standard.

For those who don't know the difference, xenons in this case means low beam only and bi-xenon's in every case will mean xenon high and low beam.

AlanD wrote: »
    There is an accessories brochure that has PDC, wiper sensor's and some other options that might be worthy of consideration.

One thing that struck me was the Legacy I drove had only xenon lights, yet the accessories brochure says it comes with bi-xenon lights. Anyone know if the bi-xenons are just an option or should the legacy come with bi-xenon's as standard.

For those who don't know the difference, xenons in this case means low beam only and bi-xenon's in every case will mean xenon high and low beam.

Cheers Alan, not on wesbite though? Available at stealers?

From the looks of them on UK site, it appears that all accs and options are fitted at dealers rather than factory?

Cheers Alan, not on wesbite though? Available at stealers?

From the looks of them on UK site, it appears that all accs and options are fitted at dealers rather than factory?

Yep, I got the accessories brochure from the main dealers. Most of the stuff in there looks dealer fitted alright.

I must ask about the xenon/bi-xenon anomaly.

I think for now it's top of my 2009 shopping list. Not changing til then so I'll have to wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

AlanD wrote: »

Legacy diesel saloon only comes as std with 'single' xenons AFAIK.

When is the Legacy due for replacement?

next year

PDC is dealer-fit only. Make sure you agree a price to have the sensors painted too. I got them on a Forester, they work well and have a visual aid mounted on the back pillar.

Anan1 wrote: »
    PDC is dealer-fit only. Make sure you agree a price to have the sensors painted too. I got them on a Forester, they work well and have a visual aid mounted on the back pillar.

sorry for being dumb anan, but back pillar as in where exactly, to side of back window?

Exactly, if you open the tailgate it's on the pillar to your left (the drivers side of the car). It's a little black box, about the size of a matchbox, with two green lights, two orange, and two red.