Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo v Galway

• 13-07-2008 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭

Up Mayo!.

I'm quite hopeful but given the last 2 games from both teams it's very difficult to say whether either will have any advantage. I still think Mayo will shade it, but it'll be a tight enough game.

what say ye?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Mayo by 4 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Galway definetly the better team in the first half, outplayed us pretty much everywhere, and Mayo were lucky not to be further behind at the break.

Mayo are playing better in the second half now, and I still think they can do it, but it will take a tremendous effort.

2 points between them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

savage match to watch so far ... thought it as over but what a comeback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Pretty exciting game. Well done to Galway. I think Mayo will have learnt a lot from that game and will have a different startnig line-up in the qualifiers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭woody27

great game of football well done galway now lets hope clare/tipp is as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Jesus lads, don';t know what game ye were watching it was exciting but I thought the standard was very bad for a Connaught final. Some of the shooting you wouldn't see in a junior B game. I wouldn't be afraid to draw either of those teams in the next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Can't complain about that result really, Galway deserved the win, was impressed with Mayo's comback, but disappointed with some of the wasted chances. Too many wides throughout the game cost us.
    Roll on the qualifiers.

Well done Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

some of the shooting was askew to put it mildly but the closeness ie. almost matching point for point is rarely seen in a championship match nowadays and only 1 in it at full-time. I would have liked to have seen a replay but hey well done Galway :)

< 900 :) >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

will1977 wrote: »
    Jesus lads, don';t know what game ye were watching it was exciting but I thought the standard was very bad for a Connaught final. Some of the shooting you wouldn't see in a junior B game. I wouldn't be afraid to draw either of those teams in the next round

yep, it was an awfully boring game, and Mayo, what the feck were ye doing bring on a sub in the last 3 minutes when you were 2 points down?

They were wasting their own time, they had more than enough time to equalise (at the very least) if they hadn't concentrated on scoring an unlikely goal to win the game

Shockingly bad tactics from mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

Galway just had more match winners when it came down to it. O'Mahoney made all the right calls for Mayo in the second half but they didn't have the matchwinners. It would have been a very different game if McDonald was on the field. O'Mahoney might regret it later if they don't survive the qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Beached

an enjoyable game, and i guess Galway just about deserved it. Padraig Joyce is still a class player. Mayo totally dominated midfield for most of the 2nd half though, Joe Bergin is a loss

Beached wrote: »
    an enjoyable game, and i guess Galway just about deserved it. Padraig Joyce is still a class player. Mayo totally dominated midfield for most of the 2nd half though, Joe Bergin is a loss

Bergin was sorely missed under the high ball, midfield is still the problem and has been since Kevin Walsh retired. Cullinane could be much more effective he he was more mobile and Coleman did his usual driving the ball aimlessly up the field when he got it. Joyce is still pulling the strings alright but Mayo should have tried someone other than Heaney on him, maybe one of the Higgins'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭blast05

yep, it was an awfully boring game, and Mayo, what the feck were ye doing bring on a sub in the last 3 minutes when you were 2 points down?

They were wasting their own time, they had more than enough time to equalise (at the very least) if they hadn't concentrated on scoring an unlikely goal to win the game

Shockingly bad tactics from mayo.

The sub was brought on with 3 minutes of normal time to go. At that stage pretty much everyone expected there to be 4 to 5 muntes of injury time but for reasons best known to himself, the referee only added 2 minutes, of which only about 30 seconds ended up being playing time.
    So to be fair, the last sub was brought on with an expectation of there being at least 6-7 minutes of playing time left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Mayo probably would have won had they not played Sligo in the previous round .

O Mahony was the first manager to ever win a back door All Ireland after Galway lost early on in Connaught in 2001 don't forget :)

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Mayo probably would have won had they not played Sligo in the previous round .

O Mahony was the first manager to ever win a back door All Ireland after Galway lost early on in Connaught in 2001 don't forget :)

Now correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Liam Sammon win an All-Ireland Medal with Galway in his first year as a player in 1966? and Galway would have lost today if Mayo had McDonald. Don't rely on omens my friend. They count for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Conor Mortimer missed 2 frees in the first half that would have reversed the result but he was influential otherwise.I can't count the amount of times Andy Moran lost the ball for Mayo and it was laughable that the Galway half backs could run out of defense unchallenged as the Mayo forwards came in too deep.I think this aspect of Mayo plus the missed frees from Mortimer cost them dearly.

What compounded to this was Mayos backline.David Heaney was turned like he was new to the game and Padraic Joyce killed Mayo.

I think O Mahoney (and a lot of people) will have to review the decision to leave Ciaran Mac out of the panel.Mayo lack leadership without him and his workrate is second to none as far as covering the pitch is concerned.

Galway deserved the win.A draw would have been fair but Mayo didn't deserve anything more than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 flashterry

CyberDave wrote: »
    Bergin was sorely missed under the high ball, midfield is still the problem and has been since Kevin Walsh retired. Cullinane could be much more effective he he was more mobile and Coleman did his usual driving the ball aimlessly up the field when he got it. Joyce is still pulling the strings alright but Mayo should have tried someone other than Heaney on him, maybe one of the Higgins'.

I cannot recall Joe Bergin ever catching one ball above his head in a Senior Inter County game. He gets the occasional score, and can pass, but in terms of winning possession, he is utterly useless. Since he got injured people seem to have forgotten that it has been a long time since he had a good game in the championship.

As far as I can recall, Cullinane kicked the ball twice. Once at the very start when he passed to a forward, and once shortly after which went over the sideline. After that, he reverted to orders and simply won primary possession when he could and hand passed to a team mate. He fielded some great ball, particularly in the first half, and when Doherty got the kickout near him he either caught it or broke it. He had McGarrity beaten up a stick in the first half, but a player of McG's quality will always come into a game. Doherty does not hit Cullinane with enough of his kickouts imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Well, i was wrong about Nallen. He had a great game today. Heaney on the other hand was surprisingly bad today. He did improve in the second half but in going forward he enabled joyce to get free, once the mayo attacks broke down, at crucial times in that second half. Mayo probably didn't deserve to win this game but with better shooting and a bit more guile in the form of Ciaran McDonald they could have nicked it. Mahoney may not like him, and it may cause rancour with some other players, but if helps Mayo progess in the qualifiers, McDonald should definitely be brought back.

flashterry wrote: »
    I cannot recall Joe Bergin ever catching one ball above his head in a Senior Inter County game. He gets the occasional score, and can pass, but in terms of winning possession, he is utterly useless. Since he got injured people seem to have forgotten that it has been a long time since he had a good game in the championship.

As far as I can recall, Cullinane kicked the ball twice. Once at the very start when he passed to a forward, and once shortly after which went over the sideline. After that, he reverted to orders and simply won primary possession when he could and hand passed to a team mate. He fielded some great ball, particularly in the first half, and when Doherty got the kickout near him he either caught it or broke it. He had McGarrity beaten up a stick in the first half, but a player of McG's quality will always come into a game. Doherty does not hit Cullinane with enough of his kickouts imo.

Bergin has had trouble with injuries in last couple of years but I think the fact that he hasn't caught a single ball above his head is a bit silly, Ive seen him do it plenty of times in games. He hasn't the aerial power Kevin Walsh had but he certainly would have improved the Galway midfield today had he been available.

My point about Cullinane was that he would be a better midfieilder if he was more mobile (or fitter) not that he had a bad game today. I agree about directing more kickouts his way since he lacks that mobility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Fair points but Bergin is better than Coleman, Lydon or Geraghty and we wouldn't have fared as badly out in midfield if he was playing. At the moment Cullinane is the best we have, although he should be under orders to not kick the ball under any circumstances. He broke a lot of ball alright, but most of the time went straight to a Mayo player. Mayo had 60% of possession in the 2nd half, if Galway had broken in any even they would have won easily, every time they went up the field they either created a chance or scored. Could have had 4 goals in the first half easily although Mayo tightened up a lot with the 2 subs before half time. Thought the Galway backs did well considering Mayo had all the ball there in the 2nd half, hopefully they can keep their form going into the next match. Bradshaw, Hanley and Burke were all excellent today, beforehand I would have been critical of the fact they got turned too easily but when they're at their best they've the makings of a solid unit.

Bergin has had trouble with injuries in last couple of years but I think the fact that he hasn't caught a single ball above his head is a bit silly, Ive seen him do it plenty of times in games. He hasn't the aerial power Kevin Walsh had but he certainly would have improved the Galway midfield today had he been available.

My point about Cullinane was that he would be a better midfieilder if he was more mobile (or fitter) not that he had a bad game today. I agree about directing more kickouts his way since he lacks that mobility.

You cannot have seen it as it just does not happen. He has zero aerial ability and to be honest I think he looks half afraid out there.

dartsfan wrote: »
    Fair points but Bergin is better than Coleman, Lydon or Geraghty and we wouldn't have fared as badly out in midfield if he was playing. At the moment Cullinane is the best we have, although he should be under orders to not kick the ball under any circumstances. He broke a lot of ball alright, but most of the time went straight to a Mayo player. Mayo had 60% of possession in the 2nd half, if Galway had broken in any even they would have won easily, every time they went up the field they either created a chance or scored. Could have had 4 goals in the first half easily although Mayo tightened up a lot with the 2 subs before half time. Thought the Galway backs did well considering Mayo had all the ball there in the 2nd half, hopefully they can keep their form going into the next match. Bradshaw, Hanley and Burke were all excellent today, beforehand I would have been critical of the fact they got turned too easily but when they're at their best they've the makings of a solid unit.

Geraghty has been gone off the panel for a while. He played for London in the Championship this year.

Galway won nearly all of the breaks in the first half, something they have not done this year. I think that Declan Meehan is past it, and sincerely hopw he does not get his place back. Bradshaw put down a hell of a marker for a wing back spot in the second half today.

You cannot have seen it as it just does not happen. He has zero aerial ability and to be honest I think he looks half afraid out there.

To say he has zero aerial ability is ridiculous considering he's something like 6'3" or 4" I have seen him win high ball in games, it isn't his best attribute but he is a better midfielder than Coleman and Cullinane. Also, you don't win an All-Ireland medal by being afraid on the pitch.

Being tall is fine but plenty of tall lads cant catch a football. He is incredibly overrated and I genuinely believe that Galway are better off without him.

Bergin was by no means a key man in 2001 and was damn lucky he had the likes of Tom Mannion, Walsh, Donnellan, Clancy, Meehan and Joyce with him. to be honest I think he has regressed as a player since then.

Being tall is fine but plenty of tall lads cant catch a football. He is incredibly overrated and I genuinely believe that Galway are better off without him.

Bergin was by no means a key man in 2001 and was damn lucky he had the likes of Tom Mannion, Walsh, Donnellan, Clancy, Meehan and Joyce with him. to be honest I think he has regressed as a player since then.

Look, you are entitled to your opinion but you won't change mine. So, we just have to agree to disagree. I never said he was key in 2001, just that bad players don't win All-Ireland medals no matter what part they play.

That is nonsense. Ray Silke captained Galway to an All Ireland for one! Every team carries passengers.

An All-Ireland winning team passenger is better than a passenger on a team with no All-Irelands. Ray Silke was a good reader of the game in his day.

So can a bad player win an All Ireland?

Bad players don't make the panel. So, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Angelicus_22

Mahoney may not like him, and it may cause rancour with some other players, but if helps Mayo progess in the qualifiers, McDonald should definitely be brought back.

Yeah exactly, we could do with him even just for an impact sub. Galway deserved the win yesterday, but Mayo have to be appluaded for coming back from 7 points down..... Ive seen many a Mayo team drop its head, thank god we have moved on from last year, where we would have just given up after going a point behind. But O'Mahonys clinical switches were key yesterday and showed he just didnt sit on the fence and hope for something to happen. Anyway congratulations to Galway and sure we might meet in the final.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

been to nearly every connaught final over the last 17 years and that was the best since 2001 for me.

galway/mayo games over the last ten years have been dire affairs and that me is being nice, last good galway/mayo championship match i remember being at was in 1998.

there was a very strong swirling wind blowing into the scoreboard end throughout that game, very surprised mayo scored so many from play in the second half given the wind that was against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

rossie1977 wrote: »
    been to nearly every connaught final over the last 17 years and that was the best since 2001 for me.

galway/mayo games over the last ten years have been dire affairs and that me is being nice, last good galway/mayo championship match i remember being at was in 1998.

there was a very strong swirling wind blowing into the scoreboard end throughout that game, very surprised mayo scored so many from play in the second half given the wind that was against them.

I agree with you here Rossie the last 3 Mayo Galway games in Salthill have been dire (and two of them Finals) 06 was tight but no great shakes. This was a good match in the second half.

People are going to talk about McD, and are entitled to I suppose, but the fact remains 1-14 is a good enough score to win a Connacht title. Our main problem is in defence and I just hope Howley is back for the qualifiers to shore it up. I's like to see both Higgins play along with Howley and have Jimmy Nallen in the FB line for a bit of experience and guile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

kevmy wrote: »
    I agree with you here Rossie the last 3 Mayo Galway games in Salthill have been dire (and two of them Finals) 06 was tight but no great shakes. This was a good match in the second half.

People are going to talk about McD, and are entitled to I suppose, but the fact remains 1-14 is a good enough score to win a Connacht title. Our main problem is in defence and I just hope Howley is back for the qualifiers to shore it up. I's like to see both Higgins play along with Howley and have Jimmy Nallen in the FB line for a bit of experience and guile.

You're spot on. 1-14 is enough to win most championship games but Mayo gave away too many chances at the other end, and the Galway forward line is more economical than most when it comes to making use of those chances.
    Galway also could (and should) have had 2 more goals in the first half, so plenty for O'Mahoney to think about for the next day.

On the subject of McDonald, he could still surely be used as an impact sub?? I wouldn't play him from the start, but yesterday he would have been a very useful sub to bring on for those last 10 or 15 minutes. He's undoubtedly still better than some of the players who are just making up the numbers in the panel and who probably won't see any gametime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭tred

I was there, the wind was very deceiving. it was swirling all over the place. some of the scores were outstanding from both sides, once they go into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Shocked by this result. Then again I havn't got many games right all season.:o
    A mixture of Mayo ain't as good as I thought and Galway are a bit better then I thought.
    Galway were very clinical in finishing the game off.
    Missed the first half but I thought the second half was entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

lol at the bad shooting remark, Galway had 4 wides and mayo 9 in a game played with a very strong wind.

Joyce Dillon and Padden scored some very good points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I can safely say that I have seen Joe Bergin win ball in the air while playing for Galway. He's no Kevin Walsh in terms of fielding high ball but he can do it every now and then. The real value Bergin brings to Galway in the middle is his mobility, footballing skills and ability to get up and down the park and kick a couple of scores when the chances arise. I would far prefer to have him that not have him.

As for the game itself I though the first half wasn't great alright. It was very stop start and Mayo were very poor for the first 25 minutes until they woke up a little. The second half though was excellent. Some very good football played and some great scores taken by both sides. Galway's last 3 or 4 points were great scores from way out the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Few points about yesterdays game; firstly, it wasn't a great game by any measure. Much like the Dublin game in 06, it was an exciting tie but as fair as the basic skills of football go, it was lacking. The tackling by both sides was atrocious, Mayo's backs really need to get some work in before the next game because Galway's attackers went through them like a knife through butter. It wasn't that the Galway forwards were spectacular, just they were given all the room in the world to get the shots in. Sides like Armagh and Kerry won't let that happen. Zero intensity from either set of backs. Actually, the first decent 'hit' was on Peadar Gardiner with about 15 minutes to go, which kind of sums up the play.

For all the talk about MacDonald, we aren't psychics here. It doesn't matter that he wasn't playing and we won't ever know the result if he did play. It's time to build a bridge and get over it. As long as O'Mahony is there, MacDonald doesn't play. As a mayo fan, I'm more concerned about the possiblity of Pierce Hanley reportedly returning to Ballagh' (can't play for Mayo due to a stipulation in his contract) for a few months. We should do everything in our power to try get him back for the county, if only for a few months.

At the minute we're everywhere and nowhere. We've no full back, no full forward, no center forward (Pat Harte did well but doesn't provide enough creativity). The fact is, the talent just isn't there at the minute - simple as. Neither side that played yesterday will do much on the All Ireland scene and Connaught as a whole needs to get itself out of the slump that it's in. We're about 3 years behind everyone else at the minute, although Galway could progress well if they sort out their shortcomings before their next tie.

All of the above is probably a little harsh but its the reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭July

I'm wondering about Michael Meehan. Has he lost some of his sparkle or is he just waiting for Croke Park? I wasn't at the game but watched it on TV and he seemed to have a very quiet game. Was he marked very well or is he not the golden boy he used to be?

PJ is a legend. Played well despite the Mayo lads swinging off his jersey. Burke had a great game.

Some of the young players really stood up to be counted - Bane, Hanley and Bradshaw stood out in particular.

Problems in mid-field need to be sorted out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭blast05

We're about 3 years behind everyone else at the minute, although Galway could progress well if they sort out their shortcomings before their next tie.

With all due respect, you're talking bo**oux imho.
    "We're about 3 years behind everyone else at the minute" you say. Who exactly is everyone ? Does it include Sligo footballers ?
    And "Galway could progress well if they sort out their shortcomings before their next tie" .... well what about if Mayo overcome some of the shortcomings like actually playing for the first 20 minutes, starting with a proper full back line and having a forward line that will work their socks off when they don't have the ball - can Mayo actually progress ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

blast05 wrote: »
    With all due respect, you're talking bo**oux imho.
    "We're about 3 years behind everyone else at the minute" you say. Who exactly is everyone ? Does it include Sligo footballers ?
    And "Galway could progress well if they sort out their shortcomings before their next tie" .... well what about if Mayo overcome some of the shortcomings like actually playing for the first 20 minutes, starting with a proper full back line and having a forward line that will work their socks off when they don't have the ball - can Mayo actually progress ?

By 3 years behind, I mean the fact we're in massive transition and it'll take a few years at least get back to the point of competing at the business end of the C'ship. By everyone I mean the top sides. No need to be so pedantic.

Neither Galway nor Mayo will be involved in an All Ireland final this year. Galway are no doubt closer than Mayo to being involved, but they still lack a few of the basics. Joyce had a massive game Sunday no doubt, but how will he fare against a tight man marker like Aidan O'Mahony, Aidan O'Rourke. Meehan can cut loose some games, but others you'll be wondering whether he is on the pitch. The Galway backs were lacking intensity and that midfield of theirs is a band aid job trying to patch up cracks.

The fact is that Connaught is in a lull after a decade of being up there among the best. From 96-06 Mayo and Galway shared seven finals (might be wrong) between them with Galway winning 2 AI's. Now it's the rebuilding period and the problem is that the talent just isn't there at the minute. It will take time before either team get to an AI final IMO.

I agree with you to an extent in that Mayo are rebuilding and we should be better in a couple of years time.

BUT everyone else in the country is relatively weak at the moment and we are less behind than we should be in a way. There is no team left we couldn't beat on our day.

3 years ago you had Kerry, Tyrone and Armagh as the best teams in the country and Mayo and Dublin not that far behind. Now all of those teams are a bit worse than what they were (bar the Dubs who may have improved slightly). No other team has broken from the pack to really join the top table (Cork, Galway and Derry are the ones most capable).

3 years ago this Mayo team wouldn't have a notion in making an AI final now there is an outside chance - slim I grant you - and one I don't believe will happen but still there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

From the highlights I saw Galway's forwards are really clicking this year. Thanks in no small part to a resurgent Pádraic Joyce. If they tighten up the backs they can go on to the latter stages of the football.

What's the story with Mayo not playing McDonald?

Sherifu wrote: »
    From the highlights I saw Galway's forwards are really clicking this year. Thanks in no small part to a resurgent Pádraic Joyce. If they tighten up the backs they can go on to the latter stages of the football.

What's the story with Mayo not playing McDonald?

O'Mahoney sent him an invitation to attend a trial game and he didn't think he needed to attend seen as he had played for Mayo for so long. His view was that surely they knew what he had to offer without him needing to play the trial game.
    Apparently he has been playing very well for Crossmolina in the Mayo Club Championship...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

For all his faults at least Maughan was flexible when dealing with McDonald.
    O' Mahony had a similar problem with a player back in '89.
    A manager should put aside his personal view if it is to the detriment of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

For all his faults at least Maughan was flexible when dealing with McDonald.
    O' Mahony had a similar problem with a player back in '89.
    A manager should put aside his personal view if it is to the detriment of the team.

McDonald din't want to turn up for training, or even reply to the text, despite acknowledging that he received it.

As a manager, you have to move on with what you have. CMcD is a legend, but time moves on. This Mayo team being built is going to be the team (at last) to win Sam.

I believe Pierce Hanley may be coming home .... this fellah will be a GAA legend. If he does come back, that'll be the end of the CMcD talk ....the king is dead, long live the king.

Conor Mortimer needs to be dropped ( I think he will be the next day).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭deffin

Correct and right Culchie - how many chances does this guy get - continually fails to deliver when most needed. Racks up scores against mediocre teams but never performs on the big stage. Not even hitting the frees now which was his hallmark. Needs time on the bench i'm afraid.!!

Dropping Mortimor is nothing short of shooting ourselves in the foot. I'll agree he didn't have a good game the last day. And I'll openly state he has limitations that stop him from becoming one of the best (no right leg, not enough goal scoring, not big enough to win his own ball and can't kick a point from more than 35 yards). However name one other corner forward in Mayo even half as consistent or dangerous as him? Sure fcuk it we don't have 2 out and out corner forwards let alone go dropping the one we have.

As for he only scores against mediocre teams that's pure bollox. Fair enough he scores more against poor teams than good but then most players do. He scored a crucial free against Galway in 06 to win the match, he kept us in it against Fermanagh in 04 (both games), contributed very well in both the Laois replay and the Dublin game in 06 and that's just the highlights.

People go back to the 2 AI finals as "proof" that he doesn't preform on the big day. Two points. First our midfield was totally wiped out both days, Mortimor won't win ball on his own and isn't much good out the field. If ball isn't going into his corner he can't preform simple as. Second why pick on him as a lad who doesn't perform on the big day? David Heaney had 2 bad finals, as did Gardiner, Nallen, McGarrity and numerous other players.

If you want to look at how important he really is to Mayo check out this post on the green and red blog (http://mayogaablog.com/)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭deffin

kevmy wrote: »
    Dropping Mortimor is nothing short of shooting ourselves in the foot. I'll agree he didn't have a good game the last day. And I'll openly state he has limitations that stop him from becoming one of the best (no right leg, not enough goal scoring, not big enough to win his own ball and can't kick a point from more than 35 yards). However name one other corner forward in Mayo even half as consistent or dangerous as him? Sure fcuk it we don't have 2 out and out corner forwards let alone go dropping the one we have.

As for he only scores against mediocre teams that's pure bollox. Fair enough he scores more against poor teams than good but then most players do. He scored a crucial free against Galway in 06 to win the match, he kept us in it against Fermanagh in 04 (both games), contributed very well in both the Laois replay and the Dublin game in 06 and that's just the highlights.

People go back to the 2 AI finals as "proof" that he doesn't preform on the big day. Two points. First our midfield was totally wiped out both days, Mortimor won't win ball on his own and isn't much good out the field. If ball isn't going into his corner he can't preform simple as. Second why pick on him as a lad who doesn't perform on the big day? David Heaney had 2 bad finals, as did Gardiner, Nallen, McGarrity and numerous other players.

If you want to look at how important he really is to Mayo check out this post on the green and red blog (http://mayogaablog.com/)
    Well it's all a matter of opinion. Watched him closely on Sunday and he did nothing and he's been doin'g that for some time now. Dropp the little Bo**ix and he might start to buck himself up. He is so sure of his position on the field now (because we have no-one else as you so rightly put it) he plays like he doesn't give a rat's arse how he performs 'cos he's so sure of his place the next day. Drop him....he's doing nothing....!!!

I've heard this from many a fan and I think there is more than a small element of peoples personal opinion of his attitude off the pitch creeping into their opinion of his play. If he had a short back and sides and didn't wear white boots would he get less stick? I think he would.

I reckon you should leave personal opinions out of it and concentrate on football a different picture emerges. (and by the way who cares if he's a bollix if he can play ball - if we found an axe murderer who is married to a Spice Girl but could play FB I'd snap him up in an instant). You acknowledge there is no-one else so why drop him for a vital game? If his attitude is dropping, which I didn't see much sign of the last day (he was well marked and the mistakes he made weren't attitude related), then it's the managers place to take him aside and give him a talking too.

Cutting of your nose to spite your face before a knock out game would be stupid and that's what dropping him would be. Bottom line people never liked his attitude from the start of his career yet he's ended up top scorer in the Championship twice in the last 4 years. I heard some fcuking luder roaring for him to be taken off 5 mins into the game last Sunday - now you can't say that's not bias as it's impossible to judge how a player is playing after 5 mins of a game.