Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adidas Dublin 5--Sat

• 10-07-2008 8:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭

2 days to go. Course same as last year,not bad except for mile 2.5-3.5. Have to remember to sprint back up Chesterfield this year as the finish is very near the left hand turn off to ordnance survey road.Weather looks ideal,not too windy,dry and mild. Hoping for somthing under 3836 from my Terenure time. Anyone else's goals? (doesn't look like any photo's will be taken this year?):confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Looking forward to this too, did it in 42:30 something last year.
    Did the Raheny 5 in 40:30 or so and Terenure in just over 41.

Want to break 40 eventually in an organised run as I'm sure I have while out on the roads during the week.

As long as it's not windy I'm happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

looking forward to this myself. Will give a good indication of how my marathon training is going. I'm hoping to run close or slightly quicker than what I ran last year. I raced a lot last year and not so much this year so I may be a bit race rusty.

Praying the wind stays away. I can handle rain, but hate the wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Well after a 49 min run in rahney i'm set up well for a seasons best time. Hope to get in sub 41 but bene sick this week so i'm not sure how i will go on the day. Would be upset to be outside 42 mins. First 2.5 miles look nice to me so maybe 3 miles in 24 ish then hang on for dear life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

Were some people saying the course is downhill in the first half and uphill in the second half?

Don't know how I'm fixed. Haven't raced a whole pile in the past two months, but had an encouraging outing in the Dunshaughlin 10k a couple of weeks back. Looking forward to it, always like racing in the park.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Did this in 38 last year, shortly after recovering from a torn knee ligament, and then surprised myself with 34 in one in Walkinstown(?) a couple of months ago. If I can get close'ish to 34 again with the big hill on this course I'll be happy enough.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

looking forward to this, no idea how I will handle it but hoping to do 7 min miles allowing for a quicker one and a slower one on the 2 miles in the middle with the hills. Haven't done a road race in a couple of years though so if it doesn't feel right will take it easy. Course appears to be easier than the last time I did it but hard to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

30 or 31 if I stay sober tomorrow night. Otherwise 32 mins. Its always the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Should make it round in under 37, but 35'd be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 clonsillarunner

i did it in under 34 last year but have been dying a death on my training runs this year. I think mile 4 to 5 is the hardest beacuse you need to get a move on but you dont see the finish until you are almost on it.

i hope they change the colour of the t shirt for this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

i hope they change the colour of the t shirt for this year!

Me too.. My one from last year got dyed pink in the wash :(

I did it in 38 last year and it was my first race in a good few years. Aiming for 35 this year as I've done a lot more training but it's a big ask for me. I found the uphill stretch really gruelling last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I like white t-shirts. Nice for running on hot days. They do tend to pick up quite a bit of filth that doesn't come out in the wash though.

Picked up my number from lifestyle sports in Blanchardstown last night.

It was expensive experience. I ended up buying 2 new pairs of running shorts and two tops.

I'm not mad on the training tops that are given out after you have completed the race. I have ran in last years a number of times over the last couple of weeks and it irritates my chest. I think it has to do with all the printed stuff on the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭papamike

Really looking forward to this one. Was aiming for a sub 40 all along but did a 10k race last weekend and went through 5 miles in 36:20:D. I didn't think training was going that well. Lots of pressure so for Saturday:eek:.

I'm not sure how an early morning race will go as the majority of my training and races are all done lunchtime or evening time. Would this generally impact on times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

I am simultaneously looking forward to and dreading saturday. It will be my first race and I haven't been running that long at all. Since I started running a few weeks ago I have the 5 miles down from 51 mins to 45. I know that's not great but I'm chipping away at the personal challenge for the moment. I can't wait to be last over the line :). How bad is the hill..??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭superjosh9

claralara wrote: »
    ... How bad is the hill..??

Don't think about it :D The adrenaline will get you through!

It's not that much of a hill really.

Stark wrote: »
    It's not that much of a hill really.

no its not that bad. It just slows you down a bit.

it's not a big hill at 150 ft or so from chapelizod gate back to furze road, but it does drag for a long while and you definitely have to be ready for it. If you don't know the park well it would be a good idea to walk down that way before the start and have a look so you are prepared for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Thanks, that's a good idea, i'll do that. I'm sure it'll be grand, PMA and all that!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It's a pretty short steep section which means that you don't really then notice the longer bit just after it that is still going uphill, well I don't seem to anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 clonsillarunner

dont worry the hill looks worse than it is and its only for about 400m. Its a great buzz and the worse part is hanging about at the start.

check out last years results and see how that proojected time will have you finish.

The hill is hard enough but its not too bad , jsut dont go mad at the star of the hill most people hit the hill and then push it too hard for the first 100 mand then die, keep your effort level the same and you will get there no problem.. Great improvement in your times too :)
    I am in the same boat as you down from 50 mins to welll we will see tomororw.

I#m off to bed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Enjoyable run but meteireann got it completely wromg again! Was hoping to beat Terenure PB of 3836 and got to the 1mile in 08:26!:mad:don't know what was going on there--the marker had to be wrong as i was moving along,
    splits were ;
    So ended up on 3835--PB by 1 sec but better really cos of wind and hills and Terenure was easy.Great race all round except for wrong first mile marker IMO and goody bag seemed as though someone took the goodies out?--but roll on the 10miler!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

35:04 for me, love the t-shirts, did anyone else clock the distance at 5.03 miles.
    It could be me just being a sore loser.

I felt like I ran a really sensible race and was happy that I managed to take a couple of scalps from lads who have been beating me over the last 12 months.

However I'm a little disappointed with my time. I was 12 seconds slower.

My splits were all over the shop but I'm putting that down to the course.

I like the tee shirt and was delighted they started on time. In previous years there had been delays.

All in all a worthwhile day.

The first mile marker seemed okay (I was on track with my splits). I think the second mile marker might have been a bit out as it was a gentle downhill with little wind to it and my split time for mile 2 was slower than my average. Hawking, did you measure your first mile time from when you started or when you crossed the line? I lost about 40 seconds at the start by being stuck behind a large group of people. Managed 33:30 by my watch, 34:10 by the race clock in the end so happy enough :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Bit disappointed with my time, lovely downpour halfway through. Agree about the goody bag not as good as last year eh?!, saw a table full of haribo on my way to the start when I got to the finish there was only about 10 bags left. Banana's were a nice touch as I forgot to grab one on my way out. Roll on next month.

Well i totally fell apart today, Guess i've not totally recovered this week, Was hoping to run sub 42 but had nothing in the tank after 1 mile.
    Eneded up hanaing on for jsut under 43 mins , was even sick at 3.5 miles.. but recovered ok there and had an ok last 800 m.

A seasons best time by 6mins 30 sec haha if i look at it that way it wasnt too bad, but was hoping to see a lot more from all the training i've been doing, maybe i need to have a long hard look at it again. :(

Good thing is i've another race on wed to put this right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

36 minutes for me :mad:.

Pretty disappointed as I was really hoping to break 35 minutes. My splits were all over the place as well. Got a bit confused at the end when I saw the 4 mile marker and then the 1 mile marker. Didn't realise we were re-running part of the course.

Does anyone know when the results will be posted up?

rigal wrote: »
    Does anyone know when the results will be posted up?

Should be up tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

I clocked the distance at 4.955 miles. My first mile was spot on as well but I was careful not to switch it on until we crossed the starting line. Overall fairly well organised but there were a few (small) gripes. People who took the footpath were at an advantage. These should have been blocked off. Goody bag wasn't great again. Tee shirt was good but come on lads (listening to Henry Ford) but black again! Will this be the same for the other two Addidas races? ....and lastly there are never enough loos.

In summary this was well run and probably justifys the €20 price.

Black is soooo much better :p

Wasn't happy with the white last year, they did ask people to stick to the road, I'd hopped up on the grass at that point and didn't like being naughty so changed back to the road.

http://www.tds-live.com/

That's the site the times were put on last year, they're usually pretty snappy about it.

30 or 31 if I stay sober tomorrow night. Otherwise 32 mins. Its always the same.

I finished in about 32.20. I had a good few glasses of wine last night. Roll on the 10 mile...

Nice run , Though it was a grand even maybe a bit more control at the finish it was a bit of a free for all,

Well now its the 10 mile... i really need to start upping the mileage.

Their clock said 34:00 when I crossed the finish, but mine said 33:39 so I'm going with that one.
    6:49
    6:49
    6:26
    7:08
    6:25

Looks like I slowed down quite a bit without realising it between 3 and 4, but that is after the hill so not sure what was going on there? I had thought that it was the other hill we had to go up though, but that fun is saved for the 10 and half.
    geld wrote: »
    People who took the footpath were at an advantage. These should have been blocked off.
    Would have helped if people who were intending to go slow from the off did not stand so close to the front at the start. I basically spent the best part of the first mile trying to dodge past people who should not have been that far forward.
    geld wrote: »
    In summary this was well run and probably justifys the €20 price.
    It's worth it just for the t-shirts in these races.

robinph wrote: »
    Would have helped if people who were intending to go slow from the off did not stand so close to the front at the start. I basically spent the best part of the first mile trying to dodge past people who should not have been that far forward.

Would have helped if people who were intending to go slow from the off did not stand so close to the front at the start. I basically spent the best part of the first mile trying to dodge past people who should not have been that far forward..

I pushed myself towards the front for this reason, if the series keeps growing as it has been it's going to get worse.

Who was the guy dressed up as a house at the start? Was he making some sort of silly protest against mortgage lenders or something?? Hardly the place to be doing it.

I think they said it was something to do with the recession or something, I wasn't really listening, they mentioned him over the tannoy just as I arrived at the start, didn't see him though.

His name is Brian Tyrell. He dresses up for most races he enters. He just does it for a bit of fun.

Don't talk to me about these people. I know they have probably rained hard etc but have they no common sense ? I politely pointed out to a lady that she was in with the sub 30 runners, well if looks could kill I'd be lying dead in the Phoenix Park. Anyway the gun went and the last i seen of her she was flying towards the hoarding (one of my club mates actually bashed her)

The organisers should think of putting up flags at the start, sub 30, sub 35, sub 40 etc. I know a lot of people still disregard these put for first timers it would definitely help

I agree with the flags idea. I don't people can really be blamed otherwise. Most first timers probably think it's "first come first served" when it comes to the starting lineup. Even with the flags you'll still get the eejits who will ignore them, but in that case, they're fair game to be bashed aside.

There's a few pictures up on sportsfile now.

I don't normally mind it too much but today there were groups of mainly guys, all trotting along but 3 or 4 across so that you had to really run the long way around. That was the only real issue for me.

I did pass mile one without seeing it, don't think it was put out in time? Was there on the way back. Think I did the first mile a bit too quick but will never know, with all the extra speeding up and slowing down it was hard to tell. Struggled a little on mile 4 but otherwise it was ok, could have done without the sideways rain though!

Happy enough, ended up about a minute slower than wanted to be.

Have to say it is incredible value getting a chip timed raced, tech tshirt a drink and a couple of bits and pieces.

Unfortunately I went for large and it is waayyy too big, they are much bigger than the normal adidas tech gear? Ah well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

Wish I had done it! Was thinking I'd go and watch but only woke up at 12!

And I missed a t-shirt. I have the full collection from last year.. what a difference a year makes :mad:

Congrats to all, sounds like with some wind, rain and the hills - not to mention those who start at the front and meander along - it was always going to be tough to set any p.b's.

I feel guilty now - better go for a run!

copacetic wrote:
    Unfortunately I went for large and it is waayyy too big, they are much bigger than the normal adidas tech gear? Ah well.

Yeah I've found the t-shirts given out after these things are a size larger than normal.
    copacetic wrote:
    I don't normally mind it too much but today there were groups of mainly guys, all trotting along but 3 or 4 across so that you had to really run the long way around. That was the only real issue for me.

Apparently the women's not-a-marathon is unreal for groups of girls walking 4 abreast with arms linked. A girl I know says she gets great satisfaction from seeing them showing up to mixed men's/women's races and getting torn apart by the men :)

Stark wrote: »
    Yeah I've found the t-shirts given out after these things are a size larger than normal.

it's a pity, my own fault for not checking it. will do for my dad or brother I guess.

Did anyone else stuggle with slippy roads going down the hill after the rain shower? I have asics speedstar 2s which are great, lovely and light and grippy in the dry but it was like running on ice coming down the hill.

Just saw the comments above about people running on paths, when I went through didn't see much of it but when leaving half the field were running up the path rather than down chesterfield. There was one guy waving them off but if they want to fool themselves let them I say.

I generally find all the issues at these races are caused by the runners, very hard for the organisers to make people act correctly if they don't care.

I haven't done the 10 before but remember the half having a much smaller field so presumably it will get better?

Hmm, the results from last year indicate that the half marathon had the largest field of all the races. I remember the 10 miler being roughly the same field as the 5 mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭bo-sco

Not one of my better outings though I put in a good last mile and managed to take a few places. Was a pretty nasty day for racing. Well, that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it!

Nice t-shirt and I liked the Haribo jellies that they were handing out after.