Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite meal as a kid?

• 08-07-2008 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭

So what was your favourite meal when you were younger?

Mine was Mammys homemade burger and chips, yummmmy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Shepards Pie a la mammy!!!! Ymmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Chilli Con Carne yummeh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Roast chicken with my Mammy's gravy - still love it! :D

I used love Beef Goulash, but they stopped making the sauce :( If I wanted some now, I'd have to Hungary...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

Roast chicken. Then chicken soup the next day. Lovely.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,535 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Corned beef and cabbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

My mums stew with lots of fresh batch bread

McDonalds, remember when it used to be a treat:rolleyes:

My Dads homemade fish and chips (his batter was the bomb:p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

christmas dinner.....still is

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Mum's lasagne, or else this chicken and yellow bean sauce she'd make and then make rice with onions and sweetcorn and stuff through it to go with the chicken Drooooooll:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

mashed spuds,batchelors tinned peas and me mas homemade mince burgers,nothing like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mollydolly271

i used to luv sheeps heart. til i realised it was actually a sheeps heart( i know what else could it have being,i was young..):confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

Christmas Dinner. Of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Spaggetti and meatballs (like lady and the tramp) Funnily now Im a vegitarian..

Homemade soup. Aw the mammy made a secksah soup once, but it was a fluke since she couldnt remember what was in it and I shall never have it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Mince burgers with onions and mushrooms and mash potatoes and gallons of heinz ketchup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Spaggetti (Bolognese) was always good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

Spaghetti Bolognese :)
    Also anything with fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Fried turnips with scrambled eggs mixed in. I haven't had a turnip in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭KatiexKOUTURE--

The Spaggetti Bolongese my old childminder use to make... Mmmmmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Stew with chopped sausages and bits of bacon mixed in :pac:

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

boiled potatoes, rashers and fried cabbage.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Beans & potatoes with sausages.

The Spaggetti Bolongese my old childminder use to make... Mmmmmmmm...

God be with the days when our mother's used to be our childminders!! :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

R0ot wrote: »
    Stew with chopped sausages and bits of bacon mixed in :pac:

Coddle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Complan, I treated this as a meal because I used to live off it, often taking spoonfulls of the stuff straighty out of the box, My folks had to hide it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

Fresh battered ray and home made chips or roast chicken with mash and gravy.... tuff call, going for a split decision between these two!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭goodburger

None, my mother was a dreadful cook and as a result we went out to eat a lot. From the age of about 14 I used to make my own dinners. To this day my mother has never cooked pasta, she thinks its from outer space.

goodburger wrote: »
    None, my mother was a dreadful cook and as a result we went out to eat a lot. From the age of about 14 I used to make my own dinners. To this day my mother has never cooked pasta, she thinks its from outer space.

Aaaaaaaaaaah, poor baby, I have a number of a good therapist if you need it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Roast chicken with mash or roast beef with yorkshire pudding and mash, oooor bacon and cabbage with mash! All drowning in gravy. God I love mash and gravy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Kiera wrote: »
    Coddle?

Sort of, coddle was always watery were as this was thick. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

bacon and cabbage, the deadliness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Any of my grannys dinners...she had the knack of makin everythin way tastier...especially mash..she'd use the ice cream scoop and thought the oval mound was well posh, and bisto has never tasted the same since i was 10!!:P

Boxty, fresh warm soda bread with real butter and my Granaunts legendary potato bread. Yum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

fish fingers and chips with beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Me Mas spaghetti bolognaise.

But I would not eat it now... I remember oxo cubes, tomato ketchup, tomato pureé, tomatoes and sugar going into it. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Lol Quality my mam used to use those ingredients for Spag Bol too!! Twas a little surprised alright but sure didnt stop me devouring it nonetheless :) Also loved my mother's made-from-scratch chicken soup, her shepherd's pie or the best of all, homemade pavlova!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

those pizzas that you could make up yourself in quinnworth.

1. weigh the pizza base, 56p
    2. piled the toppings on 2 inch thick
    3. look around shifty eyed like hoping the checkout person doesn't spot it.
    4. eat it
    5. feel sick because of cheese poisioning.

Cremo wrote: »
    those pizzas that you could make up yourself in quinnworth.

1. weigh the pizza base, 56p
    2. piled the toppings on 2 inch thick
    3. look around shifty eyed like hoping the checkout person doesn't spot it.
    4. eat it
    5. feel sick because of cheese poisioning.
    youd be better off getting a pizza from Donatellas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

Vesta Curry.The stuff that was dehydrated and came in a box.Couldn't give it away now but back then it was exotic and yummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

I used to drink bottles of vinegar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Shpuds, cabaiste, bacon, with butther and milk.

Bread & butter pudding for afters.

New season spuds with york cabbage..

/drool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Mince burgers with onions and mushrooms and mash potatoes and gallons of heinz ketchup

Ah jaysus, the memories. :)

Shamrok wrote: »
    I used to drink bottles of vinegar.
    you still do i say?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Quality wrote: »
    Me Mas spaghetti bolognaise.

But I would not eat it now... I remember oxo cubes, tomato ketchup, tomato pureé, tomatoes and sugar going into it. :eek:

Ya know the only thing not authentic in that tomato sauce is the oxo cube? Sounds like a grand tomato sauce recipe to me, except ye need plenty of herbs in there also. Basil specifically, maybe some oregano. Ketchup and puree are basically the same thing. Sugar takes the tartness out of the tomotoes. That's a tomato sauce a!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Pizza!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

bacon and cabbage, the deadliness

the deadliness, more like the deadly smell of the stuff, like someone opened a raw sewer in the Kitchen! I refuse to eat if the stuff is within smell range that and Tomatos *gags*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Chips and chicken nuggets FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Spaghetti Bolognese here also. Actually still quite like it too. Though how I make it pwns the ma's version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

My ma's Spag Bol, delicious. Used to try to get her to make it every day :D. Still love it now but she never makes it for me so I have to do it. Mine's better though :D.

Gillie wrote: »
    Pizza!
    €8.50 thankyou:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Two bags of Monster Munch followed by a bag of Haribo Tangfastic. Awesome.