Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stalk me for a cent a post!

• 07-07-2008 7:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

To mark my 10,000th post and because 95% of my posts are seeking/giving information and wayyy too many people, in wayyy too many forums have helped me with wayyy too many questions. Instead of mentioning names and everything, I'm going to put myself at jeopardy and give €100 (a cent for every post) to the first person to snap a photo of me and my van (VanTasks.ie logo on each side, you really can't miss it!) and post it up in this thread. It's that simple, although there are a few rules!
    • Photos within Dun Laoghaire (Where I live) don't count.
    • I must be identifiable in the photo too, so you can't just snap it if it's parked up somewhere or if I'm a million miles away in the distance, that's not exactly me being stalked :P
    • My registration plate number must be masked before posting the photo.
    • All other identifiable faces in the photo must be masked before posting the photo.
    • Photos clearly taken from the drivers seat of a moving vehicle don't count.
    • The photo must be posted the day it's taken with location mentioned.
    • If I wasn't there that day, or I was in that area due to a bogus call, it wont count.
    • You must send your name and address, or bank details via PM within 48 hours of me announcing on the thread that your photo qualifies and has won. If I don't receive these details, the next photo that qualifies will win.
    Now I know there's enough sharp eyes on here to spot any photoshopped attempts and just like this thread, boardsies are quite good at identifying places too. So it'll be quite hard to manipulate and get away with it ;)

Good luck! Gulp... :pac:

mods, any problems with this, just let me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Not as cool as Hobbes challenges, and with even more rules than him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Not much chance of me winning...

...unless

/repositions satellite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Sure who says I wont be in Romania any day, you can never tell :P

/makes ready the rape kit O.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

If you are in Dublin and use his website. You can make 50 euro profit through this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

If you are in Dublin and use his website. You can make 50 euro profit through this thread.

Very Good thinking.

Tomorrows route, be on the lookout ;)

:rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Not that anyone cares and yeah I know it's a bit of fun but a few problems with this one....

1. You obviously have a fairly inflated ego that you expect the general public to be interested in running around after you, on your terms for a hundred squids.

2. Thinly veiled attempt at blatant self promotion and advertising of, cue the namecheck "VanTasks.ie"

3. "..if you just send me your bank details" How many times has that been asked over t'internet..!

4. You could have made a start in buying yourself a life with that 100 sponds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

Not that anyone cares and yeah I know it's a bit of fun but a few problems with this one....

1. You obviously have a fairly inflated ego that you expect the general public to be interested in running around after you, on your terms for a hundred squids.

2. Thinly veiled attempt at blatant self promotion and advertising of, cue the namecheck "VanTasks.ie"

3. "..if you just send me your bank details" How many times has that been asked over t'internet..!

Hi MissHoneyBun. Who are you?:P

Eglinton wrote: »
    Hi MissHoneyBun. Who are you?:P

I don't think who I am has anything to do with Cormie's thread Eglinton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭mollydolly271

imagine me givin my name, adress and bank details to u!!!!!!!!!!"oh look here u are in this photo leaving MY branch of aib with a bundle of notes" eh me thinks not?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i'd love to stay and chat, but you seem Like a total Bitch..

emot-munch.gif

Anyway, back on topic. I'm just rummaging to find my divining rods and have the ol' pinhole camera in the napsack. VasTasks.ie here I come!

1. I don't expect anyone to be running around after me. If you spot me, a quick snap, job done.

2. Yes, how else could people spot me for such a thing? I advertise through proper means. I'm not trying to disguise anything. As is allowed in signatures, I have my websites displayed in over 10,000 posts on this site already. I know the rules of spamming and everything on this site and I wouldn't jeopardise my membership by trying to sneak anything in.

3. Lodging money in a bank account or sending a postal order to an address is the most convenient way to pay. Not much can be done with an account number and sort code alone.

4. Money wont buy a life, it will only contribute to the purchasing of goods and or services. Material items perhaps, temporary happiness, but not joy.

Undisputed winner I think you'll find*

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/

*a number of the rules may need to be bent to allow this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Way too many rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Aww congrats man.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ok, go to dun laoghaire in your car, follow him out of there, take the photo. If only I had a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

That's obviously a fake, mate. Here's the winner

Ok, go to dun laoghaire in your car, follow him out of there, take the photo. If only I had a car.

Coast road vs zoom lens from the dart :p

N11 from area around Cabinteely to Ranelagh soon :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Cianos wrote: »
    That's obviously a fake, mate. Here's the winner

Fuk thats funny:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

The bitch is right. This is dumb ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

cormie wrote: »
    . Not much can be done with an account number and sort code alone
    Sure stick yours up and we can do a Jeremy Clarkson on ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Have to agree with everything above but the sad truth is anyone with 10k posts is gonna be defended by his boardsie bum buddies. Worst ****ing thread i've ever seen, seriously I cant believe you actually posted this ****.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Big Knox wrote: »
    Have to agree with everything above but the sad truth is anyone with 10k posts is gonna be defended by his boardsie bum buddies. Worst ****ing thread i've ever seen, seriously I cant believe you actually posted this ****.
    Then don't stalk him. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Jonny303

your worse is your obviously "offended" by it. if uve no interest bog off n let the lad have a bita crack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

I think it's a cool idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Yeah me too - it's something different! Although I think i'd feel guilty taking 100 quid off a stranger! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Glowing wrote: »
    Although I think i'd feel guilty taking 100 quid off a stranger! :D

Really?

I wouldnt. Thats beer money now

The bitch is right. This is dumb ****.

It wasn't meant to be an intelligent topic of discussion. What did you expect opening a post titled "Stalk me for a cent a post!" ?
    Sure stick yours up and we can do a Jeremy Clarkson on ya.

I have no reason to post mine here and I'm not asking anyone else to do the same. Go to google and search for, "sort code xx xx", replacing xx xx with the first 4 digits of any sort code and you'll see account numbers and sort codes posted, nothing can be done with these alone.
    Big Knox wrote: »

Relax, nobody has defended me, people have simply posted their opinion, which everyone is entitled too. If yours is that this is the "Worst ****ing thread you've ever seen" then just get on with life and let it be. It shouldn't be affecting you so much that you need to use so many profanities either. There was no malice intended in posting this. I'm sorry if I've upset you, but that was in no way what I set out to do in this thread.
    Spankeh wrote: »
    Really?

I wouldnt. Thats beer money now

I wouldn't either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

Can i enter this Mr.Cormie? :)...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

+1 , seriously dude what were you thinking :rolleyes:

and why does your reg have to be blanked out when the van is clearly identifiable via the signs on the side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

OP, you can't buy respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Odd one but fruck it. There's a hundred squid to be had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,073 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I suspect cormie's account on Boards has been hijacked, for the simple reason that cormie parting with €100 like this is just not believable.

Not your ornery onager

MooseJam wrote: »
    +1 , seriously dude what were you thinking :rolleyes:

and why does your reg have to be blanked out when the van is clearly identifiable via the signs on the side

I don't know if you're being serious with the "what were you thinking" bit, but with regarding the reg. I can't give you all the reasons for blocking it out, but it will take 2 seconds in MS Paint so no biggie.
    Beau x1 wrote: »
    OP, you can't buy respect.

Who do you think I'm trying to buy respect from?
    esel wrote: »
    I suspect cormie's account on Boards has been hijacked, for the simple reason that cormie parting with €100 like this is just not believable.

hehe :) that's my purpose of saving money in the grand scale of things :P

Can I ask those of you who seem to have such a problem with this, why? I'm not asking you to tell me, I'm just asking you to ask yourselves. This doesn't need an opinion, it's not seeking an argument or discussion, it's simply there, like a pebble on a path, not to be analysed or to cause mystery or upset. You can either walk by or maybe you feel like kicking it along for something different to do on your walk home? You could stop walking to crouch down and examine it, try to find faults with it, ask it questions and get offended by it, but there is no reason to. It's not there to harm you, if you have a path to follow, just keep walking, but whilst on this path, if you want, you can kick this little pebble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I think you're all being rather harsh on the chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

This doesn't need an opinion, it's not seeking an argument or discussion, it's simply there, like a pebble on a path

like a big steaming turd on a path, waiting to be stepped on :D

it's simply there, like a pebble on a path, not to be analysed or to cause mystery or upset. You can either walk by or maybe you feel like kicking it along for something different to do on your walk home? You could stop walking to crouch down and examine it, try to find faults with it, ask it questions and get offended by it, but there is no reason to. It's not there to harm you, if you have a path to follow, just keep walking, but whilst on this path, if you want, you can kick this little pebble.

Ah jaysus. Now come *on*. "like a pebble on a path..." :) And ya wonder why some people find this thread full of sh1t? And eh, newsflash -->> Any material posted on Boards is subject to the users opinion, be it good, bad or indifferent. I'd have thought ya might have realised that with yer much celebrated 10,000 posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah jaysus. Now come *on*. "like a pebble on a path..." :) And ya wonder why some people find this thread full of sh1t? And eh, newsflash -->> Any material posted on Boards is subject to the users opinion, be it good, bad or indifferent. I'd have thought ya might have realised that with yer much celebrated 10,000 posts.

Exactly. And people can also think you're acting like a tool for giving out about it.

Fair play Cormie for doing something a little different.

I don't understand the hostility either tbh.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Exactly. And people can also think you're acting like a tool for giving out about it.

Well ya see that's exactly my point though Xavi isn't it. I don't give a toss about what any other user says about my posts. They're there to be commented on like everyone elses -unlike our good friend Cormie here. Who's posts are "just there -like a pebble on a path. Not to be analysed" Just floating around in their divine state... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well ya see that's exactly my point though Xavi isn't it. I don't give a toss about what any other user says about my posts. They're there to be commented on like everyone elses -unlike our good friend Cormie here. Who's posts are "just there -like a pebble on a path. Not to be analysed" Just floating around in their divine state... :)

So why be the buzz killer? Why choose to criticise? Does his idea affect you directly? Do you own a rival company in the same industry and you're jealous cause Cormie used boards as an advertising tool before you did?

Why the hostility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

When read this first I thought it was 1 cent for each post until you got 10,000 posts, but on second reading it's €100 for the first post with picture.

Now how much for a call out to my house, If its less than say €100, can I photo you then you can give me the €100 minus your call out fee

We both win:pac: