Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

did people like KATY FRENCH?

• 05-07-2008 6:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

did people in Ireland like katy french?
    of course, before her accident.....because after death she is icon already...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Unless you knew her personally ,maybe not a question of liking /disliking her but anybody in the media eye who dies of drug taking is going to be rememberd by a lot of the public for how she died and her career beforehand might possibly fade into background a bit

I had no idea who she was so I didn't dislike her or like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I did not know of her till she killed her self on drugs.

I thought the media coverage was appalling . Ray Darcy making some sort of hero out of her each morn. And the papers. Why don't we build a statue of her and plant it in the green.

This is not the message I want my kids to here.

Drugs are for losers .

I cant symaphise with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 caracass

what did people talk about her? /when she was alive.../
    i heard that a lot of people /from business/ hated her...
    but...is it truth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Myth wrote: »

me 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I did not know of her till she killed her self on drugs.

Drugs are for losers .

I cant symaphise with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Didn't know who she was to be honest about it. Indifferent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭dee8839

From my very limited knowledge of her, she was for the most part a very intelligent girl with a talent for business and journalism. If you saw her on TV3's series Diary of a Model, she came across as grounded and sensible. What was terrible about her is that she did not respect herself and her god-given attributes enough to stay away from drugs. When she was in the public eye, she should have known that she was setting a bad example. I know that Brendan O'Connor really admired her from what I read when she died. Anyone I spoke to about it at the time of her death were mostly very sorry for her, that she was foolish enough to let it slip away when she had so much to live for. I don't know about business people in general. She appeared to me to be a very smart, down-to-earth and matter-of-fact person, admirable even, but of course, the manner of her death paints a different picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

caracass wrote: »
    what did people talk about her? /when she was alive.../
    i heard that a lot of people /from business/ hated her...
    but...is it truth?
    Sources? Why do you want to know?

I hadn't a clue who she was until she died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Brendan O'Connor wrote a long article in the papers shortly after she died but it contained little in the way of decent writing and it came across that he hardly knew her at all and was just pretty much doing a 'journo' on the fact he spent a few hours with her a couple of weeks before.

That programme made her seem normal and intelligent - a girl looking for a break into tv presenting or the like. It presented her as someone with a bit of brains and a little less confidence than she needed to survive in that world. Maybe thats where the coke came in.

However I kept having to ask myself if this girl is so bright what the hell is she doing in her underpants on the front of the Independant every Sunday. I dont thinks she was any more of a saint or sinner than anyone else and I felt slightly sorry for the waste of a life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Did people like KATY FRENCH?
    To be honest, people "in general" didn't know Katy French.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭Clink

I knew who she was and found her very irritating. I could never figure out what she was famous for and it was obvious that she was creating stories for the papers just to get more exposure.

Then when she died needlessly I felt very guilty as to the level of animosity I had felt towards her :rolleyes:

did people in Ireland like katy french?
    of course, before her accident.....because after death she is icon already...

why are you so interested that you signed up with a new account to write this?

Whats your basis for these questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭shoegirl

The name rang a bell, but really she was nothing but a name until she coked herself out of existence. Sad really, but the tributes were a wee bit emotive in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

can't remember ever hearing of her before she died - no opinion re like/dislike but does make you wonder how people become a celebrity when they don't seem to register outside of their own cirlces?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

After she died they were trying to make her out like she was the peoples princee.She wasnt she was a cokehead who pulled the wool over everybodys eyes.I couldnt tell you one thing she did nor was she the prettiest girl like so many glamour models she got a lucky break.Idont think its a good idea to paint her as something she wasnt,only her family know the real person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BLISTFULNIGHTS

I never really heard of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

marti101 wrote: »
    After she died they were trying to make her out like she was the peoples princee.She wasnt she was a cokehead who pulled the wool over everybodys eyes.I couldnt tell you one thing she did nor was she the prettiest girl like so many glamour models she got a lucky break.Idont think its a good idea to paint her as something she wasnt,only her family know the real person.
    Agreed. She had no talent whatsoever, wasn't pretty (imo, was heavy for a "model" too) and was a coke abusing "socialite" who, just before she died, lied to everyone saying she didn't do drugs anymore.

Despise these no talent publicity whores, particularly drug abusing ones, so her death was no loss to anyone but her family/friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Didn't like her public image.

Benefited from a stunt in her fiance's restaurant that led to it closing basically.

She was a pure drugy who couldn't stop putting stuff up her noise, and it made me sick the way she portrayed in the media as being innocent, she had a history of drug abuse stop defending her. Such a bad image to be creating for the children of this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Rb wrote: »
    Agreed. She had no talent whatsoever, wasn't pretty (imo, was heavy for a "model" too) and was a coke abusing "socialite" who, just before she died, lied to everyone saying she didn't do drugs anymore.

Despise these no talent publicity whores, particularly drug abusing ones, so her death was no loss to anyone but her family/friends.

Harsh TBH. TBH when she died I wrote (on boards) that I would have loved to have had a pint in her presence. I still stand by that one. Regardless of what she done or didn't do she sounded like a person who could have the craic. George Best syndrome I call it..... but shur **** it. No point getting pedantic about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    To be honest, people "in general" didn't know Katy French.

Christ, some of yiz must not read the papers. Shur wasn't herself and Glenda not hammer and tong at it for months. She was on Podge and Rodge for god sake and came out well after it and all ( in my opinion anyhow).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

My parents were friends and used to do work with her parents so we knew her.

To be honest I didn't think much of her, we tried to be polite and all due to work but as a child she was spoilt. I remember around Christmas time her parents sent Christmas cards out to all the familys of the clients they worked with, but the card would just be filled with things people in their family (her mostly) had achived which is kinda of cute in once sense, but then again it was also a little arrogent.

Never had much had much time for her myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Seamonster

In my opinion Katy French was completely over rated and generally disliked. The only people who really liked her were those muppets on Xpose. It would annoy me when newspapers such as The Sun would give her the title "Ireland's Top Supermodel" because the woman really was just a slightly overweight below average looking girl. She represented everything that is a negative in Ireland - she was narrow-minded, materialistic, arrogant and who's priorities lay firmly in manipulating the media. She also manipulated the Irish public into believing she was a charity-driven, non-drug-taking role model for Irish girls. Yea right. When I saw her doing that PR shot in India, I think it was, holding the poor baby for some charity it just really p**ssed me off.

As for that perma-tanned air-head mongoloid she dated. For me, that just says it all. Even he must not have liked her because after his restaurant went bust he used Katy's death to launch his "modeling" career. Even more disgusting was that the Sunday Independent supported it and gave him front page cover. AAAAAGGGGH! Send the feckers off to some North-Korean work camp I think. A really disgusting element of our society........

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Seamonster wrote: »
    In my opinion Katy French was completely over rated and generally disliked. The only people who really liked her were those muppets on Xpose. It would annoy me when newspapers such as The Sun would give her the title "Ireland's Top Supermodel" because the woman really was just a slightly overweight below average looking girl. She represented everything that is a negative in Ireland - she was narrow-minded, materialistic, arrogant and who's priorities lay firmly in manipulating the media. She also manipulated the Irish public into believing she was a charity-driven, non-drug-taking role model for Irish girls. Yea right. When I saw her doing that PR shot in India, I think it was, holding the poor baby for some charity it just really p**ssed me off.

As for that perma-tanned air-head mongoloid she dated. For me, that just says it all. Even he must not have liked her because after his restaurant went bust he used Katy's death to launch his "modeling" career. Even more disgusting was that the Sunday Independent supported it and gave him front page cover. AAAAAGGGGH! Send the feckers off to some North-Korean work camp I think. A really disgusting element of our society........
    Well I know a few guys that met her in South Africa when they were doing the Irish Townships down there and they said she was sound and had plenty of time for all of them. And that was when the cameras were off her.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Lads, be careful now. Unless you genuinely knew her personally, all you can say is you didn't like her public persona. Chances are, the person you saw in newspapers and on TV was a completely different person to the Katy that sat down to dinner with her family. You cannot claim to know someone without having spent time with them.

Like everyone in the public eye, she had a role to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Her accident... are you confusing her with Princess Di ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Seamonster

Hi P'Napster. I appreciate your point and could well believe it but I generally find that people like Katy French, Andrea Roche etc. (Ireland's "Supermodel Celebrities") can be quite nice but only to the people they need to be nice to. I just think that people should be nice to everybody, not just ones they can benefit from. I would imagine if the average Joe / Joline met her in Crystal Nightclub she wouldn't have much time for them, unless she could get something out of them like some free PR, product endorsements etc........also, the debate is on whether people liked her or not and even if she was an amazing person, she unfortunately developed a public image that the average person didn't like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Last thing I remember seeing her in the paper for before she died was dong a 'Paris Hilton' ie: being snapped coming out of a limo in a very short dress with no underwear, basically exposing her private parts in public for publicity. Honestly, who 'forgets' to wear underwear? I was thinking, "Wow, classy bird" :rolleyes:
    Then three days later she's dead and the media calls her a role model, an idol, an angel... FFS role models in today's society don't break public decency laws to get on the the cover of trash newspapers.

Faith wrote: »
    Lads, be careful now. Unless you genuinely knew her personally, all you can say is you didn't like her public persona. Chances are, the person you saw in newspapers and on TV was a completely different person to the Katy that sat down to dinner with her family. You cannot claim to know someone without having spent time with them.

I hate to say it, but she was pretty much the same when she was with her family.

Although this is going back a few years before all the drugs, she was just always like that, always wanted attention as well.

I do feel sorry for her though, my parents knew her parents well (as I said) and appearntly the mother put a load of pressure on her when she was a kid to be the public princess she turned into. I guess she created a monster so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Had never heard of her and couldn't see how most of the papers justified front page dedications the next day which not even a former leader of the country would get. What was really saddening and sickening was that they had all contributed to the glorification of a drug-related death.

It would appear her 'fame' was more to do with the fact that she got on well with the media than the fact that she did or didn't have talent. Obviously the media felt they 'owed' her somehow so they sung her praises. Of course at the same time there must have been ruthless editors saying 'think of the readership we'll get out of this!'.

Sensationalism sells. Pity.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

i thought it was so sad her passing..
    she seemed sweet on tv, and pretty.

she really wanted to be a celeb - and you know what, she got there - unfortunatly she died just as she was getting established.

sympathy to her family.

unfair to speak ill of the dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

she really wanted to be a celeb
    That says it all really. She wanted to be famous but not famous for actually doing or achieving anything. Never heard of her before she died and thought the presses reaction to her death was laughable.

i thought it was so sad her passing..
    she seemed sweet on tv, and pretty.

she really wanted to be a celeb - and you know what, she got there - unfortunatly she died just as she was getting established.

sympathy to her family.

unfair to speak ill of the dead.
    Her mother wanted her to be a celeb, she pushed her towards it her whole life. Katy just went along with it and reaped the pros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Her mother wanted her to be a celeb, she pushed her towards it her whole life. Katy just went along with it and reaped the pros.

thats more a ****ty parent... not essentially katy fault.

Being that i dont know any of them personally, i cant say much - but i imagine all involved are sad it happened.

Galvasean wrote: »
    Then three days later she's dead and the media calls her a role model, an idol, an angel... FFS role models in today's society don't break public decency laws to get on the the cover of trash newspapers.

Indeed, I remember reading said articles and thinking where the fck are they getting this crap from. Next we'll see Amy Winehouse dead and the papers praising her for how great she was and what a role model for young girls she was/is. It's bullshít, they're horrible role models and shouldn't be promoted in the way that they are. Pure attention whores through and through, though not in the case of Winehouse who's just fcked, and all should be aware at this stage that attention whores should not be fed the attention they crave.

Instead of praising her after death, they should be using her death as an example of what can happen as a result of taking drugs, rather than attempting to sweep that element of it under the carpet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 caracass

hmmm....she was activity in GOAL.....poor children, etc.....so......wasn't she good positive person?
    or
    was it trick of spoiled famous celeb /because princess di did the same.../????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Myth wrote: »
    /nod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I think they should promote more of her drug habit than the 1 good thing she did for charity.Ii think what annoys people was that she told anybody who would listen that she didnt take drugs.And keeping this thread going is only feeding the hype bour her death.She was basically a model who died snorting coke,thats what sho should be remembered for and nothing else

hmmm....she was activity in GOAL.....poor children, etc.....so......wasn't she good positive person?
    or
    was it trick of spoiled famous celeb /because princess di did the same.../????
    Yes but it's great PR for her to do so, just like whatsherface getting involved with the water safety crowd. Could probably give a fck less themselves but it's good for their image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

OK, comments about Katy's weight and looks are irrelevant - what exactly has that got to do with anything? It's good to see a "normal" looking girl get into the modelling industry as opposed to size zero stick insects.

I only knew of her, she seemed friendly and down-to-earth in any TV/media interviews she did.

But she should NOT have been praised so much when she died -"Ireland loses a princess"? Gimme a break. Some of those said papers used to slate her when she was alive, so why do a U-turn when she's dead? Fair enough, if her death was in very tragic circumstances, such as car accident or something not self-inflicted, it would be very sad - but she took those drugs, she had a choice, and was obviously not the sensible girl she portayed herself to be.

+1000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Hardrain

Anyone read todays News Of The World??/ :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Good man, you made it into the papers today with that quote! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 godspenis

Faith wrote: »

I wish someone could stand up for the girl who had the sweet sixteen party in kilkenny. i dont think its particularly fair that they are calling her a horse sexer. sorry to get off topic, i just wanted to point out that fact and recognise the respect here where its lacking elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think it's just sad when people judge and bitch about others' decisions to take drugs yet have no problem with people getting absolutely wasted on alcohol every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Laura Appleby

I was so sad when Katy died, its so very totally uncalled for unfair for people to judge a young girl trying to follow her dream. We all do things we regret. Its so sad she never got the chance to regret. Its awful to judge people, especially after they are gone from us.

RIP

XXXXXXX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Lol at the "never heard of her" crowd pretending to be too intelligent to have known some regular of the celebrity pages.

Sorry but that is bollix. I wouldnt doubt that if you gathered together every 2007 issue of a random newspaper, tabloid or broadsheet, there would be more photos of her than George Bush or Blair.

I think it is typical Irish begrudgery. She was some girl who appeared in still photos in the paper- seeing as she barely ever appeared on tv (tbh the first time I heard her speak was on clips around the time of her collapse). So how can you judge if she was cocky or not?

Mind you I did read a Sunday Indo interview with her where she came off a bit self loving. (I know I shouldnt read that bile, housemate used to buy that particular brand of used toilet roll though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 liam2me

i live in london and only just heard of her when i went home last week, can i ask why on earth we are glorifying someone who was a cocaine addict and died as a result of OD'ing on it like millions of other junkies around the world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Laura Appleby

liam2me wrote: »
    i live in london and only just heard of her when i went home last week, can i ask why on earth we are glorifying someone who was a cocaine addict and died as a result of OD'ing on it like millions of other junkies around the world?

Its just so sad thats why. Should we punish a young girl for making mistakes??