Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spin FM getting your best beach body

• 04-07-2008 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭

Will be on spin FM again a little after 1pm tomorrow dishing the dirt on getting your best beach body.

Will give boards a big two thumbs up as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Excellent. I won't be in work this time so will be sure to tune in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Good stuff man. I'll be giving it a listen.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm presuming this is the site for Spin FM to listen online. It dosen't seem to work for me at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Working fine here on firefox. Pop-ups blocked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭daveywavey08

Ohhh I can't wait transform! Your voice is sooo sexy

Good talk Transform. Nice big up to Boards too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

anyone record it?

want to give a brief rundown on his points?

sorry i missed this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

pvt.joker wrote: »
    anyone record it?

want to give a brief rundown on his points?

sorry i missed this

It'll probably be available as a podcast soon enough!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mickoo

lack of sleep makes you gain fat on your thighs and sugar on your belly!! sleep rather than diet!
    dont eat carbs, 1 min later for breakfast have toast!
    dont eat rice, 1 min later-just eat a fist size of rice!!
    started well then sounded like you where just making stuff up off the top of your head! made me and the lads laugh anyway!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

mickoo wrote: »
    lack of sleep makes you gain fat on your thighs and sugar on your belly!! sleep rather than diet!
    dont eat carbs, 1 min later for breakfast have toast!
    dont eat rice, 1 min later-just eat a fist size of rice!!
    started well then sounded like you where just making stuff up off the top of your head! made me and the lads laugh anyway!!

What makes me laugh is people who automatically assume they know more than trained professionals, so much so that they feel they are in a position to laugh at said trained professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Davey, mick worked in the fitness industry for years and is a very capable trainer.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

davyjose wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is people who automatically assume they know more than trained professionals, so much so that they feel they are in a position to laugh at said trained professional.

What makes ME laugh is that because someone is a "trained professional" anything they say is assumed to be beyond reporach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

davey i also know mick and im a trained "professional" as you said with 3 years experience along with two years in college in colaiste along with the student of the year and i agree with what mick said, you started well then started to contradict yourself...you said cut carbs, then said have egg on TOAST, brown rice once its a fistfull oh and the whole, woman-dont eat like men and men - dont eat like pigs wouldnt be valid as im sure most mens fists are bigger than the average pig.......

Judomad wrote: »
    davey i also know mick and im a trained "professional" as you said with 3 years experience along with two years in college in colaiste along with the student of the year and i agree with what mick said, you started well then started to contradict yourself...you said cut carbs, then said have egg on TOAST, brown rice once its a fistfull oh and the whole, woman-dont eat like men and men - dont eat like pigs wouldnt be valid as im sure most mens fists are bigger than the average pig.......

actually yeah the toast bit sounded odd to me actually - esp coming from transform who once reprimanded me for eating bread when trying to lose fat:) I guess with protein (egg) it's not just as bad but still....!

celestial wrote: »
    actually yeah the toast bit sounded odd to me actually - esp coming from transform who once reprimanded me for eating bread when trying to lose fat:) I guess with protein (egg) it's not just as bad but still....!

no it isnt any better, the same amount of carbs are goin into your body but your just adding protein, even though egg is the best form of protein from foods the toast is still carbs, regardless if its white, brown, black or pink, bread is bread and carbs are carbs...

he also said you cant put weight on in certain areas from certain foods(which is bo!!ox) but you cant train to lose weight from a certain area(true)

no it isnt any better, the same amount of carbs are goin into your body but your just adding protein, even though egg is the best form of protein from foods the toast is still carbs, regardless if its white, brown, black or pink, bread is bread and carbs are carbs...

he also said you cant put weight on in certain areas from certain foods(which is bo!!ox) but you cant train to lose weight from a certain area(true)

It is better than having toast on its own in terms of carb absorption - the egg will slow down the GI response from the toast somewhat - but better to not have the toast at all.

celestial wrote: »
    It is better than having toast on its own in terms of carb absorption - the egg will slow down the GI response from the toast somewhat - but better to not have the toast at all.

Oh c'mon.... there's no arguing around this. You shouldn't be having toast if you're trying to lose fat. It can't be justified by using GI response times!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

cowzerp wrote: »
    Davey, mick worked in the fitness industry for years and is a very capable trainer.
    Hanley wrote: »
    What makes ME laugh is that because someone is a "trained professional" anything they say is assumed to be beyond reporach.

Fair enough, I didn't even hear the Podcast, i was merely sticking up for someone who has the balls to offer advice for others to take a pop at. Maybe Mick wasn't doing that, but it's how it looked to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Yeah look I think Transform obviously puts himself out there and promotes himself very well, which he is entitled to do and more power to him, but to say just because he does it, he shouldn't be criticised is a bit rich. I think I got the same thing when I said he got hammered by the doctor on The Last Word that time.

Fair play to you for getting on and doing the interview Transform. I heard it in the car totally by accident as the missus has the habit of listening to that pap station. Can I ask how you are approached for these radio interviews? Do you go to them or did they come to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Oh c'mon.... there's no arguing around this. You shouldn't be having toast if you're trying to lose fat. It can't be justified by using GI response times!!

I see people who are cutting have porride in the morning, surely it's very difficult to cut carbs out completely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Thanks to those who got something from it and to those that want to argue point by point i really couldn't give a ****. Come on feckin toast your arguing about!!! Very petty.

Lets see you get on ANY of the major radio stations and get asked on repeatedly. They come to me because i look the part, consistently get results with clients and sincerely like helping people make healthy simple changes to their life.

I go on a show and give the boards a big shout out, make some simple suggestions, encourage people to hit the weights and take more exercise - if this point gets across to more people who actually need the help then great.

Reading back on this, the toast thing sounds does sound so lame!!

Well done again Transform:)

I see people who are cutting have porride in the morning, surely it's very difficult to cut carbs out completely?

The goal isn't to cut out carbs completely. The goal is to minimise carbs and eat the ones that'll have the small impact when it comes to spiking insulin. Oats are good for this, bread is not. Sure if that's the case then why don't we all have chocolate and coke while we're cutting.... since ya know, it's only carbs!!

FTR, I think Transform does a great job doing what he does, and the talk was obviously tailored to the sort of people who listen to radio shoes fro how to lose weight. So to that end, he did a great job.

However, I'd like to think that we're a little bit beyond that, and can tweak our diets a little bit more than the "average" person to get better results.

But hey, what would I know, I've only dropped a little over a stone in the past 8 weeks :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Transform wrote: »
    Thanks to those who got something from it and to those that want to argue point by point i really couldn't give a ****. Come on feckin toast your arguing about!!! Very petty.

Lets see you get on ANY of the major radio stations and get asked on repeatedly. They come to me because i look the part, consistently get results with clients and sincerely like helping people make healthy simple changes to their life.

I go on a show and give the boards a big shout out, make some simple suggestions, encourage people to hit the weights and take more exercise - if this point gets across to more people who actually need the help then great.
    For the record I thought you did a good job and as others have pointed out, it wasn't Prime Time it was Spin so I'm sure nobody will be writing to the Indo about your toast comment.

You do have to remember though that when you go out that publicly, people are going to pick at things.

Roper wrote: »
    it wasn't Prime Time it was Spin

I dunno.... some spin is usually perfectly at home on prime time.... Weh weh weh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Grrrr i missed it:mad:

missed what, wasnt very good advice, contradicted himself numerous times, ohhhh and no we arent asked onto radio shows, and you say you look the part transform, obviously a face for radio and not tv then yeah, if your so into helping people why dont you join geldof on his hole feed the world programme, except make sure they only get fist sized portions instead of cutting out carbs like you first said...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Leonadis

Interesting... but in fairness was there ANYTHING at all new in what was said that hasnt been discussed in various threads/stickys for ages now?? My question is how many times do you need to hear differant people say basically the exact same thing on the same topic before you realise that carb does X, while Y does Z??? At this stage where is the mystery? Its all been said and discussed before umpteem times in every fitness mag/forum/website/publication etc...

What is so revolutionary about that deserves yet another discussion on fat loss?

Just my opinion folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

missed what, wasnt very good advice, contradicted himself numerous times, ohhhh and no we arent asked onto radio shows, and you say you look the part transform, obviously a face for radio and not tv then yeah, if your so into helping people why dont you join geldof on his hole feed the world programme, except make sure they only get fist sized portions instead of cutting out carbs like you first said...

Given the time that this was posted I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you may not have been thinking straight when you posted up this little tirade. But if you ever launch a personal attack on another poster on the forum like that again, you'll be out of here quicker than you can say Green-Eyed-Monsteritis.

Attack the post and not the poster. And ftr, Transform has the kind of physique that would put Mens' Health poster boys to shame. I wish he'd spend more time on tv frankly.

g'em wrote: »
    Given the time that this was posted I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume you may not have been thinking straight when you posted up this little tirade. But if you ever launch a personal attack on another poster on the forum like that again, you'll be out of here quicker than you can say Green-Eyed-Monsteritis.

Attack the post and not the poster. And ftr, Transform has the kind of physique that would put Mens' Health poster boys to shame. I wish he'd spend more time on tv frankly.

obviously a good friend of yours so, and i said face not physique actualy!!
    anyway thanks for the warning......

Leonadis wrote: »
    Interesting... but in fairness was there ANYTHING at all new in what was said that hasnt been discussed in various threads/stickys for ages now?? My question is how many times do you need to hear differant people say basically the exact same thing on the same topic before you realise that carb does X, while Y does Z??? At this stage where is the mystery? Its all been said and discussed before umpteem times in every fitness mag/forum/website/publication etc...

What is so revolutionary about that deserves yet another discussion on fat loss?

Just my opinion folks

Well what's the point in doing anything, at all, ever?;) It was a radio slot - a piece of info/entertainment that may appeal to a mass audience. Of course there was nothing new - how would there be? What did you expect - for him to go on and say drink carrot juice for the rest of your life and watch the pounds fall off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Leonadis wrote: »

Just my opinion folks

I don't think Transform claimed that anything he said was revolutionary. You have to remember that the whole population does not spend their time reading the Boards stickys, YOU might know everything that he touched as would most of the regular readers here but the majority of people out there don't have the foggiest when it comes to healthy eating choices. Most people (that I know anyway) aren't in the habit of buying fitness magazines (scared of the muscles), any healthy eating tips they tend to read about would come from those trashy magazines, you know, the ones that advertise 'lose 3 stone in 3 weeks', 'Victoria's amazing new diet secrets', 'eat everything you want and still lose weight' and so on. They're not going to get anything beneficial from them and their knowledge on eating healthily is awful so where's the harm in Transform going on the radio and talking about sensible diets, healthy foods, steady fat loss, setting the record straight. Topics that anyone who's done any research would know about but topics that a lot of people wouldn't have a clue. And tbh Transform was clearly doing that talk for those people, not the people who know it all already.

And the FTR, I've never met Transform but I have seen his website and pictures of him before and he does look the part!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Thanks for all the negative and positive remarks.

The radio slot is aimed at getting simple points across that people can take action on. Its not aimed at the know-it-all's.

The biggest mistake i see people make is not staying consistent on the basics e.g. weights, low GI and adequate amounts of protein. How often are those points answered on this very forum.

Keep chipping away but at least i am pushing people onto the boards website so they can read about the basics, ask questions and generally get some support so they are moving in the right direction.

Transform wrote: »
    Thanks for all the negative and positive remarks.

The radio slot is aimed at getting simple points across that people can take action on. Its not aimed at the know-it-all's.

The biggest mistake i see people make is not staying consistent on the basics e.g. weights, low GI and adequate amounts of protein. How often are those points answered on this very forum.

Keep chipping away but at least i am pushing people onto the boards website so they can read about the basics, ask questions and generally get some support so they are moving in the right direction.

at first you said no carbs, then you said fist sized portions, consistency in abundance from yourself, anyway, this is my last post on this matter as im quite bored with the matter at this stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Is the show available online?

You can get software that records everything that passes through your soundcard, it is useful for recording stuff like broadcast concerts/festivals where you are not supposed to be able to download them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

at first you said no carbs, then you said fist sized portions, consistency in abundance from yourself, anyway, this is my last post on this matter as im quite bored with the matter at this stage..

You're the one that made it boring going on about this 'contradiction' when it was obviously something that was not meant, just said under the pressure of live radio I'm sure.

I can't believe anyone would say no carbs, that's just ridiculous. East less, exercise more, is about as simple or complex as it has to be.

[The radio slot is aimed at getting simple points across that people can take action on. Its not aimed at the know-it-all's.

Keep chipping away but at least i am pushing people onto the boards website so they can read about the basics, ask questions and generally get some support so they are moving in the right direction.]

QFT. Takes an awful lot of courage putting yourslef out there so fair play to Transform, whether you agree with what he said or not, a bit of respect is called for.

I did not mean any offense, just pointing out a few errors and feel that if your going to go public on stuff like this you have to expect people to question your statements.

The 1 i want to know about is the food and sleep statements of where you store fat, you stated that eating sugar makes you store belly fat as opposed to just fat where your body is going to lay it down next?

and that lack of sleep makes you gain on your thighs! i did not know that sleep changes your genetic make up, please enlighten us?

The bread thing was more funny and just sounded like you where not thinking, but the comments on where you store fat sounds like your giving excuses to people who just eat to much!

To all the bitters, come back when you have achieved half of what Transform has, and maybe then we'll listen to your opinion.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but taking petty shots at him is farcical, and is just showing you up as jealous in my opinion. Why not give him constuctive criticism?

I'm sure we'll all be listening in the next time ye are talking on Spin, .............oh wait you won't be , because you are nothings.

So talking on a radio talk show is a sign of success?
    get a grip!

To all the bitters, come back when you have achieved half of what Transform has, and maybe then we'll listen to your opinion.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but taking petty shots at him is farcical, and is just showing you up as jealous in my opinion. Why not give him constuctive criticism?

I'm sure we'll all be listening in the next time ye are talking on Spin, .............oh wait you won't be , because you are nothings.

you dont know me or anything iv achieved in my life, iv represented ireland and medaled in numerous international competitions in judo, iv flown through a 2 year course in sportsand leiure management with student of the year awards, i do mixed martial arts professionally, so come back again and say im a nothing and see if you still think it becaus for some reason calling somebody whos represented there country a nothing seems daft, what have you achieved in your life PAL

NOW I UNDERSTAND THE NAME JOKER YA CLOWN

I couldn't care less if you've walked on the moon to be honest, but thanks for your life story :rolleyes:

Do you think these "achievements" give you the right to personally abuse people on here? Saying people obviously have a "face for radio" etc, calling people clowns?

Lose the attitude.

I couldn't care less if you've walked on the moon to be honest, but thanks for your life story :rolleyes:

Do you think these "achievements" give you the right to personally abuse people on here? Saying people obviously have a "face for radio" etc, calling people clowns?

Lose the attitude.

Looks like you're the one with the attitude tbh. You called him out and your were pwnd. Deal with it.

As for the fat storage in different areas due to eating sugar/sleeping etc.... It all sounds very poliquin-esq. Which is enough to make me take it with a heavy pinch of salt*.

*Damn Poliquin. I was supposed to be off salt. It makes me store fat on my deltards.

Looks like you're the one with the attitude tbh. You called him out and your were pwnd. Deal with it.

I wasn't even addressing him in my original post, it was a general post to the people who had been taking petty shots. So no, I didn't call him out

Well since he was one of the people who questioned what Transform said, any reasonsable person would assume that when addressing that group collectively, you were also addressing Judomad.

The point stands tho, there are ALOT of people on this forum who are much more than "nothing". Judomad gave you his story. I finished in the top 10% of my class with a 1.1 in my accounting and HRM degree, I competed at numerous national and international powerlifting competitions, and have broken my fair share of records too. But sure what would I know, since I'm not Transform. What would ANYONE know????

Listen, you're fighting a losing battle. Transform has already shown he is well capable of defending himself and has a proven track record with clients. He might have contradicted himself and made some mistakes, but I'm pretty sure considering everything else he has achieved he won't let it bother him too much. If he needed help defending himself I'm sure he'd ask!!

My point was intended to highlight the personal abuse that was going on, which had NOTHING to do with the facts from the radio show. Statements such as "face for radio" etc.
    I don't come on here to argue with people. It just seems to me that certain people saw it as a chance to take cheap shots at the guy.

My point was intended to highlight the personal abuse that was going on, which had NOTHING to do with the facts from the radio show. Statements such as "face for radio" etc.
    I don't come on here to argue with people. It just seems to me that certain people saw it as a chance to take cheap shots at the guy.

There's a report button that can be used if you feel people are being personally insulting. I assume that since a mod has already been in and the ban stick hasn't been waved that the comments didn't step over the line.

I'm taking bets on the likelihood of this thread closing like a metal door within the next few hours....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

It shouldn't be closed down though. It's a good discussion with people airing their views. Nothing wrong with it. I think it's a good thread.

Looking at the few people in this thread who have spoken out about their life, they're winners...and that's exactly what fitness is about for me, being a winner, pushing yourself and doing things that can be transferrable into other aspects of life. Seems to work with Hanley, Judomad and Transform too...so fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

obviously a good friend of yours so, and i said face not physique actualy!!
    anyway thanks for the warning......
    Nope, I've only met him once. Irrespective of who he is though, no-one deserves personal abuse. Drop the attitude.
    mickoo wrote:
    The 1 i want to know about is the food and sleep statements of where you store fat, you stated that eating sugar makes you store belly fat as opposed to just fat where your body is going to lay it down next?

and that lack of sleep makes you gain on your thighs! i did not know that sleep changes your genetic make up, please enlighten us?
    High levels of refined sugar in the diet increase insulin resistance and makes the body more prone to storing adipose around the belly. Take a look on any of the journal databases for 'metabolic syndrome' and you'll get bombarded by papers about it. The thigh fat thing is lost on me though - lack of sleep, increase in cortisol?
    Judomad wrote:
    NOW I UNDERSTAND THE NAME JOKER YA CLOWN
    Obviously you don't actually know what the word "warning" means. Have a ban to cool off.
    It has now. My sincerest apologies nothing was done sooner, I was off having a life. pvt. joker you've been around long enough to know beter than to indulge in that kind of crap.
    cheesedude wrote: »
    It shouldn't be closed down though.
    I agree it's a shame to close this, but sometimes life just isn't fair. It's akin to a pack of naughty school boys ruining the fun for everyone else.