Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marty Smyth - Congratulations Thread

• 02-07-2008 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭

As it says , Just sent him a text for a loan and got lol back ... Well done bud absolutely Unreal 2 years .. Main event next

Well done from all at Big Slick

Also well done to Paul Spillane and Boyles on a suberb sponsorship of a great Player

486b3e1f1a726.jpg

MARTY SMYTH INTERVIEW

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Marty, we've shared a few beers and hope to again..... I am in Malta at the moment tuning into this via boards and raising a glass to you (my 6th!) and I've a huge smile on my gob with eyes like this :eek:

I'm so sick I am not there to blog your win and its made me regret not going now but please hit Mike for a pint on my behalf :p

Talk about letting your poker do your talking.... gowan ya good thing! You'll never beat the irish!

Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

Gwanyagudthingaments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Nice one Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

Well Done Marty !! Ship The W.S.O.P Braclet To IRELAND :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ramiriquez

Well done Marty. Fell asleep watching the updates and woke up to see a great result for you and the Irish poker community. GG and WP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

Top fella, congrats Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

great stuff marty

Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

can I touch it?!?!

congrats Marty, delighted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

A winner from Belfast?

You can dodge bullets Baby !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 halibut2

wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Savage achievement! WP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

halibut2 wrote: »
    wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo imo

+1 minus the ooooooooooooo part... some of us have small screens for crying out loud!! lol

ha but seriously well done.. major achievement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

fair play marty,excellent result and all the more impressive given that i'd imagine there's rarely been an omaha tournament with such a tough field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭aya14

gg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

Amazing result to add to a string of amazing results in the recent past.
    Have always highly respected Marty's tournament play from what I've seen on television.
    Bring on the main event!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

well done, great result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I suppose the pages and pages of congrats in this tread should be link

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055325614&page=5

wd again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭cokedrinker

legend, well done!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Ramiriquez wrote: »
    Well done Marty. Fell asleep watching the updates and woke up to see a great result for you and the Irish poker community. GG and WP

lol did exactly the same thing. Only difference it was 7 p.m. in my room in Vegas so very poor show from me. Missed all the crack. Anyway delighted for Marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I'll add my well done to the rest. Fantastic achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Congrats.

Winning stuff is always good, but winning against the field that tourney attracts is exceptionally impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Well done Marty on a brillant performance, all you need now is a Tony Cooney watch to match the bracelet and your flying.

A true gent on and off the table.

Well done

Colette & Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Well Done again Marty, maybe you could start posting here and helping all of us with or PLO game.

To win two major titles in a short space and in different games is amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Superb achievement Sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Congrats Marty. As I said in the other thread, an all around nice guy and great poker player. You are now a member of the Poker elite. Your results in the last fifteen months are better than anyone else in the poker world imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Samoa Joe

Great result Marty . WP GG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Misneach

It helps to spell his name correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Misneach wrote: »
    It helps to spell his name correctly.

y/i ?? i don't think he gives a fk tbh

EDIT: WD Marty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Luckbox :D

Fantastic achievement.

Really pleased for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Fantastic result.

gg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Neill,

I think you should start a list of all the players that congratulated Marty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Neill,

I think you should start a list of all the players that CONGRATULATED Marty..

fixed your post tony.

Enjoy PARIS Tony and I do hope I'm not 2nd guessing anything here *cough* but Paris is a very romantic city and one must be careful of ones knee should you happen to be down on it. It can easily be misinterpreted by eager females as something else. So if your shoelace opens over there, it's best to risk tripping up, rather than going down on the ol patella ..nudge nudge........many a man gets caught by that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Fantastic result Marty, vwp.

Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

YULETIRED wrote: »
    fixed your post tony.

Enjoy PARIS Tony and I do hope I'm not 2nd guessing anything here *cough* but Paris is a very romantic city and one must be careful of ones knee should you happen to be down on it. It can easily be misinterpreted by eager females as something else. So if your shoelace opens over there, it's best to risk tripping up, rather than going down on the ol patella ..nudge nudge........many a man gets caught by that one.

I fixed by own post young William! I'm not going to Paris me oul mucker, i'm off to Nice and i wont be going down on any knee just incase! But cheers for the warning! Back on topic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Lurker1977

Pics of the FT. Password is leggopoker if you are asked for one

http://s298.photobucket.com/albums/mm244/djbrooks111/PLO%20finals/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Cardplayer interview http://66.116.121.22/tv/33059

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Cardplayer interview http://66.116.121.22/tv/33059

great interview, boyles need to get bigger logo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Yeah, very good interview on cardplayer. I agree with nicky though, Boyles need a bigger logo. I've been given the poker stars gear and if any of their players get interviewed, there will be no doubting who their being sponsored by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭marty smyth

hi all - just wanted to say thanks to everyone who was cheering me on, both on here and in the rio.

i'd been meaning to dig up my old login for here as i've only posted once and that was a year ago but i couldn't remember it so i've set this new account up. my head's been a bit up my a*se the last couple of days as u can probably imagine and i played the main event today to get it out of the way so i can get down to the serious business of boozing solidly for a couple of days.

as anyone there will know, and any of the rest of u will see when its on the tv, it was quite a night. i though the irish open was special - and it was - but i have to be honest and say that this smashed the bejesus out of it. the sight of everyone jumping in the air as the river came over is an image i'll have in my head for ever. (i was watching the crowd for the reaction rather than the table).

and speaking of images i'll have in my head for ever... there's plenty more from the scene at the bar afterwards, which was how i imagine the monkey enclosure at the zoo would look if they had all had a pint of vodka and red bull injected directly into their blood streams. it really makes me wonder how badly u have to behave to be ejected from the rio casino.

finally, a big well done / hard luck to tom hanlon who if he'd came out on the right side of a big 50-50 ish hand 3 tables out, would probably have been odds on for the bracelet. it would have been pretty special for the 2 of us to play out the heads up, but tom genuinely seemed more happy for me than he was disappointed for himself, and i'd like to think i'd have felt the same if it had been the other way round. i think his decision to order the second bottle of wine at dinner the 2nd nite, which then led to about another 10 vodka&cokes / heinekens when we got back to the table was the catalyst for the success i enjoyed in the last 4 or 5 levels of the night. not terribly professional of us i know, but it seemed to work out.

anyway... thanks again to everyone. all we need now is a nice run in the main from one of the lads.

cheers, marty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

i freaking love this forum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Paul Spillane

Hi Nicky, yep a good point about the logo, we are working on it and should have it done by November when Marty wins the main event!

We are taking Marty out tonight, anyone reading this in Vegas is invited, pm me to get more details, beers are on us. July 4th and Martys party, carnage potential=massive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

I think he should be convinced to do a well!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Great interview and super post too, well done sir, congradulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭JamieCarra

Congrats Marty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭HighFinance

Padraig's blog on Marty's victory

http://www.cardplayer.com/poker-news/blogs/article/4324

Well done Mr. Smyth.

b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

That's a great read as always from Padraig I particularly love this bit:-
    Channing has stuck more players than PokerStars into this year's WSOP and should at least be able to sit wherever the **** he likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

Pokernews have put out the ESPN TV schedule.

8-26 8:00pm $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha World Championship
    Should be available from our cousins day after.

http://www.pokernews.com/news/2008/07/espn-announces-2008-wsop-broadcast-schedule.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

A guy on 2+2 claimed espn was on Setanta and we wouldn't have to wait this year?

Anybody know?