Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longest time spent without sleeping

• 02-07-2008 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

I think I have run into a bit of a problem and from what I hear it can have serious repercussions regarding health.

Basically, I was awoken yesterday at 11:40pm...

I haven't slept a wink since then and left my house for a jog at 6:30 am this morning to wake up...

Right now I'm neither physically nor mentally tired, and I'm thinking of going for the big 48, but some people say that been awake for this period of time can kill you?

Comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

it wont kill you just drain you.
    go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Nah, there was a show on Channel 4 years ago where they tried to keep people awake for a week, but at the same time boring them death with stupid mundane tasks. They had to let them get some rest after about day 5 I think. After a while though, you do start to hallucinate and you become very very slow. At 48 hours, you'd be very tired, but not near death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 NKJCPM

Haha I will, Im not even tired though or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I did 78 hours once but that was back in the crazy days of college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

48hrs is as long as ive stayed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I once got 4 hours sleep in three days, the 4 hours were together. I spent a couple of winters getting only 4 to 5 hours sleep a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

My record is like 3 days, though I think I passed out on the couch somewhere into the third day.

For me though its not so much about avoiding sleep as much as avoiding the daytime. God damn day walkers, when will mankind realize the benefits of a nocturnal lifestyle. No skin cancer, old people or children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 NKJCPM

In the end I'll probably hit the sack at 11 or 12 tomorrow night, gonna watch scrubs all night this night... brill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

65 hours is the most I have ever stayed up (I am working on extending it by the way). 3 Full days would be awesome!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭the_follwer

2 days.got home,keeled over and hoped never to be disturbed for atleast 2 days.will never go camping again. every night the same people would park their car a few yards away from the tent and purposely flash their lights on the tent!:mad: them country folk :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

*Grandpa Simpson voice*

I haven't been to sleep since the 60's, back in those days, if you slept you were doomed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Longest i've ever been awake is only about 26 - 28 hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I believe it was 48-50 hours...and i only had a normal range of 8-10 hours sleep afterwards hah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

48-50 hours has been the longest.

as i'm now going into 4th year in college in september i reckon that will be broken once or twice by at least double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

NKJCPM wrote: »
    I'm thinking of going for the big 48, but some people say that been awake for this period of time can kill you?

Eh... no. The auditory hallucinations usually start around the end of day 2, but you're not going to die from lack of sleep for a couple of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

My latest 'no sleep' experience was the 2008 round Ireland yacht race. Having spent 4 days cat napping, sleeping for an hour if lucky in a southerly gale in a small boat 80 miles off the west coast of Ireland gives a whole new meaning to life. Sleep becomes a privilge, not a luxury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I don't think I've ever been gone more than 24 hours without sleeping.
    I love living Nocturnally, but I do need my sleep ;) I am exceptionally cranky when tired!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

wasn't there that reality tv show on channel4 where if you closed your eyes for more than 10 seconds you were deemed asleep and booted out.

that was actually a good show especially towards the end of the week (it only ran for a week.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

hmm I dont take times but I have stayed up over 3 nearly 4 days

Recently probs stayed up over 60 hours in the last week twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I usually go without sleep at LAN's - resulting in LAN death afterwards.. its not nice :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 itchy&scratchy

hmm I dont take times but I have stayed up over 3 nearly 4 days

Recently probs stayed up over 60 hours in the last week twice.

sorry but i find that hard to believe. wer u drink in them 3/4 days??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

have done many , many 48 hour stints without any sleep. have done one 3 day stint too but TBH I was getting very slow / a bit incoherent at that stage before I finally nodded off.

Apparently it's quite easy to condition yourself to be able to go longer and longer without sleep. Some dude late last year went for the world record of 2 weeks of something.

Final late night random fact. Not sleeping can EVENTUALLY kill you. Saw a channel 4 doc on it before about some guy with a rare condition.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

Somewhere between 40 and 50 hours I think. Usually done to avoid breaking my sleeping patterns when I've been awake when normally asleep. I don't sleep on planes either, so I've had some long days to try and beat the jetlag*.

Fourth year in college I had a rhythm of about 4-5 hours sleep during the week and then two long sleeps of 13-14 hours on the weekends. It seemed to work oddly enough.

* One method of fixing jetlag is to go to a pub when you get to your destination and go on the lash until closing time. Then go and sleep. You wake up afterwards and your body is so confused with the jetlag and hangover combo it just "resets". Not a good idea when you have work the following morning, but it has been the fastest way I've ever synchronized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

24 hours prob. In younger days sometimes few hours kip in the afternoon and then off again out.

Was just thinking about that show the other day, trying to think how long they stayed up for. It was on ages ago was fairly boring. Mind you wouldn't mind another show like it mabey a little less boring this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Kidd-o

well atm im on 23 hours, my max was about 56... i blame the internet/camping

hi im new!! =F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

longest was back in college coming up to deadlines, was awake for bout 50 hours, slept for bout four hours, then... well then i have no idea how long i was awake for, serious memory loss round that week. think the second lot was around 60 hours. serious hallucinations. which is bad when you're editing a sci-fi type project, where the character is in just a bright, white room for most of the thing. i had to look around more than once to make sure i wasnt in the white room myself. no joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

jor el wrote: »
    Nah, there was a show on Channel 4 years ago where they tried to keep people awake for a week, but at the same time boring them death with stupid mundane tasks. They had to let them get some rest after about day 5 I think. After a while though, you do start to hallucinate and you become very very slow. At 48 hours, you'd be very tired, but not near death.

It was called "Shattered", they were all given a battery of tests before entering the house and each day would have to perform one of the tests the one who showed the biggest drop in test performance would be evicted each day until the final contestant got, I think it was £1M (-£1000 for every second after ~5seconds that someone in the house had their eyes closed - i.e. was dozing). Was a great show up until they started letting them go to sleep, they were seriously getting weird, talking to people who weren't there and such.

Most I've gone I think was about 36hrs.

farohar wrote: »
    It was called "Shattered", they were all given a battery of tests before entering the house and each day would have to perform one of the tests the one who showed the biggest drop in test performance would be evicted each day until the final contestant got, I think it was £1M (-£1000 for every second after ~5seconds that someone in the house had their eyes closed - i.e. was dozing). Was a great show up until they started letting them go to sleep, they were seriously getting weird, talking to people who weren't there and such.

Most I've gone I think was about 36hrs.

Yeah i remember thinking I could do it,

Im on 24 now with 2 hours sleep before that and 24 before that ,Still as fresh as anything:)

sorry but i find that hard to believe. wer u drink in them 3/4 days??

Then dont believe ,I dont care. It was more like I was kept awake by differnent sets of friends doing different things.Its no big deal if you can focus on things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

probably in the between 42 to 48 hours

when i was a young lad(12) staying over at a mate's stayed up all night without his parents knowing 34 hrs plus - was in bits the next day - fell asleep between dinner and desert, head straight down onto their dinner table -his sister told me later she regretted that the desert wasnt there as i would have gone head first into it [still no memory of this]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cal727

i went 82 hoursa without sleep with my mate, he went to sleep at about 72 hours and i passed out at 82 and slept for about 20 hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

60'ish hours. Maybe closer to 70, it was a bit of a blur :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I was drawn to this forum by the facebook post above. So my 1st and probably last post here
    It's probably a bit early for all of you to be reading this........I bet however this tale will cure your insomnia..ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzz

True story from 1996.

I once went 3 days boozing in New York (no sleep) , on the 75th or so hour we went to a bar in Woodside called copper faced jacks (yes the same name) to see an early morning Celtic - Rangers game, we came straight from a late bar in Manhattan , EVERYONE in the bar was asleep when we got there, 2 hours before the game. It was freaky, a crowd of sleeping expats and tourists all conked out in the bar , I got some cool photos of me with the living dead that morning.

Anyway I lasted for the rest of the day drinking some stout which had coffee in it, My taste buds were dead anyway so the coffee guinness (as I called it) helped keep me awake . I remember a kind of madness descending on me, I became captivated by a picture on the wall of Jock Stein , he started talking to me after a while saying I had a hed like a mutant ninja turtle , I asked the barman to take the talking picture away as it was rather insulting, he just poured me another Nescafe stout as Stein sneered at me over his shoulder. A lad was asleep under the table and when rangers scored he woke up cheering, he got about 10 kicks in the arse for that. The abiding memory I have of that place was a bit like the bar in the 1st star wars movie, only the clientele were much stranger. There was a huge 6 1/2 foot plus black American who wasn't Irish nor did he watch football, he had a huge bag of white socks, I was talking to him for hours (I m told) , he didn't reply to me once just nodded but yet I still told him my life story. His only words were when he was leaving saying, nice meeting you sir, I'm sorry but I didn't understand a word you were saying to me. WHAT? I've got great diction come back here
    I don't even know who won the game . I think the gers won it. When we left the pub it was scorching hot about 4 in the afternoon, one of the lads knew a cool bar with a jukebox practically dedicated to Duke Eliington, with a pool table. So on we went. They had no coffee guinness there so the pool descended into the zombies world series. One game lasted so long we just played nearest the pocket. I don't remember much after that, apart from refusing drugs from some friend of one of my mates. I was too fkd up for drugs, probably would have croaked it there and then. The only thing that bothered me the whole time was I wanted to brush my teeth, I'd have kept going only for that
    When I did pass out eventually in one of the lads sisters gaff I was left there for nearly 2 days and then I had to go play golf . I was in the shower beforehand for 1 hour sleeping and washing and sleeping agian......it was the first time I ever hummed in the shower, I usually sing quite well to take advantage of the acoustics .
    At the golf, I went into the bunker on the 3rd hole and never came out. I guess that was the longest I went without sleep. I've went longer without sex though, which if you saw how handsome I am you'd find it hard to believe.

My longest was the day I decided to watch 2 seasons of The X-Files back to back and then when that was over watched half of a third season. In the end I was up for over 45 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

About 28 hours. Worked 26 and a half hours straight and when i was going they wanted to know could i stay a little longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Mine was 3 days and did it twice, both times was out partying and what not.
    Would never think of doing it again though lol.
    Nowadays I stay up for 24hours to make myself get into a proper sleeping routine - never works. :rolleyes:

Flojo wrote: »
    Mine was 3 days and did it twice, both times was out partying and what not.
    Would never think of doing it again though lol.
    Nowadays I stay up for 24hours to make myself get into a proper sleeping routine - never works. :rolleyes:

Is this one of those times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Is this one of those times?

Hehe yup I fail at 'normal' sleeping patterns :P

Flojo wrote: »
    Hehe yup I fail at 'normal' sleeping patterns :P

You will see when I get back so do I :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

back in the early 90's we had just got the internet and I had found IRC.

I sat on it for 72 hours straight

Half It was spent trying to get this voice chat thing working with some guy in India.

strange strange times.

no chemicals were used not even a drop of coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

have done up to 40 hrs without sleep a few times, and done up to 3 or 4 days with 4 to 5 hrs sleep each of the 24 hrs

was flaking at the end of each one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

my college housemate was doing science, so decided to do an experiment. day 6 he started seeing shtuff so decided to sleep. didnt see him for another day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Nerin wrote: »
    my college housemate was doing science, so decided to do an experiment. day 6 he started seeing shtuff so decided to sleep. didnt see him for another day :pac:

I had very slight hilucinations on day 3 like curtains blowing when they were not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

ntlbell wrote: »
    I had very slight hilucinations on day 3 like curtains blowing when they were not
    think he saw little pople and stuff in the house. didnt have the heart to tell him i unleashed some mogwais and forget their feeding times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

My record stands at a pathetic 29 hours.
    Was at a party and decided not to bother going to sleep. It was almost eight o' clock in the morning before it occured to me to go (the person I had stayed up all night talking to decided to go to bed at around that time) but then it occured to me that it would be so much cooler to stay awake.
    I did try to make it past this but buses make me sleepy and before the 30 hour mark had rolled around I was sound asleep on a bus back to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The most I've gone is about 24 hours. Not that impressive. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I've done a couple of 36+ hour ones when I had to finish my thesis and final exams. It's pretty horrible really and I always regret it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

never. again.