Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A right Moran?

• 01-07-2008 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

absolute disgrace,trial by media,
    hopefully the appeal works out.excellent disciplinary record.never sent off.
    challenge was bad but there was no intent.

spillane and tohill are w@nkers of the highest order

What suspenion should Colin Moran Get? 60 votes

None
    0% 0 votes
    Four Weeks
    63% 38 votes
    Eight Weeks
    28% 17 votes
    A Year
    8% 5 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Have your say.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Disgraceful. Tony Davis had his say too. It sickened me listening to their "neutral opinion" on Sunday evening on the Sunday game. When we got the suspensions for the meath game i said accept them and move on but this time i hope he fights it.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I'm absolutely flabbergasted, trial by media.

Spillane and Tohill have been shown up to be the biggest hypocrites after steadfastly defending Galvin and Doherty for their indiscretions.

I'm not going to turn this into an anti-Dub thing as I feel Kevin Reilly of Meath got a similar suspension upgraded for a similar tackle.

Something tells me that the Dubs are going to become a closed shop to the media after this episode.

There has to be some consistency in the punditry and in addition, Colin Moran is far from a dirty player and there was no malice in the challenge, just unfortunate that Bannon fell into the path of Moran hence the challenge being at a dangerous height!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

By the way, whoever voted that he should get a year suspension would want to get a grip!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

I have not had any respect for the sunday game analysis for a long time. they are a smug and a very patronising bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

dcr22B wrote: »
    By the way, whoever voted that he should get a year suspension would want to get a grip!

had to be a meath man :) some would even put 2 years if the option was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭cactus jack

if any tackle is being looked at from last sunday should it not be the armagh one which led to a second booking & sending off. the sunday game puts forth an arguement that he tried to get out of the way but to me it looked more like he shapes himself ready to hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Mullet wrote: »
    I have not had any respect for the sunday game analysis for a long time. they are a smug and a very patronising bunch.

Yeah The Sunday Game and The Independent are both going downhill rapidly.Both program and paper are becoming way too biased and opinionated.Now we know that each media outlet will be but the aforementioned have crossed the line in my opinion.

To be honest,I'll just watch the repeats on Setanta and rte.ie without listening and watching to the pundit muppets on The Sunday Game.Spillane,Tohill and especially Davies can go to hell.Davies,an ex Cork footballer doesn't know much about football.Sure it was only a few weeks ago that he said Wicklow had the best midfield in Leinster before the Laois game and two weeks ago he stated that all provinces bar Ulster were meaningless.Then he comes out a week later on the Sunday Game and talks up Kerry-Cork in the Munster Final.

Then we have the glowing example of double standards when they defend the Armagh tackle.Previous to this,Brolley tries to defend the Derry player getting sent off when he plain as day hit the Donegal player.RTE better look at their current panellists and decide whether to keep them or not as people are changing the channel fast.Have to say that TV3 are really biting at their ankles now.

I'm starting to boycott the evening Sunday Game show and as far as The Independent sports section is concerned,The Examiner is far superior.

Collie Moran,another Dublin player to be targetted and singled out.All the way to the DRA if needs be.What a disgrace from the shabby media trial who are trying to kill the game with controversy.Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

blackbelt wrote: »
    Yeah The Sunday Game and The Independent are both going downhill rapidly.Both program and paper are becoming way too biased and opinionated.Now we know that each media outlet will be but the aforementioned have crossed the line in my opinion.

To be honest,I'll just watch the repeats on Setanta and rte.ie without listening and watching to the pundit muppets on The Sunday Game.Spillane,Tohill and especially Davies can go to hell.Davies,an ex Cork footballer doesn't know much about football.Sure it was only a few weeks ago that he said Wicklow had the best midfield in Leinster before the Laois game and two weeks ago he stated that all provinces bar Ulster were meaningless.Then he comes out a week later on the Sunday Game and talks up Kerry-Cork in the Munster Final.

Then we have the glowing example of double standards when they defend the Armagh tackle.Previous to this,Brolley tries to defend the Derry player getting sent off when he plain as day hit the Donegal player.RTE better look at their current panellists and decide whether to keep them or not as people are changing the channel fast.Have to say that TV3 are really biting at their ankles now.

I'm starting to boycott the evening Sunday Game show and as far as The Independent sports section is concerned,The Examiner is far superior.

Collie Moran,another Dublin player to be targetted and singles out.All the way to the DRA if needs be.What a disgrace from the shabby media trial who are trying to kill the game with controversy.Bastards.

I was about to post the exact same thing. Tohill and Brolly are the biggest hypocrites around, saying that punching and far worse challenges in Ulster should not be sanctioned and then when a Dublin player mistimes a shoulder challenge gets a ban. The commentators reaction was spot on, it was hard and accidental but he did not say that it should be a red card.
    GAA, learn some consistency in disciplinary matters and RTE either get a grip or some new, knowledgeable panellists for your broadcasts.

And to further add to all this,the Armagh referee saw the incident with his own eyes and made the decision by issuing a yellow card.What ever happened to "the referee's decision is final"?...bull****.

That referee should have been at home doing the dishes..an absolute disgrace and a joke.Its muppets like him that give referees a bad name.

To be honest,I don't see any reason why I or any other Dublin supporter or any genuine non-biased GAA supporter should not email or send a complaint to the RTE about this totally hypocritical,vitriolic behaviour from the Sunday Game panellists.Brolley,Davies and Tohill...get them off the air.

I was about to post the exact same thing. Tohill and Brolly are the biggest hypocrites around, saying that punching and far worse challenges in Ulster should not be sanctioned and then when a Dublin player mistimes a shoulder challenge gets a ban. The commentators reaction was spot on, it was hard and accidental but he did not say that it should be a red card.
    GAA, learn some consistency in disciplinary matters and RTE either get a grip or some new, knowledgeable panellists for your broadcasts.

Thats the problem,they won't and never will.The GAA don't like change unless they come down heavily on one team and let another off scot free while the RTE have trouble shaking off the old,useless panellists while picking up some new panellists.

RTE acquired good panellists in the form of McStay years ago,Daragh O Cinneide and Coman Goggins.McStay can be a bit boring and drawn out but he's good at the virtual analysis and explaining.O Cinneide and Goggins (apart from the 6 yard box) are more concerned with the general play and tactics yet Tohill and Davies will try and murder a game in analysis.

It seems Spillane is trying to put on this front of being neutral but I don't buy into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Moran deserves a small ban IMO, not a lengthy one. Purely because I think he intended to hurt the player falling. You can clearly see him going to 'do him'. At the same time, there's a very fine line here because if you ban Moran then you're talking about looking at every little incident.

That said, I thought some of the black arts they practiced were a bit disheartening football wise. I was with a Cork man and a Dubliner watching the game and they both agreed that some of the behaviour was a disgrace. Stuff like following in on the player on the ground with your knees into the ribs. The Dub even said that he'd rather they didn't win the All Ireland if they were going to go down the route of playing this way.

Perhaps my view is tarnished by watching a certain Dublin midfielder concussing Ronan McGarrity in an All Ireland semi-final because he was getting bet up a stick. It's guys like that that really don't belong in the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kodmuffin

personally i think its unfair to put so much pressure on a ref to "review his decision" - the tackle was commited in the "heat of the moment" and the ref gave his decision "in the heat of the moment" too

i think moran knows well what its like to suffer injury like that and if you ever met the guy youd know hes not the type that would deliberatly do that

it seems that the nation has suddenly turned to say the ref should change his mind........if thats going to start then we should all sit down again and watch every match of the weekend and judge every off the ball incident, issuing bans where required!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

I wasn't able to see this game dispite my best efforts (if anyone knows of anywhere in Melbourne that shows de gah, you might let me know).

I heard about this incident, but would someone mind tellling me exactly what happened?
    4 weeks sounds like a long ban. Will be a big loss for the Wexford game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Two threads on the same subject merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

I think a month is a suffice ban. You can see that he follows through with his elbow. It was a dirty hit even though it looked worse because the Westmeath lad was falling at the time

will1977 wrote: »
    I think a month is a suffice ban. You can see that he follows through with his elbow. It was a dirty hit even though it looked worse because the Westmeath lad was falling at the time

Thank you Will. I only saw the incident properly on the news last night and I have to say that it was a cowardly unnecessary tackle.
    What a pack of hypocrites in here!
    Galvin gets six months and ye say he deserves it when nobody got hurt.
    Moran breaks a guys collar-bone with a stupid late tackle and ye think its a disgrace that he gets any kind of ban.
    This Westmeath lad is out for the rest of the season and probably out of work for a while also.
    There is two kinds of late tackles.
    1: Accidental
    2: With intent to hurt
    Morans tackle was the latter IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I watched the game on tv but missed the Sunday game - rarely watch it anymore unless I've missed a game in the afternoon, the pundits are absolutely useless.
    As a Dub, I thought it was unnecessary and overly physical, and 4 weeks is a fair enough ban - it will teach him not to follow through like that again. I do object to Sunday game panellists though, defending their own countymen for worse offences then highlighting this one. Sure, it was a bad challenge and probably warrants a suspension, but apply the same principles to your own players too. Agree with other posters about Tohill et al...

And Tom, Galvin committed a totally different category of offence. He's gotten away with tackles like Moran's before. The fact that no one was hurt has no relevance. If the referee had been hurt in that incident he would have deserved a lifetime ban

Edit: Just watched the tackle on the RTE website. Will1977 - you're talking BS - he did not follow through with the elbow. Its clear his elbow only came up well after the tackle when Bannon was already on the ground.
    Tom, how do you define a late tackle? To me a late tackle is made after a player has passed the ball and is no longer in possession. Its also clear from the video that Bannon had possession of the ball when he was hit, so it can't be a late tackle.
    It was unneccesarily rough, but lads saying all sorts of BS about what he did should watch the video again and cop on.

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Thank you Will. I only saw the incident properly on the news last night and I have to say that it was a cowardly unnecessary tackle.
    What a pack of hypocrites in here!
    Galvin gets six months and ye say he deserves it when nobody got hurt.
    Moran breaks a guys collar-bone with a stupid late tackle and ye think its a disgrace that he gets any kind of ban.
    This Westmeath lad is out for the rest of the season and probably out of work for a while also.
    There is two kinds of late tackles.
    1: Accidental
    2: With intent to hurt
    Morans tackle was the latter IMO

Broken collar bone where did you get that from?

I hear bruising and not a broken collar bone.

The independent...what a crock of sh1t.

Dont see any mention of a confirmed broken collar-bone says suspected and according to the latest http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0702/moranc.html?gaa its a badly bruised joint and thats from RTE sport and there always right :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Speaking as a longtime 'anybody but Dublin' type (I have softened in the last few years) I feel Colly Moran is being hard done by here.

As someone mentioned the 'tacklee' was in possesion of the ball and unluckily fell just as he was being shouldered by Moran. That's all there is to it !

And don't go down the fools road of watching it in Slow Motion. It didn't happen in Slow Motion !! It happened at high speed !! There wasn't enough time to pull out.

I hope young Bannon is ok, but I certainly don't believe it was an intentional foul.

Totally agree with the double standards the Derry and Kerry panelists have shown. Michael Lyster has been known on occasion to do the same with Galway. It's completely unprofessional.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

After seeing it there on RTE rerun and first sight I said yellow was sufficent, watched it a 2nd time looking at Moran only he hit with a shoulder possibly a red, watched it 3rd time and spotted Bannon was falling before he was hit by Moran, yellow card.

4 weeks is harsh. I dont think Moran is a dirty player, its unlucky on Bannon. After the weekend I have 2 brokens ribs after been tackled in the air, player got nothing, I did not even get a free.
    If they had video at our game your man would have got 4 weeks, for intent. In this case Moran, I THINk, did not go in to take Bannon out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Either way the GAA have been doling out long suspensions, and if they felt Moran warranted a four week ban, then thats what he should get. The tackle looked slightly off, and im not suprised that some suspension was given in the current climate.

On a point made by a previous poster, Galvin deserved 6 months. Referees are like Policemen. Do anything to them and the offence is far more serious. He also engaged in threatening behaviour towards the linesmen, and his own teammates. In the heat of battle, while it may be unfortunate, injury is likely to happen. Galvin was aggressive on a variety of levels, and 6 months is not long enough for the guy who flaunted all etiquette last year, by standing on the winners podium "waving his arse in Mary McAleese's and Nicky Brennan's face"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Man there is some blinkered rubbish being posted here.

Its not trial by media, the video replay showed he had time to pull out but dropped his shoulder to meet a falling Bannon, can you watch that replay and tell me it was accidental?. Surely this incident justified discussion given it ended Bannons game and was poor challenge?
    And this anti-dub crap is going beyond a joke, it was very similar to reillys tackle a few weeks, he was condemned by media and posters on here (including myself) and got ban he deserved so why should dubs be treated any different?

I agree SG panel are idiots and I can understand dubs issues with them (every supporter in country, except maybe kerry have issues with them)but the tackle speaks for itself

why do you turn all these incidents into dubs v the world? It was a bad challenge, he deserves a ban but given I've rarely seen him put in a bad challenge for club or county I think 4 weeks is ample.....

I have 2 mates, one of whom represented dubs at practically every age level and know the game very well who concede it was walkable offence, why do so many of you have this immature attitude that no dub can ever do anything wrong or be criticised and defend them regardless of reason and clear evidence to the contrary? It doesn't make you any less of a supporter to admit your players are human and capable of a bit of red mist....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭cavanmaniac

I have no problem with Moran's ban, but I do find the Sunday Game's role in all this to be hypocritical in the extreme.

A few weeks ago, Tohill was going on about poor Fergal Doherty and how yer man wasn't really hurt and how it was out of character (despite the rule being a red for a strike or even attempting to strike, ergo bye bye Doherty, end of), and in the same programme talking about another player he says that "by the strict letter of the law" the offending player deserved to go.

Talk about irony, and of course Spillane let it go unchallenged. The gombeenism and sheer, naked bias of some of the panellists is sickening. You can spend all the money you like on high stools and nice circles to put under players, but you'd think the first priority would be to make sure the bloody pundits aren't talking out both sides of their mouth in the same night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

jackbhoy wrote: »

Its not trial by media, the video replay showed he had time to pull out but dropped his shoulder to meet a falling Bannon, can you watch that replay and tell me it was accidental?. Surely this incident justified discussion given it ended Bannons game and was poor challenge?
    And this anti-dub crap is going beyond a joke, it was very similar to reillys tackle a few weeks, he was condemned by media and posters on here (including myself) and got ban he deserved so why should dubs be treated any different?

I agree SG panel are idiots and I can understand dubs issues with them (every supporter in country, except maybe kerry have issues with them)but the tackle speaks for itself

why do you turn all these incidents into dubs v the world? It was a bad challenge, he deserves a ban but given I've rarely seen him put in a bad challenge for club or county I think 4 weeks is ample.....

I have 2 mates, one of whom represented dubs at practically every age level and know the game very well who concede it was walkable offence, why do so many of you have this immature attitude that no dub can ever do anything wrong or be criticised and defend them regardless of reason and clear evidence to the contrary? It doesn't make you any less of a supporter to admit your players are human and capable of a bit of red mist....
    Seems like you have the attitude here mate! Show me the "So many of us" who are turning this into a Dubs V Everyone thread? Most posts here are suggesting that the SG panelists see it as their counties/Provences should get special treatment for similar and worse challanges. Posts like yours are what start threads on that track and to be honest are better done without. We think Dubs can do no wrong? Show me one person who feels Whelan should not have walked in the League against Meath and in the AI Semi against Mayo? Dont need to ask where i think the blinkers are! You dont need to post things like this on every Dublin thread, especially when the topic hadnt even come up.
    PS. Voting "None"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

When I saw it in Croke Park on Sunday I thought it looked bad, but that there was no intent. A yellow card offence, but nothing worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Seems like you have the attitude here mate! Show me the "So many of us" who are turning this into a Dubs V Everyone thread? Most posts here are suggesting that the SG panelists see it as their counties/Provences should get special treatment for similar and worse challanges. Posts like yours are what start threads on that track and to be honest are better done without. We think Dubs can do no wrong? Show me one person who feels Whelan should not have walked in the League against Meath and in the AI Semi against Mayo? Dont need to ask where i think the blinkers are! You dont need to post things like this on every Dublin thread, especially when the topic hadnt even come up.
    PS. Voting "None"

Thats a good post. I really believe that most Dublin fans will not be so biased as to defend the indefensible. Dublin takes far more abuse than any other team. They are called arrogant, they are called violent, and above all are called sub-standard. I recall missing the All Ireland Semi Final 2006 for a rememberance mass in Longford. First Dublin game I had missed in yonks. Watching it on the telly with my Longfordian family was the most annoying thing I have ever seen. Dublin could garner no support from them. Upon the final whistle, I walked out of the house for fresh air, to hear whooping and cheering eminating from the local pub which is no more than 30 yards from the house. This was a county with no direct interest in the game, however, seeing Dublin beaten was on a par with Longford winning.

Furthermore, every time another team scores at Croke Park, their fans will always stand up and extend their middle finger towards the Hill. Its annoying that they get some much pleasure from attempting to goad Dublin's fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

I thought It looked like nothing at the game. But once I watched the replay, have to say I thought it looked bad.

Well whatever about the others you have my support in what you say. The most insightful post here all day in fact. Your description of the incident is exactly what happened. What you say about the Sunday Game panel, Dublin V the rest is irrevelant. I started this thread to access the incident nothing else. Would be great if people kept the subject matter in mind when posting.

Het-Field wrote: »
    Thats a good post. I really believe that most Dublin fans will not be so biased as to defend the indefensible. Dublin takes far more abuse than any other team. They are called arrogant, they are called violent, and above all are called sub-standard. I recall missing the All Ireland Semi Final 2006 for a rememberance mass in Longford. First Dublin game I had missed in yonks. Watching it on the telly with my Longfordian family was the most annoying thing I have ever seen. Dublin could garner no support from them. Upon the final whistle, I walked out of the house for fresh air, to hear whooping and cheering eminating from the local pub which is no more than 30 yards from the house. This was a county with no direct interest in the game, however, seeing Dublin beaten was on a par with Longford winning.

Furthermore, every time another team scores at Croke Park, their fans will always stand up and extend their middle finger towards the Hill. Its annoying that they get some much pleasure from attempting to goad Dublin's fans.

And the award for the most silly post of the day goes to the above
    I won't comment further but:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Het-Field wrote: »

Really haven't seen that :confused: Maybe you are generalising based on one or two guys you have seen

And the award for the most silly post of the day goes to the above
    I won't comment further but:D:D:D:D
    That your award Tomthepost which thankfully counts for nothing. Would you like to correct your over hyped, anti dublin ,and untrue comment about "Moran breaks a guys collar-bone" ?
    Up the DUBS its going to be a long few months for ye lads and i sure you will have loads more to moan about come september

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Posts like yours are what start threads on that track and to be honest are better done without. .....

The whole theme of this thread to date has been Moran should not be banned becasue its trial by media, with journos/panelists from other counties being effectively anti-Dublin and the old "others do it and get away with it" excuse. Why can't you put all that aside and judge it strictly on what happened, he had time to pull out, he didn't, he leaned in to intentionally catch player and got a ban for a bad, albeit out of character challenge. I think its fair to ask Dubs supporters to judge the challenge on its own rather than say he shouldn't be banned cuase SG lads are hypocrites.

....You dont need to post things like this on every Dublin thread, especially when the topic hadnt even come up.
    PS. Voting "None"

Dunno what this is about, every thread on here where someone from outside of Dublin criticises a dub player/supporters goes south fast, and usually long before I get involved!!
    If you are accusing me of being anti-dub well read my previous posts on dubs and dub sfc (which most "summer" posters on here barely know exists) and judge for yourself......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

A right Moran?
    Have your say.
    Well whatever about the others you have my support in what you say. The most insightful post here all day in fact. Your description of the incident is exactly what happened. What you say about the Sunday Game panel, Dublin V the rest is irrevelant. I started this thread to access the incident nothing else. Would be great if people kept the subject matter in mind when posting.

Ha, you come on here just "to assess the incident" after posting a thread with the inflammatory title you did? Tom, its pretty obvious trolling for a reaction - fair enough you got it, then you tell people how the incident was highlighted etc is irrelevant and to please stick to the topic. Bit f*ckin hypocritical...

Don't have to look too far in this thread for the right moron ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The whole theme of this thread to date has been Moran should not be banned becasue its trial by media, with journos/panelists from other counties being effectively anti-Dublin and the old "others do it and get away with it" excuse. Why can't you put all that aside and judge it strictly on what happened, he had time to pull out, he didn't, he leaned in to intentionally catch player and got a ban for a bad, albeit out of character challenge. I think its fair to ask Dubs supporters to judge the challenge on its own rather than say he shouldn't be banned cuase SG lads are hypocrites.

In fairness this was a debatable tackle. Looked terrible at first viewing, after second, third, fourth etc. viewing :D I'd say it was intentional.

Nalced would see the tackle with blue tinted glasses. I seen Dohertys slap on Kavanagh with green and gold glasses. After seeing it again, He did strike but boy did Kavanagh make a best supporting oscar nomination for it. Tohill, with his red & white glasses made that point.

IMO, Tohill is there to defend Ulster football. This year, he hasn't had to do that much, the best football overall has been played there, something I couldn't say in previous years and I've been at 4 matches this year.

Overall I don't think the GAA are being selective. They are sending out a get tough message and fair play to them. These things will even out for counties over the season.

And yes, an Armagh player or 2 should get cited. Nothing new there, move along folks! :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Does anyone have a link to a video of the incident?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

If this is the road the GAA is going down, how long will it take for a team to take a case. If a player gets their suspension upgraded, then can the team that lost the game, take a case as that player should not have been on the pitch?

It's a crazy situation.

Originally Posted by jackbhoy

I agree totaly. This thread has nothing to do with the Sunday game. Why do people feel the need to harp on about the wrongs and rights of the panel in relation to this incident. Bottom line is, was it intentional ? I for 1 think it was and 4 weeks is a suitable punishment

Zzippy wrote: »
    Ha, you come on here just "to assess the incident" after posting a thread with the inflammatory title you did? Tom, its pretty obvious trolling for a reaction - fair enough you got it, then you tell people how the incident was highlighted etc is irrelevant and to please stick to the topic. Bit f*ckin hypocritical...

Don't have to look too far in this thread for the right moron ;)

You might notice that I placed a '?' at the end of the title. If you want to start calling names fine. I'm away above that:cool:

mobby wrote: »
    That your award Tomthepost which thankfully counts for nothing. Would you like to correct your over hyped, anti dublin ,and untrue comment about "Moran breaks a guys collar-bone" ?
    Up the DUBS its going to be a long few months for ye lads and i sure you will have loads more to moan about come september

Sorry if im proved wrong on that but I either misheard or it was reported incorrectly on SixOne news.
    Genuine mistake:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

I could not attend the game due to a family bereavement but watched it on the telly and immediately thought it was a sending off offence, but knew it was only going to be a yellow. It was an appalling and cowardly challenge as Bannon had bravely won the ball and was falling down he could have had his neck broken.
    The whole trial by media thing is a grey area but are not all games trial by media anyway, Moran took a risk by committing the act in the first place on live television knowing that the game was going to be analysed by Spillane and Co, the same as Galvin and Doherty before.
    It is worthy of a 4 week ban on it's own merit and if Bannon had done it to Moran and been retrospectively banned for 4 weeks not a word would have been, but because it is Dublin ..........

patmac wrote: »
    I could not attend the game due to a family bereavement but watched it on the telly and immediately thought it was a sending off offence, but knew it was only going to be a yellow. It was an appalling and cowardly challenge as Bannon had bravely won the ball and was falling down he could have had his neck broken.
    The whole trial by media thing is a grey area but are not all games trial by media anyway, Moran took a risk by committing the act in the first place on live television knowing that the game was going to be analysed by Spillane and Co, the same as Galvin and Doherty before.
    It is worthy of a 4 week ban on it's own merit and if Bannon had done it to Moran and been retrospectively banned for 4 weeks not a word would have been, but because it is Dublin ..........

I disagree entirely.Moran was poised to give a fair shoulder to shoulder tackle but whatever way Bannon was put under pressure or maybe even pushed/nudged from behind by O Shaughnessy,Bannon fell into Moran who didn't react in time and Bannon came crashing into him and ended up the worse for wear.

In fairness Pat,the Westmeath team,O Flatharta etc have not made any complaint about the tackle nor have they came out on air to speak out against Moran's tackle.

You'll find that the main protagonists are indeed the media.Puke presenter Pat,Tohill and Tony "Tosser" Davies.The rule of the referees decision being final is going out the door and being trampled on and as a referee myself,am concerned about the way in which tv analysis is starting to destroy the game.I respect Brian Crowe as he didn't buckle under the media pressure last year after the Meath-Cork game.As a referee,you make your decision,follow through and the matter should be closed.

And the reason for the "trial by media" sentiment in this thread is because it is exactly that.The three stooges took snippets from games and put them up for analysis.They made a meal of the situation which the CCCC,a bunch of yes men,let themselves be fed.We have Pat Spillane accusing his colleagues of sitting on the fence etc and then when asked outright,he goes on to dismiss Tohill by saying "I'm neutral,I'm here to ask the questions".

If Hughes gave a yellow at the time,the punishment should be a yellow card.Had Collie Moran scored a goal,how could you justify that his card be upgraded to a red and his goal still stands.This stupid method of coming down hard on players after games (which in this instance is very debatable) is only disturbing the game.

I disagree entirely.Moran was poised to give a fair shoulder to shoulder tackle but whatever way Bannon was put under pressure or maybe even pushed/nudged from behind by O Shaughnessy,Bannon fell into Moran who didn't react in time and Bannon came crashing into him and ended up the worse for wear.

In fairness Pat,the Westmeath team,O Flatharta etc have not made any complaint about the tackle nor have they came out on air to speak out against Moran's tackle.

You'll find that the main protagonists are indeed the media.Puke presenter Pat,Tohill and Tony "Tosser" Davies.The rule of the referees decision being final is going out the door and being trampled on and as a referee myself,am concerned about the way in which tv analysis is starting to destroy the game.I respect Brian Crowe as he didn't buckle under the media pressure last year after the Meath-Cork game.As a referee,you make your decision,follow through and the matter should be closed.

And the reason for the "trial by media" sentiment in this thread is because it is exactly that.The three stooges took snippets from games and put them up for analysis.They made a meal of the situation which the CCCC,a bunch of yes men,let themselves be fed.We have Pat Spillane accusing his colleagues of sitting on the fence etc and then when asked outright,he goes on to dismiss Tohill by saying "I'm neutral,I'm here to ask the questions".

If Hughes gave a yellow at the time,the punishment should be a yellow card.Had Collie Moran scored a goal,how could you justify that his card be upgraded to a red and his goal still stands.This stupid method of coming down hard on players after games (which in this instance is very debatable) is only disturbing the game.

It was Hughes that decided to upgrade it to a red card not the Sunday game or the CCCC. Nothing could have been done if Hughes had said his decision at the time ( Yellow Card ) was correct:rolleyes:

I

Really Blackbelt?
    Should the same not apply to a guy that gets two yellow cards?
    Should the same not apply to O'Reilly of Meath?
    I can't believe that over 50% of voters think that he should have got no suspension.
    He went in so late it could not have been an accident.
    Please look at the incident again.
    I voted eight weeks by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Really Blackbelt?
    Should the same not apply to a guy that gets two yellow cards?
    Should the same not apply to O'Reilly of Meath?
    I can't believe that over 50% of voters think that he should have got no suspension.
    He went in so late it could not have been an accident.
    Please look at the incident again.
    I voted eight weeks by the way.

That is BS Tom, he was not that late. To be fair, I think it could have been a red, but I do not think it possible to say there was intent with the level of conviction that yourself and Jackbhoy are saying. And lets not make this a Dubs v the rest issue, as there are non Dubs on this thread and in the poll who are not convinced one way or the other.

I think maybe Jackbhoy and Tom should reevaluate their objectivity.

I think if there was intent then a 4 week ban is too good for him, but I am not convinced there was. At the time in the stadium there was no uproar, the WM management and players have made no complaint that I have heard of. The Sunday Game do appear to have done a bit of a witch hunt here. I do not really think it is possible to say whether there was intent from the replays.

will1977 wrote: »
    [/B]

It was Hughes that decided to upgrade it to a red card not the Sunday game or the CCCC. Nothing could have been done if Hughes had said his decision at the time ( Yellow Card ) was correct:rolleyes:

Well thats the point I'm making Will.:rolleyes:

Would Hughes have come out after the match and said "Oh by the way,I think I made a mistake about Collie Morans tackle,it should have been a red"?....of course not.The Sunday Game went about analysing this and Davies and Tohill gave out about how wrong Hughes was to only give a yellow.Then the CCCC in their "infinite wisdom" decide to take action and Hughes is called to review his decision.

He then says it should have been a red and hence Collie is currently suspended for the Wexford game.If I go out and referee a match between Fingal Ravens and Clontarf for example and a player gets a dangerous high challenge and I issue a yellow,that decision will stand.If I put in my report about the tackle and the DCB look at it,they accept my decision.

Even in instances where I state that a certain player may have been lucky to stay on the pitch arising from a debatable challenge akin to last Sunday,the yellow card that I issue is the final decision and regardless of my report,I might see the same player togging out a week later.

A yellow card was the decision...the referees decision is supposed to be final.Paddy Russell gave Galvin two yellow cards when the punishment should have been a straight red but Russells decision should be taken as final.

Well thats the point I'm making Will.:rolleyes:

Would Hughes have come out after the match and said "Oh by the way,I think I made a mistake about Collie Morans tackle,it should have been a red"?....of course not.The Sunday Game went about analysing this and Davies and Tohill gave out about how wrong Hughes was to only give a yellow.Then the CCCC in their "infinite wisdom" decide to take action and Hughes is called to review his decision.

He then says it should have been a red and hence Collie is currently suspended for the Wexford game.If I go out and referee a match between Fingal Ravens and Clontarf for example and a player gets a dangerous high challenge and I issue a yellow,that decision will stand.If I put in my report about the tackle and the DCB look at it,they accept my decision.

Even in instances where I state that a certain player may have been lucky to stay on the pitch arising from a debatable challenge akin to last Sunday,the yellow card that I issue is the final decision and regardless of my report,I might see the same player togging out a week later.

A yellow card was the decision...the referees decision is supposed to be final.Paddy Russell gave Galvin two yellow cards when the punishment should have been a straight red but Russells decision should be taken as final.

I cant agree with that regardless of how the situation came about. The ref should be able to say if he got a decision wrong and later change his mind after seeing replays.