Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford V Dublin 2008.LSFC.Final

• 30-06-2008 10:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

Well, does anybody give us a chance in the final ?

I for one think Wexford will be up against it but have a great chance of winning it. The movment of the Wexford forwards will cause the Dublin backs a few problems. Wexford seem to have their midfield sorted out after the Meath game so should be a good battle there and the winning of midfield will go a long way to deciding the winners. The one worry I have for Wexford is Wallace at full back. They cannot afford to let him get too isolated against Keaney. Any thoughts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

A poor full back against the Dublin Forward line could be the difference between the winning and the losing. Give Conal Keaney an inch and he will take a mile.

I think Wexford will be buoyed by their comeback against Meath, and their professional dispatch of Meath. However, whatever Dublin team is on the park will be better than the two aformentioned teams. I think it is important to note that if Dublin amass a lead like meath did, it will be a rout.

My Preferred Dublin Team

Cluxton

Henry
    B.Cahill
    Griffin

Casey
    Cullen
    OShaughnes

Whelan
    Ryan

T.Quinn
    Sherlock
    B.Brogan

A.Brogan
    Keaney
    Vaughan

Or alternatively, withdraw Keaney to the halfforwards, and place Kevin Bonner in at number 14. Connolly is a straight swop for Bernard Brogan should his injury restrict his season.

Dublin's most fluid period in the midfield was when Shane Ryan and Ciaran Whelan were partners. I would also believe that our forwards looked best when Vaughan and Keaney were tracking box to box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

You can't drop Fennell he broke every Westmeath kick out that came his way and nearly caught every Dublin kick out that came his way.Also I'm no fan of Collie Moran but he played well yesterday so he should keep his spot.Connolly was lively when he came on and was always making runs and so he should he starting aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Collie Moran will be suspended :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

I'd Imagine B Brogan will still be out. Moran could well face charges for the elbow, this remains to be seen. I though we won more ball in midfield with Whelan and Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Het-Field wrote: »

T.Quinn
    Sherlock
    B.Brogan

A.Brogan
    Keaney
    Vaughan

Oh god!

Brogan needs to play half forward to give him room to manouvre
    Sherlock needs to play corner forward.
    Keaney is a half forward.
    Bernard Brogan wont be fit on time.
    Mossy Quinn is a corner forward

Vaughan is so off form its funny and has been since his league form for his club. He shouldnt be anywhere near starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I think the forwards will be back having a good day at the office after having to play that mean defense yesterday.I don't hold much chance for Bernard starting as he did hold his hamstring very high which is a bad sign but Dermot Connolly should start in my opinion.Maybe even give McManoman more time to prove his worth.

I think Whelan and Ryan should start.They were very strong yesterday and I just think that its conventional to have them there.Whelan won't last 70 though so the introduction of Fennell is a strong card to play.I just think that we need to come out of the blocks against Wexford and settle.

Agree with Het-fields defense lineup.McConnell got roasted by Glennon yesterday and Wexford boast a superior forward line than Westmeath.However,how fit is Griffin?..we know nothing of what shape he is in after a year out in Australia.If he is back to full fitness,I'd stick him on Mattie Forde straight away.

If the improvement in defense continues such as the second half yesterday and Cullen anchors the back,I think Dublin will win by a few points.3 weeks to prepare,I'm expecting a strong performance on the 20th after yesterdays performance which didn't allow for attractive football due to the blanket defense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Click on this to expand, pretty funny ad

http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/84a6391a8a.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Cost Boy!!

Give Conal Keaney an inch and he will take a mile.

How about give him a free kick in front of the goal posts and he misses!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭j.griff

how do i go about gettin tickets for this game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

j.griff wrote: »
    how do i go about gettin tickets for this game?
    Leinster Senior Football Final
    Croke Park (Dublin) 4.00pm Dublin v Wexford
    Tickets will go on sale for the Leinster Senior Football final from Monday 7th July at 9.30am.
    Tickets will be available from the GAA ticket office on 018658657 (credit card or laser card required)
    Tickets will also be available through Ticketmaster and the Leinster Council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

blackbelt wrote: »
    However,how fit is Griffin?..we know nothing of what shape he is in after a year out in Australia.If he is back to full fitness,I'd stick him on Mattie Forde straight away.
    Griffin is fit, but has to pay the penalty for feckin off to Australia for a few months. Pillar deems that to be a lack of committment, so there's no way you get straight back in. However, after the 7 defenders who played v Wexford, he's probably next in line. So if Moran gets suspended and McConnell gets dropped, then Griff will be in. But I'd say it'll be Henry marking Forde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Give Conal Keaney an inch and he will take a mile.

Indeed. A mile wide if Sunday is any guide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

I don't think Whelan should be starting.Once again Fennell had a very good game.It's blatantly obvious thought Whelan and Fennell can't work together.Anytime Ryan went off with the blood sub,midfield was disrupted and that is where the Westmeath goal came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Wexford are no Westmeath. Dublin are going to paste Wexford IMO, Dublin by 11 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

Wexford are no Westmeath. Dublin are going to paste Wexford IMO, Dublin by 11 points.

Are u serious ! ?

will1977 wrote: »
    Are u serious ! ?

Yep, Wexford will try to engage Dublin in an open Football match as it is the only way they can win. It will backfire disastrously though IMO. It is just my opinion, I predicted Dublin would only scrape past Westmeath which they did. I am usually good at these things.

Want to make a bet on that?

I am intrigued. Tell me more.

Well you are willing to give me an 11 point handicap, do you want to put your money where your mouth is? A pint, 20 euro, whatever

I am a poor student so 20 euro is out of the question. Maybe some sort of beverage would be more prudent in these economically challenging times. I think Dublin will win by 11 points or so but I dont want to give you an 11 point handicap, how about an 8 point handicap (I want to cover my bases).

Either you are as confident as you claim to be or you are not? So now you think Dublin will win by 8 points or is it 11?

Either you are as confident as yuo claim to be or you are not? So now you think Dublin will win by 8 points or is it 11?

I am confident, but anything can happen when a team is cruising 12 points ahead, Wexford could get a jammy goal or something. +8 is still good for you or do you not want to take it as you know the boys are back and sam is coming home, to where it belongs:)

+8 is fine by me, you were the one saying that Dublin would win by 11 points, I guess that that was just hot air. Anyway the Sam Maguire has nothing to do with this bet, we are betting on the Delaney Cup ;)

I recall Dublin scraping by Longford by a point, and hammering Laois in the next game by 3-17 0-12. That was in 2006. A very ordinary performance against Offaly last year, was followed by a scintillating performance in the Leinster Final last July. I was in the States at the time, but I heard the final performance was excellent

Westmeath's blanket defence ensured Brogan didnt get a look in. Most of the time Westmeath had ten or eleven behind the ball, and they dug deep. If Wexford utilise this, then Dublin ahve a game on their hands. Especially given the ability of Matty Forde to take his points when they are available to him. However, if Wexford play open football, then the likes of Alan Brogan could have a field day. If he is allowed run it will set Dublin up with a rake of free taking chances, and if he makes a break or two on goal. I think pride fighter has a point. If Wexford take a leaf out of Westmeath's book then Dublin could have difficulty, but if they play open, then God help them

+8 is fine by me, you were the one saying that Dublin would win by 11 points, I guess that that was just hot air. Anyway the Sam Maguire has nothing to do with this bet, we are betting on the Delaney Cup ;)

I know, but this is another step on the road to Sam. I'd like a tough game to bring us on a bit but with this Wexford team I dont see it. +8 it is, for a glass of the finest porter known to humanity:)

I recall Dublin scraping by Longford by a point, and hammering Laois in the next game by 3-17 0-12. That was in 2006. A very ordinary performance against Offaly last year, was followed by a scintillating performance in the Leinster Final last July. I was in the States at the time, but I heard the final performance was excellent

Westmeath's blanket defence ensured Brogan didnt get a look in. Most of the time Westmeath had ten or eleven behind the ball, and they dug deep. If Wexford utilise this, then Dublin ahve a game on their hands. Especially given the ability of Matty Forde to take his points when they are available to him. However, if Wexford play open football, then the likes of Alan Brogan could have a field day. If he is allowed run it will set Dublin up with a rake of free taking chances, and if he makes a break or two on goal. I think pride fighter has a point. If Wexford take a leaf out of Westmeath's book then Dublin could have difficulty, but if they play open, then God help them

My thinking exactly. However Wexford now have 2 or 3 other forwards as good as Mattie Forde and as a result will want to try and give the ball to them. As a result they will want to try an play an open game of football which is good news for Dublin IMO. Also if Dublin can keep the likes of Dolan and Glennon to 3 points in the second half they can do a similar defensive job.

Wexford have a number of quality forwards with strength in the forward divison on the bench.

I don't expect Wexford to play a blanket defence, it does not make sense and is completely different from the way that they have been playing. The key to this game will be the middle third of the pitch. I would not be suprised to see Wexford play a three man midfield, like they did against Laois, this should ensure parity there.

Wexford have a number of quality forwards with strength in the forward divison on the bench.

I don't expect Wexford to play a blanket defence, it does not make sense and is completely different from the way that they have been playing. The key to this game will be the middle third of the pitch. I would not be suprised to see Wexford play a three man midfield, like they did against Laois, this should ensure parity there.

In spite of the Westmeath game, Dublin's forwards usually take 15-18 scores per championship games. Any side which scores 18 against Derry, 16 against Kerry, 3-12 against Laois, and 16 against Laois is up to something. In fact 0-13 was not a bad return against a blanket Northern Style defence. Especially, on the off chance that Bernard Brogan returns for the 19th July, Dublin can field 6 quality forwards, and two of Ireland's top midfielders.

I think an open game will be very much to Dublin's advantage. It would allow Whelan make the running, and would free up Brogan, and Keaney to reek havoc, while Sherlock's intelligence would set up multiple scoring chances. If Vaughan is back on form and taking the frees, then I could see Dublin hitting a complacent Wexford

I think an open game will be very much to Dublin's advantage. It would allow Whelan make the running, and would free up Brogan, and Keaney to reek havoc, while Sherlock's intelligence would set up multiple scoring chances. If Vaughan is back on form and taking the frees,

I still don't buy into this idea that an open game would be to Dublins advantage. You could take what you have written above and replace the Dublin players names with Wexford players names and come up with the same arguement, Bradley for Whelan, Forde and Lyng for Brogan and Keaney, and Barry for Sherlock. Most of the posters on this forum will have seen plenty of Dublin, I wonder how many have seen as many Wexford games.
    then I could see Dublin hitting a complacent Wexford

Complacent why on earth would Wexford be complacent :confused:

Wexford are no Westmeath.

Don't make me laugh. Dublin are sh*te this year get over it.

I still don't buy into this idea that an open game would be to Dublins advantage. You could take what you have written above and replace the Dublin players names with Wexford players names and come up with the same arguement, Bradley for Whelan, Forde and Lyng for Brogan and Keaney, and Barry for Sherlock. Most of the posters on this forum will have seen plenty of Dublin, I wonder how many have seen as many Wexford games.

Complacent why on earth would Wexford be complacent :confused:

Complacency as a result of two good performances against former giants of Leinster.

Whelan is one of the most competent mids in the country. Give him space in an open game is asking for trouble. Bradly is good, but is no Whelan.

Second only to Donaghy MFR and the Gooch are the Dubs full forward line. An off day against Westmeath cannot mask the fact that open football suits them.

I was there when Wexford played Meath. They should have gone that day. Cudos to them for their Andy Murray style comeback, however, Meath exposed some great weaknesses. Dublin's full back line may be weak, but their is something else. I also watched the game against a faded Laois team. They are decent, I dont deny that. However, just because Dublin had one poor game doesnt mask the fact that they enjoy and thrive in open conditions. If Dublin are on fire, in open conditions Wexford will struggle.

Cost Boy!! wrote: »
    Don't make me laugh. Dublin are sh*te this year get over it.

On what basis ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

On what basis ?

On the basis that he does not like them! Surely you are not expecting him to offer up some solid logic or reasoning to establish his point?

What player gets a free in front of the goal posts and misses.
    Ciaran Whelan being taken on and off supposibly as a 'blood substituate' yeah right the fact that he can hardly run the lenght of himself might of had something to do with it.
    Jason sherlock touches the ball three times during the whole game suddenly he gets a point in the second half and he's a hero.
    What was mark vaughan put on for just to advertise the products he uses in his hair?!
    The only reason I can think they put paul casey on in the second half was to give a few frees to westmeath and give them some more space.
    Collie moran was obviously just there to injure people.
    Mossy quinn was just there to maybe knock over the odd free.
    Stephen Cluxton must plan in his head before every game to act a dickhe*d in goal.

Waylander wrote: »
    On the basis that he does not like them! Surely you are not expecting him to offer up some solid logic or reasoning to establish his point?

You were right !

My point proven.

Which point is that CB?

Pretty much all those players mentioned are challenging for their 4th Leinster winners medals in 4 years.

And? Don't give this crap about experience or anything like that. We've seen the same dublin team for the last four years. Lets face it dublin should of taken their chances last year. They have some good players but they need a new manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

And? Don't give this crap about experience or anything like that. We've seen the same dublin team for the last four years. Lets face it dublin should of taken their chances last year. They have some good players but they need a new manager.
    Pillar Caffrey has won 3 Leinster titles out of three. He's brought Dublin to a fourth Leinster final. He has reached an All Ireland quarter final, which was taken to a replay, and two All Ireland semi-finals. Twice in 3 years Dublin have only been beaten by the team that went on to claim Sam Maguire. On what basis do they need a new manager?

What has any Wexford manager achieved in that time? Wexford may well win Leinster this year. They may win the All Ireland. I doubt they will, but they may. But until they win something, kindly stop telling us how great Wexford are and how awful Dublin are. When Dubs fans do this all hell breaks loose.

Dublin had a decisive win over a Louth and a shaky win over Westmeath. Who knows what they'll go on to do? Kerry didn't look up to much in their early games last year either, but come September nobody cared about that anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jakk

What about Connolly being given a start.Did alright against WM and in his previous game in that lge match with Meath he destroyed Fay (fair enough his best days are probably gone).Connolly seems to me the kind of player who would only get better if he got a run in the team.Apparently,all the Dublin backs hate having to mark him in training.

Breezer wrote: »
    P On what basis do they need a new manager?
    On the basis that he can't manage to bring dublin to an All-Ireland.

And btw I wasn't once going on about how great wexford are, they are better than recent years but still have alot of work to do in my opinion. I was KINDLY just giving my opinion of dublins performances this year.

On the basis that he can't manage to bring dublin to an All-Ireland.

And btw I wasn't once going on about how great wexford are, they are better than recent years but still have alot of work to do in my opinion. I was KINDLY just giving my opinion of dublins performances this year.

Well you have only shown how ill informed and bitter your opinion is with your posts CB. Last year they lost an All Ireland semi final to Kerry. What chances did they not take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Waylander wrote: »
    Well you have only shown how ill informed and bitter your opinion is with your posts CB. Last year they lost an All Ireland semi final to Kerry. What chances did they not take?

One name Ray Cosgrave:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Complacency as a result of two good performances against former giants of Leinster.

When to f*ck were laois ''giants'' of Leinster, jesus its hard to type when im on the ground laughin :D

What player gets a free in front of the goal posts and misses.

Dessie Dolan, Gooch Cooper, Owen Mulligan, eh...almost every forward in Ireland at some stage of his career.
    Ciaran Whelan being taken on and off supposibly as a 'blood substituate' yeah right the fact that he can hardly run the lenght of himself might of had something to do with it.

Absolutely, Dublin actually had an agreement with Westmeath to break Shane Ryan's nose to facilitate the tactic. Seen through the Dublin genius there Cost Boy, darn you.
    Jason sherlock touches the ball three times during the whole game suddenly he gets a point in the second half and he's a hero.

The cheek of him, making the best of scant service because Westmeath dropped a half-forward into midfield to help with the blanket defence. I mean the barefaced cheek of that All-Ireland winning scum...

What was mark vaughan put on for just to advertise the products he uses in his hair?!

Yeah, though the new slogan is "Give an out of form forward an opportunity to get some gametime to boost his confidence: Use Brylcreem"

The only reason I can think they put paul casey on in the second half was to give a few frees to westmeath and give them some more space.

Nail...on...head. The Westmeath full forward line had claustrophobia in Croker and sure after the Westmeath lads helping us break Shane's nose sure how could we not oblige?
    Collie moran was obviously just there to injure people.

We considered loaning him to Westmeath to sort Ryan out but there was no need in the end.
    Mossy quinn was just there to maybe knock over the odd free.

All-Ireland Club Champion. No need for sarcasm here. The man was immense all year. If he puts in the first ultra-difficult but brilliantly worked goal chance he is the hero. He is there to try and score goals first and foremost. Bad day at the office, roll on Wexford.

Stephen Cluxton must plan in his head before every game to act a dickhe*d in goal.

It's not every game, it's roughly 1 in 7 and otherwise I almost agree with this.

Round of applause for what has to be the worst arguement of the century em yeah so impressed!! Oh please get over yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

Yep, Wexford will try to engage Dublin in an open Football match as it is the only way they can win. It will backfire disastrously though IMO. It is just my opinion, I predicted Dublin would only scrape past Westmeath which they did. I am usually good at these things.

Really? If you do say so yourself!! You said 11 points initially, so we will see soon enough if you 'are usually good at these things'!

I am still saying 11 points but for the sake of a bet I am giving Cruiserweight odds of +8, nothing wrong with that.

At +8 I am more than safe :D As for usually being right all I can go on is your pools performance so I am definitely safe :D I would have quite happily bet with no handicap but you were the one saying Dublin would win by 11

Hitting me were it hurts with my pools performance, thats mean. Its not my fault my underdogs lost narrowly and the ones who I thought would stroll to finals were beaten by underdogs.
    Either way Dublin are going to show Wexford that the top Dogs in Leinster are wayy ahead of them.