Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No "L" Plates

• 30-06-2008 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

I travelled from Drogheda to Julianstown this morning, about 4 or 5 miles of busy road, and didn't see 1 L plate. either the message is hitting home or people are just not bothering to display them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Deadeyes

I would imagine people are just taking the L plates off. I mean what are the chances of getting pulled over and having your licence checked, when you've got no L plates up as opposed to having L plates, if your alone in the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

i think this is the plan for everybody. If you don't display your plates and then drive carefully and properly, the chances of a garda pulling you over and checking your licence is tiny. Mind you if you're caught not displaying them, i thinks it's a hefty fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I imagine a lot of Micra/Corsa/Polo drivers will be pulled in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

nipplenuts wrote: »
    I imagine a lot of Micra/Corsa/Polo drivers will be pulled in the next few weeks.

And Yaris! :)

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Optimus Caesar

Minimum fine of €1,000 (rsa.ie).
    That's hefty enough.
    People will no doubt chance it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thats_life

fair play to the 'L' driver that does leave their sticker up cos the gardai will be hunting for them for this week and maybe next week but then the hype will be over and things will be back to normal.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

That's hefty enough.

Minimum 1,000 really. That would put enough people off with a few of those making the papers. I was thinking it would be a minor fine or warning first hmm.

Just took a spin around small town in Donegal. normally see plenty of L plates. I counted 2 included my own. Is new law in today or does it start tomorrow as i drove to work presuming tomorrow. I was gonna break for a few days or a week and see what happens.

If they make examples it would prob keep me off the road. I applied for three tests. Missed last one by one grade 2 for parking :). So i guess i passed till i parked, stupid really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

Minimum 1,000 really. That would put enough people off with a few of those making the papers. I was thinking it would be a minor fine or warning first hmm.

No minor fines or warnings I'm afraid. A friend of mine decieded to take down his L-plates and got caught driving to work in the early hours of the morning. He's not driving long so it wasn't hard to spot the learner.

He got his car impounded and got slapped with a €1000 fine, points on his license and has to pay a daily fee for the car taking up space in the impound lot. He can't get his car back untill he pays the fees, which is building quickly, and has a fully licensed driver with him to pick up the car.

I've absolutely no sympathy for him. I've noticed alot less L-plates around lately. All my neighbours seemed to have "passed their test" in the last 2 days too. These people have been on provisionals for about 5 years. I hope they get caught too.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I noticed a reduction in the number of L stickers in the car park in college this morning, normally a sea of L's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

I saw a good few traffic gards around aswell. I suppose its a good thing. Im on a permit, I just dont like this 2 year accomplace thing. have no problem with the fine for driving unacompanied. Ive a feeling itll last for a few weeks then well start seeing the L plates creeping out again. this 6 months wait is pure boll*x too. at least let us take a test iff we fail we fail like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Easy Rider

Anyone read the Sunday Independent? The Gardai are essentially saying that they won't enforce it to any great degree and will leave it up to the individual Garda...so you could get someone who does not want to do the paper work and not bother, they say they have no space to inpound the cars (Dublin anyway)....plus if you are called up to court and for every L plate driver that get's done is brought the court, the courts will not be able to handle them....un-officially most guards are saying that they will go soft for the next 6 months....

Anyway, I am an L plate driver, left the car at home today and go the bus, which is fine for the summer as the schools are off, I plan to only use my car for when I need to do a shop every two weeks, the supermarket is 5 minute drive away...so that is all I will risk....

Also all this 'it is down to 8 weeks to get a test' - well not for me and for most people I spoke to, I have mine in August 14th in Swords, I applied in April....that's more like 18 weeks.....In any case, 8 weeks is not even acceptable, it should be possible to get one within 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Just as info

Its a inimum fine of 1000 for driving unaccompanied, there can also be an additional 1000 added for failing to display L plates.

So anyone driving unaccompanied and failing to display L plates is 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

Shazbot wrote: »
    No minor fines or warnings I'm afraid. A friend of mine decieded to take down his L-plates and got caught driving to work in the early hours of the morning. He's not driving long so it wasn't hard to spot the learner.

He got his car impounded and got slapped with a €1000 fine, points on his license and has to pay a daily fee for the car taking up space in the impound lot. He can't get his car back untill he pays the fees, which is building quickly, and has a fully licensed driver with him to pick up the car.

I've absolutely no sympathy for him. I've noticed alot less L-plates around lately. All my neighbours seemed to have "passed their test" in the last 2 days too. These people have been on provisionals for about 5 years. I hope they get caught too.

Man that seems completely over the top and excessive... and a complete waste of everybodys time and money.... not sure what right do they have to impound the car either

I know they can impound the car if there is no tax on it but dont see how they can impound it cause your mate has no L plates, the car i assume was road worthy and had up2date tax/insurance/nct

Hell even when you get pulled over for drink driving they have no right to impound your car or even keep you locked in the cell (unless ur so drunk your a danger to yourself) so to do it for no L- Plates is absolute rubbish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

eh thought the law didn't come into effect til midnight tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭eddiehobbs

dade wrote: »

Thats true for second provisionals, for everybody else its at the discresion of the guard

crapmanjoe wrote: »
    Man that seems completely over the top and excessive... and a complete waste of everybodys time and money.... not sure what right do they have to impound the car either

I know they can impound the car if there is no tax on it but dont see how they can impound it cause your mate has no L plates, the car i assume was road worthy and had up2date tax/insurance/nct

Excessive or not, it worked. He has himself and his friends scared to drive alone again. The car was insured, taxed and nct'ed. He got what he deserved.
    Hell even when you get pulled over for drink driving they have no right to impound your car or even keep you locked in the cell (unless ur so drunk your a danger to yourself) so to do it for no L- Plates is absolute rubbish

Agreed, but it's about time garda start being more agressive with driver's breaking the law.

It does, but he's on a learner's permit. More than enough reason to punish him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Thats harsh poor fellow

Red Alert wrote: »
    I noticed a reduction in the number of L stickers in the car park in college this morning, normally a sea of L's.

Seems to be more chancers that not. I know 4 neighbours whose Ls have disappeared overnight. I am driving today but tomorrow i will walk. I walked for many years and i could do with exercise anyway. Work is 15 minutes walk so no big deal.

I know people who travel 50km to work so i would feel for them. The test needs to be quicker. I applied for 3 this time. Happy to get them around the same time if i do. I am sure i am ready this time. Still the laws are there to be enforced and i will be browsing for storys all week of those people hit with fines etc.

Its a choice isn't it. But for me 1,000 is a fair wallop of cash for a 15 minute walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Caroline19

In all fairness the government and Gardaí delayed implementing this law for 6 months to give people the opportunity to get their licences sorted...
    There's no point complaining because their isn't even a long waiting list to sit your test, 6-8 weeks...The fine is a good idea, will make L drivers thnk before they go on the road. If there caught they end up woth no car!!! And whose fault is that???

Its a choice isn't it. But for me 1,000 is a fair wallop of cash for a 15 minute walk.

Nice to see some people are getting the message. Sick and tired of reading people on this forum complaining about how unfair it is and that they will remove the plates etc.

Caroline19 wrote: »
    In all fairness the government and Gardaí delayed implementing this law for 6 months to give people the opportunity to get their licences sorted...
    There's no point complaining because their isn't even a long waiting list to sit your test, 6-8 weeks...The fine is a good idea, will make L drivers thnk before they go on the road. If there caught they end up woth no car!!! And whose fault is that???

I agree but lets say one fails the test. Thats 8 more weeks. BTW 8 weeks is an estimate. It more like 12 weeks for most people i know in donegal. So 2 fails in test means 6 months. There is plenty of nervous people who can't get it together under pressure. Its a fact. I applied for 3 tests so i might get them all around the same time. I would be happy to do them back to back if i failed one :). I don't know if anybody else has booked more than one at a time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Optimus Caesar

The 2nd provisional change comes into effect tomorrow but I'm fairly sure its always been an offense for a learner driver not to display L plates.

Nice to see some people are getting the message. Sick and tired of reading people on this forum complaining about how unfair it is and that they will remove the plates etc.

But i am in my 30s and only a new driver. Never needed it. Just on 2nd and just driving on my own right now so it feels as though some others got to benefit while i didnt.

I will be happy if i don't see dead babys on the front page of my paper because a young lad felt he can overtake a convoy of cars. I would like to see everybody tested every 10 years. The worst drivers have full licences imo. Most would not pass test as it stands.

I am happy to stick to the law and await my test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,934 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

That's hefty enough.

and if the L drivers crash the insurance company wont cover them

thats if they dont have the L plates up

i think the L drivers should bring the driving test paper with them confirming they have sent away for the test

and if the L drivers crash the insurance company wont cover them

Heres what quinn say on that statement :) L plates would mean they prob wouldnt cover it but i didnt ask this.

Policy Number:GEI/QMP/*******

Dear Mr ODonnell

Thank you for your e-mail dated: 26th June 2008

I would like to confirm that yes, you are covered. Going forward we will
    continue to review our policy and will take guidance from the Insurance
    Federation of Ireland. However you should note that the Gardai may still
    prosecute you if you are a provisional licence holder driving
    unaccompanied.

If there are any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards
    Clare McCarroll
    Administration Department
    Quinn Direct Insurance
    Phone: 0845 850 0845 UK & NI
    1890 89 1890 ROI

But i am in my 30s and only a new driver. Never needed it. Just on 2nd and just driving on my own right now so it feels as though some others got to benefit while i didnt.

I will be happy if i don't see dead babys on the front page of my paper because a young lad felt he can overtake a convoy of cars. I would like to see everybody tested every 10 years. The worst drivers have full licences imo. Most would not pass test as it stands.

I am happy to stick to the law and await my test.

Couldnt agree with ye more, good example. Im driving along in my instructors car, An L plate on wheels basically. He is teaching me pedal control (as evryon has to do) Im doing 55 in a 60. Now going along grand, few trucks actually pass me out, no problems, next thing this numpty is BMW 5 series comes up behind me. now I can see the whites of his eyes in my rear view, and hes beeping and flashing at me. lucky enough there was an unmarked car behind him that pulled him over, but it just shows that not all young lads are nut jobs, and its a fierce generalisation. Im in louth, most accidents here are either caused or involv northern cars or eastern europians.... sweet fa of them are young. of course ye get the odd young lad but for evry young fella involved in a crash theres 2 or 3 that doesnt involve a young fella.

Id much rather see a crackdown on drink drivers then L drivers who have all their papers and and are waiting for a test. why not make it that ye get 20 lessons and if your instructor deems you fit to drive then ye can get a special request to do the full test. its the 6 month wait on this permit thats really annoying me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I would like to see everybody tested every 10 years. The worst drivers have full licences imo. Most would not pass test as it stands.

That would be crazy! It is bad enough with lots of provisionals trying to sit tests, but if they started forcing people to take a test every 10 years it would be mental! Mainly because almost everyone would fail (due to the test being so anal about small habitual things that people just pick up when they are are driving longer). So would these people need to get lessons again? Would they then be suddenly put off the road until they passed the test?
    That idea would be a disaster in my opinion!

Leave it as it is. That is, if you don't renew your license before it expires then you are forced to resit. Because if the person can't be arsed renewing it, then they more than likely aren't driving much/don't care, in which case they probably need to re-sit the test anyway.
    And people who get a load of penalty points are obviously bad/dangerous drivers and they also need to resit. But forcing everyone to resit.......! :rolleyes:

That would be crazy! It is bad enough with lots of provisionals trying to sit tests, but if they started forcing people to take a test every 10 years it would be mental! Mainly because almost everyone would fail (due to the test being so anal about small habitual things that people just pick up when they are are driving longer). So would these people need to get lessons again? Would they then be suddenly put off the road until they passed the test?

so basically what yer saying are drivers are at there best just after getting their lessons!!!! Small habitual things could be the reason you fail in the 1st place, whats the point in having a test if yer gonna just pick up bad habits after it

Noopti wrote: »

Leave it as it is. That is, if you don't renew your license before it expires then you are forced to resit. Because if the person can't be arsed renewing it, then they more than likely aren't driving much/don't care, in which case they probably need to re-sit the test anyway.
    And people who get a load of penalty points are obviously bad/dangerous drivers and they also need to resit. But forcing everyone to resit.......! :rolleyes:

I see your point. But something has to be done to curve bad drivers from our roads. My father never passed a test. He is lethal and a bully on the road. I would hate to see him on a bad day. I would enjoy seeing him having to do a test. I guess i am jealous ain't i.

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    Id much rather see a crackdown on drink drivers then L drivers who have all their papers and and are waiting for a test.

I've seen this quite a bit on this forum but beg the question. What differance does it make if you're waiting for your test? You're still breaking the law if you're unaccompanied.

People constantly complain about the adjusted law, accusing it as being unfair and solely targeting learners. True, but this isn't a short them solution to the problem. The way I see it, it's aim is to properly train drivers under the instruction of qualified instructers and create better drivers for the future. Making the roads slightly safer in the future. Something we can all appreciate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Caroline19 wrote: »

Its more like 12 to 15 weeks and 20 weeks in some cases

I do think the penalties are harsh

But something has to be done to curve bad drivers from our roads

Yes, it is called penalty points. And with proper enforcement it would sort people out. But alas, proper enforcement seems a long way off.
    My father never passed a test. He is lethal and a bully on the road. I would hate to see him on a bad day. I would enjoy seeing him having to do a test. I guess i am jealous ain't i.

But what if you father bucked his ideas up for the test, and passed. Would he suddenly be a more considerate driver? ;)
    so basically what yer saying are drivers are at there best just after getting their lessons!!!! Small habitual things could be the reason you fail in the 1st place, whats the point in having a test if yer gonna just pick up bad habits after it

The point of having the test is to show that you have a certain level of skills necessary to drive safely. People who pass have the driving skills, but that doesn't mean they are considerate, or obey the rules of the road, or are always safe drivers. It means they were considerate, obeyed the rules and were safe for 40 minutes during their test!
    Getting them to resit a test would mean nothing.

Continual assessment might work in a profession, like teaching, but not for something like driving. For a very simple reason, there are millions of drivers in ireland....and how many teachers?

So re-testing needs to be restricted to expired license holders and re-currant law breakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I don't know what all the fuss is about.
    I've been driving unaccompanied on a provisional since last October and I applied for my test about a month ago.
    I haven't been given a date yet, so the car will stay in the garage from tomorrow until I pass my test.
    I'm off to buy a bus pass. I'd rather keep my €2,000 and no criminal record thanks.

Yes, it is called penalty points. And with proper enforcement it would sort people out. But alas, proper enforcement seems a long way off.

But what if you father bucked his ideas up for the test, and passed. Would he suddenly be a more considerate driver? ;)

The point of having the test is to show that you have a certain level of skills necessary to drive safely. People who pass have the driving skills, but that doesn't mean they are considerate, or obey the rules of the road, or are always safe drivers. It means they were considerate, obeyed the rules and were safe for 40 minutes during their test!
    Getting them to resit a test would mean nothing.

Continual assessment might work in a profession, like teaching, but not for something like driving. For a very simple reason, there are millions of drivers in ireland....and how many teachers?

So re-testing needs to be restricted to expired license holders and re-currant law breakers.

thats comin from a fully licenced driver (i presume) yeah there are alot more drivers then teachers. but if cars have to bes tested evry few years (NCT) then drivers should be aswell. Alot of you will come on here and say that learner drivers are dangerous.....not true. in fact I would say theyre safer as theyre not as confident and therefore not gonna try something there not absolutly confident with (obviously ye get a few eejits) but Ive seen there, My parents, never claimed in their lives got 11 right on my theory test cd. I see when Im out learning "fully qualified drivers" are nutters, my instructor can even point out evrything to me theyre doing wrong. Iff they were tested evry 5 years or so then its surely hit home that they have to loose the bad habits, crashing could be construed as a bad habit ye know. What bad habits are safe. Surely if "fully qualified drivers" were so sure of themselves theyd have no problem taking a small test evry couple of years

just by the way im agreeing that ye should have to be accompanied. Im just disagreeing with the 6 month waiting time on the license and the accomplice has to have the license more then 2 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

eddiehobbs wrote: »
    Thats true for second provisionals, for everybody else its at the discresion of the guard

i stand corrected (as usual )

thats comin from a fully licenced driver (i presume) yeah there are alot more drivers then teachers. but if cars have to bes tested evry few years (NCT) then drivers should be aswell.

Completely different. I can get my car an NCT appointment in a few weeks, the test takes 15-20 minutes. If it fails something I pay a professional mechanic to correct the problem. I can then get a re-test on even shorter notice and then pass the NCT.

The driving is test is far more complex, laborious and unpredictable (the human element). So you apply for the test and have to wait 7 weeks, and then fail it. You have to correct your problems (not as easy as re-aligning a light, or tightening some nuts and bolts) and re-sit the test, probably in another month to 7 weeks.
    Cars get tested every couple of years because they are machines, so problems can be found and rectified quickly.

Alot of you will come on here and say that learner drivers are dangerous.....not true.

I don't say that. In fact, the opposite. I think there are more dangerous fully licensed drivers than learners. But I don't agree with testing all drivers on a 10 year cycle, as it is unworkable. Like I said, test the ones that really need to be re-tested, the constant rule breakers and the ones with expired licenses.
    crashing could be construed as a bad habit ye know
    Of course. But personally, when I refer to bad habits I am talking about not holding the steering wheel at 10-2, or maybe not using indicators properly at a roundabout, or coasting etc. ie: small things that will fail you in a test, but not necessarily things that will cause major accidents

I would say that what causes serious crashes is usually out and out reckless and dangerous driving. eg: speeding on dangerous roads, overtaking dangerously, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

crapmanjoe wrote: »

Of course they can impound the car ................ he wasn't licensed to drive on his own. Simple as.

Completely different. I can get my car an NCT appointment in a few weeks, the test takes 15-20 minutes. If it fails something I pay a professional mechanic to correct the problem. I can then get a re-test on even shorter notice and then pass the NCT.

How many ISM learner cars are there out there. It doesnt necessarilly have to be done by a driving test centre. these guys take learners out on mock exams the whole time. Cant speak for the rest of the country but the route in Drogheda should take about 25 mins if theres traffic. if u dnt pass yer test with 6 or 7 years driving behind ye then how are ye safe to drive. Same with a medical. U cud be grand and fit now, in a few years ya mightnt be.

Of course. But personally, when I refer to bad habits I am talking about not holding the steering wheel at 10-2, or maybe not using indicators properly at a roundabout, or coasting etc. ie: small things that will fail you in a test, but not necessarily things that will cause major accidents

how about not being in the right lane at a roundabout, not dangerous if evrybodys doing it but what about the 1 poor sod that is in the right land. alot of people with full licences dont grasp the rules of a roundabout. how can ye say wrong use of an indicator isnt dangerous. Its as misleading as having no indicators.

Im not trying to pick an arguement but road safety is something I feel strongly about. I am a learner, I believe when Im ready to sit a test Ill sit a test but that shouldnt be the last of my education on roads. If the government was truly eager to make the roads safe. There should be .....
    • a no nonsense rule for foreign drivers, whether they live here or not. We wouldnt get away with it over there.
    • A no nonsense rule with L plate drivers BUT have a bit of common sense with regards waiting 6 months after ye get yer permit before ye can do a test and the accomplace has to have over 2 years full licence experience.
    • A ZERO tollerance to drink driving, u get caught for over the limt. its attempted murder.
    • and on going training for drivers so they dont pick up bad habits

A no nonsense rule with L plate drivers BUT have a bit of common sense with regards waiting 6 months after ye get yer permit before ye can do a test and the accomplace has to have over 2 years full licence experience.

If you profess zero tolerance on all your other points, then it should be the same for this.
    nd on going training for drivers so they dont pick up bad habits

So, you are not saying that they should have to resit the exams, just have on-going training? What does that mean, they they must do "lessons" every few years?
    "Dear Sir, you are due your annual "Bad Habits" re-education course, please contact us for an appointment date. Note: There is a current waiting time of approx 32 weeks for this course."
    And what exactly would these lessons teach the driver who say, has been driving for 20 years?
    Instructor: "That is your clutch, and this is how you change gears"
    Driver: "I know, I have been driving for 20 years"
    Instructor: "When you enter a roundabout, be sure to indicate appropriately"
    Driver: "Thanks. But you could have told me that via a leaflet in my letterbox, and it won't change anything when you leave this car. Can you tell me anything that is of actual value to me, a driver of 20 years?"
    Instructor: "Try to stay calm when driving, and don't get angry?"
    Driver: "Brilliant. Bye."

I can't understand how you think this is workable, the current system for learner drivers is not workable for peats sake, and there are only 100k of them approximately!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

This law change also has an impact on the qualified driver as well. How many qualified drivers have now been turned into taxi's to take the learner driver where they need to go or to go out in the car with learner driver to give them practice?

As for qualified drivers doing a test every few years, I see no problem with this and would improve road safety. A lot of the bad drivers I see on the roads are qualified drivers. I think it would work if a portion of qualified drivers where retested or any drivers with 6 points or more on their licence should be made sit the test again.

Also I feel the €1000 euro fines for driving unaccompanied and not having L plates on display are very harsh. I mean the fine for speeding 2 penalty points and a €80 fine thats a big difference on €1000.

If you profess zero tolerance on all your other points, then it should be the same for this.

So, you are not saying that they should have to resit the exams, just have on-going training? What does that mean, they they must do "lessons" every few years?
    "Dear Sir, you are due your annual "Bad Habits" re-education course, please contact us for an appointment date. Note: There is a current waiting time of approx 32 weeks for this course."
    And what exactly would these lessons teach the driver who say, has been driving for 20 years?
    Instructor: "That is your clutch, and this is how you change gears"
    Driver: "I know, I have been driving for 20 years"
    Instructor: "When you enter a roundabout, be sure to indicate appropriately"
    Driver: "Thanks. But you could have told me that via a leaflet in my letterbox, and it won't change anything when you leave this car. Can you tell me anything that is of actual value to me, a driver of 20 years?"
    Instructor: "Try to stay calm when driving, and don't get angry?"
    Driver: "Brilliant. Bye."

I can't understand how you think this is workable, the current system for learner drivers is not workable for peats sake, and there are only 100k of them approximately!! :D

HAHA you just proved my point. Im driving 20 years so Im perfect!!!! when you sit yer exam do does the tester tell ye how to go round a roundabout etc, no. why wud he do it in this one.....Im saying a simple driving test evry few years could hurt no one. theres about 50 or 60 driving instructors in evry housing estate never mind town. these can do the tests and submit them. if ye fail then tough ye have to book another one. and yer a prov driver until ye get 1. Thats why im getting at the long wait to do a test aswell, theres no excuse for the waiting times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

the current system for learner drivers is not workable for peats sake, and there are only 100k of them approximately!! :D
    430,000 approx.

(92,000 on 2nd Provisionals/Learner Permits in Category B).

Tazededub wrote:
    A lot of the bad drivers I see on the roads are qualified drivers.
    As 85% of drivers have a Full Licence, most bad driving would indeed be displayed by those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

I hope they all get caught tbh. It's pure selfishness to endanger lives with incompetent driving. If you're good enough, book a test. If the waiting list is long, book it when you're getting good. Simple.

I agree but what about if yer good enough after 3 months of lessons but you have to wait another 3 before ye can take the test.... thats the problem. Bn honest ive no sympathy for 2nd prov drivers esp iff theyve failed their tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭crapmanjoe

Of course they can impound the car ................ he wasn't licensed to drive on his own. Simple as.

dont think it is that simple actually, as far as im concerned (and im defin open to correction on this) the car can only be impounded if by its self its illegal

As in illegally parked, no tax, no insurance, no nct,stolen etc but when you get pulled over for driving unaccompanied then the car itself is fine so shudnt be impounded.

which as i said in my post is why if you get arrested for drink driving that they dont impound the car (hell ur free to leave the station, get a taxi to ur car and drive the thing home if you want - if ur that stupid of course)

HAHA you just proved my point. Im driving 20 years so Im perfect!!!! when you sit yer exam do does the tester tell ye how to go round a roundabout etc, no. why wud he do it in this one.....

No, you're wrong with that I'm afraid. I never said the driver is perfect, I was highlighting that there would be nothing of value that they would gain from lessons after 20 years. eg: they might not use their indicator at roundabouts. And they still won't after they do their "lessons".

I also never said the tester was telling the driver how to go around roundabouts. They example I gave stated that the person was doing lessons, in response to what you said:
    And on going training for drivers so they dont pick up bad habits
    See...."Training". Training is different to Testing.
    Im saying a simple driving test evry few years could hurt no one.
    Won't hurt anyone? Yet the normal testing procedure we have now is backlogged, barely working and has a low pass rate, with 100,000 drivers. But you think that testing millions of qualified drivers will be simple? C'mon...

If the penalty points system was enforced rigorously, of course a lot more manpower would be needed, then that would be all that is needed. So if someone gets enough points, they have proven they are not respectable road users and thus, must prove that they are to the authorities: By doing the test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    I agree but what about if yer good enough after 3 months of lessons but you have to wait another 3 before ye can take the test.... thats the problem
    When you completed the application form for a Learner Permit, you would have been required, in section 28, to sign a declaration that you had a satisfactory knowledge of the Rules of the Road. You therefore would have been aware that you would be required to wait 6 months before taking the test. Why then did you apply if you were not happy with that? Complaining about it here is not going to make any difference to that regulation!
    ssimth6287 wrote:
    ive no sympathy for 2nd prov drivers esp iff theyve failed their tests
    Surely the learners who have taken a test and were uncsuccessful deserve more sympathy that the thousands who didn't even bother applying for a test?