Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any one here who is not a professional

• 27-06-2008 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭

Is this forum just for pro's?

I seem to be batting out of my league all the time.

john

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

No it's not just for pros. All levels are here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭squibs

I'm very much an amateur. I just read a lot about pro-audio and regurgitate it in a vain attempt to sound interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I've stopped postiong in here - its got so techy I don't feel I can cut it anymore. :(

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Don't let pro audio jargon phase you.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

mike65 wrote: »

I've stopped postiong in here - its got so techy I don't feel I can cut it anymore. :(

Mike.

I know the feeling.

There's no big shots on here tho despite the way some people talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

I'm a complete novice!! the lingo can be a bit off putting at times tho but i've learnt some stuff here on the form..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

I am an absolute PRO. (thats how you know they are a novice)

judas101 wrote: »
    I know the feeling.

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

henessjon wrote: »
    No no no no no. If you ask a question, people will try answer, just be prepared for a somewhat 'technical' reply. That's the nature of the beast. But if you're just lurking and too timid to ask questions or discuss anything, you can't really wonder why the other kids in the yard won't play with you.

By all means, if you think a post is overly pretentious then call up the user on it, anyone in this game will probably have a stiff neck and most likely used to taking criticism....unlike the DJ board...they're wusses. :pac:

I think we ALL know the DJ malarky.

(Poor lads get an awful lot of flack from us)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I'm still a big noob at all of this production stuff.
    Like i can usually understand most of what goes on in here but i still don't have the knowledge to add to most of the threads in here. Though there is a lot that gets really techy too.

So well, yeah i hang around here often but i'm still a big noob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Im only a DJ and when I am confronted with load of twiddle of knobs and switches I just play about with them until the system sounds good and then I crank up the volume. :D

Im using that as my DJ reference

Nothing to see here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

I seem to be batting out of my league all the time.

john

John, you know well it's for everyone. There a very few Pros here.... as there are very few Pros in total!- and they're all here to help.

It's good to be batting out of your league and it's good to have a different league to aim for.

Pros like Studiorat (who I know has offered advice to you personally) and Trackmixstudio are always posting good advice that isn't the "I read it on the internet, I think" but the much more valuable "In my experience" type.

Pros are just guys who do the same things as you , but who maybe have been doing it for longer. None of us know everything.

At the moment there's an interesting thread on synthesis that I'm following as it's an area about which I know very little.

In my opinion the bottom line to all is Muck In with your 2 cents worth. If you don't understand anything just ask? There's very little goodness to be had from reading a post , not understanding it and not asking, I think you'll agree.

I, and others here, try to answer as many posts as possible, but only the ones I have experience about. We speak in the language we use everyday, which may be too Techy for some. If that's the case just ask. All the pros I know here are good men , who will help.

Don't be threatened by not knowing something, think of it as an opportunity to find out, especially here where there are lots of guys who 1. Want to Help and 2. Actually know.

Paul can be a big fuzzy carebear when he wants to be.

A big fuzzy Intensive carebear mostly though

sei046 wrote: »
    Paul can be a big fuzzy carebear when he wants to be.

A big fuzzy Intensive carebear mostly though

Passion is what it's all about - Any Eejit can not care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

judas101 wrote: »
    I know the feeling.

Errrm! Excuse me! I'm a fwcking big shot if you don't mind...:cool:

studiorat wrote: »

None bigger, I'd say.

Bryan Adams, U2? Chieftains? The Corrs? Daniel O'Donnell - is there actually a bigger than that to be???

Everything he does, he does it for you.

And StudioRat recorded a No. 1 Album with Aslan, No.1 I say ....

Actually I think we should start a petition to change from Boards.ie to Dave.ie....

All in Favour?

Ah ref! You're embarrassing me now!

Sure Brewer's a bit of a big shot himself too. Madness, That Petrol Emotion, Voice of the Beehive. And don't forget we're talkin' to the man who brought us all Richie Kavanagh's "Aon Focal Eile".

Seriously though, I'd hate to think anybody wouldn't want to post here 'cause it's too techy.

What sort of topics were people talking about before?
    Personally I'd rather be ranting on about the music anyway!

"Aon focal, Dha Focal, Tri focal eile" La de da de da!!

Ah ref! You're embarrassing me now!

Sure Brewer's a bit of a big shot himself too. Madness, That Petrol Emotion, Voice of the Beehive. And don't forget we're talkin' to the man who brought us all Richie Kavanagh's "Aon Focal Eile".

Seriously though, I'd hate to think anybody wouldn't want to post here 'cause it's too techy.

What sort of topics were people talking about before?
    Personally I'd rather be ranting on about the music anyway!

"Aon focal, Dha Focal, Tri focal eile" La de da de da!!

Gha Focail to you, Horse .... Focail off!

And don't forget we're talkin' to the man who brought us all Richie Kavanagh's "Aon Focal Eile".

Savman wrote: »

Oh yea! And don't forget 5 (count em) Daniel O'Donnell albums!
    and Big Tom and Margo and Joe Dolan etc etc.

I earned me stripes the hard way:confused:, Sunshine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭henessjon

everything seems to be very insular ....

how can i tell if im improving absolutely no one listens to anyone elses stuff..

where is the comraderey???

at this rate I will be an expert in my second life lol

if I get one for being a good boy before i reached my thirties :D

Paul I have new respect to you - sharing studio time for hours on end with the cream of middle Irelands easy listening choices ;)

Mike.

everything seems to be very insular ....

where is the comraderey???

What do you mean insular John? The camaraderie is here, we're all posting (or not!) together about a subject we love.

Good Stuff is bigged up, Eyebrows are raised nonsense. Information is shared.

What MORE could a forum be?

Paul I have new respect to you - sharing studio time for hours on end with the cream of middle Irelands easy listening choices ;)

Mike.

And Foster + Allen, and Ray Lynam +Philomena Begley ..... actually both of them are superb singers, whatever way you slice it! (that's Ray and Phil, thought Tony Allen is a good balad chanter too)

Nothing is stopping anyone posting up m3s for a listen - just be prepare to be dismantled :)

Mike.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    What do you mean insular John? The camaraderie is here, we're all posting (or not!) together about a subject we love.

Good Stuff is bigged up, Eyebrows are raised nonsense. Information is shared.

What MORE could a forum be?

I was thinking if there was subjective feedback in some shape or form actual learning would occur...

of course this would mean you pros/experts would have to listen to my sh*t and comment or dare say take a track and show what can be done to improve ie: how it is done.....

of course this should all be a free service done in spare time like us all nighters who love this "sport"....

i would say that might develope into class of 2-3 people willing to pay a sheckle at the right price.... bear in mind we are in a recession :cool:

Nothing is stopping anyone posting up m3s for a listen - just be prepare to be dismantled :)

Mike.

Especially if it's a Quickstep or a Waltz !!:pac:

Mike.

fair comment -- but the proof is in the pudding... who would be willing to tear it apart put it back together the right way,,, anyone can critisize without hearing difference we would never know.

I was thinking if there was subjective feedback in some shape or form actual learning would occur...

of course this would mean you pros/experts would have to listen to my sh*t and comment or dare say take a track and show what can be done to improve ie: how it is done.....

of course this should all be a free service done in spare time like us all nighters who love this "sport"....

i would say that might develope into class of 2-3 people willing to pay a sheckle at the right price.... bear in mind we are in a recession :cool:

This is a Forum, not a school.
    Lads express opinions, some of them contrary, that is the nature of the beast.
    As Mike says ... stick up stuff and people will comment...... or not!

fair comment -- but the proof is in the pudding... who would be willing to tear it apart put it back together the right way,,, anyone can critisize without hearing difference we would never know.

Ah now you're been cuss-ed!

Mike.

I dont want feed back on what people think of the song but on the "mix"

its a music production forum

how would you guys know what im doing wrong in mp3 upload ? avoiding all the general advice too much mid range not enough star dust here etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭crazeehorse

im only 15 and i just got protools for my birthday in may so im not exactly the most experienced but im getting there

hi crazeehorse glad to see you about in this forum good luck with the pressie

:D:D:D

I dont want feed back on what people think of the song but on the "mix"

its a music production forum

how would you guys know what im doing wrong in mp3 upload ? avoiding all the general advice too much mid range not enough star dust here etc

Answers are driven by one thing - Questions.

im only 15 and i just got protools for my birthday in may so im not exactly the most experienced but im getting there

Ya lucky fecker!

Speaking of Insular .....

Where have all the Mods gone? Gawd be with da Days when you'd say ' Feck ' and you'd get a 6 match ban and a turd through the letterbox ...

dont forget us composers in home studios dont always use real instruments, we have tools including loops & samples...

theres a lot under the hood so to speak

nuff said by me anyways

thanks for your views on this guys

dried turds only please please note I have ultra thin letter box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

As someone who is most definitely not a pro, and who came to music recording as a means to an end, and who still very much sees it as a means to an end, I just do not understand comments like that.

The stuff that gets talked about here is what recording is all about. Word clock, word length, dithering, sample rates etc. are all relevant towards getting good sounding recordings. This fact makes them relevant to both amateurs working at home (such as myself) as well as professional studio situations.

I think everyone here who has done any recording has experienced the feeling of the recording not living up to their expectations or more importantly the recording failing to deliver on the potential of the material being recorded. Any/all of the above mentioned factors can and do play a role. As for putting up a mix here, by all means do. Be grateful that someone can actually offer constructive advice on it. If the recording/mix isn't happening then there are plenty of people who know nothing about pro audio, but will give you feedback in the form of a generally non-plussed response. There is nothing worse than that when you know that the recording quality is hindering the potential of the music.

My personal goal is to produce the best quality recording I can with the gear I have, hence I joined this forum with the aim of learning from people who know more than I do. Whether they are "big shots" or not doesn't really matter, if they know more than you do, then you can learn something from them. What is more, they have graciously made themselves available to answer questions and offer general advice so that you can actually learn something from them.

I also only came to this recording lark relatively recently, and to be honest if someone says that it is too techy here, they obviously have made no effort to inform themselves. There is mountains of stuff available online explaining clearly the basics about all the stuff that is discussed here, go research it. If you think this place is bad you should check out some of the other forums out there. Also, complaining about a pro-audio/music production forum being too techy is like complaining about a cookery forum being too foody.

I can recommend that you read Bob Katz's Mastering Audio, though. I read it a couple of times in fact when I started with this recording lark. It is clearly written, thorough but never impenetrable. It has been the platform on which all of my learning has been based since then. I will no doubt end up rereading it a couple of times again at some stage.

Anyway, out of those of you who think it is too techy, how many of you have a question that you want answered? Firstly, have you read the sticky about starting recording, does that answer it? Have you read the manual that came with your software/hardware. They are generally quite well written and explain stuff in a straight forward way. If you still haven't found the answers, then shoot. I have never seen anyone ridiculed or ignored for asking a genuine question.

As someone who is most definitely not a pro, and who came to music recording as a means to an end, and who still very much sees it as a means to an end, I just do not understand comments like that.

The stuff that gets talked about here is what recording is all about. Word clock, word length, dithering, sample rates etc. are all relevant towards getting good sounding recordings. This fact makes them relevant to both amateurs working at home (such as myself) as well as professional studio situations.

I think everyone here who has done any recording has experienced the feeling of the recording not living up to their expectations or more importantly the recording failing to deliver on the potential of the material being recorded. Any/all of the above mentioned factors can and do play a role.

My personal goal is to produce the best quality recording I can with the gear I have, hence I joined this forum with the aim of learning from people who know more than I do. Whether they are "big shots" or not doesn't really matter, if they know more than you do, then you can learn something from them. What is more, they have graciously made themselves available to answer questions and offer general advice so that you can actually learn something from them.

I also only came to this recording lark relatively recently, and to be honest if someone says that it is too techy here, they obviously have made no effort to inform themselves. There is mountains of stuff available online explaining clearly the basics about all the stuff that is discussed here, go research it. If you think this place is bad you should check out some of the other forums out there. Also, complaining about a pro-audio/music production forum being too techy is like complaining about a cookery forum being too foody.

I can recommend that you read Bob Katz's Mastering Audio, though. I read it a couple of times in fact when I started with this recording lark. It is clearly written, thorough but never impenetrable. It has been the platform on which all of my learning has been based since then. I will no doubt end up rereading it a couple of times again at some stage.

Anyway, out of those of you who think it is too techy, how many of you have a question that you want answered? Firstly, have you read the sticky about starting recording, does that answer it? Have you read the manual that came with your software/hardware. They are generally quite well written and explain stuff in a straight forward way. If you still haven't found the answers, then shoot. I have never seen anyone ridiculed or ignored for asking a genuine question.

Indeed ...

Leaving the tech thing aside for a while. I believe it's all about the song, or the music... If the song is no good any amount of mixing etc is not going to make it good. I had a guy come in to me the other day to stick a few songs down as demos before going to record proper, just him and an acoustic gtr. Really just to choose the tracks.
    One song he did just floored me, the thing here being that it was already so strong emotionally the performance just came easily. Bloody thing could nearly sing itself.
    Then a few days later I got talking to some old boy in a pub, who sings a few ballads now and again. He told me that he hasn't got a great voice but his strength is in the songs he chooses to sing. I had to agree.
    I've seen guys coming in with the best of instruments and sound terrible and vice versa. If it's not right going in the pointy end then it's never going to be right.

. If it's not right going in the pointy end then it's never going to be right.

And if the pointy end ain't pointy she'll get lost there too ...

thats right crap in = crap out

pointy end Im ok with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

I'm the total opposite of professional - in fact, I'd barely consider myself a novice. And my 'studio' flooded last week; so now I have pretty much no gear. So I'm probably not even a novice. But recording music is fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

You're just keepin it real ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭ogy

ive posted up mp3s and got some great advice off the lads, brought several issues to light, must finish mixing those tunes actually (a year after they were recorded:))