Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steer clear? Not rly

• 27-06-2008 01:10PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Does anyone else hate steer clear as much as me?
    **** > Steer clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

I haven't heard of them. That's probably a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭JaneyMc

Ah they're not that bad, my bro listens to a lot of them which can be irratating. I hate the way bands who are not from America use that whiney american voice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭andgoodbye

JaneyMc wrote: »
    Ah they're not that bad, my bro listens to a lot of them which can be irratating. I hate the way bands who are not from America use that whiney american voice though.
    Thank you!
    :p
    They suck ass.
    I hate them, they irritate me, loads of my mates are obsessed with them.
    Grrr.
    *anger*

andgoodbye wrote: »
    Thank you!
    :p
    They suck ass.
    I hate them, they irritate me, loads of my mates are obsessed with them.
    Grrr.
    *anger*

They seem to be nice lads, just I find that them coming from Northern Ireland and singing in those accents pulls out any of the goodness in thier songs. Your mans quite hot though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

best northern irish band on the road at the moment is fighting with wire.

had the honour seeing them supporting biffy clyro and was amazed. rarely does a support act dint my excitement for seeing the main act but these guys did.

Cremo wrote: »
    best northern irish band on the road at the moment is fighting with wire.

had the honour seeing them supporting biffy clyro and was amazed. rarely does a support act dint my excitement for seeing the main act but these guys did.

When did they support Biffy?

ahh back in biffy's golden years, ahh no it was about 3-4 years ago.

Your mans quite hot though :p
    Who, pod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

ahh back in biffy's golden years, ahh no it was about 3-4 years ago.

whelans 200..4 i think? great gig, i was surprised to see fighting with wire on mtv2 a few weeks back, heard they got signed to some label stateside. fair play to the boyos.

Who, pod?

I dunno...! I don't know their names!!!

Pod's the lead singer.
    The amount of times I've met him, honestly.
    He just wanders around town handing out leaflets.
    I ritually eat them when he hands them to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Ah Steer Clear, not just a clever name. These are one of those "I-sing-about-my-crappy-life-coz-it-makes-me-seem-deep-and-interesting" bands.

My cousin got hooked on to these, and lo and behold she now speaks with an American accent.....like seriously like OMG! LOL! Etc.

I now realize why the older generation were so clueless about their younger counterparts. We don't get it! We think the music sucks, the fashion sense is just headscratchingly awful and the hairstyles.....oh jebus the hairstyles (I'm talking in particular to those mullet-with-spikes-at-front-with-fringe 'things' WHAT THE UNHOLY RANCID-FLUTE are they!).

Sorry, back on topic. Steer Clear. If you like the other bands that fall under emo heavens to Betsy you will like this bunch of annoying whiny maggots.

/rant.

chin_grin wrote: »

I now realize why the older generation were so clueless about their younger counterparts. We don't get it! We think the music sucks, the fashion sense is just headscratchingly awful and the hairstyles.....oh jebus the hairstyles (I'm talking in particular to those mullet-with-spikes-at-front-with-fringe 'things' WHAT THE UNHOLY RANCID-FLUTE are they!).

/rant.

The mullet thing is not only falling to the emo's though. I was walking through town the other day and saw a chav couple with matching mullets, her's was a lil bit longer. Matching highlights too. Oh how I laughed.

My brother is what you would call an emo, as are the majority of his mates and they all love steer clear. By only problem with them is that I hate bands that don't sing in their own accents :confused: I might even find thier music ok if they did this. To be honest I reckon Steer Cllear will be a band you will hear more of in the future.

To be honest I reckon Steer Cllear will be a band you will hear more of in the future.
    Dear god no!
    I've heard too much already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

They seem like nice guys.
    I like them, it's just the fanbase that is off putting I think.

They suck!
    Gayness in a aband.

they're stalking me on here, just got a myspace request from them :p

LOL
    Sad bastards.
    Deny!
    Deny!
    Deny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Joe_Dull

Does anyone else hate steer clear as much as me?
    **** > Steer clear

Depends on how much you hate them - saw them supporting Paramore, utter emo sh1te.

Joe_Dull wrote: »
    Depends on how much you hate them - saw them supporting Paramore, utter emo sh1te.
    They sound like ALL the other irish indie-styled bands. There's a whole hape o them around:
    Homestarrunner (They are ok, their drummer is above average, but they stole the name of the greatest e-toon ever)
    YouMeAtSix
    They all suck tbh.

They sound like ALL the other irish indie-styled bands. There's a whole hape o them around:
    Homestarrunner (They are ok, their drummer is above average, but they stole the name of the greatest e-toon ever)
    YouMeAtSix
    They all suck tbh.

You think Homestar runner suck? Do you listen to music with socks in your ears?

I'd pick them over Steer Clear anyday.

You think Homestar runner suck? Do you listen to music with socks in your ears?

I'd pick them over Steer Clear anyday.
    Lol.
    I have been known to put socks in my ears...
    No, they're better than the rest, but still not very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ste-ven

Hold on a second here people. Steer Clear are one of the hardest working bands in Ireland at the minute. All they do is focus on their band these days. The lead singer p0d does be on myspace for 12 hours a day talking to the fans when the band arn't jamming. And when they have a gig coming up the lads do be in the area promoting it for hours on end. The music is really good aswell if you dont like it then stop complaining and get out there and write something that you like. As long as their happy playing what they play then what difference does it make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

That Lock in thing that they did was pretty amazing. They were locked away for 7 days with a web stream thing. They are dedicated to the music and fans.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

ste-ven wrote: »
    Hold on a second here people. Steer Clear are one of the hardest working bands in Ireland at the minute. All they do is focus on their band these days. The lead singer p0d does be on myspace for 12 hours a day talking to the fans when the band arn't jamming. And when they have a gig coming up the lads do be in the area promoting it for hours on end. The music is really good aswell if you dont like it then stop complaining and get out there and write something that you like. As long as their happy playing what they play then what difference does it make.

So ****ing what if he's on myspace it's not about replying to ****ing messages on the internet or handoing out flyers. And no their music is not really good aswell.
    Go listen to a real band and learn some proper grammar while you're at it.

That Lock in thing that they did was pretty amazing. They were locked away for 7 days with a web stream thing. They are dedicated to the music and fans.

Yeah that was pretty savage.

lordgoat wrote: »
    So ****ing what if he's on myspace it's not about replying to ****ing messages on the internet or handoing out flyers. And no their music is not really good aswell.

To be fair you don't hear of any other band going out and doing any of this which shows their dedicated. Also lots of their fans have set up street teams themselves and go around telling people about them so they must be doing something right. At the end of the day writing music and being in a band is about hearing peoples responses to it, the good and the bad. But getting out there and having a crowd sing along to your lyrics is the best feeling ever.

Like I said before people bitching about them isn't going to change the fact that they're good at what they do. Go out and write a song for yourself and see if you can do better. Then I will be happy to listen to your arguement.

To be fair you don't hear of any other band going out and doing any of this which shows their dedicated. Also lots of their fans have set up street teams themselves and go around telling people about them so they must be doing something right. At the end of the day writing music and being in a band is about hearing peoples responses to it, the good and the bad. But getting out there and having a crowd sing along to your lyrics is the best feeling ever.

Like I said before people bitching about them isn't going to change the fact that they're good at what they do. Go out and write a song for yourself and see if you can do better. Then I will be happy to listen to your arguement.

This whole mentality of you can't say thier crap because you cant/don't do any better is rubbish.
    Nobody here said they were better than Steer Clear. Nobody said they could write better songs. Nobody is disputing the fact that they are dedicated to their music and fans.
    This forum is here for opinions on music, and just because someone does not like a band that you like, theres hardly a point in you basically telling them to shut up is there?

At the end of the day writing music and being in a band is about hearing peoples responses to it

Practice what you preach and let people have thier responses and accept them instead of giving out yards when a person has a different view to yours.

Mr.S wrote: »
    fair play to what their doing, they have supported a good few top acts, i just dont like em, very bland and boring stuff.

This is what I was getting at. You might not like them but you have a bit of respect for what they are trying to do.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

This is what I was getting at. You might not like them but you have a bit of respect for what they are trying to do.

Respect is earned, not just dished out with myspace comments. You have to deal with the fact that alot of people on here think they are a **** band.And their music backs up that fact. Regardless of whatever cool gimmicks they might have.