Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highly paid people do they deserve it?

• 26-06-2008 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭

There is a lot of talk about high powered people getting paid a lot of money. I am just wondering how people feel about it here. Lets not include actors and sports people as that is a very particular group. Focus on people that just through their normal work became very well paid. So inheritance of a company or assets is out too. So you have people who through their own work became highly paid.

So do people really deserve 6 million a year or even say 120k a year? Is there work that much harder than yours? Do you think you work harder for less?

Do the highly paid workers deserve it? 72 votes

Yes why they are the elite
    0%
    No, I work just as hard
    52%
    tHE vAGGABONDLuciferMossy MonkAngryBadgerChad ghostalSpossjesus_thats_greDiddy KonghardCopyjebuzShinyHungryJoeymikemacTomCoKnifeWRENCHCutie18IrelandNewaglishOctavarIanbikoRowley Birkin QC 38 votes
    I am one of them
    47%
    red_icetony 2 tonegurramokRedrocketCathyMoran445279.ieNightwishmdebetswiredup6thstepbarwaterford mmakeithkk16KovikShrykegalwayrushafatbollixVertigo100coadyaibby 34 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

It depends on what job they have,..If they do a lot of work and get paid a lot..They deserve it ..Thats my €0.02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

mama always said, there's only so much fortune a man really needs and the rest is just for showin off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I am one of them
    Some deserve it, others make such a cock up of what they do but are still rewarded for it, eg, Health.They should be sacked and be forced to give back all their earnings .:pac: In many other countries they would be either in prison or shot.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

I am one of them
    poll options are ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I am one of them
    Sam Vimes wrote: »
    mama always said, there's only so much fortune a man really needs and the rest is just for showin off

+1 tbh.

Enough is all you need. Too little makes you bitter, too much makes you a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

you're just gonna get a bunch of poor begrudgers moaning in this thread op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Abigayle wrote: »
    +1 tbh.

Enough is all you need. Too little makes you bitter, too much makes you a prick.
    indeed. The wisdom of forrest gump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

i find it very hard to imagine there is anyone working in this country that deserves over 100, maybe 150k,including (no especially!) politicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

No, I work just as hard
    I voted yes on the grounds that they are very good at a job very few people can do and their job contributes a lot to their company/society.

Obviously, if they're not very good at what they do, or doing a job that most people can do (except there's a temporary shortage of competition or increase of demand), or their job is a redundant civil service job that adds nothing but bureaucracy, then they deserve sfa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Footballers - no
    Doctors - yes
    Actors - no
    etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

THe simple fact is they are worth more to their employers than the wages they get paid. Mad as it seems, the Yankees are paying Alex Rodriguez $300M over the next 10 years, but his value in terms of TV and merchandise far exceeds this, so in a bizarre way they do deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Bloody communists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Atari Jaguar FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

I think that people working in the private sector deserve exactly what they're paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I am one of them
    The CEO's of our retail banks don't that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭watsgone

galwayrush wrote: »
    Some deserve it, others make such a cock up of what they do but are still rewarded for it, eg, Health.They should be sacked and be forced to give back all their earnings .:pac: In many other countries they would be either in prison or shot.:D

Ditto that remark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

How much was Harney getting paid every year?

Certainly enough to keep herself well fed!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Read once that shortly after birth the infant Ralph Waldo Herst was making $55,000 USD a month off his investment portfolio. I bet that baby was making wise investment decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I am considerably richer than yew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

i do....end of :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The CEO of the last company I worked for got a 6.2 million bonus for company performance.
    I got maybe 2 grand before tax, half a dozen free lunches and a free piss-up.
    The Polish and other foreign workers got nothing, were charged more for their lunches and were generally laid off to avoid giving them a proper contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

I am one of them
    Your missing the 'i work a million times harder' post. Sure its my job to do so. But when certain people abuse the system.. such as the HSC in such a way that it sucks up a departments budget, forcing the department to downsize.

People were let go where i work because one of the higher level chaps would come in on a monday, 'work' till 11, then have to take tuesday off because oc health says so, come in tuesday night 'work' 6 till 3 am (watch movies and eat take out) and repeat this untill friday... which of course was a no show.

a 70k a year job becomes 140k a year and guess what.. he cant get fired.

So no, i dont think that people higher up should get more pay. I think the job should be paid based on merrit and how rooted they are in the company. If they do their job and put the work in, they deserve it.. otherwise if they sit on their fat arse and do nothing.. they dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

It's not how much anyone deserves; labour is a commodity, and if yours is in high demand with a low supply (e.g. surgeon) it'll be valuable; if not, it won't be. Saying people don't deserve it is like saying gold shouldn't be worth more than air.

i agree, but the post title was: "Highly paid people do they deserve it?"

For some, the high pay comes from high responsibility..

example 1. a missed penalty can relegate his team, thus losing the team & sponsors etc millions in lost revenue.

example 2, a bad decision can make the difference between a company surviving or going bust and losing hundreds their jobs.

example 3 a surgeon "cuts it out" by mistake, the patient dies!

I've deliberately not mentioned politicians as they have a differend agenda than just money(disclaimer some just want the money- usually in brown enveolopes), it's power and influance that drive them.

It's also true that there are many that have responsibility that are not being sufficiently paid.

It's very subjective! (that would be an ecumenical matter!)

The worst most of them have to fear is being fired. When you earn enough in a year to live comfortably for a lifetime the only motivation is greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

No some people are paid ridiculous amounts of money.

Look at how much excess cash is sitting in people's accounts throughout the world that will never be used no matter how many generations it is passed on to. That just shows that people are paid much more than they can possibly ever spend.

To think of what could be done with that money for the more unfortunate people of this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Holsten wrote: »
    Footballers - no
    Doctors - yes
    Actors - no
    etc....

I agree, but I think we should pay doctors peanuts also. Just to keep them on their toes. /shakes fist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Your poll is very generalised ..... Some deserve it, some don't. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I am one of them
    6th works hard, very hard. In fact 6th works alot harder than his boss who he can only imagine takes home more bread at the end of the day. Do the right thing boss, give me more money!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

We should go back to the barter system, let's see where Alex Rodriquez would stash $300 million worth of pigs and wheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

FunkZ doesn't work with a great deal of intensity but FunkZ admits it and that's his job. FunkZ wants a new job around the Drogheda area to keep FunkZ ticking overr till college starts back in late September, FunkZ needs a car and a place to stay in Dundalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭RealEstateKing

I am one of them
    Up to a point it's fair, it is a free market after all: Of course a doctor should get paid more than a toilet cleaner etc, etc.

However there are times when it's just ridiculous. One hedge fund manager in New York got paid in one year what all of New York City's 18,000 High School teachers put together got paid in 3 years!

Capitalism works a little like a game of Monopoly, up to a point one player is winning because they are rolling better dice and making better decisions than you, towards the end of the game, when they have all the decent property, it reaches a tipping point where you cannot but lose as you are handing cash over to them at every turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

If you can find someone willing to pay you vast amounts of money. Then you deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

If you are pulling in huge amounts of revenue for your employer then yes, of course you deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

6th wrote: »
    6th works hard, very hard. In fact 6th works alot harder than his boss who he can only imagine takes home more bread at the end of the day. Do the right thing boss, give 6th more money!
    fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I am one of them
    Does a labourer who toils the land day in day out doing back breaking work deserve more pay than a high flying executive who sits on his ass in boardrooms all day?

I am one of them
    Does a labourer who toils the land day in day out doing back breaking work deserve more pay than a high flying executive who sits on his ass in boardrooms all day?

Morally, quite possibly he does. Problem is, anybody with arms and legs can be a laborer, only a person with a rarefied skill can run a company.

Thats why they get paid more.

Its a pyramid: for every 1 CEO of a company there are thousands of people working for him, if you paid every one of those as much as a CEO gets, there wouldnt be enough money to go around.

Thats not to say that this isnt abused: CEOs and executives are cleverer than us regular people and they know how to work the system to get more cash out of it, so they get paid more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

No, I work just as hard
    Kipperhell wrote: »
    So do people really deserve 6 million a year or even say 120k a year? Is there work that much harder than yours? Do you think you work harder for less?
    You forgot about responsibility. Most of those people are responsible for many workers, lots of money etc.. Of course they deserve it.

Or they created those companies from zero and they own them. So why shouldn't they make money on their own creations?

I am one of them
    Of course they deserve it.

Up to a point yes.

But you do realise that the last 30 years have seen the income gap between these people and everybody else grow to levels not seen since the 19th Century?

The levels of income disparity have become truly feudal. We have now reached a point where, that bastion of the middle-class, the teacher, can no longer afford to buy a house.

Capitalism, when left to itself, will distribute income fairly according to ability and responsibility, up to a point. Beyond that point it become a winner-takes-all game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

No, I work just as hard
    Up to a point yes.

But you do realise that the last 30 years have seen the income gap between these people and everybody else grow to levels not seen since the 19th Century?

The levels of income disparity have become truly feudal. We have now reached a point where, that bastion of the middle-class, the teacher, can no longer afford to buy a house.

Capitalism, when left to itself, will distribute income fairly according to ability and responsibility, up to a point. Beyond that point it become a winner-takes-all game.
    Estate agencies are pumping prices up to the level when you can buy two houses in warm Spain for a price of small apartment somewhere in the Irish suburbs, food companies are selling **** that makes you only fat for price of best quality food in continental Europe etc... That makes that those teachers have to spend more money on daily life and at the same time prices of real estates are growing. I think that process will be stopped itself. Every too inflated balloon will crack..

The good thing about rich people is the fact that spending lots of money on travels, cars, houses, clothes etc.. they're giving lots of jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 whiskey&rum

Sam Vimes wrote: »

Fcukin Plonker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Like most other's have said - Yes and no.

I can't see how some CEO's salaries can be justified but, for example, I'd expect to be paid more in my position as a business systems consultant than if I was working as a barman or labouring on a building site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Kovik

I am one of them
    There's no such thing as a meritocracy. Wages are determined by supply and demand in relation to skills or training. While you can certainly increase your fortune by being very good at what you do, wage determination in general is determined by market forces rather than work ethic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Kovik

I am one of them
    Sleepy wrote: »
    Like most other's have said - Yes and no.

I can't see how some CEO's salaries can be justified but, for example, I'd expect to be paid more in my position as a business systems consultant than if I was working as a barman or labouring on a building site.
    The salaries of most CEOs tend not to account for much of their overall fortune. Assets account for the overwhelming majority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

No, I work just as hard
    Kipperhell wrote: »
    Lets not include actors and sports people as that is a very particular group.

Out of curiousity what's so special about this group that they're being excluded?

CSG reckons she derserves her pay as sometimes her job is really ****ing hard and sometimes it is easy enough to do. Yesterday she earned her money big time and since another person has been cut from her team she will be working god damn hard for it for the next while but she thanks herself for flexitime :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Out of curiousity what's so special about this group that they're being excluded?

They get paid exorbitant amounts for not very difficult work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

EM, i think the existance of this thread makes me remember a post i seen somewhere about "Ireland, being a nation of begrudgers" indeed the lovely Rosanna Davidson said it also.

Footballers is where i kinda wonder. How can one man who only kicks a ffotball be "sold" for 30 million or whatever.. I'm valueable - give it to me! :D

As for everyone else- sure why not... hope im one of the over paid soon :D