Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars you think are classy

• 26-06-2008 8:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

Something trivial for you to think about.

You know, cars that you think are stylish and cool even though they may not be worth a lot.

I'll start...

All previous generation Saab 9-3's and 900's

To me they are classless, ageless, stylish and cool.

You could be a millionaire or a pauper and still drive one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 niallo1

Hear hear ... I'll second that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I love the old SAAB 900 Turbos, proper Saab

Also the old Hart to Hart Mercedes 450SL

There are many more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Mercedes%20124%20Coupe%20Side%20Front%20Grey%20AMG%20Style%2018%20Eibach%20Springs%20and%20Clear%20Blinkers%20View.jpg

80_cabrio.jpg

peugeot-406c-s-a.jpg

_SW900Aero1920px.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

E34 BMW's get my vote. A car launched in 1988, 20 years later it still looks sharp and fantastically proportioned, one of BMW's best ever efforts.

03_e34.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Peasant - I would agree on all but the 406.

Don't get me wrong - its probably one of the best looking mass produced cars ever and is a really nice drive too, but is it classy and timeless ?

I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

RobAMerc wrote: »
    ...the 406....is it classy and timeless ?

It's still a bit fresh, at the moment it's just getting "old" but it might still make the step up to classy. Time will tell, I guess.

peasant wrote: »
    It's still a bit fresh, at the moment it's just getting "old" but it might still make the step up to classy. Time will tell, I guess.

you know I think your right - its just too new yet

not that it really matters, this is purely perception after all.
    most people would just look at the reg plate and decide !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭shanel23

MK1 Golf Gti in black

Merc 190E - 2.3 version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Ferris

Great thread:

front6.jpg

media?id=732078891

media?id=733325681

media?id=720288821

media?id=728617247

Could do this all day - seriously.

shanel23 wrote: »
    MK1 Golf Gti in black

Merc 190E - 2.3 version

Image:XJ6_S2_1980.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Early '80s Saab 900 Turbo is the biz alright. Classy yet not oestentatious.
    Peasant - I would agree on all but the 406.
    Don't get me wrong - its probably one of the best looking mass produced cars ever and is a really nice drive too, but is it classy and timeless ?
    I'm not sure.

I see your 406 Coupe and raise you...

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Other/Other/Peugeot-504/963117/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Any car NOT owned by a footballer or a rapper.

My short list would include:

800px-Saab-900-3door.jpg

&

800px-Volvo_740_GL.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

pburns wrote: »
    Early '80s Saab 900 Turbo is the biz alright. Classy yet not oestentatious.

I see your 406 Coupe and raise you...

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Other/Other/Peugeot-504/963117/

this is my pick too

Forgot these:

TR6
    300141.jpg

Or this Giulia Sprint GT:

290323.jpg

You could pull up to anywhere in either of these cars and look the biz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 DOBBER22

Mitsubishi FTO it was a fantastic looking car when launched and still looks modern today 14 years later.

mitsubishi_fto_2.jpg

DOBBER22 wrote: »
    Mitsubishi FTO it was a fantastic looking car when launched and still looks modern today 14 years later.

mitsubishi_fto_2.jpg

I have got to disagree here - it might still look fresh but this never looked classey, and today they have a shocking scanger image imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭dos30

VW Corrado

How do you display images??:(

vwcorradovr6tx6.jpg

Got it:D

I have got to disagree here - it might still look fresh but this never looked classey, and today they have a shocking scanger image imo.

Not if left totally original the car has a bit of a cult following among the boy racer lads who just love to make nice looking cars look awful with oversized body kits shocking alloy wheels and even stickers :eek: but an original one in mint condition looks really well and the 2.0L Mivec drives excellently :)

and they've a fat arse.

dos30 wrote: »
    VW Corrado

How do you display images??:(

Excellent choice the Corrado looks great another car that has aged really well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

An FTO is a lot of things but it's not classy. It's the Jeremy Clarkson test - if you pulled up outside Kristin Scott Thomas' house in an FTO there is no way she'd go out with you!

Timeless and classy cars:

std_1971_mercedes_benz_280se_3,5_coup-silver-_fvr-stitched-max-.jpg
    dino_left.jpg
    1966_Aston_Martin_DB6.jpg
    normal_7_e38_02.jpg
    (better in a dark colour)

Ahh so many great cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Citroen DS and the Jensen Interceptor still look fantastic.

DS

Jensen

Ferris wrote: »

and they've a fat arse.

Nothin wrong with a nice booty :D

DOBBER22 wrote: »
    Nothin wrong with a nice booty :D

Built for comfort, not for speed and all that:). Just not on a car.

Mustang GT Fastback

Cimg1802.jpg
    Cimg1787.jpg
    Cimg1748.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

2018809042_0ca58f07ef.jpg

Mike.

I think we are spilling over into classics now.

What about the stuff that though perceived as junk because they ain't 08 reg still are admired by you for some reason.

Opel GT Coupe

gt70_ulko2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭tc20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'm surprised nobody mentioned the Porsche 993 already:
    471152006174447A.jpg

Also BMW 6 Series (E24):
    e24alpina_01.jpg

Fiat Barchetta:
    fc_barchetta_front.jpg

Alfa Romeo GT:
    Alfa%20Romeo-Arnage-0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

saab 9000's are classy... basically all bmws aswell ( except for e30 onwardss 3 serise.... terrable looking :( )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Oh baby, that 6 series is the muts nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

Think most of these are affordable at this stage:

Prev XC70
    Volvo-XC70-2.jpg

Old C70 - coupe only. When these came out first I thought they looked amazing. By all means, a terrible car, but I still love how they look.
    volvo-c70-coupe-2-0-t-20v-1.jpg

Volvo 945 - classless
    volvo940.jpg

Merc W124 Convertible - classless
    MERC03.JPG

Mini - in this order - none of the stripes and all that bs please. Talking Paddy Hopkirk spec! classless
    mini.jpg

Subaru Forester: a v-sign to the stylists.. classless
    2006subaruforester_mainpic.jpg

Alfa Romeo GTV6
    1974alfaAlfettaGT.jpg

Honda NSX.. well I got carried away.
    Honda%20NSX.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

+1 for the Citroen DS

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:1974_Citroen_DS23_Pallas.jpg

I love the Traction Avant aussi.

180689486_1abc8f8112_o.jpg

180521965_a67cddbe63_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Audi 100 Coupe
    Audi_100_Coupe.JPG

Fiat 130 Coupe (a poor man's Aston Martin Lagonda)
    Fiat-130-Coupe-RRH-100R-001.jpg

Lancia Beta Monte Carlo, HPE and regular coupe (never mind the rust - look at the flair!)
    2204052106.jpg
    CoupeHpe.jpg

and, not a coupe...

I'm not a big BMW fan, but their E30 Tourings are very classy
    E30withMimsalloys_Crop2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Toon--soldier

Lancia-Stratos-HF-Group-4-'.jpg

Perfection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

i've always had a soft spot for a 306 convertible....nice to see a lady behind the wheel on one....

peugeot306cabriolet.jpg

Volvo P1800 is another one...
    p1800-v8.jpg

Range Rover will always be classiest of the class..

c-range_rover.03.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

1970~Karman~Ghia.jpg

1965_Mercedes_230_SL_bronze_f3q.JPG

mmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭skibum

MK1 Golf GTI
    MK2 Golf GTI
    Corrado

Recently was taken for a spin in this car:

If I had the money and some where to hide it from the missus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Land Rover Defender:
    800px-White_Land_Rover_Defender_Side.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Opel Calibra:

calibra_w500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

At the end of the day, feck all the shítty Euro-boxes, this is a car for real men:

2736_3.JPG

'68 Shelby GT500. Oh Yes! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Rippy

Classy , smooth, under 10k for a good un!
    503599_20071115101111_2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

A nice highline Passat from 04-05 in the right colour. Lovely shape and just effortlessly classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

geoff29 wrote: »
    Volvo 945 - classless
    volvo940.jpg

That's the 940 right?, My dads still looks identical to that still! I'd take it off his hands too if the fuel consumption wasn't an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

maidhc wrote: »
    Land Rover Defender:
    800px-White_Land_Rover_Defender_Side.JPG
    +1 although im biased
    any morgan or caterham
    citroen H-van
    merc G-wagon
    citroen 2cv
    peugeot 205 1.9 gti or 1.3 rallye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Gatster

Great thread -