Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Galvin ban upheld by the CHC

• 24-06-2008 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭

Since the other thread was locked. . .
    Paul Galvin's 24-week ban has been upheld by the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) after his confrontation with match referee Paddy Russell during the county's Munster championship win over Clare.

The CHC imposed the suspension on the Kerry captain from June 15th and "relates to a category four offence and includes an eight week suspension for a category two offence which runs concurrently".

Galvin was contesting a recommendation from the Central Competitions Control Committee.

Should Galvin choose to take the matter further he will need to go in front the Central Appeals Committee.

Meanwhile the GAA confirmed today that the first teams out of the hat in Sunday's draw for the first round of the All-Ireland football qualifiers will play at home providing the grounds meets all safety requirements.

No doubt it will now go to the CAC, and if that's not a favourable outcome, off to the DRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

It's a bit funny having all these Commi-Tees - CHC, CAC, DRA in the GAA. I'm sure Christy could write a song about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

Justice has been done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The more and more i look at the incident, the more i'm of the opinion that he accidently knocked the book from the referee's hand. He was flailing his arms about in protest and just happened to catch the ref's black book with this hand. He was being fouled and goaded all day by his marker and the ref's decision to give him the first yellow card was ridiculous, especially when he was the one being fouled. So one cannot really blame him for losing the rag when he sees himself being booked, and in his protests, his waving arms accidently knock the book from the refs hands. I'm afraid its a case of his reputation preceeding him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Unfortunately for Galvin his prior reputation may have worked against him. But even with a 3 month ban he would still be out until late September which would rule him out of the championship anyway, so he has little or no chance of playing for Kerry this year (no way it'll be overturned completely unless on some ridiculous technicality).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Justice has been done.
    How?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

grenache wrote: »
    The more and more i look at the incident, the more i'm of the opinion that he accidently knocked the book from the referee's hand. He was flailing his arms about in protest and just happened to catch the ref's black book with this hand. He was being fouled and goaded all day by his marker and the ref's decision to give him the first yellow card was ridiculous, especially when he was the one being fouled. So one cannot really blame him for losing the rag when he sees himself being booked, and in his protests, his waving arms accidently knock the book from the refs hands. I'm afraid its a case of his reputation preceeding him.

LOL, yep it was an accident! :D

Paul Galvin being fouled and goaded makes a change, its usually the other way round. He could give it but he couldn't take it and he lost the rag, but he lost it with the worst person he could have. As John Mullane said (and did) a couple of years ago, "if you do the crime, do the time".

Zzippy wrote: »
    He could give it but he couldn't take it and he lost the rag.

Ah I don't think if it's a case of he couldn't take it. Every player that gives a bit of that i.e. pulling jerseys/holding you back, are always going to try and point it out to officials if it's happening to them! The ridiculous thing here was that Galvin was the one pointing it out and the stupid decision was made to book both. If anything it show's that the linesman was influenced by a players actions towards him,which doesn't say a lot for him in his position, and then he proceeded to make the wrong decision!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Zzippy wrote: »
    LOL, yep it was an accident! :D

Paul Galvin being fouled and goaded makes a change, its usually the other way round. He could give it but he couldn't take it and he lost the rag, but he lost it with the worst person he could have. As John Mullane said (and did) a couple of years ago, "if you do the crime, do the time".
    i challenge you to look at the incident again on youtube, with an open mind. And then tell me that he actually ment to knock the book from the ref's grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

grenache wrote: »
    i challenge you to look at the incident again on youtube, with an open mind. And then tell me that he actually ment to knock the book from the ref's grip.

I think it's fairly obvious he did knock it out of his hand on purpose. In saying that, I think a 6 month ban for what he done is preposterous and does not fit the crime. It's not like he actually hit the ref. A lot of screaming and a slap of a piece of paper...

Although from a Dublin perspective, I'll be glad he won't be there to play the Dubs this year!

I'd say his frustration is enhanced by the lack of clarity in the rules of the game and the fact that the refs don't know what to do half the time. The amount of times I see 2 players going for the ball fairly and the 1st player to fall gets a free regardless of whether it was a foul or not. Some refs constantly do this like they're on autopilot "Player falls = Free to him". And the amount of pulling and dragging. Actually I don't know why I bother watching it, it's such an ugly game...but I suppose that's a discussion for a different thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

If they changed the emphasis and put the onus on the player in possession of the ball to get rid of it rather than running into a group of players,falling,getting a free kick,scoring,they might go a long way to cutting out the pulling and dragging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Delighted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

He was lika a child at an under 8 match - ye might feel hard done by in Kerry but we've had plenty of this kind of heavy handedness in Clare over the years so TBH I could care less when it happens to other counties/ This will make Kerry less focussed on the game in hand and will cost them the All Ireland unless ye all just get over it and deal man.
    PS Galvin is no saint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Justice has been done.

Yeah locking the other thread was a good move:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Tomthepost wrote: »
    Yeah locking the other thread was a good move:D
    Tell me about it.

Such childish responses to the topic :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

I'm assuming that in the great scheme of things the DRA will bring the ban back to the 12 weeks people originally thought was harsh, a sort of GAA solution to a GAA problem.

It's apparent that there is a new wind blowing through the organisation. Maybe the new Chief Executive (whatever the title is, i forget) and the incoming President are having an effect behind the scenes in terms of a policy of getting tough. It stands to reason when you consider the International Rules is coming back and the GAA wish to be whiter than white.

As for attacks on refs, it's still happening, it happened in Tipp weekend before last.

I agree it will probably end up at being a 12 weeks ban.
    What kind of ban should Richie Bennis get for his attack on the ref after the game last Sunday?
    Are GAA getting revenge on the Kerry County Board for the poor decision they made a few years ago in not imposing a ban on Dara O Se after he was sent off in a county championship game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

There is no bias or vendetta against Kerry,the KCB or Galvin.That kind of conspiracy theory is dribble.Okay,he did wrong but 6 months is a bit much but it will be appealed.I can see the ban being reduced to 12 weeks myself.

However,I think match bans are the way to go now.I would have thought Galvin deserved a 6 competitive match ban.4-5 of which would have covered the remainder of the championship while he'd miss another game in the form of the Railway Cup perhaps.

blackbelt wrote: »
    There is no bias or vendetta against Kerry,the KCB or Galvin.That kind of conspiracy theory is dribble.Okay,he did wrong but 6 months is a bit much but it will be appealed.I can see the ban being reduced to 12 weeks myself.

However,I think match bans are the way to go now.I would have thought Galvin deserved a 6 competitive match ban.4-5 of which would have covered the remainder of the championship while he'd miss another game in the form of the Railway Cup perhaps.

Im only saying that I wouldn't blame HQ for holding a grudge because the Kerry County Board did make a very poor decision on the Dara incident.
    I agree with you that competitive match bans are the way to go.
    Given the Dublin players effectively only got one (Louth) whilst the Meath players got two (Carlow and Wexford) the time sentence is very flawed.
    In Galvins case 2 or 3 max would have been fair punishment.
    Sure Blackbelt you said orginally yourself he should only get one month:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭lanod2407

Can't go with the crowd here - he attacked a referee (stop - it's not relevant to say that no-one was hit or no bones were broken!) and had a go at the linesman after that - this type of activity has to be weeded out of the game.
    I enjoy watching a good strong physical game, but when it comes to what Galvin did the line has been crossed - 6 months must be upheld it the message is to get across to people up and down the country.

Im only saying that I wouldn't blame HQ for holding a grudge because the Kerry County Board did make a very poor decision on the Dara incident.
    I agree with you that competitive match bans are the way to go.
    Given the Dublin players effectively only got one (Louth) whilst the Meath players got two (Carlow and Wexford) the time sentence is very flawed.
    In Galvins case 2 or 3 max would have been fair punishment.
    Sure Blackbelt you said orginally yourself he should only get one month:D

Ah yes I did Tom but hindsight is a great thing.:D I looked at the incident a few times and do think now that one month would have been very soft.I think he should be allowed play at club level only and competitive match bans handed out at intercounty level.2 or 3 max would be soft as well.I think the rules for aggressive conduct to match officials should be very strict.In the Parnell Park fracas,it was the players having a "go" at each other pushing and shoving but in no way was the officials safety in jeopardy.The referees and officials are a different and more important proposition.They are responsible for the development and growth of the game and should never be confronted in an aggressive manner.If the GAA had the same discipline system as rugby,Galvin would have got around 2 years.

As for Meath and Dublin,Dublins players missed two competitive matches.The league final and Louth.Meath missed Carlow and Wexford.Given that Meath are pretty useless this year,the bans could not be blamed.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭dublinmadyoke

I am so so so happy! That will teach him & others, just cos you have a few all-Irelands under yer belts doesn't me jack ****! - Rules are rules. Rules are there for a reason-

Ah yes I did Tom but hindsight is a great thing.:

As for Meath and Dublin,Dublins players missed two competitive matches.The league final and Louth.Meath missed Carlow and Wexford.Given that Meath are pretty useless this year,the bans could not be blamed.:cool:

Careful now Blackbelt that Meath comment might come back to haunt you when ye meet in the qualifiers!
    Div 2 League Final 'competitive game'? Not in my book :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 blackhead

lanod2407 wrote: »
    Can't go with the crowd here - he attacked a referee (stop - it's not relevant to say that no-one was hit or no bones were broken!) and had a go at the linesman after that - this type of activity has to be weeded out of the game.
    I enjoy watching a good strong physical game, but when it comes to what Galvin did the line has been crossed - 6 months must be upheld it the message is to get across to people up and down the country.

Totally agree with all the above.
    More match bans, more harsh penalties and the game will stop it's thuggish reputation. I don't care WHAT was happening, Galvin shoudl not have responded, he was warned before he got the captancy and he has been reprimanded before but none of this has made any difference, if he cannot behave he should not play end of. Same goes for all the others, be they from Dublin, Meath, Armagh, Wexford, Mayo wherever.

I am so so so happy! That will teach him & others, just cos you have a few all-Irelands under yer belts doesn't me jack ****! - Rules are rules. Rules are there for a reason-

Thats the point my friend 'rule' = 3 month ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

This is not soccer where it seems players have free reign to chase after the referee when they don't get their way. GAA players should respect the match officials and learn to accept their punishment and not chase after the referee/linesman the way Galvin did. Soccer has become a farce with play-acting and talk- back. No need for GAA players to go that route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Boots09

FatherTed wrote: »
    This is not soccer where it seems players have free reign to chase after the referee when they don't get their way. GAA players should respect the match officials and learn to accept their punishment and not chase after the referee/linesman the way Galvin did. Soccer has become a farce with play-acting and talk- back. No need for GAA players to go that route.

Careful now Blackbelt that Meath comment might come back to haunt you when ye meet in the qualifiers!
    Div 2 League Final 'competitive game'? Not in my book :D

Meath-Dublin in the qualifiers????...What is this?Bizarro World?:D:D:D

I don't think the Division 1 League Final was competitive.Sure didn't Derry steamroll Kerry?:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Is it true that Paul Galvin broke a 17-year-old's jaw last year or in the past couple of years in a club game and it was kept quiet by the Kerry County Board because it would interfere with the county side?

I'm glad he's getting a good suspension. Not only because he's a thug of a player but because he deserves it. You try to intimidate the ref, the linesman or interfere with the ref, then you should do time. Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Joe McQuillan, I don't see this as any different.

he's a thug of a player

Explain how he's a thug?!

Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Joe McQuillan, I don't see this as any different.

Sorry but your somehow saying that there is no difference between a player pushing a ref and another knocking his notebook out of his hand!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I'm glad he's getting a good suspension. Not only because he's a thug of a player but because he deserves it. You try to intimidate the ref, the linesman or interfere with the ref, then you should do time. Brendan Devenney got six months for pushing Joe McQuillan, I don't see this as any different.
    UnitedIrishman,

In future, try not using words like that to describe players and you and I will get along just fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Sorry to say but the guy got what he was due. You can’t berate the ref and expect to get away with it never mind to knock the book out of the mans hand.
    A player from our team did the exact same thing and got 9 months.
    It’s a real problem in the GAA that every time a ref makes a decision he has to explain himself to every player on both teams through a haze of verbal abuse. At present the ref has to be shielded from this kind of treatment.

Although, The GAA should implement a system on a par to rugby, where by the captain can approach the ref and request clarification on a particular call. Thereby treating the players as adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

He appealed it again last night.......it will be interesting to see if it goes down to a 3 month ban..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The system is ridiculous in the way they can have all these appeals, going through all these different levels. After getting their card, they should have one hearing and that should be it. That one hearing should be regarded as the appeal after the referee's decision. If that group uphold his decision, then the ban should be applied. That should be the end of it. There will be no respect for referees if there is a multiple appeal process through which they can eventually get off. If they had one hearing only, they'd think a bit before committing the initial act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Nope, his latest appeal has failed, proper order.
    I was digusted to hear the mayor of Tralee raising it a council meeting the other night, gob****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

GalwayDub2 wrote: »
    He appealed it again last night.......it will be interesting to see if it goes down to a 3 month ban..:rolleyes:
    Oh ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

ha, finally watched it.

Wow. I seriosuly cannot believe how anyone can defend him. I don't know the lead up to it but wow, could he have thrown any more toys out?

The initial reaction alone was worth a red card but afterwards warrents the banning imo. You can see from his body language that it was intentional imo. he even pushes away a teammate.

all imo of course.

I think he had it coming to him.If you watch Galvin in high profile matches,he's very good/lucky to get away with off the ball incidents such as sly thumps and leaving his leg out to kick an opponent.

Then he goes and blatantly gets himself banned for 6 months with his behaviour.There was only ever going to be one loser in that scenario.He should have walked off and then he would have been able to start against Cork.

Well done Galvin,you've finally outdone yourself this time.:D

I think he had it coming to him.If you watch Galvin in high profile matches,he's very good/lucky to get away with off the ball incidents such as sly thumps and leaving his leg out to kick an opponent.

Then he goes and blatantly gets himself banned for 6 months with his behaviour.There was only ever going to be one loser in that scenario.He should have walked off and then he would have been able to start against Cork.

Well done Galvin,you've finally outdone yourself this time.:D

Oh I can't wait when Mattie scores that winning point in the Leinster final:D:D:D

Flukey wrote: »
    . After getting their card, they should have one hearing and that should be it. .

Remember please he actually got two cards but they were both yellow.

HA,Mattie Forde....great player but did you notice Tom that it was Redmond Barry,Banville and Lyng that were the real inspirational players against Laois.

I can't wait for Cussen to score a goal on the 69th minute against Kerry and then Masters puts over the insurance point 3 mins into injury time to leave Cork 2 point winners.:D:D:D:p

Remember please he actually got two cards but they were both yellow.

The card should have been a straight red but Paddy Russell bottled it.Anyway,the referee's report was the deciding factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭63587614

Sorry to burst your bubbles boys but this will only 'GALVINIZE' the Kerry team further to go and dominate the championship for and 3 yrs.

Oh and Cork beating Kerry, do I need to ans that really.

We will all see the true might of the Kerry panel,let it be know we will be without 3 All starrs for the Munster final, Galvin suspended, Dec o'Sullivan injured, Dara o' Se injured.

I can't wait for it.

Wow thats original..."Galvinise".:rolleyes::D

It might just Galvinise the demise of Kerry...well one can hope.;)

Don't really think Kerry have anything to worry about against Cork.They are dreadful this year.Had Kerry been in the same scenario last year with those three out I think Cork would have beaten them but the strike and new management has pushed Cork down the pecking order and the reason they'll get through to the last 8 will be the relative ease of playing in a 2 horse raced province.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

kaimera wrote: »
    ha, finally watched it.

Wow. I seriosuly cannot believe how anyone can defend him. I don't know the lead up to it but wow, could he have thrown any more toys out?

The initial reaction alone was worth a red card but afterwards warrents the banning imo. You can see from his body language that it was intentional imo. he even pushes away a teammate.

all imo of course.

Paul got more than his fair share of grief from the Clare-lads and most went 'un-noticed' by both Ref and Lines-mens and that's why when he was booked over something that wasn't his fault he just lost it. It was the build-up to that last incident where he was being given his 2nd yellow card that led to his anger. He wasn't treated fairly by the match officials but yes he could have and should have reacted a whole lot better ... he didn't and now he is out until the league next year (if he decides to stay on that it. It is every Kerry footballers's dream to captain the Kingdom and with the way certain other clubs are playing down here at the moment, the opportunity just won't be there for Paul to captain kerry again for a while)

I knew when i heard Nicky Brennan condemning Paul that his sentence would NOT be reduced. He has 1more shot at an appeal but i for one don't fancy his chances in the slightest.

The card should have been a straight red but Paddy Russell bottled it.Anyway,the referee's report was the deciding factor.

Why don't Russell and the linesman get suspended for missing all the off the ball stuff. 'For every action there is a reaction'?
    And Richie Bennis, has he been banned yet for his outburst at the ref last week?
    By the way Blackbelt Mattie was merely saving himself for the Dubs. He did kick 6 or 7 points all the same and will hardly kick as many wides the next day.

Paul Galvin...live by the sword,die by the sword.:rolleyes:

OK but a ref can you deal with my two questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Tom I know you're p1ssed off to be losing one of your key players for the whole Summer but it looks like he has no chance of getting it overturned now. The punishment may seem harsh but it really was a stupid thing to do and a player of his experience should know better.

Personally I think a 1 month suspension would have been adequate for what he did. We see lads doing far worse and getting away with it.

OK but a ref can you deal with my two questions?

I can.The referee is the human element in the game and is in charge of arbitrating the game and supervising the game to make sure it is a fair and impartial game.However,referee's and linesmen do make the occasional mistake (hello John Bannon) but they are not suspended etc as the referee is infallable.The referee's decision is final and the referee is the most important person on the pitch...more important than the players in actual fact.To suggest suspending a referee is ridiculous Tom.These people are responsible for the maintenance and development of the game.

Apart from an assault/spitting by a referee,the referee is not liable to disciplinary action.

I don't really know what happened with Richie Bennis.Was it just a case of him giving out about the referee in an interview or confronting him as he left the pitch?I didn't see the incident as I was in Croke Park last Sunday.

I can.The referee is the human element in the game and is in charge of arbitrating the game and supervising the game to make sure it is a fair and impartial game.However,referee's and linesmen do make the occasional mistake (hello John Bannon) but they are not suspended etc as the referee is infallable.The referee's decision is final and the referee is the most important person on the pitch...more important than the players in actual fact.To suggest suspending a referee is ridiculous Tom.These people are responsible for the maintenance and development of the game.

Apart from an assault/spitting by a referee,the referee is not liable to disciplinary action.

I don't really know what happened with Richie Bennis.Was it just a case of him giving out about the referee in an interview or confronting him as he left the pitch?I didn't see the incident as I was in Croke Park last Sunday.

Didnt see it first hand but I believe he confronted the ref.
    Surely Russell shouldn't get any 'Kerry' games at least for the rest of the season