Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scrum Caps

• 23-06-2008 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭

I'm considering getting a scrum cap for the coming season. I play on the wing for my club, but my college coach is likely to be putting me in at number 7 for the coming season so I'll be doing a bit more donkey work and hopefully getting more stuck in (this will hopefully help with my playing on the wing too!) I think I'm more likely to get stuck in if I feel my head is protected, hence the enquiry.

Anyway, what are the things one needs to make sure of when buying a scrum cap, how can you tell if it's too tight or the correct size when just trying on in the shop? I know you generally do the moulding in a shower thing to get perfect fit, but before you buy, how do you tell? Also, the gimmicky type scrum caps with zebra print etc. are they only really custom made for the professionals?

I wonder if I can get a pink one ...

(sorry Ruggie :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Danger_Dave

Depends how big your head is :), ive got a large head so i went into a shop and tried out extra large, bit to loose especially near the top rim against the eyes. Try the larger one first in the shop and work down.

Shops generally dont have a great selection of colours and designs, but im sure they can do special orders, or just order online. Check your local club shop for scrum caps and special orders, the clontarf shop can order stuff in , the red scrum cap in its case.

P.S Pink ? /sigh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

bloody girls....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Thanks Dave :)

I believe Navan RFC had pink ones for their Breast Cancer fundraising event. So might get in touch with them.

By the way, anyone know were to buy the army camouflage scrum cap ? .

The Kooga ones? I've just seen them online, one or two on my team have 'em, but they got 'em in France.

Yes thats the one, but i probably shouldnt get it, i already have 3 different ones , Christmas time comes and people keep getting me Scrum Caps ! .

P.S I have a broken Justin Harrison Scrum cap when he played against leinster a few years ago, i wonder if id get anything for it on ebay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I used to wear one playing hooker. It used to be hard to hear lineout calls at times. So i cut out the ear holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The most comfortable one I ever had was a red and blue one, but I can't remember the make. I am 90% sure it's the same one that Anthony Foley wears / wore. Unfortunately the chin strap went, so I had to get a new one - but never found one as good as it.

Think he wore Rugbytech, but I could be wrong. Thanks eoin.

We should really organise a rugby forum beers at some stage ... We'd probably have to have it in international waters though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Amz wrote: »

We should really organise a rugby forum beers at some stage ... We'd probably have to have it in international waters though.

Connacht would be safe enough, how about Athenry?

Ah here, let's not go too crazy :)

That rings a bell - the most comfortable one I wore by a mile. When you're trying it on, just make sure it doesn't move around - it's quite annoying to have it pulled over your eyes. Also check the earholes, they may need to be cut out as someone has already said. Also check that the chin strap is comfortable. Some of them can be quite close your throat, which makes me a feel a little claustraphobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

Deedsie wrote: »
    I used to wear one playing hooker. It used to be hard to hear lineout calls at times. So i cut out the ear holes.

I'm playing hooker as well but one of the reasons I wear it is for the protection of the ears as the old cauliflower was starting to settle in. The tape around the ears didn't really work for me. I agree that the placement of gaps for the ears is off on a lot of them but cutting out the ears is a bit drastic. Might be something to check when trying them out though.

Never heard the mould in the shower trick

Well with the Canterbury ones anyway, apparently you wear it in the shower for twenty minutes, then leave it on for about ten minutes after shower to allow it to cool and apperntly that moulds it around the contours on your head. I'd never hear of doing that before I started researching them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Well with the Canterbury ones anyway, apparently you wear it in the shower for twenty minutes, then leave it on for about ten minutes after shower to allow it to cool and apperntly that moulds it around the contours on your head. I'd never hear of doing that before I started researching them.

Sounds like the old long stand/skirting board ladder to me, but I'm sure there's some merit to it.

I've only ever worn Canterbury scrum caps and my advice would be if you can't decide between 2 sizes then it's probably the smaller one you're after. It needs to be quite tight particularly when you start sweating and it wants to slide around on your head.

Well the shower thing is mentioned on the Canterbury site, apparently it's some kind of water moulding technology or something.
    Before Use:
    Everybody’s head is unique, Canterbury know this and have developed, MTM “mould to maximize” using “WaterCast technology”

This technique performed before play will mould the headguard to every detail on your head and allow a perfect fit every time.

1. You must wear your headgear as you would on the field when showering and use only hot water for 20 minutes.

2. Once completed do not remove your headgear, leave to cool for a further 10 minutes.

3. MTM Water Casting is complete and your guard will be fitted to every detail on your head every time for as long as you wear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

I'm sure plenty of people alrady know this site but Lovell Rugby hav a a decent selection and competitive prices for all sorts of gear.

http://www.lovell-rugby.co.uk/Rugby-Protection/Head-Gear

Aye, I had a look there, but when I included postage it was about the same as buying in town. I might wait 'til nearer the start of the season and get a few bits together to make it more worthwhile.

Or were not allowed talk about leinster/Munster.... Scratch that no rugby :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Yeah be sure and get one that fits right, if its moves around lots it will give you nasty friction burns on your face and the opposition will also pull it if they can get their hands in somewhere.

I have a Kooga one and to be honest its crap, too hot and sweaty and the wind noises when your running are annoying. Its handy to have though for when i have cut ears or head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭monaghanbiffo

i wear one if im in the secong row purely for my ears.... is this not the reason for them, i dont think it cusions much when i bang my head, when at 6 i get rid as my ears are usually fine there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭DigiDec

I played rugby league and I remember the hooker wearing his scrum cap in the showers at the start of the season, he'd still be in the showers when the rest of us would be dressed and ready for the bar, he said it had to be a half an hour of hot water to mould it correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

i wear one if im in the secong row purely for my ears.... is this not the reason for them, i dont think it cusions much when i bang my head, when at 6 i get rid as my ears are usually fine there!!

i play at 6 and i def think its helps protect me when i bang into some or in a ruck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Was there some move to ban scrum caps at all levels? due to the caps hiding blood injuries to the head? Or was tha just my imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

Or were not allowed talk about leinster/Munster.... Scratch that no rugby :)

Id host it in Norway!.. Good excuse as any

If you bring some hot Norwegian rugby playing men, then you're on!

I cant vouch on their hotness but I am sure I can round them up.. and hawt wimmins for the men of course

Of course :)

We might need pictures though ...

Of which.. the mens or the womens?

Was there some move to ban scrum caps at all levels? due to the caps hiding blood injuries to the head? Or was tha just my imagination.

Both black and red scrum caps were banned a few years ago as you couldn't see blood on them. Meant you saw a lot of grey and blue ones around. This has since been changed back and black are very common again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

why did they reverse the ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

and when?

Actually having checked about a bit I'm not sure if the ban was ever official. About 5/6 years ago the IRB decreed that all protective headgear must have an IRB approved label. This meant lots of people had to buy new headgear.
    It was also rumoured (I did think it was fact) that black and red were being banned. For about 2 years after the IRB approved labels came in you couldn't buy a black or red scrum cap with an IRB approved label. Then around 2 years ago the black ones hit the market again.

Sorry that's not in any way conclusive, it's just what I observed myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

eoin_s wrote: »
    The most comfortable one I ever had was a red and blue one, but I can't remember the make. I am 90% sure it's the same one that Anthony Foley wears / wore.
    Amz wrote:

The very same

foley_usa.jpg

I never really got into the scrum cap, although I played most of my time in the backs, I found them to be a bit in the way and annoying and if I'm honest, I don't think they offer any MAJOR protection to your head other than stop you getting cut (most of the time) and protect your ears (main reason most forwards wear them?), but the bumps and bashes hurt just as much with one. It also gives the opposition something to hold onto too in a ruck or mall, as illegal as it is.

I know this is really girlie, but my main reason for getting one this year is because it'll keep my hair out of my face. there's nothing worse. Hairbands etc get pulled out and you can't be running around tying your hair up everytime you've bee in a ruck/maul and it's come loose. I think too that even though the real portection offered is minimal, it will make me a bit braver getting stuck into contact situations.

I'll likely be playing at 7 in college and staying at 11 in Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 pynchon

Amz - where did you get the pink scrum cap? I'm looking for one too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

I play on the wing too Amz. I got concussed 2 weeks ago playing - I grounded the ball for a try and the opposite winger slid in feet first, nailed me in the side of the head with his knee. I had to come off straight away and can't remember any of the match!

So I've started wearing a scrum cap. A bit annoying to wear but it's a trade-off. People here say they don't offer protection, but I really don't think I'd have got concussion from that hit while wearing one...

Scrum caps aren't for protecting against concussion, your gum shield is more effective for that. The Scrum cap prevents only cuts and minor knocks to the head.

A gumshield wouldn't do anything to protect against a knock to the side of your head.

The protective padding a scrum cap provides helps absorb impact from hits and definitely would have lessened the impact to my head on that ocassion. My coach told me to start wearing one as apparently three concussions in one season and you're in trouble!

Your coach needs to talk to an expert then because he's giving bad advice.

That stuff about 3 concussions etc. is BS and is not what the experts are saying. It's not what's taught at the Level 1 coaching courses run by the IRFU.

Scrum caps only offer genuine protection from cuts to the head. They're not designed for, nor are they marketed as protecting against concussion.

Yes, they may lessen the impact of a direct hit to the head, but as I said they're not a protection against concussion.

Anyone who tells you otherwise is wrong.

Ok Amz you're right, scrum caps don't offer any protection against any head impact that might result in concussion. Thanks for clearing that up.

You're missing the point, they're not a complete protection against concussion. So to wear one and assume you'll never get knocked out, or concussed because you're wearing one is incorrect.

From this page:
    The fact that a mouth guard or strips of padding on the head do little to ward off a concussion may make sense, but Marshall noted that some researchers have advocated using the equipment specifically to protect against concussion.

"We need to stop doing that," he said, explaining that the nature of most concussion injuries makes it biologically implausible that mouth guards and padded headgear would offer protection.

I would say that they could indirectly increase the risks, as people think that they can dive into rucks and tackles head first because of a centimetre of padding on their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 dairefitz

I am looking to buy a Canterbury scrum cap in south dublin (dundrum / blackrock / dun laoghaire preferably) but the only sports shops in shopping centres seem to be champion and lifestyle (which are crap for rugby). Any good rugby orientated sports shops in these areas?

Thanks!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Elvery's - Suffolk St. or top of Dawson St.

Sports shop in UCD, Leinster shop in Donnybrook.

Champion has a reasonable rugby section upstairs at the back. I believe they have scrum caps there. You might get lucky

Edit: Dundrum has a huge Elvery's now, up on the top car park area beside Snow & Rock. They should sort you out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

dairefitz wrote: »
    I am looking to buy a Canterbury scrum cap in south dublin (dundrum / blackrock / dun laoghaire preferably) but the only sports shops in shopping centres seem to be champion and lifestyle (which are crap for rugby). Any good rugby orientated sports shops in these areas?

Thanks!! :)

Elverys have a new store in Dundrum !! A scrumcap is a good idea best thing i've bought ! your head can get pretty fecked up during a match:mad:

Thanks for the responses guys.
    Going to try Elvery's in Dundrum at lunchtime so i'll let you know what its like!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Is Active sports still in Blackrock shopping centre? they used to be pretty good for the rugby gear!

Just bought this http://www.lovell-rugby.co.uk/Rugby-Protection/Head-Guards/Ventilator-Rugby-Headguard-Silver-Black in elvery's in dundrum. Cost €65 but there was a sale so got it for €55. Still a bit pricey but couldn't find the right size in stock on any of the websites I looked at.

Shop is nice, good selection of rugby gear.
    Thanks for your useful comments!