Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Ireland Dublin One Hundred - 20th July, Carlton Airport Hotel

• 23-06-2008 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭

New tournament on our schedule, if this is successful we will make this a regular occurance with Dublin One Hundred League and all the rest.

10,000 starting chips:
    Sunday 20th July 2008, 1pm start
    Carlton Airport Hotel, Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Co. Dublin
    €100 (+ €15 reg) Entry Fee.
    100% Prize-pool payout.
    Professional Dealers at every table throughout the tournament.
    If you would like flyers sent to you please email stephen(at)pokerireland.ie or derek(at)pokerireland.ie

To book your seat email the above today

Blinds;
    Level 1; 1:00pm - 1:30pm 25-50
    Level 2; 1:30pm - 2:00pm 50-100
    Level 3; 2:30pm - 3:00pm 75-150
    Break 15 mins
    Level 4; 3:15pm - 3:45pm 100-200
    Level 5; 3:45pm - 4:15pm 150-300
    Level 6; 4:15pm - 4:45pm 200-400
    Level 7; 4:45pm - 5:15pm 300-600
    Break 45 mins (Dinner - Carvery, prices from €12 - €20)
    Level 8; 6:00pm - 6:30pm 400-800
    Level 9; 6:30pm - 7:00pm 500-1,000
    Level 10; 7:00pm - 7:30pm 800-1,500
    Level 11; 7:30pm - 8:00pm 1,000-2,000
    Break 15 mins
    Level 12; 8:15pm - 8:45pm 1,500-3,000
    Level 13; 8:45pm - 9:15pm 2,000-4,000
    Level 14; 9:15pm - 9:45pm 3,000-6,000
    Level 15; 9:45pm - 10:15pm 4,000-8,000
    Break 15 mins
    Level 16; 10:30pm - 11:00pm 5,000-10,000
    Level 17; 11:00pm - 11:30pm 8,000-15,000
    Level 18; 11:30pm - 12:00pm 10,000-20,000
    Level 19; 12:00pm - 12:30am 15,000-30,000
    Level 20; 12:30am - 1:00am 20,000-40,000
    Level 21; 1:00am - 1:30am 25,000-50,000
    Level 22; 1:30am - 2:00am 30,000-60,000

Tournament Director; Stephen Mc Lean

BoylePoker.com will be running weekly satellites to this tournament.

We are also running a specific league for this tournament. Players will receive points for a cash relative to their finishing position. We will then have a major prize for the top 9 players to battle it out for in a tournament before Easter 2009. Full details will be announced in the Carlton Hotel on 20th July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Online satellites;

BoylePoker.com are running satellites for us;

Wednesday 25th June - 8pm $5 Re-buy
    Wednesday 2nd July - 8pm $5 Re-buy
    Both of the above tournaments are listed as Dundalk Hundred satellites in the BoylePoker.com lobby but you can use the ticket for either tournament and there is also a cash option available.....One ticket worth €115 is guaranteed.

Wednesday 9th July - 8pm $5 Re-Buy
    Wednesday 16th July - 8pm $5 Re-Buy

Few people reading this thread but no comments, thats never much fun.

Cheers to all that have emailed to pre-register already.....I certainly hope we can get 200 players with our first tournament in Dublin.

Bit of banter in this thread would be much appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭califano

Actually i just set up an account a short while ago to play this satt on wednesday.

Banter eh. How did that Leon Blanche get that job in boyles. Discuss!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Best of luck with it stephen,bit too much of a hike for me so can't see myself travelling, but really hope you can hit big numbers for this.
    With my limited knowledge of dublin tournies this looks like a good option for a sunday/beer/poker thing with a reasonable buyin that may attract alot of people who would never consider visiting a Dublin card room.

Hope it goes well...q derek with his BIG RED LETTERS:p

Best of luck with it stephen,bit too much of a hike for me so can't see myself travelling, but really hope you can hit big numbers for this.
    With my limited knowledge of dublin tournies this looks like a good option for a sunday/beer/poker thing with a reasonable buyin that may attract alot of people who would never consider visiting a Dublin card room.

Hope it goes well...q derek with his BIG RED LETTERS:p

Hi Danny,

How does Bray suit?, would you take a drive up that far for a similar tournament?

Actually i just set up an account a short while ago to play this satt on wednesday.

Banter eh. How did that Leon Blanche get that job in boyles. Discuss!:pac:

Who is this Leon Blanche now? And what job did he get? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

The Carlton hotel is perfect for me Stephen.. None of that Bray non sense... Thats not even Dublin ffs..... I will play this I reckon. 15 mins from da gaff n all in anyways

carfax wrote: »
    Who is this Leon Blanche now? And what job did he get? :)

Boyles racing rep mainly seen on ATR not going along with Matt Chapmans quips!. But thats OT!.

Jayminator wrote: »
    The Carlton hotel is perfect for me Stephen.. None of that Bray non sense... Thats not even Dublin ffs..... I will play this I reckon. 15 mins from da gaff n all in anyways

Cool Jay, I have a seat reserved for you now.
    Boyles racing rep mainly seen on ATR not going along with Matt Chapmans quips!. But thats OT!.

Haven't seen him but I haven't really been watching ATR that much for the last few months... ... Back on topic, I have a seat reserved for you Rounders (thats what you get for posting in this thread :) )... ...

Back on topic, I have a seat reserved for you Rounders (thats what you get for posting in this thread :) )... ...

Thats some hard sell!. I intend to qualify but hope to the there anyways as its convenient location for myself too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭BiffoBeater

Few people reading this thread but no comments, thats never much fun.

Cheers to all that have emailed to pre-register already.....I certainly hope we can get 200 players with our first tournament in Dublin.

Bit of banter in this thread would be much appreciated :)

Was going to hold the loose thounge of mine but since u asked for commets decided why not:o.

How do u constantly get away wit charging 15% for these things.?????

I can go in to the fitz or the SE, play a great stucutre tourny, wit better standard dearlers for 10% reg or less:mad::mad:

Places like Atri EXPO get it ripped out of them yet you seem to get it stick free* aorund here cause your mates wit a few ppl.

*(except for GLTM, that guy not afaird of u):eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

whats a thounge?

babymaker6 wrote: »
    whats a thounge?

The yoke you speak and lick stuff wit, u know what i mean:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

How do u constantly get away wit charging 15% for these things.?????

I agree, i mean all you need is 20 dealers, 20 tables, chips, cards, hire of the room and staff. Not to mention getting all that crap there and back. And there is time to advertise and organise? Sure that's hardly gonna cost that much is it?:rolleyes:

€15 a head? Should be €5 a head Stephen. Shame on you.

Ever tried running an event like this Biffo?

I agree, i mean all you need is 20 dealers, 20 tables, chips, cards, hire of the room and staff. Not to mention getting all that crap there and back. And there is time to advertise and organise? Sure that's hardly gonna cost that much is it?:rolleyes:

€15 a head? Should be €5 a head Stephen. Shame on you.

Ever tried running an event like this Biffo?

(1) Question was directed at Carfax

(2) Sarcasim is lowest form of wit.

(3) No i havent, im in a different line of work.

Now stop derailing the thread and let carfax deal with the issue in hand:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

(1) Question was directed at Carfax

(2) Sarcasim is lowest form of wit.

(3) No i havent, im in a different line of work.

Now stop derailing the thread and let carfax deal with the issue in hand:D

(1) Answer directed at you.

(2) Felt the lowest form was relevent given the poster.

(3) So run one at €10 a head and see how it goes.

(1) Answer directed at you.

(2) Felt the lowest form was relevent given the poster.

(3) So run one at €10 a head and see how it goes.

Just LOL, if u keep on going on with this ill report you to Ste05 for derailing thread. :mad:

I have already stated that i want answers form carfax who is running this event and not you. TY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭pocketdooz

Stephen

Played the NSPC in the Airport and it was first class - fair play. I will be at this one too with 4/5 mates.

The best of luck, 15% is more than reasonable considering the set-up

lol, thanks for the support guys.

Ok just want to take the questions semi-seriously here for anyone that might be reading boards for the first time... ...

Costs involved in running this tournament;
    1. Design of flyers (€150 because a mate does it for me)
    2. Printing of 5,000 flyers (€600 odd)
    3. Postage of flyers to around 300 homes and poker clubs/ pubs (about €300)
    4. Cost of dealers for main event alone (€2,400)
    5. Table transport (€250 to hire a van plus €60 odd for diesel)
    6. Cost of venue (€1,300 - you can call the Carlton and get a quote yourself if you like)
    7. Time involved in running tournaments around the country, promoting it on different forums, websites answering emails, organising dealers, equipment, laptops, putting together blind structure, etc etc etc (priceless - this is my time we are talking about here :) ).

Total costs alone before buying lots of expensive poker chips, cards, tables, laptop, promotional giveaways (we guarantee a ticket on BoylePoker.com every Wednesday at our own expense and give away other tickets through live satellites) etc etc etc = €5,000 +

Total revenue from an estimated field of 200 (*€15) players is €3,000 (thats if we get 200 players).... ....

Let me point out that Poker Ireland is a business. We hope to break even on this event through generating side action and into the future our costs will come down and we expect to make a few quid, but our margins in this business are very very tight.

I would also like to point out that I am involved in a number of other business' and the day I find I am not enjoying what I do here is the day I give it up to concentrate on making some money :mad:
    Thankfully most poker players appreciate what I, and tournament organisers like me are doing to improve standards, bring new players into the game, offer real value and all the rest.

Oh yes, forgot to mention the league we are planning.....Full details are going to be announced in the Fairways on 6th July and each league will be specific to each venue but it is going to grab everyone's attention (I hope :)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭pokerbratz

Well Stephen,
    The life of a mobile poker tour operator is certainly not a bowl of cherries, you have forgotten about another ""50"" miscellaneous expenses that crop up on an ongoing and incidental basis, like spending two hours on the edge of the M1 broken down on Sunday morning coming home from a gig in Dundalk, the average poker jock has no empathy or sympathy for the effort and expense that it takes to put on an event outside a casino enviroment which is mostly the reason I rarely bother to post, however I feel that I must lend you my support to you on this one, good luck with your events,

regards Mike @CELTIC POKER TOUR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Dammit, my working week is Sun-Thurs. Have them on a Sat so the winnars can get drunk after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

pokerbratz wrote: »
    Well Stephen,
    The life of a mobile poker tour operator is certainly not a bowl of cherries, you have forgotten about another ""50"" miscellaneous expenses that crop up on an ongoing and incidental basis, like spending two hours on the edge of the M1 broken down on Sunday morning coming home from a gig in Dundalk, the average poker jock has no empathy or sympathy for the effort and expense that it takes to put on an event outside a casino enviroment which is mostly the reason I rarely bother to post, however I feel that I must lend you my support to you on this one, good luck with your events,

I've played in a few similar things in other countries and they pretty much just throw you some chips and let you get on with it while over here the good operators do a superb job and for your €15 you get a really well run event which seems pretty good value when you consider the amount of people turning up new to poker due to the extra promotion etc. If you have a couple of people complaining and then have 200 turn out then you can safely assume they are the vast minority.

RasTa wrote: »
    Dammit, my working week is Sun-Thurs.

It's a common reaction, Jim. I'll tell you what it is, and I know that that's why you married her. One of the reasons is prudence. E100 is a sizable investment. One thinks twice...it's also something women have. It's just a reaction to the size of the investment.
    You don't count Saturday. I'm saying you don't include Saturday...in your three days. It's not a business day.

pokerbratz wrote: »
    Well Stephen,

So you are pokerbratz!

Cheers Mike, sound.... I think the vast majority do appreciate the service and Biffo is prob just trolling :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 flopmehappy

seems to me that biffo would be a bit of a tag poker player (TIGHT and agressive);)........as most of us know the trouble that these few organisers go through to bring us degenerates the finest standard of poker around,it baffles me that some people will moan about an extra 5EURO......

stephen should be a great game put myself n spoofingjam down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Stephen,

I am 90% going. Is there a cap on numbers? If so how many?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

Just LOL, if u keep on going on with this ill report you to Ste05 for derailing thread. :mad:

I have already stated that i want answers form carfax who is running this event and not you. TY

Your always complaining about reg.:mad:. These organisers go to a lot of trouble to organise the events. Just play online and don't grace us with your presence.

How much reg do you want to pay. These guys have to buy bricks and mortar and dealers. It ain't press a button and the cards are dealt. Back off and leave them alone.

Pokerireland in particular run the largest european cheap tournament. The IPO is a live tournament with over 1000 entrants and they have it as 100 buyin plus reg.

NO other company has made LARGE mtt's poker more accessible to those with small bankrolls.

Keep up the good work.

I will try to make both Drogheda and Dublin.

stephen should be a great game put myself n spoofingjam down

Done (assuming you are John Mc Gill???, I am useless at this stuff on forums)
    Stephen,

I am 90% going. Is there a cap on numbers? If so how many?

Seat reserved, if your plans change beforehand just let me know.....No cap on runners but if you haven't reserved a seat we can't guarantee you will play (there is a bus load of 40 odd players coming from Bangor alone for this Dublin tournament). We are expecting 200 total right now, if we have more than that pre-registered we can of course organise more staff, tables etc.
    big_iain wrote: »

I will try to make both Drogheda and Dublin.

Hi Ian; seat reserved, if your plans change beforehand just let me know.

Cheers for the posts all, looking forward to this tournament but we want to get as many as possible pre-registered for Dundalk on 6th July too (hint :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

certainly hope to play if i can bribe the girlfriend not to freak out.

reg doesn't bother me as i expect to get in the money (why bother playing unless you expect this)

want to support Stephen as the more who play the more I will earn.

hotel is actually across the road from my old yard. almost all buses to the airport stop at the Carlton.

good luck carfax..... :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

HI STEPHEN
    I will definitely be playing in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 WayneD1982

Quick question Stephen..,Will this be a regular tournament or wats the plan at the minute

WayneD1982 wrote: »
    Quick question Stephen..,Will this be a regular tournament or wats the plan at the minute

So long as we get a regular 150 + players (cap is actually 280 in this venue) we will have a regular tournament in North Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

I will defo try to make the Dublin and Bray tourney's - The Drogehda one might be a bit trickier as my car has died :(:mad::(

I played the IPO last year and it was a great tourney so am really looking forward to playing in some more of your events.

Good luck with it and ignore the likes of Biffo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

Forgot to ask, but is there airport-type parking probs out there or is it not quite at the airport?

Not quite at the airport.... Free parking for poker playaz, lots and lots of space in the Carlton car park (The Carlton is located right beside the Ryan Air €5 per day car park thingy on the Old Airport Road).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ramiriquez

Stick me down for the craic, any kind of result in Dundalk and I'll definitely be there. If not, probably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 flopmehappy

sorry stephen this is glen o rourke but u can stick johnnyL down as well thanks

Grand stuff Glen, have the three of you in.

Keep the registrations coming for this guys and girls. Its looking like 200 players will be a viable target. Flyers have gone out this morning so if anyone else would like some sent out please email me; stephen@pokerireland.ie

Cheers,
    Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

hi stephen,
    stick me down for this tourney, its denis reyes.

cheers and good luck

hi stephen,
    stick me down for this tourney, its denis reyes.

cheers and good luck

No prob Denis, you are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

you can pay on the day right? Nearly certain I'll be playing, handy location.

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    you can pay on the day right? Nearly certain I'll be playing, handy location.

12:30pm reg opens. 1pm tournament starts.

Just a quick reminder that this tournament takes place this Sunday.

I am short two or three dealers at the moment so if anyone is looking for work let me know.

Cheers,
    Stephen.

Just trying to get some +EV on this from an organisational side.

Has every Boardsie that plans to play this Sunday pre-registered on pokerireland.ie or here on Boards?

Just want to be able to closely predict the number of players to expect and therefore not have to refuse anybody entry because we are under-staffed.

Thanks,
    Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

Has every Boardsie that plans to play this Sunday pre-registered on pokerireland.ie or here on Boards?

Just want to be able to closely predict the number of players to expect and therefore not have to refuse anybody entry because we are under-staffed.

Thanks,
    Stephen.

hi stephen,
    i can play and deal for you for time being but promise me you will break my table first as soon as you get a chance.
    gl

cheers,
    denis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Thanks,
    Stephen.

I havn't, won't be sure if I can play until saturday with work etc

hi stephen,
    i can play and deal for you for time being but promise me you will break my table first as soon as you get a chance.
    gl

cheers,
    denis

Hi Denis,

Cheers for the offer but we don't allow that any more at all....I'm actually pretty ok for dealers now but if you know anyone that is looking for work send them my way.

I have 15 dealers organised so far but only 60 players pre-registered. I think the most number of players we will get at this is 150, which is a shame because we really need more to make it worth our while.

Keep the pre-registrations going people.....We are ready to rock 'n' roll this Sunday.....Stephen.