Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wow I just won something

• 22-06-2008 3:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭

Got an email saying I won two tickets to an event on tonight (sunday night)
    pity I can't go to it though!

have you ever won anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Can I have the tickets since you can't go? :D

Eh, I won a few trophies growing up, does that count?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i won a forum at the ninja beer's. Still waiting for it to be approved!
    Posted via Mobile Device

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

May I be the first to say that I'll gladly take those tickets off you if you're giving them away!!

On topic, I won a couple of tickets from the Irish Times before, and I won an academic thing at school once.

EDIT: Damn you orestes!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I won a carpet years ago at some christmas party. I was around 10. Who the fúck makes a carpet a prize at a childrens christmas party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Used to play bingo with the elderly people. Brilliant craic. Used to win on at least one line nearly every week I went. I'm very proud of that.:pac:
    i won a forum at the ninja beer's. Still waiting for it to be approved!
    Posted via Mobile Device
    Which did you pick anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Won tickets to a quarter final match in the World Cup back in 06

Germany v Argentina, twas deadly.

SumGuy wrote: »
    EDIT: Damn you orestes!

Hey, if I get the tickets I might still need someone to go with :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

SumGuy: arse to the wall! I'd be wary of otestes. He's a bit of a crazy pervert (he said it himself!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

SumGuy: arse to the wall! I'd be wary of otestes. He's a bit of a crazy pervert (he said it himself!)

Hmmm, maybe you're right, I don't like that Location of his...:pac:

Dammit! I was so close to getting my victim!

I go to the trouble of registering a second account, buying tickets to a gig, making up a competition to say I "won" tickets, post a thread, use my other account to reply to it, award myself the tickets and invite the unlucky poster who just missed them along to the show!

And then you screw my whole thing up at the last minute! :mad:
    SumGuy wrote: »
    Hmmm, maybe you're right, I don't like that Location of his...:pac:

Don't worry, it's all good, I'll take good care of you :cool:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

nevf wrote: »

Which did you pick anyway?

Cold War!

CLICK THE SIG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

It's ok otestes, you can have fun with randyshorthorn.

/points

Cold War!

CLICK THE SIG!

I thought you were guaranteed approval if you won that? Did you try pming Vex to get it fast-tracked?
    It's ok otestes, you can have fun with randyshorthorn.

/points

Hmmmmm, you might be on to something......

*pms randyshorthorn to tell him he has won a free ticket to a concert*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Give Jigsaw a bell, I'm sure he'd love the opportunity
    to drag you unconscious down a lane

I won a carpet years ago at some christmas party. I was around 10. Who the fúck makes a carpet a prize at a childrens christmas party.

Lol wtf. That's bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

O_o

I didn't know there was anyone on boards with a nick so similar to mine.

Didn't fancy trying to handle the real deal, eh, otestes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I won two prizes in college. I also won a Grand National Sweepstakes ('76 or '77, I think). I won some footraces.

Still haven't won the Lotto, yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

i have won lots of things cos i am great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Neil_Sedaka

I won The Blues Brothers video and soundtrack in a Smash Hits competition.
    No idea where the are now though.

"This was a bargain. I picked it up at the Mount Prospect city police auction last spring. It's an old Mount Prospect police car. They were practically giving 'em away."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I won a small bottle of coke \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I win prizes in the cinema regularly. I won tickets to the Ireland-England rugby grand-slam final a few years ago. I won loads of chocolate last year. That was good.

And I always win on scratchcards, as do people I give scratchcards to with the exception of one family who never wins anything.

Oh and my Dad won tickets to the 94 World Cup and he hates soccer! But he went anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I won trophies for martial arts tournaments years ago.

Don't think I won any competitions for tickets to anything though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

janeybabe wrote: »
    I win prizes in the cinema regularly. I won tickets to the Ireland-England rugby grand-slam final a few years ago. I won loads of chocolate last year. That was good.

And I always win on scratchcards, as do people I give scratchcards to with the exception of one family who never wins anything.

Oh and my Dad won tickets to the 94 World Cup and he hates soccer! But he went anyway.

How do you win prizes at the cinema??

I never really win things...i won a parker pen and a bag in school about 16 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

I won herpes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I'll go if the op cant :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I won a crate of beer from a radio station a few weeks back. Only lasted one night :(

Femmy wrote: »
    How do you win prizes at the cinema??

www.omniplex.ie

They have competitions there and you collect the prizes from your local Omniplex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I am occassionally lucky with raffles. Last thing I won was a bottle of Sambuca in a raffle at a college table quiz.
    I'd never had it before and unfortunately I discovered afterwards that I hated Sambuca :( (Tasted horrible and looked like blue ink!)

I won some school awards and a school chess tournament (yep, I'm a nerd!:p)

Best thing I ever won though was during Christmas 2006: I won 200 Euro worth of vouchers in a Hampers&Ross scratchcard that my Granny bought me! :cool:

I am occassionally lucky with raffles. Last thing I won was a bottle of Sambuca in a raffle at a college table quiz.
    I'd never had it before and unfortunately I discovered afterwards that I hated Sambuca :( (Tasted horrible and looked like blue ink!)

I won some school awards and a school chess tournament (yep, I'm a nerd!:p)

Best thing I ever won though was during Christmas 2006: I won 200 Euro worth of vouchers in a Hampers&Ross scratchcard that my Granny bought me! :cool:

I love Hampers and Roses scratchcards! I always win Roses on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I won a sugar jar at a fair when I was 6... 20 years on and I haven't had much more luck:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

In sligo was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Were there many Arab children there? Is there a Sheikh in Sligo that could have donated it as a prize? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Hahahaha a carpet! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Was it a flying carpet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I did the lotto yesterday..... I'll report back if win >€10,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I have won:

A sony walkman
    A hamper of books
    A bottle of Bollinger
    Tickets to a horse race
    Radiohead's greatest hits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I won risk a crisp on the TCC express when i was younger.

I nearly sh!t myself when I was watching and they pulled out my envelope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

i won a bike when i was 12 (which is bright pink because they thought all 12 year old girls like bright pink), a harry potter pencilcase full of harry potter stationery and we won a garden makeover thing from the nice Garden Heaven people about 7 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

My Nigerian friend told me I've won a lot of money. All I need to do is to first give him some money so he can set things up and then I'll get my winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MysticalSoul

I am after winning one of the diamonds in the diet coke promotion. Can't wait to get it made into a piece of jewellery of my choice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I am after winning one of the diamonds in the diet coke promotion. Can't wait to get it made into a piece of jewellery of my choice :D

ooohhh wow cool! i just won a free song off itunes! :D

No you didn't. Pics or its fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

i once won pub quiz
    got a jug of coke for my prize!
    I was very smug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

I won a bottle of wine.....in a school raffle.....when I was 5 :)

They even gave it to me there and then to take home :pac:

They used to tell people in Limerick that they had won tickets to an event.
    To get them out of the house so they could ransack the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I won 50 squids on a scratch card last September!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Won a 256mb MP3 player on one of those coke label competitions a few years back

Won a DJ Kat top back in 1995. My most recent was €4 on a scratch-card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MysticalSoul

No you didn't. Pics or its fake.

I will be meeting with the jeweller in August to discuss how to have it set. I could not believe I won one of the 50 diamonds diet coke are giving away :D

Pics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I won YORE MA in a raffle.

2nd Prize :D

*Sorry, it felt like the right moment to break my yore ma cherry.