Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boys compared to men

• 20-06-2008 11:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭

why is that suddenly every fella my age are abolute knob ends and act so immature..... i dunno maybe im just more mature i dunno but i cant imagine them changin as they become older.... im sick of boys i need a man :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

How old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Not a PI over to the ladies lounge with you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

why is that suddenly every fella my age are abolute knob ends and act so immature..... i dunno maybe im just more mature i dunno but i cant imagine them changin as they become older.... im sick of boys i need a man :rolleyes:
    Quit your jibba jabba...

You're 17, children go out with children, tis just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭iloverocknroll

ye i no im 17 but wat im saying is that fellas my age are just too immature..... im not sayin like a want to go out wit an older man or anythin im just askin why do they act so immature and think that girls like that cause they dont

Because they're children.... and idiots. All teenagers are, it's a common fact.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

they are guys. They are having fun while they can. If you dont like it date older guys.

right fair enough they are teenagers.... im a teenager but im not stupid ya know wat i mean.... and as far as older fellas go most of them only want teenage girls for one thing.. and that aint me!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

You know what the real problem is?

No matter what age you are, you'll still find they're knob ends and act so immature :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I find teenage girls obsession with maturity is pretty immature.
    Don't worry, you'll grow out of it.

Go chat up some quiet introvert bookworm if you want maturity... you might have to put a bag over his head, but you can't have everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

right fair enough they are teenagers.... im a teenager but im not stupid ya know wat i mean.... and as far as older fellas go most of them only want teenage girls for one thing.. and that aint me!!

You're not stupid? so it's their intelligence level's that your not happy about?

So find a bright 17yr old?

it couldn't be that eh difficult..if you're that clever:p

no im not obsessed wit maturity i just dnt understand how teenage males act so stupid and when there is a group of them they are worse its like they have to act stupid to fit in... right i recently split up with a bloke i was with for a year and i thought the world if him... he really screwed up my life i stopped talkin to my family and all... in the end he cheated and lied and even threathened me.... but even wit all that he acted so immature and stupid... he would fight wit me if i like told him to shut up messing he would get into a big sulk... and when we split to make himself feel better he decided to call me names and ya no slag me off like whats the point in that... i really dont understane blokes at all

there is many 20/30/40/50yr olds exactly like the above...

ntlbell wrote: »
    You're not stupid? so it's their intelligence level's that your not happy about?

So find a bright 17yr old?

it couldn't be that eh difficult..if you're that clever:p
    and ye ya think it would be easy but no they are all knobends after knobends

Ah, life....it's great isn't it :D

Because they're still technically children, and the law defines them as such for a reason. Have a laugh with them; you've got your entire life to be an adult.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Maybe you need to stop hanging around with "knobends" then..?

ye children fair enough... im always up for a laugh as much as the next person... there is a difference between having a laugh and a good time and being a total tool and makin a show of yourself.. its because of these immature teenagers that teenagers dont get listened to and just get brushed off as being children and their opinions shouldnt be voiced... and technically at 17 your an adult as such your legally allowed work and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I'm just gone 18
    I'm a guy
    I wouldn't consider myself a knobend, and many others I know aren't either.
    Just the majority of ones that go clubbing etc are :p

SDooM wrote: »
    Maybe you need to stop hanging around with "knobends" then..?
    well iv gotten rid of the knobend mates but any fella that iv met since has been the same.... maybe im just unlucky

ye children fair enough... im always up for a laugh as much as the next person... there is a difference between having a laugh and a good time and being a total tool and makin a show of yourself.. its because of these immature teenagers that teenagers dont get listened to and just get brushed off as being children and their opinions shouldnt be voiced... and technically at 17 your an adult as such your legally allowed work and all

I know, you're right. But girls tend to mature before guys. There are 17 yo mature dudes out there though. I have a feeling you're hanging with the wrong crowd.

it's nothing to do with age.....

some people are morons regardless of thier age...

having a job doesn't make you an adult....

i had a paper round when i was a kid, i was still a moron....

now i'm almost 30 and still a moron...

dont judge people by their age judge them on an individual basis...

davyjose wrote: »
    I know, you're right. But girls tend to mature before guys. There are 17 yo mature dudes out there though. I have a feeling you're hanging with the wrong crowd.
    see thats the thing the people i did hang around wit they werent bad like into drugs or anything you just couldnt go out in public wit them witout them makin a show of you... like we were all roughly the same age and we were startin to out like socialising and all but they all got very messy and couldnt handle themselves after only a couple of drinks.... and some of them pretented to be that way for attention and a laugh like that pure stupid dont ya think??

they sound like perfectly normal teenagers

relax and have the craic...

it's nothing to do with age.....

some people are morons regardless of thier age...

having a job doesn't make you an adult....

i had a paper round when i was a kid, i was still a moron....

now i'm almost 30 and still a moron...

dont judge people by their age judge them on an individual basis...
    ye i understand.... well maybe im just very unlucky and the people that i meet that are my age are just immature i dont know... havent said that i do feel sorry for teenage lads as they dont get the same support as girls would... they are i suppose just suppose to know and cop on really where as girls are more or less talked to and thought about things

well sorry but if ya can't go out in public with them, they are ''that bad''
    maybe just try to get to know more ''quiet types''. I'm sure you'd know them from school etc. They can sometimes turn out to be the best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

Mature 17 year olds are very much in the minority. Date older guys if it bothers you that much.

ye i understand.... well maybe im just very unlucky and the people that i meet that are my age are just immature i dont know... havent said that i do feel sorry for teenage lads as they dont get the same support as girls would... they are i suppose just suppose to know and cop on really where as girls are more or less talked to and thought about things

Why do they need to cop on? who's judging them? who cares what people think? why is being mature so important to you? why are you so concerned about being made a show of? who's watching?

i go to an all girls school so that wont be happening lol.... like im not an uptight person im always up for having a laugh and im always havin a bit of craic and all but there is only so much ya can handle.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

I find teenage girls obsession with maturity is pretty immature.
    Don't worry, you'll grow out of it.

Go chat up some quiet introvert bookworm if you want maturity... you might have to put a bag over his head, but you can't have everything.
    Quiet introvert bookworms ftw!

Why do they need to cop on? who's judging them? who cares what people think? why is being mature so important to you? why are you so concerned about being made a show of? who's watching?
    im not saying anyone is judging im nota judgemental person at all.... but like it got so bad before that we got barred from mac donalds like thats not on ya know wat i mean... like were nearly 18 ya cant be gettin barred from mac donalds....

i go to an all girls school so that wont be happening lol.... like im not an uptight person im always up for having a laugh and im always havin a bit of craic and all but there is only so much ya can handle.....
    Ah but look out for them. I'm sure ya know a few!
    I think a lot of it is just hanging around with a group of guys, Guys behave differently with their friends than on their own too

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

well sorry but if ya can't go out in public with them, they are ''that bad''
    maybe just try to get to know more ''quiet types''. I'm sure you'd know them from school etc. They can sometimes turn out to be the best!
    Kazuma wrote: »
    Quiet introvert bookworms ftw!

Nocturnal posters are introverted shockers!

TBH OP, you mightn't realise it but the nature of your posts actually do make you appear quite immature... 17 year olds are allowed be immature. You'll have long enough to worry about mortgages and money and family, believe me.

im not saying anyone is judging im nota judgemental person at all.... but like it got so bad before that we got barred from mac donalds like thats not on ya know wat i mean... like were nearly 18 ya cant be gettin barred from mac donalds....

Then find a new group of friends...

Yeah like i know what you mean ya know like yeah... like....

Then find a new group of friends...
    but that is so hard..... still not succesful... like im the type of girl that gets on with fellas better im how would you say a bit of a tomboy.. but im gettin to the stage that boys are doing my nut in.... like iv quite a few girl mates that i get on great wit

It's tough being a teenage boy, remember that. Any sort of deviation from the trend (typically being a lout) is usually treated with a lot of slagging. So, yeah, it's not always easy for them to come across as mature independant people.

but that is so hard..... still not succesful... like im the type of girl that gets on with fellas better im how would you say a bit of a tomboy.. but im gettin to the stage that boys are doing my nut in.... like iv quite a few girl mates that i get on great wit

What do you wish to gain from this thread?

i dont hope to gain anythin its just a disscusion at the end of the day... i didnt think anybody would reply and they did and it has been a good disscusion

Well I mean at the end of the day... teenage boys ARE teenage boys, and the majority are absolute idiots, believe me I know!
    But it's like a lucky dip. Keep trying till you get the sherbet. :D

Well I mean at the end of the day... teenage boys ARE teenage boys, and the majority are absolute idiots, believe me I know!
    But it's like a lucky dip. Keep trying till you get the sherbet. :D
    ha... ye i suppose thats all ya can do..... and i know boys like to be boys but at the age they are the ones i know anyway they are nearly 18 and are gonna be hittin the real world soon and they should try and curb their boyish banter.... they are gonna be going out to pubs and working and all and they wont accept that behaviour.... thats all im saying really that they should be startin to be a bit more mature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

it really just sounds like youre hanging round with a pack of spas, moreso than having a valid case for all teenage boys being immature

Helix wrote: »
    it really just sounds like youre hanging round with a pack of spas, moreso than having a valid case for all teenage boys being immature
    ok i was wrong tarring all teenage boys with the same brush.... i admit that was wrong on my part but havent said that a lot that iv come in contact with have been extremely immature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Don't worry, you will get your sense of humour back at some stage in your late 20's or early 30's...

Young girls grow up far too early these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I think using txtspeak is a sign of a lack of maturity.

Don't worry, you will get your sense of humour back at some stage in your late 20's or early 30's...

Young girls grow up far too early these days...
    its nothin got to do with me having a sense of humour or growin up too fast... im nearly 18 i should be growin up.... im talkin bout gettin kicked outta places cause the lads are acting stupid.... im always up for a laugh.. but i dont think its a laughin matter when you get barred from places..

I think using txtspeak is a sign of a lack of maturity.
    text speak is just habit and shorthand... my mam and dad do it... its just handier and i suppose its done out of laziness too

its nothin got to do with me having a sense of humour or growin up too fast... im nearly 18 i should be growin up.... im talkin bout gettin kicked outta places cause the lads are acting stupid.... im always up for a laugh.. but i dont think its a laughin matter when you get barred from places..

20 years ago when you left school at 16 and went out to work maybe.. Enjoy your youth and stop moaning about the fact that others around you seem capable of being immature and enjoying themselves.

I bet you think that South Park isn't funny and anyone who enjoys it is immature?

I am starting to think that some girls/women seem to resent the fact that guys are capable of being so laid back, carefree and childish, even when they are in their 40's or 50's..

20 years ago when you left school at 16 and went out to work maybe.. Enjoy your youth and stop moaning about the fact that others around you seem capable of being immature and enjoying themselves.

I bet you think that South Park isn't funny and anyone who enjoys it is immature?

I am starting to think that some girls/women seem to resent the fact that guys are capable of being so laid back, carefree and childish, even when they are in their 40's or 50's..
    i really like southpark actually.... and im an extremely laid back person myself i dont take life to seriously and i really enjoy being young and free but what im sayin is because these lads are acting the way they do they are spoiling everyone elses fun because people are on edge all the time... ya cant go out and have a good night out wit out the fear of gettin kicked out of the place you are in.... you can only handle so much of that before it starts becoming frustrating

Meh, I don't know..

Only suggestion I can give is to start seeing older guys.. Lads, while not staying the the exact same, don't exactly change much when it comes to being in groups until they leave college or start supporting themselves.

yeah i know and i totally understand and respect everyones view yours included.... its just extremely irritating that because of this immaturness teenagers cant have that much fun.... for example if you act like that your not gonna get in certain places and adults certainly wont give you any responsiblities and a lot of the times they wont give you respect or let you voice your opinions because they view you as an immature child.. and the adults that do listen call you uptight so either way ya cant win