Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soulja Boy Destroying Hip Hop by ICE T

• 20-06-2008 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭

Soulja Boys response:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

Well that's the end of Soulja Boy...thanks Ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Steak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Klimseven

I preferred the GZA episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Abstract Prude

**** these old heads, stuck in their ways. there's plenty of room for soulja boy, he's not ruining anything. he's young and having fun, making throwaway club music. who cares?
    why are so many hip hop artists and fans so sanctimonious? they act as if people making music labelled as hip hop and rap all share some agenda, as if ithey exists as some solid unified movement instead of the reality, its just many disparate artists doing their own thing.
    sure, there are many small communities within this hip hop banner that might share some values, i just dunno why the expect some other artists to adhere to their codes.
    plenty of room in this world for 1,000,000 differnet perspectives and views, and none are really more important than the other.

why are so many hip hop artists and fans so sanctimonious? they act as if people making music labelled as hip hop and rap all share some agenda, as if ithey exists as some solid unified movement instead of the reality
    Because hip-hop has become a joke in the eyes of the everyday joe. You have to immediately be ready to justify your taste in Hip-Hop music with quick little asides like "But not that $hite you'd hear on the radio", because that $hite that you hear on the radio has come to represent hip-hop/rap to the masses.

Soujah Boy and those like him have made it even more difficult for hip-hop to be taken seriously (and yes, it was, and still is - for many people who put in a lot more and gain a whole lot less than these jokes - a movement), they've (or rather, those behind them) diluted it a step further and sold a $hit-stain of an excuse for music branded as hip-hop, making it even more difficult for talented artists to succeed commercially or be taken seriously in a sea full of cynical marketing and lowest common denominator retard inflected bull$hit.

That's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭thesoulfulldude

holy **** did soulja bitch just say that? thank **** for this hopefully people will realise his music is destroying hip hop. he's the worst thing ive ever heard! music has no beat and no lyrics, nobody who listens to it even knows what its about makes no ****ing sence! the worst part about this is the fact that he said why are you still rapping your old, you made your money. you know soulja bitch is only in this **** for the money and actually doesnt care about putting the effort in.... thanks to this ****......

Klimseven wrote: »
    Because hip-hop has become a joke in the eyes of the everyday joe. You have to immediately be ready to justify your taste in Hip-Hop music with quick little asides like "But not that $hite you'd hear on the radio", because that $hite that you hear on the radio has come to represent hip-hop/rap to the masses.
    You don't have to justify your taste to anyone dude, that's all in your mind.
    Soujah Boy and those like him have made it even more difficult for hip-hop to be taken seriously (and yes, it was, and still is - for many people who put in a lot more and gain a whole lot less than these jokes - a movement), they've (or rather, those behind them) diluted it a step further and sold a $hit-stain of an excuse for music branded as hip-hop

Look, just because you or your kin take it super serious, don't expect everyone else to. Souljah boy and his ilk make silly club music, made for kids and for dudes having fun. And its raw, he's done his own thing. Your notion that hip hop is a movement is just your notion, it's not an exclusive club and there are no rules. There are no shared responsibilities. Why should souljah boy or lil jon or whoever be expected to carry on from some other cats? Let them do their own thing.
    And its not as if its all some marketing bull**** because dudes like souljah boy or ricky blaze or rye rye all got big(relatively) off the back of home made youtube virals and dj's doing remixes by the ton. I heard about a million crank dat remixes last year, and witnessed it shake several dance floors. The people spoke on this one, and the people want to goof off on some wacky dance. YOOOOOOUUUUUUU.
    Ya gotta remember where hip hop started, at the clubs and at the parties, and this is where this stuff belongs too. Why? because its fresh and raw and fun. Crash crew or Grandmaster flash or whoever didn't have some bull**** agenda, they where all about getting down and having fun. Seems to me that all these purists have lost this spark, too conservative about the music, afraid of change and having fun.
    That sucks.

Look, I'm not gonna argue with you; I have this discussion too many times.

Whatever, think what ye like. Souljah Boy perfectly embodies the original spirit of the Hip-Hop movement. Grand.

Look, I'm not gonna argue with you; I have this discussion too many times.

Whatever, think what ye like. Souljah Boy perfectly embodies the original spirit of the Hip-Hop movement. Grand.
    I never said that but whatever. You sound as jaded as your opinions. Later grandad.

Jaded by ignorance, it grates after a while.

Later dood, keep it krunk.

lil_jon_yeah11.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Sorry, I think you're missing the point.

This is the man who whored himself for documentary series' on the Discovery channel, Law and Order *and* Leprechaun in the Hood bitching about the latest hiphop number one 'selling out'....

Oh the ironing. Mmmmm...

jimi_t wrote: »
    Sorry, I think you're missing the point.

This is the man who whored himself for documentary series' on the Discovery channel, Law and Order *and* Leprechaun in the Hood bitching about the latest hiphop number one 'selling out'....

Oh the ironing. Mmmmm...
    i don't have a clue what your talking about. is this even in response to me?

He's talking about Ice-T, that old dood.

oops, that makes sense now.

the fact is his lyrics make no sence, he jacked the beat and dance and did you see his new dance? he's trying to jack the ipod calling it the idance

also guess what he jacked the beat aswel
    http://www.myspace.com/GulleeBoy

and dont call this club music u dont know what d **** u talkin bout seriously

you make no 'sence'

its called being deslexic so shut your mouth

dyslexic?
    relax dude, no need to be so abrasive.
    and yeah, crank dat (specially cousin coles remix) was probably one of the most banged club tunes last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

'Crank Dat' is music for pregnant 14 year old howryas.

crank dat (specially cousin coles remix) was probably one of the most banged club tunes last year.
    $hit it must be good then.

yeah it's a banger alright, bit jaded now tho, overplayed. bit like your rhetoric.

The banger is jaded?

sure. or u could say i'm jaded from hearing it. whatever ya please

*Edited cos ye changed yer post.*

To get vaguely back on topic and stop indulging in idiocy with my grandson.
    Do you think a track's popularity is directly proportionate to its quality? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭Raoul

yeah it's a banger alright, bit jaded now tho, overplayed. bit like your rhetoric.
    http://www.youtube.com/v/k2gGn05-gQI&hl=en

Dont really care much for soulja boy, thats a good vid though!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Who'd have thought that Crank Dat could be made even more annoying? That remix seems to amplify the most irritating and grating parts of the original version.

lets break it down in simple terms

Haterz Get Mad Cause
    "I Got Me some Bathing Apes"

ehhhh errrrr i cant translate that

Soulja Boy, I'm The Man
    They Be Lookin At My Neck
    Saying is them rubber bands man? (man
    )

:eek: what could this possably mean?

Watch Me Crank My Shoulder Work
    And Superman That Bitch,

the kid was like 16 and what he was actually saying was When a male ejaculates on a blanket and sticks it on a female's back, creating a cape like superman. :(

(Awwwwwww) (You)

this one is one of lifes misterys :pac:

Jocking On Them Haterz Man

this is a golden one, means one of the following

1 to engage in flirtatious behavior with another; to crush on someone; to hit on someone

2 Derived from the term, "Being on someone's jock (as in jock strap)" meaning to attempt to imitate their style, especially in music.

3 Derived from the word jock strap. Much in the way a jock strap cups, secures, and holds in place someone's nuts (balls or testicles), some humans also hold, grip, or "jock" someone in order to impress, gain favor, or attract.
    Jocking is the act or art of placing someone on a higher level or pedestal, most times undeservedly and annoyingly so.

i think he's trying to tell use he's gay;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Ice T..... Saying people like Soulja Boy are making a joke of Hip-Hop. This of course being the same Ice T that fronted Rap School on MTV...... A show, which of course covered Hip-Hop in glory :rolleyes:

People need to just take Soulja Boy for what he is, a kid having a bit of fun. If some people happen to find that entertaining, so be it. Personally, I find listening to LB, Murs, J Dilla, Rhymefest, Blu & Exile and others far more enjoyable but there's other people that listen to Hip-Hop who may think my taste is terrible. That's the nice thing about Hip-Hop, it's a genre with many different sounds. If you don't like one sound, there's plenty of other artists to listen to. So all these folks who percieve themselves as "Hip-Hop Heads" and all that other ****e need to cop on, if you really were one you'd appreciate just how diverse the genre is.

And to anybody who believes Hip-Hop is dead, you're a moron. Just because NaS said it, doesn't mean it true.

really loving the blu and exile album lately, that and median-relief. some great tunes on both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

souldja boy disses people via webcam.... pretty soon he'll be shoot, he'll say something about afroman or one of the half-way decent rappers and Bang, he'll be cut down....

Everyone pray that soulja boy either quits or dies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

I think this is going to be good for the hip hop world we might start hearing some gangster rap again , but does anybody else think soulja boy going down the wrong avenue messin with Ice T????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,679 ✭✭✭Chong

Chubb76 wrote: »
    I think this is going to be good for the hip hop world we might start hearing some gangster rap again , but does anybody else think soulja boy going down the wrong avenue messin with Ice T????
    Totally Chubb :)

Bring back proper rap !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

really loving the blu and exile album lately, that and median-relief. some great tunes on both.

The Blu & Exile album was very dope, I know Blu released an album this year with Detriot beatmaker Ta'Raach that has a few nice tracks on it. If you like Median then check out Little Brother's excellent ...and Justice For All, he has a verse on it.

Van Zuylen wrote: »
    Totally Chubb :)

Bring back proper rap !!

What is "proper rap" exactly?

Rap is still the exact same as it was 10 years ago, there's still artists making club music and there's still artists making more lyrical music. It hasn't changed, except perhaps the amount of artists doing different styles.

Hip-Hop is alive and well, NaS lied.

Why? What could Ice T possibly do?

This is one of the wackest beefs to ever appear in Hip-Hop. How could it possibly be a good thing?

Yeah it's a really dope album, I loved it after the first listen.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Poccington wrote: »
    Yeah it's a really dope album, I loved it after the first listen.
    +1 on that....even the missus enjoyed it and she normally hates everything that doesnt have a guitar plucked on it.

Poccington wrote: »
    Why? What could Ice T possibly do?

This is one of the wackest beefs to ever appear in Hip-Hop. How could it possibly be a good thing?

I just think that ice t is in with a hell of alot more rappers than Soulja Boy is!!

Proper Rap ..... Is Dr.Dre , ICe Cube and none of this crap **** snoop dogg is rappin about , I agree with Ice T soulja boy is ruining rap !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Regardless of who said it, it is a valid statement imo, Soulja Boy is whats wrong with Rap and Hip Hop today, no lyrical meaning whatsoever. just random lines put to a beat made for night clubs

For me, rap has always been about the lyrical content. the music is important but everything is built around the lyrics.

Snoop has changed big time, but some of his album tracks are pretty good, he is way too interested in looking cool these days though

Nas is a great thinking mans rapper these days. and tbh, even though most of his music is aimed at the wider market Eminem does have some of the best rap songs of the last decade. his words mean something at least

hear kryogen , i couldn't have out it any better myself . Lyrically Biggie , 2PAc and the likes were unreal with Lyrics , if I came out and started singing superman blah blah blah ....... Do you think i would get anywhere in the rap world ??? Hmmmm i certainly dont think i would .

Bring back the old snoop and Dre hurry on and bring out Detox and put all this **** rap to bed once and for all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Dr Dre is a terrible rapper though.

wow. some real smart comments being made here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

First off Ice-T came across as very inarticulate in that video. Why do 90% of rappers have to speak like morons? He kept accusing Soulja Boy of destroying hip-hop but didn't explain how. So the kid had a worldwide hit, fairplay. If thats what people want, thats what they will get. Personally its not my cup of tea but thats beside the point.

Hip hop needs to evolve to survive. Just like gangsta rap died in the late 90's (despite The Game's attempt to revive it) and how G-Funk faded away (Snoop, Warren G & Dr Dre had countless examples of this style of beat). Let the new rappers come through, otherwise we'd still be listening to the same sh!t released in the 70's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Well I think Hip-Hop has been dead for a couple of years now so I dont really think that Mr.Boy has destroyed it by himself. More or less just danced on its grave or put the nail in the coffin.

I just think that ice t is in with a hell of alot more rappers than Soulja Boy is!!

Proper Rap ..... Is Dr.Dre , ICe Cube and none of this crap **** snoop dogg is rappin about , I agree with Ice T soulja boy is ruining rap !!!

How is Dr. Dre "proper rap"? I would've thought the concept of proper rap would involve not using ghostwriters. Dre is a terrible rapper.

And once again, please explain to me how Soulja Boy is ruining rap? It's not like he's influencing any other artists or turning the whole industry on it's head. He's a 17 year old kid, having a bit of fun and happened to get a hit out of it. You can hardly expect him to turn the whole game on it's head. This isn't the early 90's, times have changed whether you like it or not. Just let the dude have his fun.

Rap is far from being ruined, there's still plenty of dope rappers out there to listen to. There's always been mainstream and underground scenes in Hip-Hop, just perhaps with different sounds. You don't like the sound of one artist, you listen to another. Myself personally, I don't find Soulja Boy in the least bit entertaining.... But I'm not gonna go around Internet forums wishing death upon a 17 year old or claiming he's ruining Hip-Hop, cause he made a bad song that somehow ended up being a hit. He got himself a hit that a lot of people have found to be a bit of fun, let him enjoy it.... The dude will be gone in a year anyway.

It just is what it is, if you don't like it just don't listen to it. It's what I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Parrish_Crooks

Makaveli wrote: »
    Dr Dre is a terrible rapper though.

+1, woeful. He should just realise his strength is in production.

kryogen wrote: »
    Regardless of who said it, it is a valid statement imo, Soulja Boy is whats wrong with Rap and Hip Hop today, no lyrical meaning whatsoever. just random lines put to a beat made for night clubs

For me, rap has always been about the lyrical content. the music is important but everything is built around the lyrics.

Snoop has changed big time, but some of his album tracks are pretty good, he is way too interested in looking cool these days though

Nas is a great thinking mans rapper these days. and tbh, even though most of his music is aimed at the wider market Eminem does have some of the best rap songs of the last decade. his words mean something at least

So you say Soulja Boy is ruining rap because he released a song with no lyrical meaning. Well if that's the case, NaS started ruining rap back in 2000 when he let that absolutely ridiculous song Oochie Wally be released by Himself and The Bravehearts. See? Even some of the best rappers make ridiculous songs. That being said, Soulja Boy is a bad rapper but the kid got lucky with a song.... Let him have his fun, his career will have no longevity anyway.

Snoop has been terrible for Lord knows how long now, he lost it a long time ago.

NaS isn't a thinking mans rapper, he's simply a very good Emcee. There's no added genius to him, he's just a very good lyricist with some nice concepts. No need to be a thinking man to realise that. As for Eminem, he's one of the best Emcee's in the last decade..... To come out in the mainstream anyway. He's brilliant.

I honestly cannot believe I've had to come on here and defend Soulja Boy..... What is this world coming to? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Brad Goodman

Rap music died when it stopped being a social commentry just became a bunch of blokes rapping about how much money they have, cars they drive, the wheels on their cars, how many bitches they get.... snooze... boring. Its so tired and lazy now.

Now don't get me wrong there are still some great rappers out there. Naz for one and Jay Z can still be explosive. The Black Album was a stroke of genius IMO.

Anyway if kids wanna listen to crap like Soulja Boy then they should go ahead. Each to their own and all that but there's a world of amazing rap music out there for them to discover if they're really interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i dont just mean soulja boy though, i mean that kind of pop rap. its all adding to the death of an art form for me, its just my opinion though

Nas is very good. end of

Eminem is excellent also.

People who are questioning Dre really need to wake up, the man has done a whole lot for hip hop and regardless of his writing skills he has to be respected.

Nas is a great thinkings mans rapper these days i said btw, not from years ago, i think he has grown over the last couple of years.

I am a fan of hip hop from the early 90's so my first experiences were NWA, Pac, Biggie, Snoop etc.

and quite frankly, there are a couple of exeptions, but imo the rappers that are hitting it big today would not be fit to share a stage with those guys