Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care..

• 20-06-2008 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭

when dangerous and/or drunk drivers are killed on Irish roads? Personally I don't. Now I've never been in the situation where I actually knew someone that was killed so maybe if that happened my perception would change.

Of course I care if those killed are innocent parties / pedestrians. That's awful. Although I'm not hugely saddened, for example, when young passengers are killed in cars driven by joyriders. Shouldn't have been there in the first place. Simplistic view I know.

Another thing I've noticed lately that I'd like people's views on:

Young Male Drivers: Reckless on country roads, many die; sensible on main roads where know they may get caught by the gardaí

Young Female Drivers: Slow on country roads, few die, reckless on main roads because they think those roads are safe.

I'm amazed at the number of 18-25 year old girls I've been overtaken by on motorways at huge speed in tiny cars. I always drive with the cruise control on at the speed limit but that just never seems to be fast enough for these girls. Do they know the implication of crashing at those speeds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Eglinton wrote: »
    I'm amazed at the number of 18-25 year old girls I've been overtaken by on motorways at huge speed in tiny cars. I always drive with the cruise control on at the speed limit but that just never seems to be fast enough for these girls. Do they know the implication of crashing at those speeds?

You must be new to driving? Surely noone who's been driving a while would be amazed at the horrific presence on our roads that is female drivers ? :)

There's an over abundance of idiots on our roads, from those who think it's fine to fly through the construction areas on the M50 when it's busy at 100kmph (when the limit is 60 and 50 in parts), to those who think "Ah sure I've only had a few, I'll be fine to drive".
    I certainly don't care if these people crash and kill themselves, I'd actually encourage it. There's so much information and cases available on the potential consequences of dangerous driving, speeding, drink driving etc yet people still do it.

I really think it's time to start clamping down hard on these people. Thankfully we'll soon have private companies setting up speeding cameras and liasing with the gardaí to dish out plenty more penalty points and fines to those who seemingly can't control the speed of their car, or maintain a set speed.

You can get caught speeding 4 times on a motorway before your licence is taken away (3 penalty points each time), I'd like to see it changed to 12 points automatically for breaking the speed limit on a motorway i.e automatic disqualification for 1-3 years. Who the f*ck needs to go more than 120kmph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Rb wrote: »

You can get caught speeding 4 times on a motorway before your licence is taken away (3 penalty points each time), I'd like to see it changed to 12 points automatically for breaking the speed limit on a motorway i.e automatic disqualification for 1-3 years. Who the f*ck needs to go more than 120kmph?

Haha.

I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Yes i do care. Alcohol is a substance that gives us confidence and courage where the driver is over the limit and does not understand the consequences of their actions.

As for slow drivers in cruise control, they cause just as much crashes. They drive way under the limit and and prevent others from overtaking them. If someone is going to drive on the motorway, please do not drive at half the speed limit. In fact, there should be a minimum speed for people who drive on these roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

ClioV6 wrote: »

Haha.

I do.

Your signature says it all really.

Rb - Agree with you on all points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Apart from emergency services, absolutely no-one.
    I support this change.
    I really don't see why people need to drive so fast.
    ClioV6 wrote:
    Haha.

I do.
    See you at the next set of lights after you pass me.

I bet you have a small cock and make up for that by driving a souped up car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

Haha.

I do.

LMAO :D

i do too...

Terry wrote: »

See you at the next set of lights after you pass me.

See ya there!

Why mention something like that?
    tut tut..personal problems, there's a forum for that :o

and haha, you don't know what kind of car I drive?

@ Eglington, I'll be passing you at a steady rate of 125km/h ok! See ya there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Who the f*ck needs to go more than 120kmph?

I do:D

Damn. I hate when I'm caught.

Hope you have a crash while speeding. That'll learn ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Yes i do care. Alcohol is a substance that gives us confidence and courage where the driver is over the limit and does not understand the consequences of their actions.

thats no excuse. there has been lots of high profile campaigns highlighting the problem of drink-driving. BEFORE someone has any alcoholic drink, they should stop and consider their transport arrangements, and if they realise they'll have to drive, well they should have some common sense and take responsibility and not drink any alcohol. its not rocket science.

Damn. I hate when I'm caught.

I wish you the best with your motoring too. ;)

@ Eglington, I'll be passing you at a steady rate of 125km/h ok! See ya there..

Fair enough, if that's how you get your kicks, knock yourself out.

For people that do drive over the speed limit. Can you give me some serious explanations why?

sam34 wrote: »
    thats no excuse. there has been lots of high profile campaigns highlighting the problem of drink-driving. BEFORE someone has any alcoholic drink, they should stop and consider their transport arrangements, and if they realise they'll have to drive, well they should have some common sense and take responsibility and not drink any alcohol. its not rocket science.
    Nope.
    It's rocket fuel.

I wish you the best with your motoring too. ;)
    I don't drive.
    I tend to crash too much.

Eglinton wrote: »
    Fair enough, if that's how you get your kicks, knock yourself out.

For people that do drive over the speed limit. Can you give me some serious explantions why?

IF the conditions allow, why not?

Don't give some bull now about it being "against the law etc etc"

I'm all against this crap speeding through estates and towns, an accident is bound to happen and it'll probably be someone innocent being the victim.

But motorways...come on.

sam34 wrote: »

I agree but i think it's no excuse when people come on a forum to talk about how they don't care when people die of drink driving. It's disgraceful. Whether they die from drink driving or not, it is still a life we are talking about and we cannot be judgemental without looking at the specific circumstances of the case. There are so much inconsistencies about what the limit is now. Imo, they should ban it all together as for each person it is subjective. I would not be able to drive on one glass of wine. Plus, what is this whole thing bout 1 hour for every drink before you're sober again. It is this from of stupid advertising that causes misinformation and mistakes on the roads.

Edit: to quote drinkaware.ie

"If you're drinking tonight you might be over the limit to drive tomorrow morning. The thing is, your body gets rid of roughly one standard drink per hour. No amount of black coffee or cold showers or even a full Irish can sober you up faster."

So i can drink 2 glasses of wine, wait 2 hours, and away i go!!! What bull****!

Haha.

I do.

You do realise the Clio is a womans car, right?

Agreed. Also, a souped up womans car.
    Clare_Guy wrote: »
    LMAO :D

i do too...
    elmolesto wrote: »
    I do:D

Can't wait for those private cameras :D Take the lot of you fools off our roads, but hopefully you'll wipe yourselves out first :D:D:D

You do realise the Clio is a womans car, right?

Agreed. Also, a souped up womans car.

lmao

Ah, If I see ya on the road I'll be sure to give ya a wave as I pass you out!
    oh and..watch as I...don't crash :eek:

Ohhhh and here's one for ye "FOLLOW THE SPEED LIMIT OR I HOPE YOU DIE!"
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wh5mQpTOyU

Enough said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭tracker-man

for those of you who say you don't care about someone dying on the roads, i understand your thoughts to a certain extent because i once thought similar. I used never take notice of young people dying in crashes on the news, it was on every bulletin. My 19 year old cousin then died in a car accident. He was a back seat passenger and the driver had taken drink. It changed the way i look at the world. Its only when it happens to you, that you realise the pain and trauma the sudden death of
    a young person is. Now i understand that every bulletin
    has a family behind it, i can feel their suffering. We hear the bulletin for 30 seconds, the family have to deal with it for the rest of their lives. I think you are nieve and somewhat selfish to say you don't care. I'm sure if you think hard about what
    such a death actually means you would have a different mindset. And i think if, god forbid, someone close to you died in a drink related accident you would realise that your op was insensitive and wrong to say. Please don't quote me and analyse my opinion, just take it into consideration for future posts of yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Live hard Die young

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

To be honest, if someone is dumb enough to drink and drive in this day and age, I couldn't care less if they crashed died. I would feel sorry for their families, of course, but I could not feel sorry that the person died when it was their own fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭tracker-man

in my cousin's case though, it wasn't himself that was driving. I understand where you're coming from but for some reason, young adults seem to think they are invincible and when they go thrill seeking its often in a car
    speeding down the road. They never think anything will happen to them, they think they are in full control but it only takes something to throw you off and bang. Your dead. No one should even consider drinking and driving because you're not just going to kill yourself, but also passengers, pedestrians, and drivers of other vehicles. Why do it? Its just not worth it.

lmao

Ah, If I see ya on the road I'll be sure to give ya a wave as I pass you out!

You women should be paying attention to the road and not waving, doing your makeup etc.

That's true I suppose...

I mean we are travelling at unbelievably high speeds :eek:

lol.. :D

for those of you who say you don't care about someone dying on the roads, i understand your thoughts to a certain extent because i once thought similar. I used never take notice of young people dying in crashes on the news, it was on every bulletin. My 19 year old cousin then died in a car accident. He was a back seat passenger and the driver had taken drink. It changed the way i look at the world. Its only when it happens to you, that you realise the pain and trauma the sudden death of
    has a family behind it, i can feel their suffering. We hear the bulletin for 30 seconds, the family have to deal with it for the rest of their lives. I think you are nieve and somewhat selfish to say you don't care. I'm sure if you think hard about what
    such a death actually means you would have a different mindset. And i think if, god forbid, someone close to you died in a drink related accident you would realise that your op was insensitive and wrong to say. Please don't quote me and analyse my opinion, just take it into consideration for future posts of yours.

Why did your cousin get into a car with a drunk driver?

I don't really see how this should "change your outlook" tbh, you can sympathise with the victims families whilst still thinking drink drivers (or those who get into the car with them) are f*cking idiots.

My brother could have been killed when he went into a corner too fast out near Carlow, just about dodged a head on collision with a Range Rover coming up the opposite way and instead ploughed into the side of a Subaru. Luckily he wasn't, but he's still a f*cking idiot for not watching his speed on such a dangerous road.

That's true I suppose...

I mean we are travelling at unbelievably high speeds :eek:

lol.. :D
    God I can't wait to see you people getting f*cked over by the privatisation of the speed cameras. I hope there's a gatso on every road in the country, would have you and your fellow boy/girl-in-a-banger-racer types off our roads so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Not that i condone speeding but it's never the single factor. It's the dangerous inconsiderate driving that is the real problem. Like people over taking on busy single lane roads with a solid line.
    I had a shocking experience recently where three seperate cars litterally risked death and also my life overtaking on a busy single lane road. It was a Saturday around 11am on the road from ennis to galway.

The one real bad one was where this guy in an old corolla tried to overtake 3 cars and a bus coming up to a bad bend. luckily the road had a bit of a hard shoulder cos i had to give way ,i was just behind the bus, to this complete idiot who swerved in on top of me to avoid a head on collision. And then completely unphased by his near death experience overtook the bus, which i might add was travelling at the speed limit, on a left hand bend with a solid line. Moron.
    I watched him continue to race his car ahead of me for the rest of my journey i took him 20mins to get 8 cars ahead of me.

By the time i got to oranmore roundabout he was about 5 seconds ahead of me. Way to go risk peoples lives for an extra 5 seconds buddy.

Do i care if this ****er dies? NO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

oh and..watch as I...don't crash :eek:

Its this sort of attitude that causes a lot of trouble on our road. People who think they are perfect drivers and wont crash. Nobody is a perfect driver. I know to attack the post and not the poster, so id like to say that I think your post is absolute idiot with sh*t for brains.

Also, people who think speed laws are ridiculous because speed isnt the only factor in all accidents. So maybe not all accidents, but its a factor in a lot of accidents, usually mixed with careless and overconfident driving.

noblestee wrote: »
    Its this sort of attitude that causes a lot of trouble on our road. People who think they are perfect drivers and wont crash. Nobody is a perfect driver. I know to attack the post and not the poster, so id like to say that I think your post is absolute idiot with sh*t for brains.

Also, people who think speed laws are ridiculous because speed isnt the only factor in all accidents. So maybe not all accidents, but its a factor in a lot of accidents, usually mixed with careless and overconfident driving.
    Fully agree.

Why did your cousin get into a car with a drunk driver?
    QUOTE]

+1, people need to take responsibility for their own actions. if your buddy has been drinking, dont get into the car with them, and also try and dissuade them from driving themselves.

a while back, a friend of mine was polluted drunk, and was after a fight with someone else. he was pure bull-headed and was intent on getting into the car and driving home (which was 50, yes 50, miles away on a badly lit road. nothing would talk him out of it, until i said i would ring the cops and give his name and car details if he drove. he challenged me and said "you wouldnt dare", so i took out the phone in front of him and rang directory enquiries for the local station number. i think he realised at that stage that i would go ahead with it, and he gave up and handed over the keys.

i would have phoned the cops and shopped him, no problem. i dont care that he would have ended up with a conviction and off the road. as far as i was concerned, he was a danger to himself and others driving in that condition, and needed to be stopped.

Would you do the same for an old guy who lives in the middle of nowhere and the only pub is 5 miles down a country road... He has been going there every friday for the last 40 years for a pint with his buddies and all of a sudden there is all these laws about drink driving and he's not sure what to do. Give up an innoncent drink... Pay for a taxi... Annoy people for a lift... Even though he knows he's still fully in control after one drink but hey that may not be what the breathaliser says. I guess he could be lucky. It depends on the person is what i'm saying. The law cannot dictate the limit of alcohol for each person before the attempt to drive. There should be some sort of test in each pub but then again, how accurate are these tests! Should there be on limit at all. People say, it takes 24 hours before alcohol is out of our system and then drinkaware.ie come up with this info that each standard drink takes and hour before it's out of your system- how ridiculous is this!

So, i wouldn't blame the people who go for an innocent drink that they have been doing for years. I would blame the law who seem to reduce the alcohol limit again and again when it can be specifiied for each individual person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

when i hear the reports on the radio etc. the first thing i usually think is i hope its not local (waterford, south kilkenny) because thats where the majority of my family and mates live, or cork (where my bro, his missus and their kid live). its nearly a bit of a relief when they mention donegal or portlaoise or somewhere.
    its a selfish attitude i know, but its the first thing that pops into my bulb. obviously, i feel sorry for all those affected by accidents and that, and i'd never wish it on anyone. i think the likes of rb and that coming on here and giving it all 'you reap what you sow, you're an idiot' etc is a bit weak and predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No I really wouldn't care if they died, they are pretty stupid to be doing what they are doing, as these type of deaths usually occur on crappy country roads, natural selection working at it's finest.

People giving out about going over 120km/h on for example the M50 are a bit thick too, that road and others like it are capable of speeds well above 120km/h, it's just some people arnt comfortable driving at those speeds, weather they are intimidated or simply are not good enough drivers I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Darwinism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Was about to post almost exactly that.
    You hear the news reports about deaths on the road and they don't really shock you until the report is about a friend. Everytime I hear a report now I can imagine the pain and suffering the families are going through.

OP your entitled to your view but I know from experience that you would probably change your mind when it's someone you know very well.

Would you do the same for an old guy who lives in the middle of nowhere and the only pub is 5 miles down a country road... He has been going there every friday for the last 40 years for a pint with his buddies and all of a sudden there is all these laws about drink driving and he's not sure what to do. Give up an innoncent drink... Pay for a taxi... Annoy people for a lift... Even though he knows he's still fully in control after one drink but hey that may not be what the breathaliser says. I guess he could be lucky. It depends on the person is what i'm saying. The law cannot dictate the limit of alcohol for each person before the attempt to drive. There should be some sort of test in each pub but then again, how accurate are these tests! Should there be on limit at all. People say, it takes 24 hours before alcohol is out of our system and then drinkaware.ie come up with this info that each standard drink takes and hour before it's out of your system- how ridiculous is this!

So, i wouldn't blame the people who go for an innocent drink that they have been doing for years. I would blame the law who seem to reduce the alcohol limit again and again when it can be specifiied for each individual person.
    There should be a zero limit for everyone. Just because one person can tolerate drink better than another, doesn't mean they should have a specific limit set for themselves. Noone should drive if they're having a drink. If you live a bit away from the pub, tough shít, country roads are lethal and one should definitely not be drink driving on them.

longshanks wrote: »
    i think the likes of rb and that coming on here and giving it all 'you reap what you sow, you're an idiot' etc is a bit weak and predictable.

But it's true.

If you drink a load, get into a car and crash and kill yourself, you're an idiot who has only themselves to blame. There's no excuse for it whatsoever, everyone is aware of the dangers now so if you do it, you deserve anything that happens.

The ones to really feel sorry for are the innocent victims who these fools crash into and mame, kill etc.

Holsten wrote: »
    People giving out about going over 120km/h on for example the M50 are a bit thick too, that road and others like it are capable of speeds well above 120km/h, it's just some people arnt comfortable driving at those speeds, weather they are intimidated or simply are not good enough drivers I don't know.

Being able to put your foot down on the accelerator a bit heavier does not equal a good driver.
    There's absolutely no need to go over 120kmph on a motorway. When I'm on the motorways I often experience these "confident", "good" drivers flying up the overtaking lane as though they're important and have somewhere to be, truth is they're not, there's other cars on the road and they're speeding. These so called "good, confident" drivers are the ones ploughing into people over the speed limit and causing a mess on our motorways.

There's no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i got 2 points yesterday for doing 120 in a 100 nmotorway stretch in limerick by a fat lesbian bizzatch.

/end rant.

My own problem really, i was speeding so eh, no hard feelings.. she was simply doing her job...
    i had to do almost 800km yesterday and was pressed for tim.. but meh.. thats an excuse and there is no excuse...

So if you read this Ms police woman, what you doing tonight? Dinner.. drink.. and buttsekz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

snyper wrote: »
    i got 2 points yesterday for doing 120 in a 100 nmotorway stretch in limerick by a fat lesbian bizzatch.
    Was she cute? Leather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭giveth

Being able to put your foot down on the accelerator a bit heavier does not equal a good driver.
    There's absolutely no need to go over 120kmph on a motorway. When I'm on the motorways I often experience these "confident", "good" drivers flying up the overtaking lane as though they're important and have somewhere to be, truth is they're not, there's other cars on the road and they're speeding. These so called "good, confident" drivers are the ones ploughing into people over the speed limit and causing a mess on our motorways.

There's no need for it.

How come you only seem to be annoyed by speeding on motorways? Motorways are by far the safest roads in the country. If you look at where people die its on country roads and in urban areas (pedestrians). This is where there needs to be a crackdown on speeding - not on motorways. In countries with much less road deaths than us, people drive much faster on motorways than here (eg most of rest or Europe).

But of course you can drive 80 or 100 on country roads anyway without actually "speeding".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Sherifu wrote: »
    Was she cute? Leather?

Do you know what the arse of a simmental bullok looks like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

giveth wrote: »
    How come you only seem to be annoyed by speeding on motorways? Motorways are by far the safest roads in the country. If you look at where people die its on country roads and in urban areas (pedestrians). This is where there needs to be a crackdown on speeding - not on motorways. In countries with much less road deaths than us, people drive much faster on motorways than here (eg most of rest or Europe).

But of course you can drive 80 or 100 on country roads anyway without actually "speeding".

+1 on this one.... if you weigh up the number of drivers on a motorway each day versus the number of accidents it is way safer than the country roads. And where you do you see speedchecks - on the N4 on a bankholiday weekend when everyone is doing 40KPH due to the traffic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

snyper wrote: »
    Do you know what the arse of a simmental bullok looks like?
    No. :D

I don't know.I am working in a hospital for the summer.Happened to be working in intensive care when a 17 year passenger in a car driven by a drunk driver was brought. in.Injuries horrific.I did feel sad for the girl,dead before before her prime.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I wouldn't say I don't care if a drink driver is killed, but I think gettiing into the driver's seat with drink on you is the most selfish and dangerous thing you could ever do.

I remember one night I was at a party in a friend's house, and the next door neighbours were having a party too. My friend's parents were away so we were having a 'free gaff', next door were having a 30th bday parth it later turned out (sunny day in June, BBQ in afternoon and lots of drink, on into the night). A few of us were in the front garden having a chat to some of the people next door, when one of their friends got into his car and tried to start the engine. We said to the neighbour 'eh ur pissed friend is trying to drive, maybe you should stop him?' but they just laughed and said he'd be grand :eek: He got out of the car and went back in and we took no more notice. About half an hour later, we see the car peeling off down the street, and weaving around the corner. Soon after that we heard the sirens, and then a cop car arrived at the next doors, and then all we could hear was this screaming coming from the back garden.

It turned out the same guy that had tried to drive earlier decided he was going to the shop. He said he'd be back in a few minutes, and left. He crashed into a chestnut tree on the green at the entrance to the estate and was killed instantly. The woman screaming next door was his wife of just under a month, they'd just gotten back from their honeymoon the week before. I have to say that was honestly one of the worst nights of my life, even though we didn't know the couple, just hearing that screaming is something I'll never forget. The only fortunate thing really is that a) she wasn't in the car with him, and b) he didn't hit anyone else. But that split second stupid decision has destroyed so many lives. Really I think if you're even contemplating having a drink, the car should stay at home, cos your judgement is impaired after even one drink, which could lead to devastating consequences. Zero tolerance FTW, then there'd be no 'grey areas' over how much is ok.

Toots85 wrote: »
    I wouldn't say I don't care if a drink driver is killed, but I think gettiing into the driver's seat with drink on you is the most selfish and dangerous thing you could ever do.

I remember one night I was at a party in a friend's house, and the next door neighbours were having a party too. My friend's parents were away so we were having a 'free gaff', next door were having a 30th bday parth it later turned out (sunny day in June, BBQ in afternoon and lots of drink, on into the night). A few of us were in the front garden having a chat to some of the people next door, when one of their friends got into his car and tried to start the engine. We said to the neighbour 'eh ur pissed friend is trying to drive, maybe you should stop him?' but they just laughed and said he'd be grand :eek: He got out of the car and went back in and we took no more notice. About half an hour later, we see the car peeling off down the street, and weaving around the corner. Soon after that we heard the sirens, and then a cop car arrived at the next doors, and then all we could hear was this screaming coming from the back garden.

It turned out the same guy that had tried to drive earlier decided he was going to the shop. He said he'd be back in a few minutes, and left. He crashed into a chestnut tree on the green at the entrance to the estate and was killed instantly. The woman screaming next door was his wife of just under a month, they'd just gotten back from their honeymoon the week before. I have to say that was honestly one of the worst nights of my life, even though we didn't know the couple, just hearing that screaming is something I'll never forget. The only fortunate thing really is that a) she wasn't in the car with him, and b) he didn't hit anyone else. But that split second stupid decision has destroyed so many lives. Really I think if you're even contemplating having a drink, the car should stay at home, cos your judgement is impaired after even one drink, which could lead to devastating consequences. Zero tolerance FTW, then there'd be no 'grey areas' over how much is ok.

Very poignant story. No one is invincible no matter what they think. It's others who really bear the brunt.

Just read through the rest of the other posts. Why is it that people who drive faster than the limit think they are better drivers than those on or just below the limit? Have they gotten private lessons in high speed evasive driving from the places that train diplomatic drivers!?!

I think I am an excellent competant driver with many years experience. Yet I don't feel the need to exceed the speed limit on any road. If the motorway limit was 180km/h I would drive at that speed. But it's not so I don't.

Would you do the same for an old guy who lives in the middle of nowhere and the only pub is 5 miles down a country road... Even though he knows he's still fully in control after one drink

The law cannot dictate the limit of alcohol for each person before the attempt to drive.

Yes, i would do the same, and i dont see why not. how can you and he "know he is fully in control after one drink"? drink impairs alertness, concentration and coordination and reaction times.

why cant the law dictate the alcohol limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Toots85 wrote: »

Hardly a split second decision. He seemed pretty determind to drive the car at some stage that night. He most likey asked others, who couldwell have included his wife, if they wanted anything in the shop yet no one felt the need to stop him.

No sympathy from me .

Stekelly wrote: »
    Hardly a split second decision. He seemed pretty determind to drive the car at some stage that night. He most likey asked others, who couldwell have included his wife, if they wanted anything in the shop yet no one felt the need to stop him.

No sympathy from me .

Certainly a fair point. 'Friends' are supposed to look out for one another.