Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20p!

• 19-06-2008 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭

When you were a kid and you got 20p to spend in the shop what did you buy?

Mine was always a 10p bag of crisps - meanies, and a packet of frosties or a Time bar.

If you were lucky enough to get 50p then we'd get a packet of king for 13p, a good bar like Mars for 32p and penny sweets! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Two Cola bars, or two Dan bars or two Roy of the Rovers bars , or a combination of them.

My poor teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

As much as I could generally.

If I was given the 20p in Ireland I would get a sparkler icepop and the rest penny sweets.

In the UK I would get two 10p sweet bars, like highland toffee or wham or something.

When ever my neighbour sent me to the shop, she used to give me 20p. Thought I was rich :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Depending on the weather, warm weather there were Mr Freezes and Sparkles with the remainder going on refreshers, chocolate mice & fizzy cola bottles. On the colder days there would be macarooms, time bars, smileys, stingers, wham bars and packs of frosties!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Heh, lovin' this. Twenty of those mint golf ball chewing gums was a favourite of mine. However, one day the bag had a hole in it and I only ended up having about five of them. :(
    Bastard shopkeeper!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

it really depended. if it was the summer I would get a Mr. Freeze (and hope to get one of the special numbers for a free one) then one or two of those bubble gums with the 'tattoos in them and the rest in penny sweets.

if it was the winter I would get a load of teeth-disolving bars like Dan, Wham, freshers, blackjack etc...

god dammit now I'm really nostalgic. I wish I was back in those times! best years of my life were those summers when we would leave our 'base' for a little while to get supplies (see above) and then return while on the lookout for the enemy (little knackers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

I had to walk 4 miles to the shop through broken glass and famine everywhere in my bare feet just to try begging the shopkeeper to sell me a 20p scoop of flour!
    Rich kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭disland

time bar or a Kalypso bar. remember the kalypso? kardest toffee you could get. lasted for hours. I used to get £1 note and had to walk 1 mile to the shop after mass on a sunday. memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭genie_us

jester77 wrote: »
    Depending on the weather, warm weather there were Mr Freezes and Sparkles with the remainder going on refreshers, chocolate mice & fizzy cola bottles. On the colder days there would be macarooms, time bars, smileys, stingers, wham bars and packs of frosties!

I agree, but used to hate the way mr freezes sliced the corners of your mouth off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

A chomp and a packet of Frosties (Red or Green). Those were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

cola bar and ten penny sweets, or else four 5p lollies, you'd be sucking all day :p

oh yeh and whoppa bars - 5p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

cola bar and ten penny sweets, or else four 5p lollies, you'd be sucking all day :p

so... tempted... must resist urge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

ah lads 12 responses and no one said yore ma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Finger dab of heroin.

The Bollox wrote: »
    so... tempted... must resist urge

nice restraint ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Starmix

Smiley Bars! Like chomp but with an orange middle!

also wheelie crisps

Loved those golf ball chewing gums

flying saucers with sherbert in the middle

double dip

Starmix wrote: »
    also wheelie crisps

I had forgotten about those, and there were also the burger bites, sam spuds and those nasty chicatoos (or at least I think thats what they were called), they had more e's in them than a 90's rave disco!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

Used to love fat frog ice pops for 15p and 5 fizzy cola bottles..

Or bruiser bars, black jacks or fruit salad bars...also used to love stinger bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭genie_us

also wheelie crisps

double dip

your name sounds like something I could've bought for 20p!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

It's a tough one but I'de have to go for 2 packs of looney tunes candy sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

ALWAYS a 10p Cool pop. Mr Freeze. and ten penny jellies.

or sometimes the cool pop and vary between,
    Animal Bar
    Macaroon Bar
    Mint Crisp bar

haha, i remember the day one of the girls got 50p and the rest of us were all SICK!
    god when you think of what you were able to get for such a small amount!! ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Bags of Taytos will always be 12p in my mind :)

You could Roy of the Rovers magazines for 10p too.

I think mars/marathon bars were approx 26p in those days - so just outside budget!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A-team crisps (they were 5p each), Desperate Dan bars (orange with black sugar crystals in them) or Roy of the Rovers (pineapple flavour I think).

also wheelie crisps

double dip

oh YEAH!!! god the things you forget!!! used to love them!

oooh does anyone remember he-man and care bear bars, they were in squares with pink stuff in the middle and had a blue wrapper???

genie_us wrote: »
    your name sounds like something I could've bought for 20p!:p

Never mind the bring back wispa campaign......BRING BACK SMILEY BARS!!

oooh does anyone remember he-man and care bear bars, they were in squares with pink stuff in the middle and had a blue wrapper???

yeah i remember them!!

thoe Jellies that were individually wrapped and a little bit dearer, remember them?? normally half one colour and hgalf another. had to peel them out of the plastic. they were so sugary and fake. haha.

And they had he-man designed into the bar, I always bit his head first!

Never mind the bring back wispa campaign......BRING BACK SMILEY BARS!!

there's a shop on parnell st that sells chomps and smileys, saw em there the other day.
    never mind that, my local shop is selling starbars - TWO YEARS after they were taken off the market :eek:

jester77 wrote: »
    And they had he-man designed into the bar, I always bit his head first!

ahhh yeah i remember that, deadly :D

there was football stickers with which you got a big stick of dodgy chewing gum for 20p also. anybody remember them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Anything from: Mr. Freeze, Sparklers, Kalypso, Macaroon, Chocolate Mice, Bulls Eyes, Dib Dap Sherbet, Candy Cigarettes ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

disland wrote: »
    there was football stickers with which you got a big stick of dodgy chewing gum for 20p also. anybody remember them?

Those and the tattoos. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

1/8 lb of Aniseed balls (36p a qtr if i remember) and some golf chewing gum. The E-number charged spearmint flavour of those golf balls was quality... for all of 3 seconds! And the Nancy Balls would last an age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

That takes me back, they don't make crap like they used too...

used to get a mr.freeze and a bag of meanies most of the time

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

whoppa bars, cola bars, sparklers, penny sweets, frosties, mr. freeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

stovelid wrote: »
    Finger dab of heroin.

Oh to be so innocent again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Oh the nostalgia! Loved whoppa bars and Care Bear bars. (They were very rare though as I remember.) I used to get eating paper too as I was a sheep and my friends loved it for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

And Bazooka joes. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

I'd go crazy with the auld penny sweets. Now the equivalent is like, what, 5c? Disgraceful.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I have a vague recollection of ha'pennies as well, so I remember being annoyed that ha'penny sweets basically doubled in price and I could get less of them for the 10p or whatever I had to spend at that time. I remember when the 20p's came out as well, wasn't it '86? That song "Those were the days" is going round and round in my head now. I really feel old now, so i've got from nostalgic and happy to depressed all of a sudden. Ah well, on holidays next week, happy again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Frosties, Chomps, Onion Ring crisps, Burger Bites, Mr. Freeze, He-Man bar, Wibbly-Wobbly Wonder, Candy Fags.

And, of course, Macaroon bars..............I fùckin' love Macaroon bars!!!

Is it me or does anybody else notice all our favourite crisps from our childhood just don't taste the same / nice anymore. Goddamn health freaks got their way by changing how they're made and what goes in 'em. I don't care if it's rat's piss, as long as it taste like whatever it's supposed to be!!

BAH!! I miss the days!

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Is it me or does anybody else notice all our favourite crisps from our childhood just don't taste the same / nice anymore. Goddamn health freaks got their way by changing how they're made and what goes in 'em. I don't care if it's rat's piss, as long as it taste like whatever it's supposed to be!!

BAH!! I miss the days!

They also seem to be smaller - packaging mostly the same, but less amount of crisps......

or maybe i'm just bigger!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭OrangeDaisy

used to love the red robin hood ice lollies....the cola one's weren't half as nice!! When i was feeling really rich i used to get a push pop- they were only new out and we all thought we were so cool saying 'don't push me, push a push pop'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Duggy747 wrote: »

BAH!! I miss the days!

Apparently someone did some kind of testing recently that showed that it's the addition of sugars and other flavours to our main diet that has caused this effect. They mentioned apples not tasting as sweet any more along with crisps and other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Did you have those 2p Refresher chews down here?
    Would have got 5 of them and 10 fizzy cola bottles.

Actaully we were given out free refresher chews after paying our bill in a Mongolian restaurant :eek: near Dame St a few months back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I used to get 30p pocket money on the way to Brigíns (jaysus) on a sat mornin! Packet of meanies, tenpenny bag(hopin you'd get 11 or 12 sweets in it) and some superman chewing gum, with the "tatoos" in the wrapper...arms would be covered in them by the time i got home!

*Sniff..can i go back to being 10, i hate this grown up workin malarky

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Wopa bar @ 5p.
    2 fizzy fruit chewing gums @ 2p each.
    a postman pat sweet @ 1p.
    Then a 10p bag of sweets. If not, a line of cola bottles. Hit the coke hard as a kiddie.

Actually, if I had 20p, id scavange around the floor for anothe 5p and then buy panda/cadet cola :D