Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Macreddin Golf Club

• 19-06-2008 9:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

I've been invited by a member to play there tomorrow. Only 9 open at the moment, 18 will be open in 2 weeks i beleive.
    Has anyone played it , i've heard it's stunning but very hilly.
    Also i beleive my mate got in for cheaper than the €8K they have advertised. Will report back my findings in case anyone is interested in joining. I'm bringing the wifes check book just in case.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

lets us know alright, also interested to find out the status of the clubhouse. When I was there last they weren't going to build it and were very unclear about what was going to be put in its place..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

heavyballs wrote: »
    I've been invited by a member to play there tomorrow. Only 9 open at the moment, 18 will be open in 2 weeks i beleive.
    Has anyone played it , i've heard it's stunning but very hilly.
    Also i beleive my mate got in for cheaper than the €8K they have advertised. Will report back my findings in case anyone is interested in joining. I'm bringing the wifes check book just in case.

The front nine is nice but very hilly as you say. Be sure to have a trolley with you as it's heavy going.

For me it's just a pity it's not closer to Dublin as it's good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

I heard they are just going to use the facilities at the Brooklodge Hotel as the "clubhouse" for the foreseeable future.

The 1st 150 members got in at a reduced rate of 6K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Batesy wrote: »
    I heard they are just going to use the facilities at the Brooklodge Hotel as the "clubhouse" for the foreseeable future.

The 1st 150 members got in at a reduced rate of 6K.

Thats correct, my mate tells me the current €6k is only available for the next couple of weeks, then it's back up to €8k. To get the cheaper rate you are supposed to be propossed by a member but i'd say they'd snap ur hand off at the mo the way things are going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

Any idea on the green fee?

As always looking to play new courses?

i think if you say you're interested in joining it's f.o.c, best to wait a few weeks untill it's properly opened. Good website btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

hey guys
    sorry for late reply.
    i can tell you with certainty you will get in there for €6k. i have played it a few times. the 9 holes open at the minute are the back 9. front nine will be finished in few weeks just have paths and sand bunkers to finish. there will be a club house built but not completed till about 2010 and will be over the oposite side of the road to Macreddin. for the minute they will use their facilites. annual subscription is about €1500. Having played it its extremely pretty but very hilly, not a course i would enjoy every week but that said you play the hilly part twice at the minute. the front nine isnt nearly as bad and looks very nice.

hope that is of some help

After playing a roung here i am seriously considering joining . All the above info is spot on including the yearly sub(€1500), the course is stunning.It is very hilly, probably as hilly as any course i've played although we did play the hillier back nine twice as the front nine isn't open for a few weeks.If you compare the price with the likes of Wicklow GC and Blainroe, Woodenbridge there is no comparison, i would look forward to playing here every week(only once). The greens are the best i've ever played on and i've played on most of the top courses in Ireland.The guy there told me the €6k fee was changing back to €8k in a few weeks after they launch the full 18. If you live anywhere close by at least try it out. The course itself is not long but you must be pretty accurate. GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Good website alright. http://www.macreddingolfclub.com/

Just come in from playing the full 18 of this course today, oficially opened today. Conditions were tough but was happy to see the front nine in just as good condition as the already opened b9. These are seriously the best greens you've ever seen. Very hilly but very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭A New earth

Back of Irish Times today "Opening Special Every Friday - €120 per fourball or €40 per person. Contact 0402 36999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Wow! I played there yesterday. I think the best course I've played on in the worst weather I've played in. Teed off about 11.45 and finished at 5.30. I doubt a >20 hc three ball would make it around in 4 hours but I'd guess we spent an hour and a half trying to shelter from the monsoons. Only maybe three holes where a long driver will have an obvious advantage, the rest you'd be as well using a mid to long iron off the tee and playing for position, which I found very refreshing.

Buggies should probably be compulsory though. I've an electric trolley and I was still wrecked after it, and amazed the battery lasted (thanks Obni!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

milltown wrote: »
    Wow! I played there yesterday. I think the best course I've played on in the worst weather I've played in. Teed off about 11.45 and finished at 5.30. I doubt a >20 hc three ball would make it around in 4 hours but I'd guess we spent an hour and a half trying to shelter from the monsoons. Only maybe three holes where a long driver will have an obvious advantage, the rest you'd be as well using a mid to long iron off the tee and playing for position, which I found very refreshing.

Buggies should probably be compulsory though. I've an electric trolley and I was still wrecked after it, and amazed the battery lasted (thanks Obni!).

The index 1 is a beast if you ask me.

lads had 2 electric buggies and were out of juice by the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

A friend of mine phoned me today to arrange a 4-ball in Macreddin which we won in a Comp in Woodenbridge.

This friend of mine has played all the top courses in Ireland (good job..lots of free golf!) and reckons Macreddin is better than any he has played but you have to have a buggy.

Both of us are members of Woodenbridge which makes us Local to Macreddin and I look forward to playing up there in weekly invitationals in the future and maybe returning the favour to membes up there.

I have heard money is tight up there though and other interesting bits and pieces on the local grapevine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

Nemesis wrote: »

I have heard money is tight up there though and other interesting bits and pieces on the local grapevine.

Spill the beans lad. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

so how does the club rate these days.

i joined a couple of years ago and I am always intereasted in what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

The banks have appointed a receiver to the golf course according to today's Sunday Business Post. They are looking at recouping some of the loans given to the club.

The course joins a list of clubs where the banks are willing for a quick sale to wash their hands of any debt that they would be landed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Nanook,
    Nemesis from your neighbouring club Woodenbridge.

I played the course (Macreddin) yesterday and really liked it.

One of the best courses around with a huge variety of great holes.
    Tee-box's are 10 out of 10 for the quality and choice.

My one regret was playing badly on the front 9 (well front 11 tbh ) and not enjoying the holes fully.

If you havent played it yet boardsies phone them and arrange a game.

Since you really have to hire a buggy it increases the cost was 240 euros for a 4-ball +buggies.

I had a voucher so it cost me 20 for the buggy was great value :)

I played with a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Dylan69

Sure if u get to play with a member, its almost half price!

There a few members around here who be willing to get more guest to play the course and spread the gospel!:)

nemesis,

That voucher you played with, was it by any chance a 1st prize in the Avoca national school fundraiser from last year,

If so and you enjoyed the game, you are welcome, I sponsered that. Not blowing my trumpet but I have to get my little girl into the school some how. :)

nanook,

Fair play to you!!! good man!!

Nesimis
    What you make of the driving holes of the 2nd(par5),4th (par3),9th (par 4), 12th (par4) ,13th(par 5) 15th(par 5) and 17th (par 3)

The 13th is a favourite of mine!!! I think nanook loves the 15th!!!

ohhh i love the hills, seizure time

No my favorite has to be 4th, par 3 with a the green 40 - 50 yrds below.

It loves me or kills me, no in between.

lol..the 4th....good par3 and interesting!!
    I think the 15th is a good test of mental sheer strength to hit 2 good shots close to the green! :)

I'm looking forward to Sunday...."LET THE GAMES BEGIN"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

http://www.independent.ie/sport/golf/macreddin-members-face-uncertain-future-1775692.html

THE people who paid sums ranging from €8,000 to €30,000 to join a golf club at Macreddin village in County Wicklow are anxiously awaiting their fate.

On May 29, the members of Macreddin Golf Club were sent a letter telling them that the company which operated the golf club, Macreddin Club plc, was in receivership.

Signed by Declan Taite of FGS, an accountancy firm, the letter said that Macreddin Club plc "has encountered financial difficulties and was unable to make due repayments on its borrowings to Bank of Scotland (Ireland) Limited."

Taite is now receiver and manager of the club, which he is operating as a going concern with a view to a sale.

REVOCABLE

The members were also told in the letter that "unfortunately your right to enter and play upon the course no longer subsists.

"However, on a concessionary basis, I will allow any member who has paid his dues to The Macreddin Club plc to play as normal and for no further charge pending further notification.

"This concessionary license to play is however revocable by me at any stage."

The receiver also says it is his intention to sell the course and that he wishes to maintain the course as best he can within reasonable financial constraints.

He was open to receiving offers from the members if they had any proposals to make in relation to acquiring the course.

Subsequently, the receiver attended a meeting of the members and is doing all he can to facilitate them while he works on seeking a buyer.

However, requests from the members to discover how much Macreddin plc owes the bank and its creditors were not successful.

Soundings from the members suggests there is no chance of them making a buy-out offer.

Instead, around 70 members -- 15 of whom had paid the €30,000 lifetime membership fee in 2006 to join the Paul McGinley/Roger Jones-designed course -- want to formally affiliate to the Golfing Union of Ireland (GUI).

Up to yesterday, the GUI had not received an application, but would be willing to expedite matters if and when they do, subject to the applicants meeting the requirements of the Union Constitution.

One member said: "We are still playing the course and apart from anything else, we want to protect our interests.

"If Macreddin Golf Club exists as an entity affiliated to the Golfing Union of Ireland, we feel we can include ourselves as a package that will be sold to any new purchasers."

The course, set on lands leased from the owners of BrookLodge Hotel, has received good reviews for its quality.

However, the venture came on stream just when the market tumbled.

Originally, the owners had envisaged a 400-member club, all paying €30,000 to join.

In March last year that was rapidly scaled back to an €8,000 joining fee.

- Liam Kelly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

anyone been playing here lately?

I have been playing reguarly at the club! It's a great course this is, 18 fanastic holes. If you a good walker then great, if not then take the buggy, it's a long course and hilly in some holes but beside that, you will enjoyed it every minute!!!

any members on here?,i beleive there has been some development regarding the status of the club,heard it is no longer listed as being in 'Receivership' and the original owner is back on board
    any truth in this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 mammy1975

any members on here?,i beleive there has been some development regarding the status of the club,heard it is no longer listed as being in 'Receivership' and the original owner is back on board
    any truth in this?

Where can i find this info?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I played the front 9 holes today so it's still open.

The greens were in good condition and overall it was enjoyable. It's a bit tight so might be difficult for high handicappers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

stockdam wrote: »
    I played the front 9 holes today so it's still open.

The greens were in good condition and overall it was enjoyable. It's a bit tight so might be difficult for high handicappers.

Great, i due a full 18 tomorrow so happy days. I haven't heard anything about the receivership and bank of scotland...

Figo69 wrote: »
    Great, i due a full 18 tomorrow so happy days.

Make sure you hit every fairway. Play the par 3 4th as if it was yards instead of metres to account for the big drop.. We played of the back tees today and it was a 7 iron.......maybe a 6 for some people.

Be careful of the stream running across the 6th. You can't see it from the tee and it's better hitting a rescue or 5 wood for position and keeping short of the burn. I cut my drive over the burn and had to play over tall pine trees onto the green.

The course is fine if you hit the fairways but it can be tight in places. The greens were good and true.

mammy1975 wrote: »
    Where can i find this info?:o

?????????????don't ask me,the reason i posted up here is there are a few on here that are members and i thought they might know

So you heard it from the grapevine then!:rolleyes:

Course was frozen solid this morning so back home baking cakes for kids!:mad::confused:

So you heard it from the grapevine then!:rolleyes:

Course was frozen solid this morning so back home baking cakes for kids!:mad::confused:

no i heard from a friend of mine who's a receiver himself that the course has been taken off the hands of the 'current' receiver,i know there are a few members on here and that is who i'm looking for info off,MEMBERS,not you!

lol. okay. Calm down lightballs.

I suppose that can be either a good thing or the worst possible scenario to be in for those members who i believe paid good money to join.

lol. okay. Calm down lightballs.

I suppose that can be either a good thing or the worst possible scenario to be in for those members who i believe paid good money to join.
    yeah that's what i think,either the original owner has pumped more money into the place(unlikely)
    the owners of the hotel down there have aquired it from the receivers for feck all,as nine holes are on the side of the hotel they could close down the 9 on the other side of the road and keep it open
    or it's totally fecked,now if that's the case i would expect it to go into liquidation but i'm not sure about this

yeah that's what i think,either the original owner has pumped more money into the place(unlikely)
    the owners of the hotel down there have aquired it from the receivers for feck all,as nine holes are on the side of the hotel they could close down the 9 on the other side of the road and keep it open
    or it's totally fecked,now if that's the case i would expect it to go into liquidation but i'm not sure about this

Whatever happens down that way,its a sorry affair for golf in general as its a great course for all golfers.
    Hopefully they sort something down there as i wouldn't like to see the members lose out everything as i know they probably lost their hello money already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

As far as i know that the golf club is still open but i don't know any more on the receivership.

However the receivership (FGS) is no longer around to manage the club but they (FGS) are hosting a golf conference next week to discuss "how to manage and grow your golf business". Weird.:confused::confused::confused:

MasterKZG wrote: »
    As far as i know that the golf club is still open but i don't know any more on the receivership.

However the receivership (FGS) is no longer around to manage the club but they (FGS) are hosting a golf conference next week to discuss "how to manage and grow your golf business". Weird.:confused::confused::confused:

i know the members at the moment received an e-mail relating to the receiver no longer being involved,i'll try to get a copy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

MasterKZG wrote: »

" rel="nofollow">http://www.golfconference.ie/:confused:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Bren13

It was in the independent on saturday stating the receiver was gone. meeting to be held this week.

I was an original member but refused to pay any additional monies to play on the course. If there is a possibility it has gone back to the original directors i am going to check out if i am entitled to play again?
    It said there will be a meeting this week with members?

Please update this thread if any new info is received.

Bren13 wrote: »
    It was in the independent on saturday stating the receiver was gone. meeting to be held this week.

I was an original member but refused to pay any additional monies to play on the course. If there is a possibility it has gone back to the original directors i am going to check out if i am entitled to play again?
    It said there will be a meeting this week with members?

Please update this thread if any new info is received.

i'm one of the original members also Bren,i got in contact with a member today and he said he'll keep me informed
    in the quick chat i had with him today it appeared possitive and there's a possibility that Mr Gallavin is taking over again,that would mean we're back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Bren13

Thanks for that,

Will post here if i hear any news - lets hope this is a positive for us.

Bren

Bren13 wrote: »
    Thanks for that,

Will post here if i hear any news - lets hope this is a positive for us.

Bren

btw are you aware that the 30 or so 'present members' didn't pay any cash to the receiver in 2010,they only paid the initial €500 that was plucked out of the air at that meeting in Glenview Hotel
    the way i see it is we both have as much (if any)right to be involved in whatever goes on from here on in,for example say it goes into receiver's hands again
    they paid €500 for the remainder of 2009 and that's all

Hope things work out for the members (existing and present) as this course truly deserve the reconginition of a top class golf course.

I think you are exaggerating a bit about it being a top class course. I'd put it somewhere in the middle of the courses that I've played......maybe the bottom half. But I hope all goes well and it survives.

stockdam wrote: »
    I think you are exaggerating a bit about it being a top class course. I'd put it somewhere in the middle of the courses that I've played......maybe the bottom half. But I hope all goes well and it survives.

...maybe bottom half??????? :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Figo69

As a member myself, this has to be the best news since it went into receivership! :)

I have played a lot of courses around the country and this is definitely a course somewhere in the top half without a doubt, probably higher. All it needs is a clubhouse, some practice facilities and some directions sign around the course.

We are waiting from the head man himself to announce something this week or next on his move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Ben1010

What da story with this club? My dad want to get a game going there! Heard good things about this gaff!

Ben1010 wrote: »
    What da story with this club? My dad want to get a game going there! Heard good things about this gaff!

Reported for using the above word to describe a golf course,what would Peter Alliss say about that?

re the course sign up to teetimes.ie and you'll get a round during the week for €13 i think