Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why choose ireland?

• 18-06-2008 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭

if you were asked for some positives about living in ireland then what would you say?

the weathers unpredictable but it means you have to go on holiday regularly to really nice places

excellent culture scene, small cities with good close knit scenes no matter what you're into

totally apolitcal society, just voted against the lisbon treaty because they couldn't be bothered trying to understand so they kick to touch

having an argument with them depends on how much they've drank to decide whether or not they agree with what you are saying - when i say how much it usually means days, not bottles

theres nothing prettier than an irish girl

alcohol - mosts of its best known brands names are based on beer, whiskey and cider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'd say its **** and stay well clear unless you enjoy being ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭suspectdevice

theres a thread for that nearby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

roflcopter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm Irish and I hate myself and all other Irish people because we all suck and other crap.

/Thread.

Terry wrote: »
    I'm Irish and I hate myself and all other Irish people because we all suck and other crap.

/Thread.

hey, i don't say moan about it, i asked "if you were asked for some positives about living in ireland then what would you say?"

if you haven't got one then just say nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Terry wrote: »

/Thread.

What he said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

hey, i don't say moan about it, i asked "if you were asked for some positives about living in ireland then what would you say?"

Tbh I think he was preempting the inevitable band of people complaining about prices, drinking, women and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

they are the positves

Mr Crystal wrote: »
    Nothing.

see how easy this will be, nothing could be the most used word on this thread

yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Too long after celtic tiger

We're now a population of pricks :rolleyes: !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Kovik

Incoming thirty page thread of nonsense emo livejournal bullcrap. We just can't get enough of these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 theneurotic

after interrailing last year for a month I was mad for a good cup of lyons tea... but I do love my tea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

the Irish, (esp. Dublin) wit. can't get it anywhere else!

I still hate being back though... boo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Can you explain this statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Depressing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

On the flipside I'd gladly admit us Irish men are some of the ugliest people around, you notice it abroad especially, our mutton heads and crap haircuts and no sense of dress can be spotted a mile away.

I think we've the largest scumbag population going.. that's somewhat positive, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

.....except Jigsawgirl.

meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Lol...lets not be starting that again,saw on a thread in Feedback earlier she's put her Bebo on private!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

stevec wrote: »
    .....except Jigsawgirl.

meh.

Fail

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Fail

Confucious say "If ya don't fail the odd time, you're not tryin hard enough...":D

stevec wrote: »
    Confucious say "If ya don't fail the odd time, you're not tryin hard enough...":D

That bollox is dead. You must have heard someone else say it.

Jigsaw say, "If you are prone to failure, do not pursue that at which you fail and attempt to acquire a life".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭stink_fist

I love this island, mostly for the surviving culture, the spirit, the beauty and the history :)

stink_fist wrote: »
    I love this island, mostly for the surviving culture, the spirit, the beauty and the history :)

Now that's what I'm talking about!!

Jigsaw wrote: »
    That bollox is dead. You must have heard someone else say it.

Jigsaw say, "If you are prone to failure, do not pursue that at which you fail and attempt to acquire a life".

QFT, we all learn by our mistakes.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Kovik wrote: »
    Incoming thirty page thread of nonsense emo livejournal bullcrap. We just can't get enough of these threads.

Change to 40 posts per page, then it will only be 15 pages long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Or just have one continuous page so people will only read the first and last 5 posts!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

if you were asked for some positives about living in ireland then what would you say?

the weathers unpredictable but it means you have to go on holiday regularly to really nice places

excellent culture scene, small cities with good close knit scenes no matter what you're into

totally apolitcal society, just voted against the lisbon treaty because they couldn't be bothered trying to understand so they kick to touch

having an argument with them depends on how much they've drank to decide whether or not they agree with what you are saying - when i say how much it usually means days, not bottles

alcohol - mosts of its best known brands names are based on beer, whiskey and cider

Our amazing history

Our fantastic culture, music, theatre, poets, film etc etc

Our beautiful countryside and mountains, JUST LOOK AT IT!!

Our passion!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It's only after leaving Ireland that i realise how much i love it..

I'm half way through my year abroad, but i get pretty home sick from time to time... Some things i look forward to when getting home, chilling out in walking up to stephens green via grafton st (i hate people but i still miss it), temple bar, the liffey(dunno why), enjoying a beer in a proper pub, heading to UCI in the square (****hole but i miss it), grabbing a tripledecker from O'Briens.. I'm looking forward to driving home from the airport on the left hand side and wondering how far along the M50 is at this stage.

Plus i do miss Irish women, Canadian women are hot, probably hotter than Irish overall, but there's just something about the Irish:) Of coure i look forward to seeing all the eastern european women too!

Things i'm not looking forward to... scumbags, thick scummer accents, incompetent justice system and government. :(

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Can you explain this statement?

i know lots of people who travelled to ireland for work and a resounding positive from any of the lads was that, no matter where you were, you would never find a prettier girl than an irish girl. honest

i've travelled the world over and i'd have to agree. theres something about the irish woman that the rest just don't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Some basics that make Ireland better than 75% of the world:
    Nobody starves to death in Ireland.
    Standard of living (despite the weather) is very high compared to most of the world.
    If you don't have a job, someone will probably take care of you with social welfare/benifets etc.
    If you're homeless, you can stay in the free homeless hostels.
    You can practise any religion, or hold unorthox views and be protected by the law.
    Women aren't discriminated against, and can get good jobs, women and the family unit are protected in the constitution.
    Climate is mild, nobody really freezes to death or dies from sunstroke, unlike other first world countries, nevermind "third world".
    There are no disease epidemics, AIDS isn't a problem, drinking water is clean and free, and piped.
    Good, healthy, clean food is relatively inexpensive compared to income.

Then some other more specific ones:
    If youre even reasonably smart, you can get a job with no skills required, train up in anything, get a new job, and be on €50k pa within a couple of years very easily compared to the rest of the world. You can (and most of us do) Earn the equivalent of 50 peoples wages from other poor nations.
    Our media isn't controlled or censored by the government.
    We have lots of freedoms in our lives, and are protected by a modern court and law system.
    We are a neutral country and unlikely to be victims of a terrorist attack

etc list goes on.

Ireland is better than 95+% of the world IMO.
    Its just a pity that the weather is often poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Except the weather, godawful morons for politicians, utter corruption in all public services, horrific standards of accountability in all walks of life and career, tis a great place surely.

I'm off to Australia asap. (if only for the weather, better food, straight-talking, decent health service and bigger cars)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

FuzzyLogic wrote: »
    , drinking water is clean and free, and piped.

havent been on the west coast recently then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Lol drinking water for .1% of the country was clean, free and bottled for a few months so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭TeletextPear

soda bread is the greatest thing about this country, i missed it so much when i was away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

shop around more maybe? i dunno but i was paying £1250GBP a month rent plus coulcil tax of another £200 in my place in West London but back in Ireland i'm paying EUR750 for the same sized place in the city centre. Sounds cheaper to me.
    Mr Crystal wrote: »
    Nothing.

Bitter much?
    ciano1 wrote: »
    Too long after celtic tiger

We're now a population of pricks :rolleyes: !

I dunno, most people i know are fairly sound. Try getting the tube in rush hour everyday with people barging you left right and centre. Also when on the tube nobody speaking and you can only hear the rustling of newspapers. Or in 'the city' where i think it's a requirement to be a prick.
    I think we've the largest scumbag population going.. that's somewhat positive, right?

LOL. Other countries are just better at keeping theirs in dodgy suburbs out of sight.
    Except the weather, godawful morons for politicians, utter corruption in all public services, horrific standards of accountability in all walks of life and career, tis a great place surely.

I'm off to Australia asap. (if only for the weather, better food, straight-talking, decent health service and bigger cars)

I know you can't do anything about the weather but everything else you mentioned you could change if you wanted. Have fun in Australia .

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

people seem to forget how lucky we are to be in a decent situation right not, do people not know our past and what Ireland was like and what alot of other countries in the world are like? sure Irelands not perfect right not and its easy to pick out the bad points but its a hell of alot better than it could be.

I love Ireland for its history, its gives you a great opportunity to get a decent well paid job, culture, the people I know, the craic.

theres plenty I'd like to change but I cant so I just try to enjoy what I have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Nothing.My kids are here and thats why im here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I wonder how many of the haters have spent an extended time outside Ireland. Very few I'd wager. It's a good place, better then Belgium (and Holland) for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Because when your there, your there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's a great place to hone your moaning skills. I like a good moan and there are lots of like-minded moaning people in Ireland. It's great:D

so, it appears that the only real barrier to ireland being a great place to be is the weather, so far anyway, theres even positives in the negatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Pre-emptive strike.
    I actually love tihs country.
    There are very few places in the world with a better standard of living.

All those moving abroad never seem to move to Africa for some strange reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

I've lived here a year. To be honest, I haven't travelled far outside Dublin and the surrounding counties yet, so I can't speak for the whole island, but I have found the people I've met so far to be the funniest and most articulate I've come accross yet.

People seem generally witty and sharp, kind and friendly, professional and yet its like Australia in a far as the weekend is still more important than the week!

Cost of living is high, so are salaries to compensate, the weather is never as bad as people would like to think, and the only really negative I've come accross is the Irish ability to run themselves and Ireland down, and the drinking thing - what's that about?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

1. The people are often very nice, particularly those who grew up pre-Celtic Tiger: Often well-read, funny people that dont take life too seriously, aren't hung-up on their appearance and are mad for culture, music, and having fun. I do miss such people when I'm abroad: Especially if Im somewhere like Germany or parts of the U.S where nobody has a sense of humour.

2. The countryside of Ireland, on a nice day, is incomparable.

3. Despite the changes of the past couple of years, it's still basically a slack country: You can get by quite nicely in Ireland without doing a tap of work - even idiots have jobs here.

4. The money.

5. Our Health Service and Education system: They may not be perfect, but try shelling out 20,000 dollars in the U.S. when you break your leg.

Free University education!!! Imagine being American and having to save youre whole life to "send your kids to college" for 27 grand a year - here, if the kids clever enough, off he goes.

On the downside: Of course Ireland is better off than 3rd world countries, that goes without saying: However, compared to other developed countries we do have the poorest quality of life, when luxuries and pleasures are taken into account: This is the stuff most people moan about:

(1) **** weather.
    (2) Hardly any swimming pools or days lounging at the beach.

(3) Nasty ersatz-American consumerist attitude has wiped the happy smiles off a lot of people's faces and replaced it with a pinched, selfish sneer. Everybody's trying so hard to pretend their cooler than those around them. Yeech. Stop pretending and be yourselves, for Jaysus sake, you're Irish.

(4) Houses are now a luxury for the rich: Im a teacher and I cant afford one fer chrissakes!

(5) People are not that good looking (male and female). As a result it is rare to find Irish women that are Good Looking AND have a good personality. They tend to be either one or the other. Plus Irish blokes have to work very hard to chat one up: you have to work through a morass of childish crap like your were still in primary school: In other countries you simply talk to the girl, me and most of my mates have gone foreign as a result.

(6) The food is horrendous. Apart from our own cuisine being swinish inedible muck, practically the only options in the center of the Capital city for under a tenner: Cuisine de France roll, McDonalds or some awful Burger Chip crap. In any comparitively sized American city there would be a million options: Thai, Vietnamese, Korean, Mexican and so on. We have easily the worst cuisine in the developed world: Even England is better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bacon and cabbage is lovely!

For all the bitching we do about Americans being uncultured and obsessed with money we where very quick to follow their lifestyle. I'd say we've just as much in common with them as we do with the rest of Europe. I'd wonder if all Americas bad habits came from The Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

i know lots of people who travelled to ireland for work and a resounding positive from any of the lads was that, no matter where you were, you would never find a prettier girl than an irish girl. honest

i've travelled the world over and i'd have to agree. theres something about the irish woman that the rest just don't have.

I trust youve been to East Asia, especially China....undoubtedly the best women in the world in terms of prettiness

i got the opinion from a bunch of people that travelled the world and were from different countries themselves. it wasn't meant to be taken subjectively as a point for discussion.

beauty, afterall, is in the eye of the beholder ;)