Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I wish him luck or just not care?

• 18-06-2008 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭

Hypothetical

Lets say you know a guy from playing poker that gets to the FT of a WSOP tournament much like the way John O'Shea has for example........

You think he is a dangerous opponent or whatever, yet you've found him to be the more arrogant, unethical, try anything to tilt you prick you've ever met.........

Now lets say a post is made of this on boards as per my example, should I be wishing this guy luck and be happy for him or should I be hoping he get's it up the ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Lets say you know a guy from playing poker that gets to the FT of a WSOP tournament much like the way John O'Shea has for example........

You think he is a dangerous opponent or whatever, yet you've found him to be the more arrogant, unethical, try anything to tilt you prick you've ever met.........

Now lets say a post is made of this on boards as per my example, should I be wishing this guy luck and be happy for him or should I be hoping he get's it up the ass?

you should maybe stop acting like a child and wish him luck... At the end of the day it's just a game of poker.

But im sure you'll think of something to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

smurph wrote: »
    you should maybe stop acting like a child and wish him luck... At the end of the day it's just a game of poker.

But im sure you'll think of something to do

So the guy who gave you verbals in the Fitz from the "Support CHL" thread is on a final table at the WSOP,

You wish him luck?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

i think your thinking too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Meh! Who am I to offer advice..

So the guy who gave you verbals in the Fitz from the "Support CHL" thread is on a final table at the WSOP,

You wish him luck?

In fairness Chopper,
    by the sounds of it, he wouldn't really care whether you supported him or not. Sometimes we have to see past our opinions of someone. Im happy that I actually know someone that is on a final table because
    A. I now him (only through poker)
    B. He is Irish and
    C. He is a Boardsie.

If you want to wish him well, do.

If you don't, well fair enough, but don't start a thread like above, it's just seems silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

if you dont like him dont wish him luck and just dont post in the thread at all. who cares? i doubt he does,

altho i also have heard he is arrogant and obnoxious from at least 3 unbiased sources.

edit:i also hope dario wins

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If someone I really disliked got to the FT of a big event I wouldn't want them to win, but I wouldn't start a thread about it either. I would probably say nothing or at about it in fairness. If someone has a grudge with someone that didn't develop on boards, then leave it off boards preferably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

lol,

I can arrange to have him robbed and beaten up at Dublin Airport for 3K. Meet me in St Stephens Green with the money. (used 5 euros notes) I'll be wearing a chimp mask, blue socks, and beads made from doghair (bought in Skerries) .

The codeword is : Rob someone for me. (come alone I'll be watching)

For an extra 2K I can have him dance naked for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

As you go through life, you will see many succeed that you think don't deserve it in your judgment. You can respond in one of two ways:

1) Feel envious, talk the person down, and look for reinforcement from your peers that share your opinion, or

2) Be quiet and use the event to motivate yourself to work even harder and succeed yourself.

The mature choice is obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

YULETIRED wrote: »
    For an extra 2K I can have him dance naked for you.

John will do that for nothing in the Jackpot if he has a few pints on him.

ozpoker wrote: »
    As you go through life, you will see many succeed that you think don't deserve it in your judgment. You can respond in one of two ways:

1) Feel envious, talk the person down, and look for reinforcement from your peers that share your opinion, or

2) Be quiet and use the event to motivate yourself to work even harder and succeed yourself.

The mature choice is obvious.

Listen to the Wizard Ricky. He speaks words , old and wise ..... (and if yer not mature by his age you never will be)

this thread is amusing and yet deathly serious.

I am using John and the WSOP as an example - that is all

Just a scary coincidence then right mmmm

This thread is nothing more than a
    stormyteacup.jpg

Just because someone is Irish and on boards doesn't mean they're deserving........

I like most else on this site like to jump the bandwagon and wish all Irish luck when they're doing well in tournaments - but in some cases some people are just really ignorant and it makes you think if they're worthy of you well wishes

This was all covered in a thread a while back where people were very strongly for and against whether someone deserved their WSOP package based on whether they may have fractured the rules......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

arrogant and unethical are the best things he's been called in awhile. He'l be over the moon

maybe i should start a thread asking a hypothetical question about a situation that may arise if someone feels so petty and immature that they have to start a thread to belittle someone. Obv im not talking about ricky here, just a hypothetical situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

The answer is in your question, If you cant wish him luck, then just dont care.

Just because someone is Irish and on boards doesn't mean they're deserving........

I like most else on this site like to jump the bandwagon and wish all Irish luck when they're doing well in tournaments - but in some cases some people are just really ignorant and it makes you think if they're worthy of you well wishes

This was all covered in a thread a while back where people were very strongly for and against whether someone deserved their WSOP package based on whether they may have fractured the rules......

OK, so IBL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

LOL.

John is an aquired taste but at heart very decent. If you have a beef with him Ricky, hypthetically or whatver, no need to wish him luck but similarly no need for this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Ricky what age are you? Cos this is the type of stuff a 12 year old would do on bebo. Your embarassing yourself and being very bitter towards one of our own who has made it to the final table of a WSOP event. I dont know what your gripe with John is about but theres a time and a place to sort out these matters and by using his qualification for the final table of such a prestigious tournament to document your hatred for him, you're only really managing to make a fool of yourself. Now crawl back under that rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

hypothetically speaking, i would imagine that if someone were to start thread like this it would be another reason why people don't like that someone, but this again is only a hypothetical situaiton.
    If i were to know someone in this exact situaiton I would tell them to grow up, but i doubt that hypothetical situation would ever arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Tribezz

lol

The words: bitter, twisted, inadequate, small and petty come to mind!

I would imagine :o is setting in about now. If not it should be!!

I go to college with a friend of John's and he came up in conversation one night when we were out (just after his interpretive dance routine). He said to me something along the lines of "He can be a right arsehole, but he's a nice guy".

I think that sums him up pretty well. I don't pretend to really know John at all but he has never come across to me as anything but a very good player who can rub people up the wrong way. Nothing wrong with that, sure he is only human.

I don't think John pretends to be anything other than what he is. I hope he takes this down now. The ultimate needle, hypothetically speaking, would come if he won it given this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Wishing someone luck doesnt actually materially affect the chances of them doing well or badly, so it doesnt matter what you do.

hmmm....Can I tell them Ricky or are you going to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

I dont know about that Hectorjelly. If nobody wished u luck, friends,family etc u would be extremely pissed and I doubt u would bring ur A game to the table.

Wishing someone luck doesnt actually materially affect the chances of them doing well or badly, so it doesnt matter what you do.

But I wouldn't intentially like to hurt anyones feelings :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

I know for a fact that John thinks you are a terrible terrible player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

Joke of a thread!

Edit: The thread has no relevant value at all. I don't even know how the question that started the thread could come to mind.

thechamp87 wrote: »
    I know for a fact that John thinks you are a terrible terrible player.

What's this got to do with anything? Using a third party to get your dig in so mods won't ban you is a very sly thing but i'm onto you......

I haven't insulted anybody's poker abilities, nor have I insulted anyone directly..... I asked a question which came to mind based on on a thread saying that John was on the final table.......

FYI:
    I think i played with John once and took 35k of his 50k starting stack in the GJP deepstack with the blinds at 50/100 when i flopped the nuts (this has nothing to do with anything)

Noel I've never seen you so quiet in my life - you obviously have issues with something here for some unknown reason and are just going around thanking everyone that doesn't agree with me. Speak up my dear boy

What's this got to do with anything? Using a third party to get your dig in so mods won't ban you is a very sly thing but i'm onto you......

I haven't insulted anybody's poker abilities, nor have I insulted anyone directly..... I asked a question which came to mind based on on a thread saying that John was on the final table.......

FYI:
    I think i played with John once and took 35k of his 50k starting stack in the GJP deepstack with the blinds at 50/100 when i flopped the nuts (this has nothing to do with anything)

Noel I've never seen you so quiet in my life - you obviously have issues with something here for some unknown reason and are just going around thanking everyone that doesn't agree with me. Speak up my dear boy

Ricky, you better reveal yourself before the thread gets locked .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭vikarama

Just a scary coincidence then right mmmm

This thread is nothing more than a
    stormyteacup.jpg

hear that smurph unlucky on w/end with qq good tourney again fun at our table too cu again cheers vikarama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭a147pro

What is this chaps Boards name and does anyone have a photo of him so we neutrals can assess either his or the OP's level of Cnutness...

ive spoke up with my lol above. Im thanking lots of posts cos they are correct.

your behaving like a child and I think you should grow up. your coming across like a bitter eijit. I dont know what your hoping to achieve by starting this thread with your hypothetical situations as if you are somewhat trying to remove yourself from your very clear point.

as for your last post about being "onto you", the man is on the FT of a wsop event do you really think he gives a flyin fck about you to the point where he would be getting fally to post digs at you on here? srsly? have you been smoking dope or somthing cos your coming across somewhat paranoid now.

maybe when he gets home you can play him in a hypothetical/make believe $500 HU sit and go or sumthin.

vikarama wrote: »
    hear that smurph unlucky on w/end with qq good tourney again fun at our table too cu again cheers vikarama

Yeah good to put a face to a name,

Hard luck yourself, but well played on cashing.... I learn't a hell of alot from the weekend,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭a147pro

and with this in mind a photo of the OP too ps ;)

a147pro wrote: »
    What is this chaps Boards name and does anyone have a photo of him so we neutrals can assess either his or the OP's level of Cnutness...

cashrichboy.blogspot.com

posts on here as dagunman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,646 ✭✭✭mormank

id wish him luck. at least he is bringin some dough back to eire!! just follow him around and you will make $...ive been following around Rooney Dives all week and ive already made 20k off him in 25c 50c texas..he is such a tilt monster!! :D

what FT is he at??

cashrichboy.blogspot.com

posts on here as dagunman

His blog is on Green joker poker, is he a sponsored player like Rob....just wondering, not being nosy...

Rob, himself and Valors blogs are on GJP.... probably all the Rakeback he gets:rolleyes::rolleyes:

His blog is on Green joker poker, is he a sponsored player like Rob....just wondering, not being nosy...

Rob, himself and Valors blogs are on GJP.... probably all the Rakeback he gets:rolleyes::rolleyes:

now smurph, we both know that rakeback is not allowed on the iPoker network. They even sent out an updated copy of the new network policy this week outlining as much.

your behaving like a child and I think you should grow up. your coming across like a bitter eijit. I dont know what your hoping to achieve by starting this thread with your hypothetical situations as if you are somewhat trying to remove yourself from your very clear point.

as for your last post about being "onto you", the man is on the FT of a wsop event do you really think he gives a flyin fck about you to the point where he would be getting fally to post digs at you on here? srsly? have you been smoking dope or somthing cos your coming across somewhat paranoid now.

maybe when he gets home you can play him in a hypothetical/make believe $500 HU sit and go or sumthin.

Lads Lasses and members of Rickys lynch mob. This is a BIG LEVEL (or whateever you call it) It's getting too nasty now for Ricky to keep it up but he seems to be doing well.........BUT I can assure you it's a LEVEL.

So calm down ...If I were a MOD I'd send him to the mustard forum for heating up yer temps. ....also his location is offensive to me.

Wow - you and I have actually met a few times and talked a bit......

I thought you'd know differently by now

Wow - you and I have actually met a few times and talked a bit......

I thought you'd know differently by now

yes, and I thought you were of better character than to be starting a ridic thread like this.

im not quite sure what I am supposed to know differently about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭thedini

what a pathetic level-which I seriously doubt, just trying to backtrack to save face I would say and if i'm wrong thanks for wasting half an hour of my life reading this sh**e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭fowlerDgrowler

oh no is it not john o shea the soccer player... i told all my friends it was...they are gonna think im some dope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

I was going to reply to all this properly but I don't want to get banned because then I wouldn't be able to get more of those "indirect sly digs" in.

All of the threads you start on boards are nothing short of pathetic. Your contributions to the forum are a waste of time. Your sit and go hand that you changed from $1 to $500. Your HH thread where you changed your posts to make everyone's replies look dumb. And now this. Get a life. You are coming across as a moron.

On an even more serious note, well done in that hand in Drogheda against John. You must have played it reeeeaally well. Nice one flopping the nuts as well.

Edit: Just saw the "onto you" comment. I haven't spoken to John since last night. Why the fk would he need to tell me to post what I said. I can see perfectly clearly for myself that you are acting like a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

Slightly off topic but a couple of years ago there were 2 English players at the final table of a WSOP event. The boys were all out with the Union Jack givin it large etc until one of them ( I think it was John Morgan ) got knocked out. The Americans were agog to see the whole lot of them pack up and leave. When asked one of them replied "We'd fookin hate to see that cnut Ulliot win"...:)

Just proves begrudgery is not only reserved for us Irish. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

Wow, Chopper you really are a fkn attention starved moron. And from what i've seen of most of your posts, a godawful poker player to boot. Get some help mate.

BTW i dont really know John o Shea, I have played with him on one or two occasions live, and always enjoyed watching him tilt the droolers, of which you were obv one. I think nobody with any cop on or maturity would let themselves get tilted by his antics but it can be fun to watch none the less. far more entertaining than reading one of your pathetic cries for attention anyway. Enjoy grinding those $1 S+ G's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

... Using a third party to get your dig in so mods won't ban you is a very sly thing but i'm onto you....

Funniest.Post.Ever.

I'm onto you :D:D:D

always enjoyed watching him tilt the droolers

.[claps].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

I can't wait to see the thread Chopper starts if NIckyO'D veer makes it to WSOP final table...or any final table for that matter

Jesus there will be talk of lawsuits and threats of sueing all over the shop