Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Sport Awareness For Newbies

• 17-06-2008 8:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

M.I.A will be holding a demonstration day on the 28th of June.
    this is to answer the many questions we receive in relation to the sport of airsoft.
    The A.T.F and the Contractors have agreed to lay on a demonstration in the large car park beside the shop and we will also have a small target range set up for people to try out different types of guns.
    The local Gardai will be informed of the event.
    This is not a skirmish day so please do not bring any of your own guns, but captains of teams may come dressed in their chosen team uniforms to try and recruit some new members.
    We would be very grateful to any experienced skirmishers who could come along to help answer questions for newbies about the sport the equipment and the legalities.
    All are welcome.
    Thank you.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

That sounds like a really good idea, I hope you get the right audience guys. I'm sure you will and with the teams present it will only help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Posted via Mobile Device il bring 1-2 of the team if thats ok always willing to give a hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭BFSL

Gatling wrote: »
    Posted via Mobile Device il bring 1-2 of the team if thats ok always willing to give a hand

No problem
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Great Idea. I hope to be there, we need recruits.

Would it be ok for me to film the demo?

Simon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

ill try and make my way up,hope to see you all there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Good idea, hope it goes well for yas lads., :) not sure if i can get to it yet though.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Ironbar

Maybe I get my "HQ" to sent me there while she's taking on the shoeshop battlefront.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭fasterkayote_

Derek,
    Good job on that. As the sport is growing up we need to educate the population, Team FRAG of Navan willing to lend a hand if requested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

Hey Derek,
    Brilliant idea, I love it!
    If you need any help with refreshments or food on the day give me a shout
    As recruitment officer for the Skulls I'll be there on the day :)
    Sure I'll prob be there anyways :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭major sims

The MAQUIS will be there , great idea M.I.A

"we love the smell of garlic in ze morning"

Major Sims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Sounds deadly. Maybe if you knew you had enough interest you could do a bus from town or a shuttle from blanch shopping centre.

What time do you want people turning up? I'm gonna point some people at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Will the shop be open on the day?

Thank you everyone, great support and looking forward to seeing you all.
    The shop will be open on the day as usual.
    Cheers:D

Gizmodeon wrote: »
    Hey Derek,
    Brilliant idea, I love it!
    If you need any help with refreshments or food on the day give me a shout
    As recruitment officer for the Skulls I'll be there on the day :)
    Sure I'll prob be there anyways :P

Thanks Giz, can you call me at the shop tomorrow?
    Cheers

the IAF team will be there in full swing :D

weeder wrote: »
    the IAF team will be there in full swing :D

Just remember, no guns lads, it is not a skirmish;)

ok so, well be there in medium swing! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

IAF= IrishAirsoftFourms

Firstly: BUMP. Awareness is definitely needed.

Secondly, I'll put this on the bebo, hopefully help the numbers.

I hope this goes as well as we think, we have great interest from our customers so I would imagine there will be lots of recruiting:)

BFSL wrote: »
    I hope this goes as well as we think, we have great interest from our customers so I would imagine there will be lots of recruiting:)

All the young guns are ours. PTP Call dibs:p

finders keepers my man

Subway have started to put vans on the road now, so we might be able to have one there for the day selling refreshments:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Subway?? MMMMMmmmm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭little buda

what time are ATF and the contracters putting on the display??

also if coming from the city center whats the best way to get there by public transport??

The 40D goes near MIA on the way to Tyrellstown from Parnell St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭A.T.F

we will be starting around 10am-11am :D

www.airsofttacticalforce.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Mrs MaxForce

best of luck with this guys hope it goes well sorry we cant be there maybe next time

A.T.F wrote: »
    we will be starting around 10am-11am :D

AKA 2-3PM :p

Do you lads mind if I record ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Best of luck with this!
    Sadly i will be unable to attend as im bringing a newbie to HRTA.

you know it would make more sens to bring him to an airsoft awareness for newbies day no?

Had a great day today:D contractors a joy to play against anyday:D and there was a subway van there:D it was sweet, big thanks Derek and Main Irish Airsoft for the setup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Saw the video at HRTA today of the guy slipping behind the riot shield.
    Gotta say it was the second funniest thing there today.

Go A-TEAM!

That was priceless! cant wait to see that followed by a Slow Mo with a caption.,lol

vtec wrote: »
    That was priceless! cant wait to see that followed by a Slow Mo with a caption.,lol

Nearly sure I caught that. Must check now. If I did it'll be up soon. Did Weeder and Blay turn up to HRTA with the springers?

Thanks Derek, Mark and MIA, good fun day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Nearly sure I caught that. Must check now. If I did it'll be up soon. Did Weeder and Blay turn up to HRTA with the springers?

Yeah, they did. Nice little shotty Weeder had.

Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    Saw the video at HRTA today of the guy slipping behind the riot shield.
    Gotta say it was the second funniest thing there today.

Go A-TEAM!

yep that was my moment of glory:D:D

Glory eh?
    <Self Snip>

yes
    Yeah, they did. Nice little shotty Weeder had.

its not about what you shoot with, its how you use it ;)
    even though the shotty kicks ass :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Gyle

Thanks to everyone for the help on the day Great fun.To the ATF always a pleasure. Probably the most painful game I've ever played. I look like I got chicken pox on my arms. can't wait to see the full video from lethal_bullet. I don't think you got my fall behind the truck thank god:D running around on hard ground covered in 100,000 bb's isn't as easy as I thought :p

Gyle wrote: »
    Thanks to everyone for the help on the day Great fun.To the ATF always a pleasure. Probably the most painful game I've ever played. I look like I got chicken pox on my arms. can't wait to see the full video from lethal_bullet. I don't think you got my fall behind the truck thank god:D running around on hard ground covered in 100,000 bb's isn't as easy as I thought :p

Apologies to alan for the previous clip(Which has now been locked). I'm working on a full one but dont want to offend anyone so: Atf and Contractor Forum members, please check with your team membbers that took part that they do not mind me tubing the footage I shot(all pre 1:30 when I left btw).

Simon

if you shot it at a public accessible event then you own the copyright simon.,;)
    you dont need anyone to sign a release.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

true but its always good to be nice and not ride rough shot over people

vtec wrote: »
    if you shot it at a public accessible event then you own the copyright simon.,;)
    you dont need anyone to sign a release.,

The way I understand it is if I shoot it from my property, or public property without any aid(as in standing on a chair) then anything I shoot(even if it is private land that I can see) is mine. Orion Buisness Park is not public though. There are security guards at the entrances so I dont know if that counts as publically accesable....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Gyle

I don't have a problem i don't think anyone will. post all the craziness together there must be tons of trips and slips there were bb's flying all over the place.
    Thanks for playing cameraman. i bet you took a few hit:D

Apologies to alan for the previous clip(Which has now been locked). I'm working on a full one but dont want to offend anyone so: Atf and Contractor Forum members, please check with your team membbers that took part that they do not mind me tubing the footage I shot(all pre 1:30 when I left btw).

Simon

No offence taken mate looking forward to the full video with trips and falls included :D:D:D

Gyle wrote: »
    I don't have a problem i don't think anyone will. post all the craziness together there must be tons of trips and slips there were bb's flying all over the place.
    Thanks for playing cameraman. i bet you took a few hit:D

He he. Keith better hope he doesnt come against me anytime soon:p His shotty charge did look great but much opf it was lost due to me jumping six feet in the air as the bbs rattled of the industrial unit. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Kristov

Kris_A.T.F.

Both myself and my son took part in the demo.
    No problems here either simon work away im looking forward to seeing the final cut. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Lads, stop talking and post the vid:D we just wanna see it.

iceage wrote: »
    Lads, stop talking and post the vid:D we just wanna see it.

Ok, if I rip it on one machine then move the files to another it'll work or I can do it on the first one if DrPepper can figure out how to solve the issue with it. Either ways it should be done very soon. Looking at it now though its quite shaky, get your motion sickness pills lads :P