Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heads Up Competiton Round 3 (poll for suggestions for prizemoney)

• 17-06-2008 3:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All

We are down to the last 32 players (listed below).
    There is $950 in the prizepool, a number of people didnt get payments through. I will check but afaik all these are already out. So the question now How to divide the monies. Its up to the 32 remaining so please only vote in the poll if you are still in the comp.

Round 3 Draw.

1. Eagle Eye V Ionapaul
    2. RasTa V Phantom_Lord
    3. LauraLashes V Macspower
    4. Glowingmind V Spectre
    5. WH_Bhonney V TommyGunne
    6. Requiem4adream V Hyphzer
    7. Kellogs V Slash/ED
    8. Simplicity V chdpoker
    9. Armanijeanss V The Al Lad
    10. GKenny V Culchie
    11. White Knight V Iago
    12. SickPuppy V Ruush
    13. Prime_ V Aegilops
    14. Cardshark202 V RedJoker
    15. Zuutroy V Murderer
    16. HiCloy V THEIRISHMOB

Ties to completed by 5pm Wed 2 July. If by any chance all ties are over before then, we can press ahead with round 4. I'm placing in the first post of this thread for easy reference.

As before can you please posts the results of your games on the thread.

How should the prizemoney be awarded 19 votes

Trophy + Winner takes all
    0%
    Trophy + cash for 1st and second
    5%
    Nagran 1 vote
    Winner takes all
    52%
    ionapaulWhite KnightHiCloyLauralashesgkennyRequiem4adreampocketdoozPulsar EagleSetOverSetmaloney333 10 votes
    Winner + second
    15%
    bottom feederTHEIRISHMOBcallaway92 3 votes
    % breakdown for top 4
    26%
    RasTaDAEDULUSspectreMr.Plougheoghan104 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

It should be noted that the poll results are publicly viewable and only the 32 players remaining in the competition should vote. Other votes from non remaining players will be discounted (Pulsar Eagle - I'm looking at you)

If any of the players has a different thought on how to split the prizemonies feel free to let me know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Pulsar Eagle

Winner takes all
    sorry my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭coillcam

Playing the final live and have it on the Hendon mob db would be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

Trophy + top 4 would be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

% breakdown for top 4
    One thing I don't think anybody wants is a trophy.

RasTa wrote: »

Well the reason I put in trophy, was the whole idea of the competiton was for a bit of fun and bragging rights. The nominal entry fee was to encourage people to make an effort to complete their fixtures and not to have a repeat of last year where most of the first few rounds were walkovers.

That said, its up to the players. So whatever you guys think is best. Having no trophy would certainly save me a bit of hassle in having to go get one etc. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I think top 4 is fairest. Live final is no good to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Top 4 is best imo. Any more and the money isn't really worth it. Only 2 is a little too little imo.

Mod title of Boards HU champ to the winner too imo.

And live final if possible would be sweet too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Winner takes all

I would absolutely want a trophy, it'd take pride of place on my mantelpiece! Top2/4 is fine for prizemoney, as is live final but that'd depend on who's in it

% breakdown for top 4
    If this voting system has PR then stick then % breakdown as my 2nd preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Winner + second
    Count my vote out so:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

opps, i didnt see that inskis only voting part,

anyway, a trophy only reduces the cash, just so peeps are aware

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I like top 4 being paid.

You can get dirt cheap trophies from sports shops.
    Me and my brother picked up 3 awesome ones for about 50 quid for our last home game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,447 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Top 4 with trophy is what I'd like to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

% breakdown for top 4
    oh yeah didn't see remaining players only.

odds on remaining players imo

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    oh yeah didn't see remaining players only.

odds on remaining players imo

Think BCB said he would run a market on PP when it got down to 32.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

top 4 with a mod title for the winner imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Live final would be great.

No1 really would want a trophy i think.Bragging rights are sufficent!

Payout of something like 1st-$400 2nd-$250 3rd-$150 4th-$150

all imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Winner + second

I think a trophy is a great idea.
    What about giving the remaining money collected to a charity and making it a annual charity tournament, so as poker players, we can give a little back to the world......after all its only costing us $10
    Maybe a IRISH POKER SITE would match this money collected and get its name added to the tournament.

If anyone thinks this is a good idea then we can take it from there...!!!
    Or do you all want the cash?

cash and bragging rights...

% breakdown for top 4
    wtf is anybody gonna do a with a cheap tin trophy! Cash of course.

Winner + second
    My God .. your one hungry shower.

I want CASH CASH CASH, its a few hundred euro. get a life

lads, lads calm down. Its a bit of fun tournament, everyone is entitled to their opinion. Lets respect that some may be different.

FWIW, I've come up with an idea which pending DeVore's approval may sort the issue.

KevIRL wrote: »
    FWIW, I've come up with an idea which pending DeVore's approval may sort the issue.

Sounds intriguing!...Winner is the new poker mod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

My God .. your one hungry shower.

I want CASH CASH CASH, its a few hundred euro. get a life

Don't be a moron about it, some people don't like giving to leeches charities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

chdpoker wrote: »
    Live final would be great.

No1 really would want a trophy i think.Bragging rights are sufficent!

Payout of something like 1st-$400 2nd-$250 3rd-$150 4th-$150

all imo

Ah we need 3rd and 4th to be different for the 3/4 place play off

didnt know there was a playoff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

I don't know if there is or isn't, just think it'd be fun to have one

Winner + second
    Don't be a moron about it, some people don't like giving to leeches charities

Was thinkin of a childrens charity.

forget that idea.
    seems like people really need it.

its a good idea but we play pokers to win monies!

maybe next time reccomend this idea at the start.I will +1 it for sure.

Reminder to all draw is on at 6pm

MSN live ..... add me kevkehoe at hotmail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Winner takes all
    Reminder to all draw is on at 6pm

MSN live ..... add me kevkehoe at hotmail.com
    GL to whichever of you is drawn to play me, given recent match-ups you'll probably run into 'mysterious difficulties' when trying to organise the match and I'll be given another walk! I'm gonna walk my way into the final, just watch... :)

Draw starts in 2 mins folks....

Round 3 Draw.

1. Eagle Eye V Ionapaul
    2. RasTa V Phantom_Lord
    4. Glowingmind V Spectre
    7. Kellogs V Slash/ED
    8. Simplicity V chdpoker
    10. GKenny V Culchie
    11. White Knight V Iago
    12. SickPuppy V Ruush
    13. Prime_ V Aegilops
    15. Zuutroy V Murderer
    16. HiCloy V THEIRISHMOB

Ties to completed by 5pm Wed 2 July. If by any chance all ties are over before then, we can press ahead with round 4. I'm placing in the first post of this thread for easy reference.

As before can you please posts the results of your games on the thread.

I'll hopefully have some word on the prize situation in the next day or 2.

Mods - Can this thread be stickied please and the Round 2 thread unstickied.

Cheers

Kev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Was thinkin of a childrens charity.

forget that idea.
    seems like people really need it.

You really need to stop posting ridiculous stuff, go donate to charity yourself and cop on. Its a poker forum ffs

Winner + second
    You really need to stop posting ridiculous stuff, go donate to charity yourself and cop on. Its a poker forum ffs

r u in round 3?

foight foight foight!

give it up yea?!
    Your in round 3 and the options are there and theres no interest in this charity idea.save it for next year.

lets keep this on topic!

Top 4 being paid is good.Should it be decided now if theres a 3/4 place playoff??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Anyone help i tried to pm ruush tonight and it wont send says he cant recieve pms does anyone know him any how im available 24 7 besides this weekend is his name spelt right cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

r u in round 3?

WTF, your sad man, try posting a thread that someone will reply to and not the stupid stuff that no-one cares about or is bothered with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Anyone help i tried to pm ruush tonight and it wont send says he cant recieve pms does anyone know him any how im available 24 7 besides this weekend is his name spelt right cheers.

Sorry Sickpuppy....over in Vegas at moment...I'll try and play this Monday or Tuesday if your free...I'll pm you later....

My inbox is probably full....

Nobody knows me around here...!!...jaysus.....

Maybe they don't read these threads....

Has anyone completed a round 3 game yet?

Going from the poll, It appears as if the majority want a top 4 payout, so thats what we will do. As there are a number of people who want a trophy also, and seeing as its a boards.ie tournament, I have asked DeVore if the winner's tagline can be changed from 'Registered User' to 'Boards.ie Heads Up Champion 2008' or something along those lines.

Whats the fairest % split for the top 4, I'd appreciate some feedback from someone with a bit of experience of these things. There will be a 3rd/4th place play off.

Hope this is okay with everyone, and DeV, if you read this, please check your PM's and get back to me :p

Kev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Winner takes all
    Round 3 Draw.

11. White Knight V Iago

Iago if you are about check your pm and we can play
    Whats the fairest % split for the top 4, I'd appreciate some feedback from someone with a bit of experience of these things. There will be a 3rd/4th place play off.

Just throwing some random figures up. How about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Culchie 2 GKenny 1

We both thought we has sealed it with a X33 flop in the decider, after preflop raises.

GKenny holding K3, Culchie A3

Enjoyable games ...nice to have chatted Kenny, and well done on the WSOP, top man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Winner takes all
    Ready to play Eagle Eye some night this week hopefully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Lauralashes you have a PM...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭BiffoBeater

Macspower wrote: »
    Lauralashes you have a PM...

Sounds Spicy:D:D, nice to have you back Macs after the Long break:p

Our first qualifier to the last 16 is Culchie. Well done Culchie

10. GKenny 1 V Culchie 2

15 games left to play...

1. Eagle Eye V Ionapaul
    2. RasTa V Phantom_Lord
    4. Glowingmind V Spectre
    7. Kellogs V Slash/ED
    8. Simplicity V chdpoker
    11. White Knight V Iago
    12. SickPuppy V Ruush
    13. Prime_ V Aegilops
    15. Zuutroy V Murderer
    16. HiCloy V THEIRISHMOB

Murderer, can you let me know what day and time and I'll set the games up on Stars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

ArmaniiJeans 2-1 The Al Lad