Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Hunting Knife

• 15-06-2008 1:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

I am going to buy a new hunting knife. Will be used on rabbits. What make would you recommend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

hi idontknow, well i use opinel folding knives for everything from gutting fish to gralloching deer, there an absolutely brilliant piece of kit if kept clean and oiled, very very easy to sharpen up aswell, i think their going from around 12euro now, the four inch blade is the one i use. i highly recommend them for everything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭John Griffin

My favourite hunting knife is the victorinox (swiss) hunting knife. Comes in Green and Red and has a picture of a roe buck on the handle. I use it for everything and it has some very handy features, holds a great edge and has a nice neat locking blade. Also has a skinning/gralloching blade which is excellant, opens deer like a zipper and never punctures a stomach, i couldn't live with out it. Has a good saw blade too. Can't go wrong with it. I usually buy a few at a time cos i keep losing them, they cost about €30.

Click for picture.

http://www.swisspocketknivesonline.com/images/53642D_Hunter.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

I use two knives - one is a fixed blade & one is a folding lock knife. Both were presents and have served their purpose brilliantly over the years.

If you wish to buy a good stainless steel knife you will have to pay the price & look for good quality steel & brand .....420 etc. These will always take & hold a razor sharp edge quickly.

I wouldn't buy a cheap knife as they are practically impossible to sharpen and when sharpened they lose their edge quickly....which can result in a dangerous tool if edge is lost half way through the job.

Opinel are the exception to this as they are reasonably cheap and take & hold a very good edge ........but they are not stainless..........I would only use stainless steel on any meat I intend to eat.

I have this knife for last 23 years and is still as good as new. Incidently, the paperwork with it states it has a lifetime guarantee ...even against loss.....not sure if is applies worldwide as knife is made in U.S.

BUCK 110 folding hunting lock knife
    BUCK110huntinglockknife.jpg

This knife is brillant for skinning due to shape of blade. Have knife the same as this, but has rosewood handle, for 8 years ...still as good as new. It's Italian and holds a great edge.

MUELA FIXED BLADE SKINNING / HUNTING KNIFE
    Muelaskinningknife.jpg

I've tried many sharpeners, of all shapes & sizes, and this is definitely the best I've come across. It puts a great edge on quickly, does not scratch the blade surface like some and a few rubs when the edge wears off brings it up as good as new. Be careful with it as the blade will be really razor sharp after using it.

ACCUSHARP KNIFE SHARPENER
    accusharpknifesharpener.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭boc121

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Quit your grinnin and drop your linen!!! Check this lot out when you find a free day or 7.

http://www.heinnie.com/Knives/c-1-92/
    CHECK OUT FOX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

For Rabbits I don't even use a knife, just use the claw from the hind foot to nick the skin and then start peeling from there.
    for deer I like Green river knives, cheap and hold an amazing edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

J.R. wrote: »

Opinel are the exception to this as they are reasonably cheap and take & hold a very good edge ........but they are not stainless..........I would only use stainless steel on any meat I intend to eat.

The basic knifes have MS blades, but stainless steel ones are available also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

CJhaughey wrote: »
    For Rabbits I don't even use a knife, just use the claw from the hind foot to nick the skin and then start peeling from there.

That sir, is a highly respectable trick! you have just earned a flanum star! (very rare)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

for deer I like Green river knives, cheap and hold an amazing edge.
    now theres one i've never heard before. that'll be tried asap.
    i carry a leatherman knife when out cos it has other tools on it like a screw driver etc..in case you ever need to fix a lamp or a collar and box or change a battery in something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I use opinel and have for years, come to think of it my wife recently acquired my new opinel which she uses for spuds and the like, she thinks it is brilliant.

Anyway I'm thinking on getting a new fixed blade or folder so all the links are appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

ah knives....im a bit of a knife nutt...i use a Boker with antler handle and/or a Smith and Wesson while out stalking, each has a 4' fixed blade with a leather shealth. Have a good few others, but the above are the two of choice...got them on a well known auction site :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

What way does the law view machetes and other similar blades such as kurki styled machetes.

Alot of the knives here are very light on weight i.e. they dont have any power behind them when it comes to chopping:eek:

Customs and excise have them listed as an offensive weapon. I'm not able to find a particular ref to such blades in the Statute Book save for the usual business of carrying any blade at any time etc etc.

It seems to me that such blades have a legitimate use in the field dressing of large game such as deer and as such this necessity would (IMO) satisfy the authorities??..

Machette for gralloching a deer???
    I have one, use it for cutting kindling for lighting the stove!!!
    You can do all thats needed with a 4' blade, or smaller, and do the rest at home with a decent set of butchering knives and a cleaver...IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

It seems to me that such blades have a legitimate use in the field dressing of large game such as deer and as such this necessity would (IMO) satisfy the authorities??..

I personally would hate to have to gralloch a deer with a machete. It would be like trying to touch type with socks over your hands. If you want to chop things use what people in the business use, a cleaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

have you seen the range of knoves leatherman have pretty good. i have a few which i have used for work over the years. never let me dwn

Vegeta wrote: »
    I personally would hate to have to gralloch a deer with a machete. It would be like trying to touch type with socks over your hands. If you want to chop things use what people in the business use, a cleaver.

I would disagree....
    Wouldnt be like having socks over your hands and trying to type, be more like being hog tied and using your face to type!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

Martron wrote: »
    have you seen the range of knoves leatherman have pretty good. i have a few which i have used for work over the years. never let me dwn
    i use a leatherman. sharp blade,good tools on it. excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Ive been using Buck knives for a while now and I cant fault them.They hold there edge really well. http://www.buckknives.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭alan123

Opinel. Sharp and cheap at a tenner a go. Mind you, keep in mind that leatherman have a lifetime guarantee and you can simply bring it back and get a new one if the blade is damaged or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

Scrap yard knife works, they make the best value for money knives you will ever buy with steel that "premium" manufacturers would charge twice the price for. They hold an edge really well and are easily sharpened Ignore the bigger Rambo jobbies and buy a more reasonable sized blade and I can guarantee you will have a knife for life:cool:.

http://www.scrapyardknives.com/knives.htm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EoOgKZ_F6M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Cold Steel Bushman seris.About 30 Dollars for a single piece forged steel hollow handle knife,that can be converted into a makeshift spear or machete by simply putting a stick in its handle.Very easily sharpend steel that does hold a good edge
    Ugly as Hell,but well worth 20 quid,even if you do manage to break it or lose it.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Jeez Grizzly and Gofaster,
    I am not sure what size rabbits you guys have around ye, but if you need blades like the scrapyard and bushman types to dress rabbits you should be hunting with a 12g and 00 buck :D

Note I said SERIS.:D There is a mini Bushman as well for the more finicky jobs..... of Cape Bufflao gutting.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Interesting thread people...

I've a selection of knives myself, and hope to use one or two when I (hopefully) start hunting soon.

BTW, I think this thread highlights the need to have a dedicated "Blades" forum on boards.ie.

There's already a thread for support for this on the "Sys - Forums" board.

So go show your support!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

Quit your grinnin and drop your linen!!! Check this lot out when you find a free day or 7.

http://www.heinnie.com/Knives/c-1-92/
    CHECK OUT FOX

Fup ye Ivan! I'm not meant to be spending money! Just treated myself to this little beauty thanks to your feckin site!!!:D

http://www.heinnie.com/jXar6c534491/Knives/Marttiini/Marttiini-Explorer-95mm/p-92-170-1491/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

E. Fudd wrote: »
    Fup ye Ivan! I'm not meant to be spending money! Just treated myself to this little beauty thanks to your feckin site!!!:D

http://www.heinnie.com/jXar6c534491/Knives/Marttiini/Marttiini-Explorer-95mm/p-92-170-1491/[/for shaving is it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭IDon'tKnow!

Will I bought an Opinel No. 8 cost €8.50. A few people
    here said they use them (I did have one years ago and thought they were a top folding knife that won't close on your hand)
    Was going to buy a Buck, but I got a chance to buy a new scope for the rifle at a good price so bought that.

Think I will buy a buck knife but am going to wait to see if I am safe from the cut back axe in work!

Thanks for all the advice from everyone who posted and all the links (its hard to keep the credit card in the pocket with all them sweet looking tools).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

I am going to buy a new hunting knife. Will be used on rabbits. What make would you recommend?

A SHARP ONE! !!!!:D:D sorry boy's could'nt resist it. I use a caribou 5inch flexi boning knife for everything.
    http://www.mpbs.com/catalog/butcher-supplies-food-processing-supplies/industrial-butcher-cutlery-and-knife-accesories

going to use a knife , do it right , use a sharp one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i got the jack pyke hunters knife.. made for skinning rabbits i reckon, and holds an edge very well.... http://jackpyke.co.uk/knifehunter.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

E. Fudd wrote: »

http://www.heinnie.com/jXar6c534491/Knives/Marttiini/Marttiini-Explorer-95mm/p-92-170-1491/

E. Fudd you wont go wrong with a Marttiini knife,my father has something similar to this one http://www.marttiini.fi/puukot/shop/english/prod.asp?ContID=447. He swaped it for some Irish badges back in 1967 in Cyprus with some Finnish soliders while on peace keeping duty with UN.He states its as good today as it was when he first got it.I also have two quite similar to the one my father has and they are both razor sharp. Great knives that dont break the bank blance. Had the pleasure of been in one of their stores about 10 years back in Heslsinki. Took me about 2 hours to pick out the knife I was after :D:D

Out of interest here folks, I've a "Cold Steel Kobun" - a tanto style 5"1/2 knife. It's carbon steel and I was wondering if it would be suitable as a hunting knife. I was disappointed with the sheath on it when it first arrived (plastic and riveted together) but was told by an experienced hunter it's fine, as this is an easy sheath to keep clean!

As long as it holds an edge well can be cleaned and isn't overly large then I'd say its fine.

love the look of the tanto myself

Tanto blades are more designed to pierce feudal Japanese samauri armour than gut rabbitts.:)

Vegeta wrote: »
    As long as it holds an edge well can be cleaned and isn't overly large then I'd say its fine.

love the look of the tanto myself

+1 :) I've been very careful with keeping it oiled and well edged. I go though all my knives on a regular basis and do the same!
    Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Tanto blades are more designed to pierce feudal Japanese samauri armour than gut rabbitts.:)

Granted, that's their history! :)
    I appreciate that it's probably not a conventional hunting knife, but it is compact and light, and was wondering about it's potential as one (a hunting knife)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭shaft666

I have quite a collection of knives inc some pretty expensive ones but carry an Opinel all the time, they're a great little knife, take and hold an edge really well and are cheap as chips so you can afford to accidently leave them behind in the field! The other one I use a lot is the Frosts of Sweden Mora with a 4" fixed blade and composite handle, these are standard issue to the Swedish army and cost less than 10euro.
    Paul
    DSCF5658.jpg

Some hand made knives

You should check out the link above, guys in the UK making their own knives. Lovely looking pieces too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

have the same as Shaft, opinel and moira frost, nothing better for edge,price and practicality
    Bryan

For rabbits, in the dark, gotta be opinel... who cares if you lose it for a tenner, but if you want a fixed blade and maybe you do a little deer? Got to get yourself one of these suckas.... http://www.leatherman.com/knives/hunting-knives/steens.aspx
    (lifetime gaurantee!)

Then again, some of you might be real men, some of you might need something to fashion a bathroom out of your crashed plane just before you kill a bear for dinner, then you will need one of these mofo,s...

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/product/standard-item.jsp?_DARGS=/cabelas/en/common/catalog/item-link.jsp_A&_DAV=MainCatcat20712-cat20889_TGP&id=0034395517064a&navCount=1&podId=0034395&parentId=cat20889&masterpathid=&navAction=push&catalogCode=IJ&rid=&parentType=index&indexId=cat20889&hasJS=true

Do you use a gun or just bite their heads off?? "Peeling"... thats what you do to a bannana not a rabbit! Jesus! You are the guy.... the reason we are supposed to keep our children away from the internet!!!!!!!!

I like your style CJ and just between you and me... sometimes I beat my chest and howl like a wolf after a kill. (our secret)

Originally Posted by CJhaughey viewpost.gif

Its like taking your sock off ha ha! I use an opinel for everything,so cheap and the best in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

i am a cold steel fan myself ,
    they keep a great edge and sharpen up lovely

ian

Opinel really seems to be a popular blade - I must check them out given how cheap they sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Have to give a thumbs up for opinel but was in finland recently purchased the following at a very reasonably price

http://www.marttiini.fi/puukot/shop/english/prod.asp?ContID=250

You could shave with it, I have tried it out on rabbits and find it excellent. It cost me €28:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Whats the best method/product for sharpening knives?

I have tried plenty, oilstones, water stones, Diamond stones, ceramic rods.
    For me the best thing I have tried is the Spyderco Tri-angle sharpmaker 204.
    I have one and it does everything, straight edge, serrated edge, chisel grind.
    40º and 30º edges.
    You can use it as a stone or as the V style ceramic rods.
    They are not cheap but are very versatile.
    For field use a DMT diamond folding whetstone.

At sea we used to sharpen the opinels off a concrete block,the block itself was softened and worn down alot from the constant sharpening,but it left some excellent blade on the knife even after 4rubs on each side of the edge,it would make ribbons of the biggest toughest fish no problem,id never use a stainless knife,they never held a good reliable edge for working with in my experience anyway,although, i know a guy who uses a stainless divers kife for gutting and skinning deer and he swears by it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Thanks lads, theres no point in having the "best knife ever" if you can't put an edge on it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭BigAl>>

My friend swears by "buck" knifes.I on the other hand dont care about the brand, as long as it is sharp and does wht it needs to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Jonty wrote: »
    Whats the best method/product for sharpening knives?

I found this to be very good - puts a razor edge on the blade in a few rubs and doesn't scratch the face of the blade like some sharpening stones do if used at wrong angle

accusharpknifesharpener.jpg