Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U.S. Open thread [SPOILERS]

• 10-06-2008 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

My 3 to watch are:

1. Retief Goosen

2. Sergio Garcia

3. Boo Weekley

.....of course would love to see Harrington do it:), but is he putting himself under too much pressure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

You could be right about Harrington after saying he is planning his season pretty much around the majors. But he did pretty well in the Masters finishing in the top 5. I wouldn't count him out totally.

Should be a good US Open. If Tiger hadn't been injured it probably would have been major no. 14 wrapped up for him. If I was to pick 3 other than Tiger, they'd be Geoff Ogilvy, Sergio and Kenny Perry(as an outsider).

Promises to be a viscious course setup as usual!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Harrington had a strong finish last week in America so maybe finding some form on what was a tough course.

Loyalty Bet: Harrington

Outsider Bet: KJ Choi

Main Bet: Miguel Angel Jimenez

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

I think stenson has a good shout at about 66/1

edit: just backed stenson at 80/1 and for some reason niclas fasth at 150/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭disland

kenny perry aint playing as he never played well there and he wants to focus on making ryder cup team. I would have picked him too.

Tim clarke, Boo Weekly or Harrington for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭BunkerMentality

Even with time out for a knee op Tiger's got to be a candidate at Torrey Pines...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

To check the list of players just click on this link:

http://www.usopen.com/en_US/bios/bio20157.html

A.

disland wrote: »
    kenny perry aint playing as he never played well there

I'll go with Stephen Ames as the outsider so. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Harrington is in good form. Torrey Pines is a long hard, onnerous slog. That's likely to suit a player like Harrington. He'll need to putt better than he has been doing though. If he can do that, he'll have a good chance of fighting it out for 2nd with Tiger.

Monty will win.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭corban

gonna chance:
    1 harrington 20/1
    2 rose 35/1
    3 casey 100/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Seeing as everyone is going for 3 players,

I'd go for:

Harrington

Woods

Anthony Kim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I'd love to see Montgomerie win.

Other than him.....

Casey
    Rose
    Hansen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Funny that Tiger was supposed to rip this apart and now is free to back at 4/1!Lefty grew up here and this place really suits his eye and there is not a bump here that he does not know. Yet everyone is looking to back elsewhere.

Boo Weekly is a live contender with his impressive stats off the tee and accuracy is paramount at this venue now.
    Class Iron play will be rewarded and there is nobody hitting Irons as well at the moment as Sergio. But can a putter of Garcias quality really win a US Open?
    Furyk has an exceptional record at the US Open of late and his accuracy will be of huge benefit.
    Gonna be a cracker of a Major.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I agree Steve...I agree...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

+1 for Boo Weekly

Also think Goosen is starting to come back into form, probably in the top 3 best putters on fast greens in the world (75/1 is way too big).

Theres some decent value there for top 5 finishes too.

Wouldn't back Singh, Harrington, Garcia or Donald with someone elses money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

Is it true that Tiger hasn't played 18 holes since the operation? My three would be Mickleson, Sergio and I've seen a few "experts" tipping Ryuji Imada. He shot a couple of low rounds at Torrey Pines earlier in the year and has won recently as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

I think this year might be Mickleson's best chance to win the elusive US Open with Tiger's fitness in doubt and the fact he's won a couple of times this year. He also has a great record at Torrey Pines. Just read there he's finished runner up on 4 occasions in the tournament. Right up there with Monty as far as nearly men go.

Andres Romero maybe as a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭scout353

What about the only other Irish man in the field - Chris Devlin. He's 2/1 to make the cut!

Came through regional qualifying and is playing Hooters Tour this season!

Might be worth a punt!

Think Stewart Cink is a decent bet at 33/1 and of course there will be the loyalty bet on Harrington!

Tiger to miss cut at 5/1 could be a good bet too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Have laid win bets on Boo, Westwood, and Stenson. Places on Boo and Furyk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭homerjk

Lads is there any coverage anywhere apart form sky? even highlights etc.?
    Have the basic NTL digital package meself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

far as i know Sky have all the coverage, dont think even the BBC get hightlights anymore?! Could be wrong....

I have a few squid on Mike Weir at 50/1, 3 top 5 finishes in the last 5 US Opens, gritty competitor.....would be a bit of a surprise win though......

Great chance for the rest of the field to capitalise on Tigers rustiness, thought I still think he'll be in the shakeup come sunday night, top 10 finish at least.....
    The heart wants Monty to win (to redeem himself after his shooting himself in both feet at Winged Foot in 06) but the head says it could well be Jim Furyks 2nd US Open title....

Players to be in contention: Harrington (does well on tough courses), Appelby, Ogilvy, and either Garcia or Rose to be top european...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

far as i know Sky have all the coverage, dont think even the BBC get hightlights anymore?! Could be wrong....

I have a few squid on Mike Weir at 50/1, 3 top 5 finishes in the last 5 US Opens, gritty competitor.....would be a bit of a surprise win though......

Great chance for the rest of the field to capitalise on Tigers rustiness, thought I still think he'll be in the shakeup come sunday night, top 10 finish at least.....
    The heart wants Monty to win (to redeem himself after his shooting himself in both feet at Winged Foot in 06) but the head says it could well be Jim Furyks 2nd US Open title....

Players to be in contention: Harrington (does well on tough courses), Appelby, Ogilvy, and either Garcia or Rose to be top european...

Westwood will be there or there abouts.. Steve Stricker for Top 6 finish also but my money is going on Mickelson... If he drives well he should do enough but Harrington will be there or there abouts... Usual best European I would imagine and that will cement his Ryder Cup placing also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

f22 wrote: »
    +1 for Boo Weekly

Also think Goosen is starting to come back into form, probably in the top 3 best putters on fast greens in the world (75/1 is way too big).

Theres some decent value there for top 5 finishes too.

Wouldn't back Singh, Harrington, Garcia or Donald with someone elses money.

Another Argentinian Andres Romero 80/1 an outside bet ofcourse, the little guy is very capable was unlucky in British open last year and hes a good scrambler.

Tipperman wrote: »
    Westwood will be there or there abouts..

Would like to see Westwood do well but, he always seems to get a bit wobbly on a Sunday for some reason?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

tiger dodgy knee or not i'm backing him at 7/2.

Reading greg allens US Open diary on the rte website, he seems to incline that this course isnt as tough as usual US Open courses, "30 yard wide fairways, and a light first cut of rough"......???

Dunno about anyone else but ive really enjoyed the last 2 US Opens, enthralling finishes with 4 or 5 over par winning score, makes a change from the big hitters getting easy birdies and shootin 20 under in their weekly tournaments

Reading greg allens US Open diary on the rte website, he seems to incline that this course isnt as tough as usual US Open courses, "30 yard wide fairways, and a light first cut of rough"......???

Dunno about anyone else but ive really enjoyed the last 2 US Opens, enthralling finishes with 4 or 5 over par winning score, makes a change from the big hitters getting easy birdies and shootin 20 under in their weekly tournaments

The US Open is always the toughest major because of the way the course is set up.

Normally the par on your typical US Open course is set at 70 but this one is 71 and is over 7,400 yds, so it's a beast!

Add to that the fact that there will be an ocean breeze and it will be every bit as tough as any previous test.

I agree with you Jerry that it is great to get away from the 'turkey-shoot' stadium golf set-up that seems to be the staple diet most weeks of the PGA season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Harrington @25/1
    Karlsson @90/1
    Oliver Wilson @500/1 :cool:
    Robert Dinwiddie @1000/1 :D

Cabrera/Rose/Jimenez @10/1 ish for Top 10

Normally the par on your typical US Open course is set at 70 but this one is 71 and is over 7,400 yds, so it's a beast!

Add to that the fact that there will be an ocean breeze and it will be every bit as tough as any previous test.

Brilliant!, cant wait, it'll be a case of last golfer standing, I love the way most of the field will be taken out of play cos they cant handle the course/conditions.....hopefully Harrington will thrive in the wind :)

Picking the winner: Process of elimination

By Mike McAllister, PGATOUR.com Managing Editor

[URL="javascript:GetPrintURL()"]print_icon.gif[/URL] LA JOLLA, Calif. -- In trying to predict who'll win this week's U.S. Open, most people will simply select who they think will deliver the single-best performance of the 156 players who'll tee it up in Thursday's first round.

We say that approach is all wrong. Why not go the other way, and just start eliminating players in the field until the winner eventually reveals himself? Why make your odds 1 in 156 of picking the winner when you can make them 155 in 156 of picking those who won't win?
    Not to worry -- we've done it for you, selecting categories that eliminate candidates until this week's champion is revealed. Just call it the Process of Elimination in 16 sometimes easy -- and only occasionally serious -- steps.
    MORE
    Inside the Field
    Expert picks
    Sleeper picks

1. No amateur has won the U.S. Open since John Goodman in 1933, so you can eliminate these players:
    Michael Thompson, Jimmy Henderson, Jeff Wilson, Jordan Cox, Kevin Tway, Derek Fathauer, Kyle Stanley, Nick Taylor, Rickie Fowler and Michael Quagliano. Players eliminated: 10. Remaining field: 146.
    2. No local qualifier has won the U.S. Open since Orville Moody in 1969, so you can eliminate these players:
    Kevin Silva, Yohann Benson, Jeffrey Bors, Mike Gilmore, Charlie Beljan, Bob Gaus, David Hearn, Brian Bergstol, Hunter Haas, Chris Kirk, Ian Leggatt, D.A. Points, Jonathan Turcott, Brian Kortan, Jay Choi, Peter Tomasulo, Andrew Dresser, Fernando Figueroa, Chris Devlin, Sean English, John Ellis, Garrett Chaussard, Rob Rashell, Bobby Collins, Philippe Gasnier, Joey Lamielle, Scott Piercy, Kevin Streelman, Chris Stroud, Travis Bertoni and Casey Wittenberg. Players eliminated: 31. Remaining field: 115.
    3. Just two players (Steve Jones in 1996, Michael Campbell in 2005) since Moody's win have gone through sectional qualifying prior to winning the U.S. Open, so let's eliminate these players:
    Craig Parry, Artemio Murakami, Alastair Forsyth, Ross Fisher, Robert Dinwiddie, Phillip Archer, Ross McGowan, Johan Edfors, Thomas Levet, Jason Bohn, Matt Kuchar, D.J. Trahan, Carl Pettersson, Bart Bryant, Ben Crane, Joe Ogilvie, Robert Garrigus, Dean Wilson, Fredrik Jacobson, Jarrod Lyle, John Mallinger, Nick Watney, Davis Love III, Jesper Parnevik, Pat Perez, Justin Hicks, Rocco Mediate, Chad Campbell, Dustin Johnson, Steve Marino, Eric Axley, Jonathan Mills, Rich Beem, Mark O'Meara, Jason Gore, Michael Allen, Craig Barlow, John Merrick, Brett Quigley, Patrick Sheehan, D.J. Brigman, Scott Sterling, Michael Letzig, Brandt Jobe and Mathew Goggin. Players eliminated: 45. Remaining field: 70.
    4. No Asian player has ever won the U.S. Open, so let's eliminate these players:
    K.J. Choi, Ryuji Imada, Tori Taniguchi and Shingo Katayama. Players eliminated: 4. Remaining field: 66.
    5. No European player has won the U.S. Open since Tony Jacklin in 1970, so let's eliminate these players:
    The Irishman (Padraig Harrington), the Spaniards (Sergio Garcia, Miguel Angel Jimenez), the Swedes (Niclas Fasth, Henrik Stenson, Daniel Chopra, Robert Karlsson), the Englishmen (Nick Dougherty, Justin Rose, Paul Casey, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Oliver Wilson, Ian Poulter), the Dane (Soren Hansen), the Scotsman (Colin Montgomerie) and the German (Martin Kaymer). Players eliminated: 17. Remaining field: 49.
    6. No player with an apostrophe in his name has ever won the U.S. Open. Sorry, Sean O'Hair. (Remember, we eliminated Mark O'Meara in step 3). Players eliminated: 1. Remaining field: 48.
    Many are picking Phil Mickelson to win, but he doesn't fit our crteria.(Kinnaird/Getty Images)

7. And since no left-handed golfer has ever won a U.S. Open, we'll eliminate one of the big favorites now, as well as his southpaw sidekicks:
    Phil Mickelson, Mike Weir, Steve Flesch and Bubba Watson. Players eliminated: 4. Remaining field: 44.
    8. No player has successfully defended his U.S. Open title since Curtis Strange in 1989. Think Angel Cabrera's the man to end that streak? We didn't think so. Players eliminated: 1. Remaining field: 43.
    9. And let's go ahead and eliminate the remaining players appearing in their first U.S. Open. Richard Sterne and Andres Romero will be too wide-eyed to stay in contention. Players eliminated: 2. Remaining field: 41.
    10. Now let's eliminate players who have never made a U.S. Open cut. These guys will just be glad to get to this weekend: Todd Hamilton, Brett Wetterich, Heath Slocum, Jeff Quinney. Players eliminated: 4. Remaining field: 37.
    11. Going even farther, let's eliminate the players who have never finished in the top 10 in any of their previous U.S. Opens. Hey, even Cabrera was T-7 back in 2001 at Southern Hills. Of course, this doesn't explain the wins of Geoff Ogilvy and Michael Campbell prior to that, but at this point, we need to make some tough calls. As a result, this wipes out:
    Woody Austin, Mark Calcavecchia, Zach Johnson, Ben Curtis, Brad Bryant, Hunter Mahan, Aaron Baddeley, Rory Sabbatini, Adam Scott, Brandt Snedeker, Charles Howell III, Boo Weekley, John Rollins, Trevor Immelman, Camilo Villegas, Jonathan Byrd, Anthony Kim, J.B. Holmes, Justin Leonard and Rod Pampling. Players eliminated: 20. Remaining field: 17.
    12. Time to look at track records in majors. Let's eliminate the players who are major-less in their careers:
    Scott Verplank, Jerry Kelly, Stephen Ames, Steve Stricker, Tim Clark, Stewart Cink, Robert Allenby and Stuart Appleby. Players eliminated: 8. Remaining field: 9.
    13. And while we should always expect the unexpected, we don't expect any player ranked outside the top 300 in the Official World Golf Rankings to win. That eliminates two former U.S. Open champs: Lee Janzen (ranked 328) and Michael Campbell (339). Players eliminated: 2. Remaining field: 7.
    Has Jim Furyk been consistent enough this season to win the U.S. Open?(Halleran/Getty Images)

14. How about the players who have been inconsistent at best this year? The FedExCup rankings are a good indicator of who has played well this year, so let's strike anybody not in the top 20 of FedExCup points.
    Jim Furyk (21), Ernie Els (27), Retief Goosen (70) and David Toms (115). Players eliminated: 4. Remaining field: 3.
    15. The oldest player to have won the U.S. Open was Hale Irwin in 1990 at the ripe age of 45 years, 15 days. So let's eliminate Vijay Singh, who is older now (by more than three months) than Irwin was back then. Players eliminated: 1. Remaining field: 2.
    So two players are left: Tiger Woods and Geoff Ogilvy. Each with at least one U.S. Open win on his resume. Each currently in the top 10 of both the FedExCup points and Official World Golf Rankings.
    Do we go with the easy choice, the guy who has 13 majors to his credit and who has won six times on TOUR at Torrey Pines? Or do we go with the guy who isn't coming off knee surgery and who's certainly capable of producing a big-time performance in a big-time event?
    Experience at Torrey -- even if it's a different, more difficult Torrey than we're used to seeing -- is key. So the final elimination category is ...
    16. Players who have at least finished in the top 60 in the PGA TOUR's annual stop in San Diego at the Buick Invitational.
    Seeing as how Ogilvy has three missed cuts and a 67th-place finish in his four appearances at Torrey Pines, our choice is clear.
    Tiger.
    Did you really think it'd be anybody else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

To win -

Immelman @ 50-1

Mickelson @ 9-1

Top 5 -

Leonard @ 12-1

Top 10 -

Imada @ 8-1

Top Nordic -

S. Hansen @ 8-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

I read that Padraig thinks Torrey Pines 'fits his eye', so he can make no excuses, or can he...

Tiger takes a double bogey at the first.

Steve Strickeris off to a good start and is 4 under thru 7.

Woods at one over thru five...mmmmmmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I have a lot of bets on for this one. I think the us open is a lottery at best and I like to pick steady golfers who can grind. I backed Immelman for it just after the masters. I like his chances after showing good form last week. He is undoubtedly the biggest threat to Tiger over the next couple of years.

Retief Goosen 80 win and 13 place

Bart Bryant 240 win and 32 place

Colin Montgomerie 160 win and 40 place

Tim Clark 150 win and 17 place

Pat Perez 300 win and 29 place

And my big one is Trevor Immelman 48 win and 10.50

come on tiger 7/2 is looking pretty good right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Not when he was available at 7/1 on betfair this afternoon.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

meh, he doesn't look at all good to me, missing fairways is normal, but thinning and chunking chips isn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 McDonagh

els to win!!

backed him at 50-1 put a 10 on him!!!!

McDonagh wrote: »
    els to win!!

backed him at 50-1 put a 10 on him!!!!

I went for my mate Els too. 50-1 each way.

So Paddys had a nightmare first round, i think we can count him out unless he shoots something like a 69 today, Tiger and Phil right where they wanna be....can honestly say Ive never heard of either of the co-leaders...which one of them will shoot 85 today!!?? :D

Geoff Ogilvy could be the man to beat tho, played very well first round

dont rule harrington out. if he gets back to +3 even plus 4 he will make the cut comfortably. He plays in the morning today so conditions will be better. (Gets more breezy in afternoon and greens get tougher). Winning score will be about -1 id say.

I agree Harrington has a chance to get back into it but needs a round in 60s today. Only saw a bit of his round last night - nice opening birbie and was unlucky with his tee shot on the 3rd which resulted in a double. He had 3 doubles yesterday. Anything like that today and it will be another MC for PH. Thought Garcia recovered very well after being 6 over early on to finish off at +5. Reckon -1 would be a great winnig score if the sun keeps shining and wind keeps up.

Will be interesting to see if Mickelson decides to leave the driver out of the bag again. He barely hit a fairway all day yesterday with the 3-wood.

I fancy a score of around 1-2 over to win it. Maybe level par.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

A good start for one of my bets, Appleby.

Also have Furyk and Harrington.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

disland wrote: »
    dont rule harrington out. if he gets back to +3 even plus 4 he will make the cut comfortably. He plays in the morning today so conditions will be better. (Gets more breezy in afternoon and greens get tougher). Winning score will be about -1 id say.

G'wan Paddy! -3 thru 12. Back to +4. Current projected cut is +7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

G'wan Paddy! -3 thru 12. Back to +4. Current projected cut is +7.
    Harrington -4 for the day playing the par 5 9th his 18th and +3 total, fair play to him he should be well in the hunt come sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Cracking round from Harrington. 67 today, +3 overall.
    Two more days like that and he's well in with a chance!

Tiger one shot off the lead. 7/2 looking very good now. Well done to padraig yesterday. good round today and he will be very much in the shake-up

Some second nine by the tiger. Great egale on his front nine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It looks like Tiger now, although if Appleby can hold the lead until Sunday then we would have an interesting. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think Appleby has never lost when having the 54 hole lead. Meh something in the back of my mind somewhere is telling me that I'm wrong there, but I'll leave it and get the correct answer from one of you.