Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mobileME

• 10-06-2008 8:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭

This sounds potentially interesting with its push technology. I've never used a .mac account so maybe someone can answer me something, is a pure closed shop in regards to what accounts you can use or could I use it to sync gmail, google calendar and google contacts and then push those to the iphone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

its closed

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

What happens to @mac.com email addy? Is it no more now?

SP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

:(

Does look like a good service but I'm sure most people don't want to be changing their email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

you keep your @mac but get a @me with the same name. I'm sure they'll phase @macs out after a couple of years though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

I personally never had .mac myself but i can definitely see myself signing up to MobileMe. I already use iCal and Address Book apps so the syncing process should be fine for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭kevmac

.mac has been a brilliant for me with a mac at work, two macs at home and my iPhone.

All my info is always the same on all devices: Address Book, Bookmarks, iCal, Mail.

Worth the €100 a year alone.

I know that Google has apps that can do it all that but it's the OS X integration that clinches it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

anyone know can you pay $100 a year if you are in the States (on holiday) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

MobileMe looks interesting but Gmail can do a lot of those things.

Granted, Gmail has only 6GB+ of storage versus Mobile Me's 20GB but you can sync Google's calendar and address book with iCal and the Leopard address book using third party apps.

Can someone explain to me why the Mobile Me service is worth paying for or who it is being aimed at? USD100 is not cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

ye but mobile me is push which is way easier on users, also i would see a use for backing up my documents folder and having all those files available to me on the go.

its something i will be investigating more anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

silvine wrote: »
    MobileMe looks interesting but Gmail can do a lot of those things.

Granted, Gmail has only 6GB+ of storage versus Mobile Me's 20GB but you can sync Google's calendar and address book with iCal and the Leopard address book using third party apps.

Can someone explain to me why the Mobile Me service is worth paying for or who it is being aimed at? USD100 is not cheap.

I have to agree with you there, 100$ is a lot for what they are offering when you compare it to Google, which is always improving.

The latest Apple update allows you to sync directly with the Google address book without third party apps so it's just the calendar that requires a third party app.

Yeah I'm curious about it. I like the Apple apps but the price is off putting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Gerard_Smith

Heres my question, will it work with phones other than the iphone? If you have a Blackberry will you be able to get push email and calendar events from mobile me? Heck if you have a phone that doesn't support push email will you be able to get your mail at all?

That's a good question. I had a look at the videos on the Apple website and they gave no indication as to whether it will work with other phones. It does work with PCs though.

If it doesn't (and it looks that way), you'll need a Mac and an iPhone to really get the full benefit out of MobileMe. And considering the expensive iPhone tarrifs that makes MobileMe a more expensive package.

Google range of applications does a lot that this does already, although it's a lot clumsier about it. All the same, the convenience of MobileMe looks great. I'll definately be giving the trial version of it a go.

Who do you think it's aimed at? Business people, home users?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

I think it's being aimed at both to be honest. Personally i will need to investigate it further but for the like of school/college/work etc it would be very handy to be able to access all of your documents, presentations etc on the go. The whole updating all devices at once(demonstrated using the new contact and iCal entry examplt), it probably wont be much use to me, as when i update a contact on the go, it'll update address book itself when i next sync my iphone to my mac anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

dubmick wrote: »
    anyone know can you pay $100 a year if you are in the States (on holiday) ?

Yep, well with .mac you could.. I bought a family pack while I was over there. Using it to host 3 websites at the mo n sync docs, contacts etc between work n home

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I think I might go for it, I'm planning of getting an iPhone 3G and the mail server I run for my personal email has given me nothing only hassle in the past while.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Seems like a good idea but I don't see the BIG attracxtion over google's services which I can already sync and use on a number of PCs, macs etc already using ical with google cal and IMAP for mail, sure file backup would be handy but not worth 100 a year tbh

I can just use mozy or my own webspace for that if need be,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I'm pretty diasspaointed with MobileME, or at least with what has been said about it.

Its far from "exchange for the rest of us" for a start, you cannot point the mx records for your domain to mobileme account. You have to use your silly .me address. Fine if you are a student, but most business worth their salt these days have a web identity and domain.

Sure, you can forward mails and add one account for IMAP, but the outgoing server is still wrong. Call it .mac v2, "exchange for the rest of us" its not.

Ill be using hosted exchange thanks very much. Probably keep iDisk for the sake of convienience, but everything else is moving to exchange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Its not intended for business users. "Exchage for the rest of us" means OTA capability for home users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm probably going to get it, but I want a decent mail address. I'm sick of using pseudonyms etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭randombar

jester77 wrote: »
    I have to agree with you there, 100$ is a lot for what they are offering when you compare it to Google, which is always improving.

The latest Apple update allows you to sync directly with the Google address book without third party apps so it's just the calendar that requires a third party app.

Lads that's the best app ever, sorts out my contacts nicely! How did ye here about this? Any more handy ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Simon201

Hey people it seems to have taken Apple a while but they've finally copped on to the exchange rates. Mobile Me(.Mac) is now €79 on the ie site! Ok it's still not quite the €45 or €50 that you could get it on eBay but it's a step in the right direction.

And cheek of them! they're still looking for €99 if I renew through system preferences!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

I read somewhere that mobileme will be $69 for iPhone 3G purchasers

I wonder will that offer be the case in Ireland? 50 yoyo's makes it a lot more palatable.

so i just signed up for the free trial.........lets see how it goes!

the webUI is down at the minute, teething troubles i'd say - it was up for about 15 mins but not anymore, but the native syncing and idisk work lovely. And for those behind nasty proxies in work - it plays nicely with Authoxy.

Tried logging in there. It's down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

haven't been able to get into my .mac account all day,i need reports off it for feckin work :(
    so tomorrow i'll be working from home in the morning before i go to ******, doing work i could have done today...
    nice one apple!

Any news on whether the email, push or otherwise, can be used with phones other than the iphone?

The website only says Mac, PC, iPod Touch and iPhone.

Thats going to be a serious limitation.

not really........ they're aiming to have a completely integrated solution for their product, not deal with everyone else's inability to do something like this.

was up briefly for about 15 mins.....now back down again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

not really........ they're aiming to have a completely integrated solution for their product, not deal with everyone else's inability to do something like this.

That's Apple for you - proprietary, proprietary, proprietary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭maniac101

punchdrunk wrote: »
    haven't been able to get into my .mac account all day,i need reports off it for feckin work :(
    so tomorrow i'll be working from home in the morning before i go to ******, doing work i could have done today...
    nice one apple!

I've been trying to access my .mac account via a web browser for two days now, without success. (The Mail app on OSX appears to be working???) As a long-standing .mac subscriber, I can't believe the poor level of service being provided from a subsrciption services provider. The web page says that "We are currently performing scheduled maintenance". Well if it's "scheduled", why didn't they tell anyone? If never experienced anything like it from free email service providers. I don't want mobileme, please give me my old .mac back!

I'M HOPPING MAD. :mad: VERY POOR SHOW APPLE!! (/now shouting at the top of my voice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭viperirl

Cant access my .mac email from a web browser either. As you said, I'd have expected better service from a subscription based provider. Really p*ssed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭maniac101

Update: I managed to call up the mobileMe homepage once this afternoon. It informed me that mobileMe doesn't support IE7. It suggested an install of Safari (eh no thanks!) or Firefox. So, thinking this was progress after two days of no service, I installed Firefox, and guess what? Yep, same old message: "This service is temporarily unavailable.We are currently performing scheduled maintenance.
    Normal service will be restored soon."

What a load of c**p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭viperirl

seems to be working now. Very slow though.

I'm disappointed. Think I'll be sticking with Google apps.

If I see that maintainence message one more time.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

Go to www.me.com and log in there instead (it's a bit slow, probably due to heavy traffic, but looks good so far)

Working. Keep declining my Credit Card though even though a) there's enough on it and b) it's not being charged for 2 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

chrislad wrote: »
    Working. Keep declining my Credit Card though even though a) there's enough on it and b) it's not being charged for 2 months.

Mine was declined too - but just as well, there's word going around on apple support forums of people being charged £121 straight away on the free trial.....

Worked with my fathers card. Odd.

Anywho, price is 79e for the year, which isn't bad. I really just need to get into the habit of using calender now as I could do with it.

Pretty much up and running. Can't login via the website yet, but I can login through iDisk on OS X and I have everything syncing.

Interesting that in the online video demonstrations they use Firefox rather than Safari on the windows end of things.

So i found this support note about push from mac to mobile me.....

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1155

it seems that it only goes every 15 minutes from your computer to the cloud.....this is clearly NOT push, this is NOT what people have signed up for. While things do actually push from the cloud to iphone......15 minutes from your desktop is not the "instant" they promise.

On the off chance that someone from Apple reads this - push doesn't mean once every 15 minutes, that's just normal syncing. Push means instantly, push means monitoring for changes and making the changes when made. A bit of clarity and correct advertising is what's needed here - there is some seriously misleading information going around about mobileMe.

babypink wrote: »
    So i found this support note about push from mac to mobile me.....

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1155

it seems that it only goes every 15 minutes from your computer to the cloud.....this is clearly NOT push, this is NOT what people have signed up for. While things do actually push from the cloud to iphone......15 minutes from your desktop is not the "instant" they promise.

On the off chance that someone from Apple reads this - push doesn't mean once every 15 minutes, that's just normal syncing. Push means instantly, push means monitoring for changes and making the changes when made. A bit of clarity and correct advertising is what's needed here - there is some seriously misleading information going around about mobileMe.

So let me see if I understand this, when being pushed from the cloud to a persons iPhone mac or PC that is actually instantaneous but pushing from an iphone mac or PC to the cloud takes 15 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Type 17

...pushing from an iphone mac or PC to the cloud takes 15 minutes?

It doesn't take 15 minutes, it happens every 15 minutes. This is not unreasonable, as making your Mac constantly chat to the cloud would slow it down and erode your available bandwidth. If you are using your Mac (making changes) then you aren't going to be using your other devices for a few (15?) minutes.
    Anyway, if you have made a change on your Mac that you do want to see across the other devices immediately, just drop your Sync icon in the menubar and click on "sync now" - the cloud will push it down to the other devices almost immediately.

thats not the point......the point is that its being promoted as an instant (or close to) service that's automatic. People don't want to have to manually sync if they're paying for the service.

Pushing 10/15k with every change is not going to consume bandwith...we're talking about text here, not images.