Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you reckon the best car in the world is?

• 08-06-2008 5:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

I'm a n00b thinking of buying one, money is no object I can just cash out my roll, so what would you recommend?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

citroen c5 for me or c6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭GioSosStavros

If you had to pick just one...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Bugatti Veyron

thread closed * :D

*only joking, only just

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭paulanthony

BMW 530d / 335d / M5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

The Audi RS6 Avant 5.0Tfsi 580Bhp Quattro....

.... the only car you'll ever need!!! :cool:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/RS6/5.0Tfsi-580Bhp/1051338/

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/RS6/20-Alloys/259628/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭ramanujan

My top 2.

bugatti-veyron-big.jpg

porschegt2-small.jpg

stiff competition for the third.
    m3... c63... etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭GioSosStavros

c63 is far far superior to the m3 imo. Not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Clare_Guy wrote: »
    The Audi RS6 Avant 5.0Tfsi 580Bhp Quattro....

.... the only car you'll ever need!!! :cool:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/RS6/5.0Tfsi-580Bhp/1051338/

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Audi/RS6/20-Alloys/259628/

*Waits for E92 to suggest an M5 or 760Li*

This is one of the most pointless threads I've seen in a long time ...what's the best car for a noob, money no object ...(as if :D)

But as it isn't against the charter to be pointless ...knock yourselves out !

One word of warning though ...this thread will be closed at the first sign of an argument.

More reasonable for you Peasant. Insurance will be killer though...think just sub €7k with no experience.

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/BMW/330/d-Sport/1052083/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Skoda Octavia 1.9tdi 130 Estate
    (cos the boot is even bigarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! :pac: )

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭thesoulfulldude

nissan skyline 2008 model jap spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Looks like he stores it in his house outta fear haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭traco

Possibly one of the best cars in the world - VW Beetle. Won't break the bank and will benefit from classic tax and insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

In my opinion:

535d. All cars are a compromise in some departments so no car will fill all gaps, but I think the best allrounder would be the 535d. Its fast, RWD, spacious for 4 with a nice boot, economical, it looks well, and handles very well. An E39 528i M sport, or a 330i/330d would be a good choice too.

Another contender in my eyes is the ten a penny mark 2 Ford Mondeo 2.0tdi. The E90 320d is also up there.

On a more sporty note, probably the Honda NSX gets my vote. Timeless design, RWD, light, relatively affordable running costs, japanese reliabilty. Or the Mark 2 Mazda MX5, 1.8L. I wouldnt say no to it as my next car.

all very sensible suggestions... especially the diesel mondeo...

coz when money's no object you really, REALLY wanna be sensible!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

For me, money no object has to be the Koenigsegg CCX. So rare, so fast, and gorgeous.

koenigsegg-ccx-2006-776252.jpg

For me, money no object has to be the Koenigsegg CCX. So rare, so fast, and gorgeous.

koenigsegg-ccx-2006-776252.jpg

and it can run on bio-ethenol too... so it's SENSIBLE!!! :)

all very sensible suggestions... especially the diesel mondeo...

coz when money's no object you really, REALLY wanna be sensible!! :rolleyes:

Funk. Missed that bit. Then its the Mclaren F1, end of.

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Funk. Missed that bit. Then its the Mclaren F1, end of.

ah ***t i want that one! :mad:

Putting all this money no object stuff to one side for a sec, I read recently that an annual service on the McClaren costs 30K in english punts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭thesoulfulldude

depends what ya wanna use the car for!

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Putting all this money no object stuff to one side for a sec, I read recently that an annual service on the McClaren costs 30K in english punts!

i dunno about the cost of the service but...

you cannot sell the car on, if you wanna sell it, you HAVE to sell it back to mcclaren. they then completely rebuild the car so the next person gets a brand new car!

amazing. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

BMW M5 is the best all round car in the world, IMO. Supercar performance for Family car money (2nd hand of course)

i dunno about the cost of the service but...

you cannot sell the car on, if you wanna sell it, you HAVE to sell it back to mcclaren. they then completely rebuild the car so the next person gets a brand new car!

amazing. :eek:

Rudy hell.

Id pick it over a Veyron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭ambro25

251709181_386da53dca.jpg?v=0

I wons. Close thread.

Another suggestion - Toyota Corolla, more sold than the VW Beetle but in more variations. Still reckon its the Beetle though - remember that Top Gear challenge across Africa.

BTW all the other suggestions are excellent but to throw in a few more, The original Mini, Porsche 959, Honda NSX, Lancia Delta Integrale, 80's Audi Quattro, BMW E30 M3, E60 M5 Touring, Audi RS6 Avant, Willys Jeep, Original Landrover, Mk I/II Escort RS2000, Sierra/Escort Cosworth....

This is a great question to have over pints but its completely irrelevent without some sort of critera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Realistic = BMW M5 or RS6 (New one)

Dream = Koenigsegg CCXR Edition (the carbon one......)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Ultimate car has got to be the Veyron. The tour-de-force of creating it, whatever the cost!
    I'm a n00b
    c63 is far far superior to the m3 imo. Not even close.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

The "king of the 'ring", the Lexus LF-A. Followed very closely by the cheap as chips Nissan GTR, both of which piss all over M5s (never mind 535Ds) etc etc and the original NSX from a height.

There will only be 300 Veyrons, making them rarer than the Enzo. Good luck in getting one.

Unkel's selling a 735i....I reckon he's been trying to sell it so long now he'd nearly pay you to take it off his hands:D:D

JHMEG wrote: »
    The "king of the 'ring", the Lexus LF-A

*coughs*

24 hour ring race last week and there were 8 Porsches and 2 BMWs in the top 10. Lexus’ much hyped LF-A came in at 121st. Poor thang :D

This is not an argument BTW :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Lancer Evo X MR

Very very quick

im sure they will have an fq400 model about soon in the UK

or a new GTR (quality)

unkel wrote: »
    *coughs*

24 hour ring race last week and there were 8 Porsches and 2 BMWs in the top 10. Lexus’ much hyped LF-A came in at 121st. Poor thang :D

No.. the driver came in 121st. Some 24 hour Le Mans type thing has no bearing on the car.

The LF-A does the ring in 7min 24sec, faster than any Porsche ever made. And that's not even the production version.

No.. the driver came in 121st. Some 24 hour Le Mans type thing has no bearing on the car.

Sure, let's blame it on the drivers. Those 4 chaps must have been awful drivers to be selected by Toyota to represent the company in their most important and most closely watched race to date...
    The LF-A does the ring faster than any Porsche ever made. And that's not even the production version.

Many of the Porsches that have kept the ring record were standard production cars. Will the Lexus ever become a real car that one can actually buy? It is still a concept car / prototype and it has been for how many years now?

My ads on adverts.ie:

Sure, let's blame it on the drivers. Those 4 chaps must have been awful drivers to be selected by Toyota to represent the company in their most important and most closely watched race to date...
    Really? That's why none of us heard about it? Surely Toyota's most important watched races at the moment are in F1?
    Many of the Porsches that have kept the ring record were standard production cars. Will the Lexus ever become a real car that one can actually buy? It is still a concept car / prototype and it has been for how many years now?
    Porsche has already been stomped on by the relatively low tech GTR. It'll be a whitewash with the LF-A.

It'll be a whitewash with the LF-A.

Please, Toyota, bring it on! Not in 2010 or 2019, but now! Can't wait to see it :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Please, Toyota, bring it on! Not in 2010 or 2019, but now! Can't wait to see it :D
    Sorry dude. Porsche is a has-been. Pretty much everyone accepts that the LF-A will be a notch above the GTR.

EDIT: Hint: who's in F1 and who isn't? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭ramanujan

Porsche has already been stomped on by the relatively low tech GTR. It'll be a whitewash with the LF-A.

I reconsidered my initial response after reading a few articles on the LF A.

However, this question has already been answered
    http://www.worldcarfans.com/9080131.016/porsche-911-best-automobile-in-the-world

Also with our technology ever improving there becomes a point at which you have to ask when is enough enough. Having never driven a GTR I can only go by what I read, but it must be doing an awful lot of the work for you. Steering, throttle adjustment, etc etc, its not a light car. And I like driving. I like being fast too, but not if it takes away the importance of my inputs.

With this in mind, my revised best car in ze vorld

993gt2black.jpg

You could have fooled me
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Back to the OP's question. The best car in the world used to be the Fiat Multipla diesel. It's been edged out by the Ford S-Max, but maybe Fiat can regain the title with the next Multipla.

Most of the yokes recommended here so far are just toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Zube wrote: »
    Back to the OP's question. The best car in the world used to be the Fiat Multipla diesel. It's been edged out by the Ford S-Max, but maybe Fiat can regain the title with the next Multipla.

Most of the yokes recommended here so far are just toys.

Lads, lads , lads, people carriers are not cars, they are vans with windows.

The best car in the world cannot be a van! Don't even get me started in saying that ANY people carrier is good to look at! I accept that they have a place on our roads but not on a "best car in the world" thread.

Seriously, the F1 isn't a car, it's a toy. I'd need two to bring the family, and a van to follow with the gear and dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

Sorry dude. Porsche is a has-been. Pretty much everyone accepts that the LF-A will be a notch above the GTR.

EDIT: Hint: who's in F1 and who isn't? ;)

I usually share your opinion in most things jap, but you're going too far now!
    Porsche is not a has been. That's a silly statement. And if you're looking at F1 then Renault are better than Toyota, so maybe we should be driving those! That doesn't begin to mention BMW, Ferrari and McLaren!
    And saying the GTR is relatively low tech is also very wrong! The R33 GTR was rated the most high tech car in production when it was launched, more so the R34! The R35 isn't gone backwards!

Anyway, the best car in the world is the Veyron. James May drove it easily and comfortably at 253mph. That's how competent it is.

Biro wrote: »
    I usually share your opinion in most things jap, but you're going too far now!
    Porsche is not a has been. That's a silly statement.
    It was a bit of a silly statement, but in the contexct of the GTR, Porsche has nothing quicker.
    Biro wrote:
    And saying the GTR is relatively low tech is also very wrong! The R33 GTR was rated the most high tech car in production when it was launched, more so the R34! The R35 isn't gone backwards!
    Ok, I know it has all sorts of electronics, but it's a simple V6 twin turbo. Otoh the LF-A has a screaming V10 ala F1.
    Biro wrote:
    Anyway, the best car in the world is the Veyron. James May drove it easily and comfortably at 253mph. That's how competent it is.
    Yes it is, but in reality you can't buy one. The GTR is a $70,000 car and has been nicknamed "baby Veyron".
    080325_2.jpg

Clarkson reviewed the GT-R in yesterdays Times and he was inpressed. Not sure if you can say it the best car in the world as he siad its out of this world. Having said that I think I would like to own one and I am a German car fan.

Closing comments
    "This, then, is an extraordinary car, quite unlike anything I’ve driven before. You might expect it, with all its yaw sensors and its G readout on the dash, to feel like a laptop. Or you might expect, with all that heavy engineering, for it to feel like a road-going racer. But it is neither of these things. It certainly doesn’t feel like it could do a 7.29minute lap of the Ring. Even though I’ve seen a film of it doing just that.

I dare say that if Michael Schumacher were to find himself in the eye of an Arctic blizzard, escaping from an exploding volcano, he might discover 10% of this car’s abilities. But you? Me? Here? Forget it.

Nissan, then, has done something odd. It has built a car for a time and a place and a species that simply don’t exist."

Article Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

traco wrote: »
    Clarkson reviewed the GT-R in yesterdays Times and he was inpressed. Not sure if you can say it the best car in the world as he siad its out of this world. Having said that I think I would like to own one and I am a German car fan.

Clarkson is a serious bell end, Top Gear is about entertainment, not reviewing motors.

080325_2.jpg

The headline overstates the test results. The actual article concludes that if what your after is A to B speed, the GTR is your machine, but that the Audi R8 is nicer to drive and the BMW M3 more fun on road and track.