Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WSOP Discussion Thread

• 06-06-2008 8:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭

The 10k mixed event has a sick final 2 tables. Durrr chip leader. 10 different games being played.

From pokernews:

Table 46:

Seat 1: Lee Watkinson 120,000
    Seat 2: Chris Gentile 73,000
    Seat 3: Sam Farha 360,000
    Seat 4: Matt Glantz 560,000
    Seat 5: Eli Elezra 221,000
    Seat 6: Gus Hansen 255,000
    Seat 7: Johnny Chan 180,000
    Seat 8: Michael DeMichele 150,000

Table 47:

Seat 1: James Mackey 130,000
    Seat 2: Ali Eslami 210,000
    Seat 3: David Oppenheim 235,000
    Seat 4: Anthony Rivera 130,000
    Seat 5: Tom Schneider 235,000
    Seat 6: Jeff Madsen 190,000
    Seat 7: Amnon Filippi 18,000
    Seat 8: Tom Dwan 620,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Oppenheim has a real chance in this, Dwan got it in with a bag of spanners 3 ways ion PLO earlier in the game and scooped so he is lucky tobe in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

lol

gl to valor itm in event 9

lol

care to expand
    gl to valor itm in event 9

says who? not listed on pokernews? fair play if he is.

care to expand

says who? not listed on pokernews? fair play if he is.

no

says me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,450 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Credit to Gus Hansen, its his first event and he has been up there since the start of this. I ended up reading his blog as I was wondering wtf was going on when he didn't play any of the first few events, but in his blog he said he was concentrating on the bigger events and that this one would be his first. I fancy durrrr, but James 'mig.com' Mackey is still in there as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Oppenheim has a real chance in this, Dwan got it in with a bag of spanners 3 ways ion PLO earlier in the game and scooped so he is lucky tobe in the game.

Durr got his money in okay the hand you are talking about. I'm not saying it wasn't a bag of spanners but don't make it sound like he played like an idiot or else we'll have Nicky back claiming Dave Callaghan is now 1000 times better than him at Omaha. It's really impossible to say who will win as how much do any of us know about the strengths and weaknesses of the players on all those games. Though I think Durr is the most talented. I'd love to watch it live.

I'm finding myself far more interested in the WSOP this year than I thought I would be, is it just be or are more of the good players making it really deep so far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

hotspur wrote: »
    Durr got his money in okay the hand you are talking about. I'm not saying it wasn't a bag of spanners but don't make it sound like he played like an idiot or else we'll have Nicky back claiming Dave Callaghan is now 1000 times better than him at Omaha. It's really impossible to say who will win as how much do any of us know about the strengths and weaknesses of the players on all those games. Though I think Durr is the most talented. I'd love to watch it live.

I'm finding myself far more interested in the WSOP this year than I thought I would be, is it just be or are more of the good players making it really deep so far?

5789ss vs KK67ss vs AAT2 rainbow
    "I think my equity is good there."

Its okay if he has a mountain of chips.

Updated Chip Counts
    Matt Glantz 610,000
    James Mackey 500,000
    Gus Hansen 445,000
    Michael DeMichele 360,000
    Sam Farha 360,000
    David Oppenheim 280,000
    Ali Eslami 240,000
    Anthony Rivera 235,000
    Tom Dwan 225,000
    Jeff Madsen 195,000
    Eli Elezra 180,000
    Tom Schneider 110,000

Hansen seems to be winning alot of pots.

Killme00 wrote: »
    5789ss vs KK67ss vs AAT2 rainbow
    "I think my equity is good there."

Its okay if he has a mountain of chips.

im pretty sure he was all in on this hand

Hand Pot equity Wins Ties
    AAT2 40.67% 230,531 0
    KhK6h7 25.83% 144,969 2,867
    5d7d89 33.50% 188,465 2,867

I guess its okay from a cash perspective because you can reload. And in a tournament i guess its okay too if you are gambling when shortstacked rather than waiting for a big hand and not getting paid off.

stellar strat

Edit to add: I know its not great but im just trying to justify his actions.

1.Personal abuse is not allowed.
    2.Im pretty sure durrrr doesnt need you to justify his actions
    3.Im pretty sure durrrr doesnt use the Killme00 "lots of chips, gambool like ****.....Im a little low, I need a big hand you know" strategy

AAT2 40.67% 230,531 0
    KhK6h7 25.83% 144,969 2,867
    5d7d89 33.50% 188,465 2,867

I guess its okay from a cash perspective because you can reload. And in a tournament i guess its okay too if you are gambling when shortstacked rather than waiting for a big hand and not getting paid off.

Well I guess that should shut up bcb. Unless of course he wants to change sides.

1.Personal abuse is not allowed.
    2.Im pretty sure durrrr doesnt need you to justify his actions
    3.Im pretty sure durrrr doesnt use the Killme00 "lots of chips, gambool like ****.....Im a little low, I need a big hand you know" strategy

although 2 and 3 are correct. He didnt need to stick his chips in especially if he has an edge in the other games as he has shown for the past few levels.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well I guess that should shut up bcb. Unless of course he wants to change sides.

not really, it doesnt prove if durrrs play was -/+ev if u look at the equity of the hands when they are tabled. Its about how tight or narrow they ranges are. Durrr is one of the best players in the world if not the best so id feel confident in wagering a lot of money he had (?correctly?) narrowed theyre ranges down to AA/KK type hands. His hand had ample equity vs this narrow range to make it a profitable play.

like sum1 said in the 2+2 thread getting it in with KKxx there is far far worse than getting it in with durrrs hand.

there was similiar spot in a stinger plo vid on CR a little while back where he got it in with some random hand vs two guys who obv had AA. that would prob explain it a lil better

Action is reported as having been

"After a player raised the pot and Gus Hansen called, Tom "durrrr" Dwan thought for a while and then moved all in for 8,650 more. The original raiser made it 21,000 to go and Hansen called again. Three players took the flop, Dwan was all in."

It was also reported that Dwan had 10c 8d 7h 5d and not 9875 as reported by KillMe00 - ive taken it from pokernews but that might not be correct. im sure it kills a little more equity if it is as reported by pokernews, care to run numbers?

You're still a tool

although 2 and 3 are correct. He didnt need to stick his chips in especially if he has an edge in the other games as he has shown for the past few levels.

pretty sure thats banable.

yes you are right. I have seen the light. DURRR SHOULD HAVE WAITED FOR A BETTER SPOT!!!!!!!

Durrr is one of the best players in the world if not the best so id feel confident in wagering a lot of money he had (?correctly?) narrowed theyre ranges down to AA/KK type hands.

im not saying that his play is good or bad, but after a single raise and a call there is no way he could narrow their range to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

There were 16mins left in play for the day and he had 7k in chips and said he didn't fancy coming back tomorrow to play with only 7k, so seeing his opportunity to triple up with the equity to do it he went for it.

"After a player raised the pot and Gus Hansen called, Tom "durrrr" Dwan thought for a while and then moved all in for 8,650 more. The original raiser made it 21,000 to go and Hansen called again. Three players took the flop, Dwan was all in."

It was also reported that Dwan had 10c 8d 7h 5d and not 9875 as reported by KillMe00 - ive taken it from pokernews but that might not be correct. im sure it kills a little more equity if it is as reported by pokernews, care to run numbers?

AAT2 41.72% 231,831 0
    KKh6h7 26.61% 146,278 3,143
    Tc8d7h5d 31.68% 174,455 3,143

Rerun misread the hand, its still pretty close

LOL at Toolerments narrowing Hansesn range down to KK** or AA**

im not saying that his play is good or bad, but after a single raise and a call there is no way he could narrow their range to this.
    Sure he could. He might not be right. he prob had it a little wider like some qqkj hands or w/e. maybe the other guy was the biggest nit ever and only raised AA or KK maybe because gus had a facial tick that screamed KK. maybe he just reads souls. like i said the range he applied might not be correct but i doubt hes wrong about all that kind off poker stuff too often

also my indicating hes one of the best players wasnt to support the point he correctly narrowed down theyre range but that with the range he did narrow he knew it was a +ev play

LOL at Toolerments narrowing Hansesn range down to KK** or AA**

try reading better

its like having a debate with a 8 year old

My point is that you are constantly giving out about guys who play safe in tournaments and don't put their money. Here we have one of the most successful online plo/holdem cash players getting it in there and you are saying he is lucky to be still in. And it seems to me you are saying that he doesn't deserve to win it because of one hand. I would have thought that you would be wholeheartedly behind shoving in that spot.

try reading better

its like having a debate with a 8 year old
    id feel confident in wagering a lot of money he had (?correctly?) narrowed theyre ranges down to AA/KK type hands

Its pretty clear

PS you're a tool

Quit with the handbags. Pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase

My point is that you are constantly giving out about guys who play safe in tournaments and don't put their money. Here we have one of the most successful online plo/holdem cash players getting it in there and you are saying he is lucky to be still in. And it seems to me you are saying that he doesn't deserve to win it because of one hand. I would have thought that you would be wholeheartedly behind shoving in that spot.

wat? giving out about ppl playing safe? im the tightest player in the world ffs.

also, just cos he is gods gift to poker it doesnt mean that hands he plays are beyond discussion and scrutiny.

Its pretty clear

PS you're a tool

you are that dense?

you said lol at me for narrowing down hansens range to AAxx KKxx.

you quoted the post for me but ill just repeat it for you again

"id feel confident in wagering a lot of money he had (?correctly?) narrowed theyre ranges down to AA/KK type hands"

plz point out where i narrowed down theyre ranges..........

like an 8 year old and not a very bright one at that

wat? giving out about ppl playing safe? im the tightest player in the world ffs.

also, just cos he is gods gift to poker it doesnt mean that hands he plays are beyond discussion and scrutiny.

Ok, what I mean is that you are always on the 'math rules' side of things, well it seems that way to me from reading a lot of your strat posts. So I presume that you are willing to shove your stack in this spot given the equity you are getting and your stack size in relation to avg. stack/blinds.

you are that dense?

you said lol at me for narrowing down hansens range to AAxx KKxx.

you quoted the post for me but ill just repeat it for you again

"id feel confident in wagering a lot of money he had (?correctly?) narrowed theyre ranges down to AA/KK type hands"

plz point out where i narrowed down theyre ranges..........

like an 8 year old and not a very bright one at that

. If you feel confident that anybody had narrowed down Gus Hansens range to AA** or KK** preflop, then you are a not very good at narrowing peoples ranges.

Ok you fkucking gimp. If you feel confident that anybody had narrowed down Gus Hansens range to AA** or KK** preflop, then you are a tool.

And you seem to like the 8 year old line, is there a reason for this?

Hey lads, why not move this to the bbv section, the two of you are heading for a week off if you keep it here methinks.

Ok, what I mean is that you are always on the 'math rules' side of things, well it seems that way to me from reading a lot of your strat posts. So I presume that you are willing to shove your stack in this spot given the equity you are getting and your stack size in relation to avg. stack/blinds.

im in the soul reading camp, me and Kenny Tran, brothers.

in truth im pretty sure i shove here also, but that doesnt mean im not shoving in the knowledge that i may well be taking the worst of it, end of play for the day, short stacked etc.. Id prefer to be better connected or have two suits tho.

For everyone who says oh he had AA or KK type hand why cant he have run down hands that have our equity in bits? Durr pretty much got it into the middle in the best shape he could possibly be in. J1098 / 10986 and similar rundown hands if turned over by one of the players probably close to halve our equity. Anyway there are too many variables 3 handed.

I thought this would finish when they got down to 9, but they are still going. Are they playing to a finish or what? Matt Glantz 865000 James Mackey 800000 Tom Dwan 560000 Michael DeMichele 480000 Sam Farha 370000 Eli Elezra 360000 Anthony Rivera 220000 David Oppenheim 125000 Jeff Madsen 120000

Hey lads, why not move this to the bbv section, the two of you are heading for a week off if you keep it here methinks.
    I wont be.
    I have tried to have a debate without calling people ****ing gimps and insinuating they like 8 year olds. Witty as all that it is I dont find it an adequate way of proving my point or in his case lack of one.

I thought this would finish when they got down to 9, but they are still going. Are they playing to a finish or what? Matt Glantz 865000 James Mackey 800000 Tom Dwan 560000 Michael DeMichele 480000 Sam Farha 370000 Eli Elezra 360000 Anthony Rivera 220000 David Oppenheim 125000 Jeff Madsen 120000

Probably playing down to 8 handed for the stud games

They are playing down to 8 and then thats it till tomorrow

stud games - max 8 players

im in the soul reading camp, me and Kenny Tran, brothers.

in truth im pretty sure i shove here also, but that doesnt mean im not shoving in the knowledge that i may well be taking the worst of it, end of play for the day, short stacked etc.. Id prefer to be better connected or have two suits tho.

For everyone who says oh he had AA or KK type hand why cant he have run down hands that have our equity in bits? Durr pretty much got it into the middle in the best shape he could possibly be in. J1098 / 10986 and similar rundown hands if turned over by one of the players probably close to halve our equity. Anyway there are too many variables 3 handed.

Fair enough, Oh and you know Anthony Young is over there and cashed already. He told me he loves playing with KT, reckons you always have a chance to get back in the game if he is at your table.
    He played two events so far, one cash, did not do so well in the omaha hi/lo event.

stud games - max 8 players

Nice one. Where is my head at?:rolleyes:

I have edited all my posts to remove any references where i call holloerments stuff [mod edit: changed last few words to stuff]

I have edited all my posts to remove any references where i call holloerments a fcucking gimp or a tool
    lmfao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

OK enough of the handbags, I don't have time to read through all the edited posts that have been reported to see what is bannable etc.

But I'll have a look through them later and see what needs to be done, if anything. However, if either of you want to make my job easier just continue the handbags after this post and I'll just ban you for ignoring a mod direction.

Keep the thread on topic from here.

Thank you.

Killme00,

You have about an hour to change your sig or I'll ban you from Poker and report it to an smod and get them to edit it for you, with whatever wider implications they deem appropriate.

Ste05

Ste05 wrote: »
    OK enough of the handbags, I don't have time to read through all the edited posts that have been reported to see what is bannable etc.

But I'll have a look through them later and see what needs to be done, if anything. However, if either of you want to make my job easier just continue the handbags after this post and I'll just ban you for ignoring a mod direction.

Keep the thread on topic from here.

Thank you.

Killme00,

You have about an hour to change your sig or I'll ban you from Poker and report it to an smod and get them to edit it for you, with whatever wider implications they deem appropriate.

Ste05

Sig changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Sig changed
    Remove it completely please.

Also, banned for a 3 days for personal abuse, I read through your edited posts and it's pretty clear they were personally abusive. Because you edited your posts I've reduced the ban from a week, but you still alluded to it in post #42 and obviously in your sig.

If you don't change your sig I'll increase the ban to a week and have an smod change it for you.

Ste05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

...reporting posts = LOL

is Valor really itm in vegas?? gl to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Is the WSOP coverage of the final tables on the website free or do you have to pay??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

mdwexford wrote: »
    Is the WSOP coverage of the final tables on the website free or do you have to pay??

i think they're free apart from the main event..thats how it was last year

as regards the durrr/hansen hand: there wasn't that long left before the end of day one and he had 7k in chips and spotted a good opportunity to triple up.. because as he said he didnt want to come back into day 2 with 7k..he obviously would prefer to triple up there or play a different event the next day.. it's not that hard to understand

bops wrote: »
    ...reporting posts = LOL

is Valor really itm in vegas?? gl to him

Just to clear things up bops, I did not repost any post here. Nothing to do with me. I just told them that this would inevitably happen if they kept it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

When you click on the espn 360 link it says not available in your region. Is it only yanks that can watch the live final table coverage??

edit - The service will be available across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, barring rights restrictions in certain territories. Countries currently blocked from the service are the UK, Ireland, Russia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. The service is also blocked in Italy until further notice.

Tossers, any links to scam around this crap?