Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wasters

• 31-05-2008 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭

Now that the good weather has arrived I can't help but notice the amount of scumbags, for want of a better phrase, who have emerged. I regularly play football in the local park and it is impossible not to notice the amount of people sitting around drinking who you can hear from the length of a football field away and who leave all their cans, bottles, takeaway packaging and any other paraphernalia around for someone else to pick up or injure themselves falling over.

The police did do a round of the park in a squad car alright in fairness to them, but what in all seriousness can be done? Any approach to these people would probably end up with verbal or physical abuse or being stabbed possibly. Short of going to extremes, I won't even mention some of the possible solutions here which some of my friends suggested, I dont see what can be done. The same applies to the boardwalk in the city. The only way I have actually seen the boardwalk clear of these folk is when the gardai brought a sniffer dog for a stroll down the boardwalk. It was the quickest exodus of the boardwalk I have ever seen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Charge money for using these places. Watch them disappear.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

EF wrote: »
    Short of going to extremes, I won't even mention some of the possible solutions here which some of my friends suggested, I dont see what can be done.
    You could ask to borrow the American Bush-Nazis from across the pond? They have no concerns for human rights and shoot first and ask questions later. Prob solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

Now that the good weather has arrived I can't help but notice the amount of scumbags, for want of a better phrase, who have emerged. I regularly play football in the local park and it is impossible not to notice the amount of people sitting around drinking who you can hear from the length of a football field away and who leave all their cans, bottles, takeaway packaging and any other paraphernalia around for someone else to pick up or injure themselves falling over.

The police did do a round of the park in a squad car alright in fairness to them, but what in all seriousness can be done? Any approach to these people would probably end up with verbal or physical abuse or being stabbed possibly. Short of going to extremes, I won't even mention some of the possible solutions here which some of my friends suggested, I dont see what can be done. The same applies to the boardwalk in the city. The only way I have actually seen the boardwalk clear of these folk is when the gardai brought a sniffer dog for a stroll down the boardwalk. It was the quickest exodus of the boardwalk I have ever seen :D

You could sort them out Braveheart style. Pour petrol all over the place where they sit th night before. Dont worry about lighting it though, one of them will just throw a cigarette away. Clear case of suicide - like the guy who stabbed his brother 12 times and killed him only got manslaughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just call Paul Kersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

These people exist purely to remind you to get off you ass in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

You could sort them out Braveheart style. Pour petrol all over the place where they sit th night before. Dont worry about lighting it though, one of them will just throw a cigarette away. Clear case of suicide - like the guy who stabbed his brother 12 times and killed him only got manslaughter.

Interesting idea, and with a suspended sentence and early release for good behaviour if I was caught it would be worth it.

I just cant understand what role they play in life. Exist to sit around all day and leave as negative a mark on society as possible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Cut off the dole.There's no reason on earth why able-bodied people get paid for staying in bed while people from China are willing to travel here and do the jobs these bastards feel beneath them.
    Cut off the dole and have free abortions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Degsy wrote: »
    Cut off the dole.There's no reason on earth why able-bodied people get paid for staying in bed while people from China are willing to travel here and do the jobs these bastards feel beneath them.

Yes, cut off the dole and give them a reason to steal and mug people, that'll work for society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

well able bodeid people on the dole pretty much are already robbing our tax money, and it still dont stop them from mugging people.
    GET A JOB PEOPLE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

How much money do people get on the dole? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

The police did do a round of the park in a squad car alright in fairness to them, but what in all seriousness can be done?
    IMO any blanket clamp-down measures will inevitably effect and annoy the average joe... just look at the anti-terrorism hysteria.
    In a way, I'm actually glad people can drink cans and eat take-aways in a public park and leave all their rubbish there... I'm not thrilled that they do, but I'll take that over being harassed by the gestapo every time I set foot outside the house.

I wouldn't dream of doing something like that myself, but it's not because of laws or the police, it's more about self-respect and respect for other people... and frankly I'd be embarrassed to carry on like that in public.
    Maybe we can never change people who've spent their whole lives being completely shameless and selfish... but I think it'd be fun to try.
    Yes, cut off the dole and give them a reason to steal and mug people, that'll work for society.
    I really don't want to find out what'd happen if most people were kicked off welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Kavinsky

I think most of them are too young to claim the dole.

FunkZ wrote: »

up to 200 quid a week.Its not bad going if you're not paying tax or a mortage and you get various allowances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭shantor

so funny and so true

Look at it like this.In the 1970's a tracksuit from Dunnes was cheaper than any other form of clothing,likewise a pair of crappy runnners.NOW the dirty bastards are wearing the same outfit that used to be a sign of poverty but its costing more than a three peice suit for a normal joe.
    http://www.champion.ie/
    Dirty,rotten,stinking scumbags CAN afford this amount of money for a pair of runners because the dole culture has made it desirable and the taxpayer has made it possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Why, so your taxes will pay for their dole. :pac::p:):eek::cool::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭shantor

scuzzers in ireland are more or less the worst in the world I reckon

if you go anywhere in nothern, western or eastern europe, your typical unemployed guy hangs around playing boules or looking for work, and on top of this has a healthy family life, dresses quite well or has some kind of hobby/pastime

he doesnt drink himself into a pile of drooling saliva and piss like Irish scumbags or walk around town looking like a zombie looking for a fix

I use to be proud of irish scuzzers, now I cant stand them

sometimes I really want to just take a scuzzer in Ireland and beat the sh*t out of him, just to make an example of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

The only way I have actually seen the boardwalk clear of these folk is when the gardai brought a sniffer dog for a stroll down the boardwalk. It was the quickest exodus of the boardwalk I have ever seen :D

Thats something i would have liked to see :)

Its a shame what your saying, when myself and my mates used to drink and sit outside we always put all the cans and rubbish in bags that people would have from the shop or takeaway. I would have thought its commen sence and curtisy to clean up after you, less mess = less hassle from residants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭BigglesMcGee

including rent allowance some can get nearly €20,000 a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Mr.S wrote: »
    i always notice loads of junkies when the sun is blazing for some reason, im sure their always there, but once the sun comes out, their in packs!

Reverse vampires ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

you got it in 1 my man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

UA is 197.50 a week

Having a kid or 2 makes a big difference too with the weekly wage for those less inclined to be willing to work. It is hard to stomach when some people are handed council houses while the taxpayers are struggling to pay mortgage repayments, those who are lucky enough to be able to afford a place to live of their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

Having a kid or 2 makes a big difference too with the weekly wage for those less inclined to be willing to work. It is hard to stomach when some people are handed council houses while the taxpayers are struggling to pay mortgage repayments, those who are lucky enough to be able to afford a place to live of their own

thats the single person rate i posted and to get a council gaff is virtually impossible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

User45701 wrote: »

Its a shame what your saying, when myself and my mates used to drink and sit outside we always put all the cans and rubbish in bags that people would have from the shop or takeaway. I would have thought its commen sence and curtisy to clean up after you, less mess = less hassle from residants

Thats what we used to do in Galway but because of some scum bags making a mess and giving people hassle we cant do it anymore or the gaurds take your drink if they see you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Abortions for some, miniture flags for others!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

I'm assuming they don't use suncream, if that's the case wait for global warming to kick in...
    They'll melt away soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

including rent allowance some can get nearly €20,000 a year

That's more than I've been told the average journalist income is!

[edit]Important because I'm most likely going to be a journo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

I cant wait for all the lads come over and kick the sh*t out of ya....funniest thing ever.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 sneezymonica

Is it politically incorrect to suggest bringing back chain gangs? ;)

but I guess that won't get them out of the parks and boardwalks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

back to op, the perception can be a fine line between a few mates out having a few tins sitting out in enjoying the sun/ and scumbags out leaving a mess and being a nuisance. i have often through the years gone out with friends to spend a nice saturday at the local forest park/scenic areas etc to have a few smokes/tinnies etc, but we always cleaned up after us (usually brought a rubbish bag along and cleaned any other rubbish around).

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Abortions for some, miniture flags for others!

We should legalise abortion here to cull these people. I also suggest raising the time limit of 24weeks to 24years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

You are all sooo like, Bush, Nazi hatemonger racists. These poor fellows, its not their fault they were brought up in poor, broken homes. They never had any opportunities for education or work.

All they need is a hug, and some more dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

You could ask to borrow the American Bush-Nazis from across the pond? They have no concerns for human rights and shoot first and ask questions later. Prob solved.

And i was beginning to like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

We should legalise abortion here to cull these people. I also suggest raising the time limit of 24weeks to 24years.

Its interesting that your name is "Oswald"
    Anyhoo, couldnt agree more

Gator wrote: »
    I cant wait for all the lads come over and kick the sh*t out of ya....funniest thing ever.....

:eek: One of the head honchos did attempt to make contact "Giz a shot of yer ball" before doing his bit for Irish tourism and having a chat with some tourists "Are yous from Italia?", "Have yiz got a sony ericsson phone, me battery is dead?. Then another of his mates joined him on his pride of his life 50cc moped. They couldnt fit the stereotype any better.

caoibhin wrote: »
    These poor fellows, its not their fault they were brought up in poor, broken homes. They never had any opportunities for education or work.

All they need is a hug, and some more dole.

Bless their cotton socks. The whole broken homes argument doesn't hold any sway with me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bless their cotton socks. The whole broken homes argument doesn't hold any sway with me.
    Technically speaking there are a lot of situations where births to single mothers are the majority. Like Limerick and mothers under 24.

But places like Iceland have up to 68% of births to unmarried mothers so it's not just that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

When you can stick your dole in your arm over the course of the weekend it means that you are basically reduced to going round stealing or mugging people to make up the other five days shortfall.

The payment is called unemployment assistance for a reason. It's supposed to assist you get another job. It's not supposed to be a fukin career.

Bring back workhouses ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Ahhhhhhhhh I do love the smell of stereotyping in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Ahhhhhhhhh I do love the smell of stereotyping in the morning!

Well if you think three in the afternoon is the morning then you're probably one of those wasters this threads about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭seahorse

patrickc wrote: »
    thats the single person rate i posted and to get a council gaff is virtually impossible...

How true. Anyone I've met in council housing waited upwards of ten years.

A single mother with 2 kids I know has her own 3 bed house in Bray. Council housing is not a subject I have a great knowledge on but I would chop the hand off anyone who offered me a pad like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

NOW the dirty bastards are wearing the same outfit that used to be a sign of poverty but its costing more than a three peice suit for a normal joe.

I have noticed that, wtf is up with tracksuits being so expensive? You'd swear they were finely crafted made from the finest materials and not mass produced crap.

Not everyone on the dole is an evil "poor and stupid" person though. We do love our stereotypes, the next class war is brewing methinks.

Now that the good weather has arrived I can't help but notice the amount of scumbags,

The great philosopher Travis Bickle once said "Someday a real rain will come and wash all this scum off the streets".

Finger's x-d it rains tomorrow then. Over to you Jean Byrne.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

I'm off knacker drinkin lads, chat yis later! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

A single mother with 2 kids I know has her own 3 bed house in Bray. Council housing is not a subject I have a great knowledge on but I would chop the hand off anyone who offered me a pad like that

I don't know a lot about the council house situation, however my neighbours single daughter, 23, I child, was given a council flat after making herself homeless (deliberately) and moving into a bed and breakfast. She was handed the keys within a week. I don't have any more details, but the mother now tells me that she wants a house....not buy one you understand, be given one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Yeah the good weather has brought out a sort of junkie convention outside the gates of the Croppy Acre park thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

In relation to the amount of work the rest of us do to earn our wages? There isnt a number high enough.

I really don't want to find out what'd happen if most people were kicked off welfare.

The money saved can be used to build a large concrete fileing cabinet with 6 x 6 cells for anyone who breaks the law. **** the pc do gooders and their demands for prisons to have the best of conditions. I'd gladly stick 2 fingers up to the international community (I'm sure with a little digging most have questionable areas of pratcice) and tell them to keep their noses out.

I know a few peope who have been in and out of young offenders instsutions and prisons and none have any issues with going back as it's a fairly handy number.

People are getting worse yet consequences of their actions are getting easier.

User45701 wrote: »
    Thats something i would have liked to see :)

Over the last couple of days I've seen 2 or 3 instances of chipper bags, cigarrettes etc being flung out the windows of new and newish cars and people just dropping McDonalds cups wherever they happen to be. There was also a guy running for the motor tax office in smithfield that decided his small bottle of orange juice was weighing him down so he put it on a railing as he was about to cross the road. Also notice well dressed office type workers (2 women) putting their empty coffee cups on walls in islandbridge as they walked by.God ofrbid they would have to carry them to a bin.

If the general , tax paying public are scumbags, good luck trying to get people who spend their days drinking and hanging out in parks to pick up after themselves.

kowloon wrote: »
    Not everyone on the dole is an evil "poor and stupid" person though. We do love our stereotypes, the next class war is brewing methinks.

Spend a mornign standing outside the labour exchange. It's not hard to pick out the lifers and seperate them from the genuine folks looking for jobs.

I really dont see why they arent handed a job (the wasters spending years on the dole ) , be it diggin ditches for the councel , sweepign streets, shop work or whatever. If they dont want it or get themselves sacked/leave,then just refuse to let them collect dole .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Dinter wrote: »
    Well if you think three in the afternoon is the morning then you're probably one of those wasters this threads about.
    All your posts are giving out about things.
    Why are you angry? Are you frustrated in some way?
    Don't bother answering I won't read it anyway.