Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How closely does the attendant follow you on a toilet break?

• 30-05-2008 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭

A weird question, but is it possible to go into the toilet seat section, close the door, and cheat?

I'm not thinking about it or anything, I was just wondering having read the smoking thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,481 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

it's a few years ago since i did it now but i remember the attendant just sat outside the toilet, took your name when you went and the time you entered/left the toilet. i'd imagine most students were fine but the scummers may have been scrutinised in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭leesmom

i did my lc in the institute 2 years ago,the attendants were fifth years and they stood outside the toilets.one person was caught with notes in the bin beside the toilet,however i was talkin to one of the guys that was an attendant and he told me he had heard a few people with notes in the loo but chose not to say anything considerin these people would fail the lc and not be able to sit a state exam for 10 years.he also said if the catch someone the school would pay them 20euro extra for each person

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Yuugib

but do they stand outside the cabin? or just outside the toilet in general?
    I cant "go" while somebody just outside listening :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭boobookitty

They shake it for you.

lol, from what I have heard they stamp your paper when you go and come back. So if there's a significant improvement in the quality of the answer they'll be suspicious.

*imagines someone on the toilet while an examiner watches*
    "I've been sitting on the toilet! All the livelong day..........."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭1huge1

What happens in our school is the people outside the door (usually TY girls and the odd boy) take down your number and time you left but since their not alowed follow you into the bathroom (even if there the same hender as you) I'd say it would be very easy to cheat if you had a mobile in your pocket

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭1huge1

They shake it for you.

lol, from what I have heard they stamp your paper when you go and come back. So if there's a significant improvement in the quality of the answer they'll be suspicious.

*imagines someone on the toilet while an examiner watches*
    "I've been sitting on the toilet! All the livelong day..........."
    That wont really work in a lot of exams because your paper could be all over the place like, jumping back to short questions after you come back or whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭meeka

Last year as an attendant I just went with the girls into the bathroom and waited - obviously not into the actual cubicle. No one tried to cheat, from what I saw. Well.. not with books, anyway - the examiner didn't seem to mind letting 2 or 3 out at the same time, and they'd be chatting away in the bathroom.. But yeah, it would have been pretty obvious had people been stashing notes/books in there.

However, for the guys (there was just three attendants for the LC, all of us were girls), their bathroom was just across the foyer where we were sitting, and was within eyeshot. After a couple of days of following them across the foyer and standing awkwardy outside the bathroom pointlessly, we just let them go without following them, so they could have been keeping books in there, no one checked.

Dunno what all this is about taking down people's names and noting times - we didn't do that, anyway. I guess the examiners inside might have.

I think it really depends on what school you're in, and how seriously they take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭fivetwenty

Wait - so it's TY's / 5th years that bring you to the toilet?

Surely that's a rubbish system, Just say it was your brother escorting you, as if he'd say anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

fivetwenty wrote: »

Yep well thats what happends in our school. Get 180 euro a week for it i think. When I did the J/C i remember the examiner wrote on the exam paper what time you went to the toilet at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

A weird question, but is it possible to go into the toilet seat section, close the door, and cheat?

I'm not thinking about it or anything, I was just wondering having read the smoking thread.

They actually follow you in and admire you as you take a dump on the throne. Its all good.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Well 4th or 5th years are usually the people who are acting as attendants, so they'd know the people.

They really won't say anything. I've heard of people who heard a 6th year saying to another "what's the answer to ____" etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

I was an attendant last year, I didn't follow anyone to the toilet at all because it was just around the corner, and we never had to take down numbers and times either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

...from what I have heard they stamp your paper when you go and come back. So if there's a significant improvement in the quality of the answer they'll be suspicious...

What happens is that you hand up all your work to the supervisor who then writes the time you left the exam hall on the front of your answer book with the reason for leaving. On return, the relevant time is then written on the front of the answer book and your work is returned to you. That's the official instructions given to the supervisor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭MaltEagle

What is the point of cheating? It's a bit of a waste of the last 2 years if you do, plus it's unethical.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Surely that's a rubbish system, Just say it was your brother escorting you, as if he'd say anything!

Well in my school I know for example, I'm in 5th year and a monitor (5th year prefect) and I wasn't asked to do the supervising because my bro is sitting the junior. Could have been an easy €500.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

They write a note on the paper just to note how often you go to the toilets, because it's at the discretion of the supervisor whether or not you are permitted to leave the exam. It's to keep track of how often and any suspicious patterns. I remember doing my LC last year the attendant couldn't be bothered following me to the jacks, easy as pie! I did it in the local community college, so they weren't too bothered about anything I did.

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

I did the attendant thing last year and just waited outside the bathroom door. Got a few people asking me for help about stuff and i obliged. It's all a bit of a joke really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Brooke01

Yuugib wrote: »
    but do they stand outside the cabin? or just outside the toilet in general?
    I cant "go" while somebody just outside listening :(

:D:)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Funniest story I ever read on this board was from 2 or 3 years ago when someone tried to write notes on their thighs before the exam, but when they got into the toilet they discovered that they had been sweating so much out of terror that the notes were gone and their legs were a funny light blue colour :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Timans

Well in my school I know for example, I'm in 5th year and a monitor (5th year prefect) and I wasn't asked to do the supervising because my bro is sitting the junior. Could have been an easy €500.:mad:

€500?

I did it last year and got €240. They pay you MINIMUM wage for under 18's. €5.41 an hour I think.

Although, the examiner who I was assigned to gave me a €60 tip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭nerd3000

They actually aren't strict at all nowadays. I know of a lad who was a in the middle of his Higher Maths exam & the examiner was giving him graph paper. They looked down and saw that he was using his OWN Log tables, despite the fact that nothing extra was written on them i.e notes or cheat aides, they disqualified his Leaving Cert.
    Last year in my school, A lad had all the physics formulae written on to the insert of the calculator, at the end the examiner caught him. He simply shoved his exam in the pile of exam papers and the examiner couldn't do anything because they didn't know his name/number
    go off scott free. A1 in Physics..How times have changed..

• Registered Users Posts: 22 addda

I was an attending last year and the toilets were checked for notes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

I had the misfortune of having a nose bleed in the middle of my leaving cert chemistry exam and had to wait 5 minutes for someone to accompany me out of the exam room and the cow stayed with me for the 25 minutes it took to sort it out, the called a doctor to me and she took his name down & everything before she let him into the room, my teachers weren't let near me, even our class mistress who was our English teacher wasn't let in and when my mother arrived in with a clean uniform for me to sit the rest of the paper it was searched before i was let change and the bitch didn't even want to let me go to the loo to change! Talk about paranoia! Its not like i was faking it!! Didn't get extra time at the end either though there was a note on the paper to explain that i had been absent 30 mins! Ah.. those were the days!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

angelfire9 wrote: »
    and the cow stayed with me for the 25 minutes it took to sort it out..... and the bitch didn't even want to let me go to the loo to change! Talk about paranoia! Its not like i was faking it!!

Wow, your not exactly generous to people who are following the rules! Would hate to see what you'd say if a garda stopped you on suspicion of something!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Dundhoone wrote: »
    Wow, your not exactly generous to people who are following the rules! Would hate to see what you'd say if a garda stopped you on suspicion of something!

Firstly, i was bleeding heavily (had op after LC to sort out nose problems) she spent 25 minutes driving me mad by telling me what to do and checking the towel the head had given me to make sure i was still bleeding, and giving out to me that i hadn't sorted out my health problems before the exams!!

As for the garda thing ironically my dad & my husband are both gardai and i'm currently in application process :cool:
    So the likelihood of being stopped on suspicion of something are fairly slim i'm pretty law abiding! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Timans wrote: »
    €500?

I did it last year and got €240. They pay you MINIMUM wage for under 18's. €5.41 an hour I think.

Yup is in or around that possibly €400.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Timans wrote: »
    €500?

it just depnds on how many hours/exams you do (how mant your school holds etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭SmashingPilot

I did it last year in my school and got about €360, I think. Its easy money but can get slightly boring.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Anyone know how much you get for reading for JC/LC candidates? I heard €50 an hour, but I don't know for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭pp_me129

U 18s minimum wage is 6.24 a hour