Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost tribe discovered in search for oil

• 30-05-2008 7:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

yeah but how much oil did they find?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

they look like ooompa loompas to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

How are they 'lost' tribes if they've been abusing fake tan for years?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

You've been Tango'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

How are they 'lost' tribes if they've been abusing fake tan for years?

Maybe they invented it and have been secretly making billions from it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

firing arrows!? obviously terrorists with st tropez tans. the americanos should go in there and liberate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

They look funny, pictures are really interesting I'd say the low flying plans fooking terrified them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's weird.....
    All the news articles talks about them like nearly extinct animals.

Why are they 'uncontacted'? Maybe they'd like the option to be brought into the 21st century. They are human after all.

It's weird.....
    All the news articles talks about them like nearly extinct animals.

Why are they 'uncontacted'? Maybe they'd like the option to be brought into the 21st century. They are human after all.

Or maybe the wouldn't, they haven't tried to leave there isolated spot so eh maybe we should just keep our 1000000 crappy tv channels and microwave ovens away from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

More oil \o/

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

More pictures from auntie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Rob_l wrote: »
    Or maybe the wouldn't, they haven't tried to leave there isolated spot so eh maybe we should just keep our 1000000 crappy tv channels and microwave ovens away from them

But should they be given the option rather than remain as uncontacted?

I'm just giving a different option. Maybe there is some young one sitting there dreaming about the plane and wanting to discover where it came from etc.

And I like my crappy 10000000 channels and microwave. Life would be much more of a pain in the balls if I had to actually hunt my food.

But should they be given the option rather than remain as uncontacted?

I'm just giving a different option. Maybe there is some young one sitting there dreaming about the plane and wanting to discover where it came from etc.

And I like my crappy 10000000 channels and microwave. Life would be much more of a pain in the balls if I had to actually hunt my food.

The impact on their way of life of contact being made is terminal for them, they cannot continue to exist such as they are afterwards, plus as many of those articles state contacting them greatly increase the chances of them contracting diseases they are not immune to as we are

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Just think when they introduce them to mobiles? "Hi hon! I'm going to be late for dinner." Coughs, and winks at the girl draped over him in the newly constructed pub. "The hunt is taking a bit longer than expected." Now that's progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

It's all a big hoax, it's just my cousin Miguel Mc Cracken and a few of his mates having a laugh.

-Funk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Napalm them,they sound dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/itn/20080530/twl-first-photos-of-uncontacted-tribe-41f21e0.html

and

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/itn/20080530/video/vwl-first-photos-of-uncontacted-tribe-15af341.html

Incredible to think that there are people out there we know nothing about with all this space exploration etc etc etc.

Alternativetly, is this just a group of hippies trying to scare away the multi-nationals from cutting down "their" forests??

What do youse think?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

KERPAL wrote: »
    What do youse think?

That you're a little late. :)

Linky

Simpsons did it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Somebody will hopefully send them some missionaries to convert them to Christ and save their eternal souls from hellfire.

Today must be a day for discovering hidden people in strange places:
    Man finds woman living in his closet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/itn/20080530/twl-first-photos-of-uncontacted-tribe-41f21e0.html

and

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/itn/20080530/video/vwl-first-photos-of-uncontacted-tribe-15af341.html

Incredible to think that there are people out there we know nothing about with all this space exploration etc etc etc.

Alternativetly, is this just a group of hippies trying to scare away the multi-nationals from cutting down "their" forests??

What do youse think?

There's plenty of superficial morons in this country who know even less about "space exploration etc"! Big Brother's starting next week, watch that for examples...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ponster wrote: »
    That you're a little late. :)

Linky

Awww sorry dont kill me please:D

Only if you find the jaded monkey before midnight....

Thread dies!

Probably some complicated eco-warrior plan to prevent multinationals from chopping the rainforests down........

Ye my bad people, close it mod.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Steve_o wrote: »
    Only if you find the jaded monkey before midnight....

Why would you want a tired monkey ?

Ponster wrote: »
    Why would you want a tired monkey ?

lol, oops it should say "Jade", but it matters not..... the plan will still work!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

They've probably sacrificed half their tribe to their gods to keep the big silver bird from returning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

Apocolypto?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

I would'nt be suprised if the eco-warriors staged it to save the forest , would explain why they don't want the people contacted. If it's genuine, drop a few hundred leaflets full of images of rest of the planet/humanity explaining to them visually whats going on and let them decide if they want to migrate .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

The tribes wouldn't surrvive out side of their habitat, things like flus colds and minor illness that we shake off would kill them.

I'm sure their happy were they are and they would detest our way of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Class responses, but can an arrow ever shoot down an oil-exploring plane?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Kavinsky

Madonna should adopt them all. They would like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Summon Sting..he'll know what to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

braziltribel33t.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dannn

here are some more pictures.

http://www.abcnews.go.com/Technology/popup?id=4962790&contentIndex=1&page=1&start=false

picture 4: their grand lodge is in disrepair. (top of photo)

picture 5: grand lodge on left in disrepair plus other roofs arent in that great of shape. they live in a rain forest and need good shelters.

picture 6: a white chair (upper left behind hut) lol. so much for no contact with the outside world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

why the hell are some of you even suggesting contact with them
    i do seriously hope you lot are joking

leave them alone they dont bother us so why should we bother them

i remember watching the news and the woman said the people who took the photos are the only people who know the location and aint gonna tell anyone
    and i thought WOOP there is justice in the world
    but how long will that last ..everyone bends at the sight of money

personally i think they should be left alone cuz they dont deserve the horrible life that we currently go through and i bet there happy not knowing whats going on outside there World

ffs

Im thinking its 90 percent an elaborate hoax by some hippies to "save" the rainforest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

personally i think they should be left alone cuz they dont deserve the horrible life that we currently go through
    Ah yes, the idylls of choosing which rock to crap under today, this one or that one. Or watching your wife and child die of malaria or tetanus. Or having to troop shoeless through the forest. Or of being alive at one of the most exciting times in human history, and being denied the opportunity to educate myself in these mysteries by some high handed beardo who watched too much star trek and thinks the prime directive represents a sane policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

At least these guys can now get sat dish TV and Broadband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Incredible to think that there are people out there we know nothing about with all this space exploration etc etc etc

Ever been to Leitrim :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Ah yes, the idylls of choosing which rock to crap under today, this one or that one. Or watching your wife and child die of malaria or tetanus. Or having to troop shoeless through the forest. Or of being alive at one of the most exciting times in human history, and being denied the opportunity to educate myself in these mysteries by some high handed beardo who watched too much star trek and thinks the prime directive represents a sane policy.

We're not talking about a stranded Paddy with a bulging belly, scared sh!tless of the hairy spiders, who just wants to get home to watch the match and grab a Chinese on the way. These people have perfectly adapted to their environment and have survived perfectly well up until now. I'm sure their life is a lot more fulfilling than the average 'civilised' persons. We can't sit still for 5 minutes or else we're bored. More stuff does not mean a better life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭wiredup

I suspect they have a lot to teach us.
    I hate the way some of you dumb twits think yourselves superior.

Which ever fool took those photos and told the rest of the world should be shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Im interested in knowing what they'd teach us that cant be already found out by observing Belmullet

Cianos wrote: »
    We're not talking about a stranded Paddy with a bulging belly, scared sh!tless of the hairy spiders, who just wants to get home to watch the match and grab a Chinese on the way. These people have perfectly adapted to their environment and have survived perfectly well up until now. I'm sure their life is a lot more fulfilling than the average 'civilised' persons. We can't sit still for 5 minutes or else we're bored. More stuff does not mean a better life.

Here, unless your all knowing God or something, how do you these people have perfectly adapted to their environment and have survived perfectly well up until now?
    Surely if they have been surviving for so long, there would be many more of them? no?
    I cannot believe people who might say the world we live in is not as good a place as their world, they dont know their world so thats a completely rubbished statement.
    Id love you to go up to the people who have lived through the majority of this countries history and tell them that todays life is terrible for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Because it's 2008 and they are still alive without adapting to the 'modern' way of life. Why are you arguing a point that Cianos didn't even create?

RasTa wrote: »
    Because it's 2008 and they are still alive without adapting to the 'modern' way of life. Why are you arguing a point that Cianos didn't even create?

My bad wrong quote. sorry Cianos, here im off to study bt ill put my points across later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

I vote we spy on them, make them unwitting stars of a tv show. And when it gets boring, introduce a new character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Maybe thats who they are, contestants on a failed Survivor spin off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

These people have perfectly adapted to their environment
    They are still living in an existence where even a scratch can lead to a lethal infection. Your concept of perfect and mine obviously differ. Having lived among tribal people similar in many ways to these, I can tell you that the notion of innocent savages living in a garden of eden is utter nonsense. Its a hard hand to mouth existence where even the most rudimentary of comforts are hard fought for, and ignorance leads to simple things having severe consequences.
    I'm sure their life is a lot more fulfilling than the average 'civilised' persons.
    Who the hell elected you spokesperson? By denying them even the opportunity to educate themselves, they are being done a much worse disservice.
    RasTa wrote: »
    Because it's 2008 and they are still alive without adapting to the 'modern' way of life.
    If "being alive" was the only qualifier for the human race, we'd still be swinging through the trees right now.