Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duncannon this weekend

• 29-05-2008 7:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭

Hey guys, just wanted to double check who will be at Duncannon this weekend?

Should be a great skirmishing weekend!
    And remember, bio bb's only!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Would love to but off to this place called Barcelona instead ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'll be there.

I'm actually taking my first ever bank holiday off work (I normally work bank holidays and get a day in lieu). And I was off work today, and the same goes for tomorrow. That's 5 days off work & having airsoft fun.

Life is good.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,612 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

corkairsoftshop.com will be running a stall there , so dont be shy about calling over and saying hello !

P.S - the bad news is we will be able to take credit cards onsite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

any one going from dublin or close leaving on saturday morning ,and got space for 1 with a bag ,let me know ,
    oh and i know the way all the way to the fort was there alst week

Gatling - i've been up the walls sorry.
    i will have that receiver with me all weekend.

paul was just going to email you ,was thinking it was stuck in a post depot somewhere ,grand il see you down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Frank the Manc

is this on for the whole weekend, has anyody got the times ect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

Gizmodeon wrote: »
    And remember, bio bb's only!
    Awww but its no fun shooting Hippies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

I'm likely to be down that way for a bit over the weekend with my girlfriend so I might pop in and have a look (doubt I'll get away with a quick skirmish though). Is there a website with details, maps, itinerary, etc anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

kevteljeur wrote: »
    I'm likely to be down that way for a bit over the weekend with my girlfriend so I might pop in and have a look (doubt I'll get away with a quick skirmish though). Is there a website with details, maps, itinerary, etc anywhere?

Just so people know, Duncannon is a military show and re-enactment event, there may or may not be a skirmish happening, but any skirmish that does take place will be a private game only after hours.

Anyone taking part in the the displays will not, under any circumstances, have BBs loaded in their AEG at the time of the display or at any other time during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Heading down Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Do peeps think it would be worth going to?

I saw pics of previous years and there did not seem to be a whole lot
    to the day apart from some trucks, guns and some people dressed up.
    Think there is only 80's re-enactors taking part on a back WWII event.

There are a few here but the pics look Odd a little dead or empty
    theres something just not right about them:
    http://www.duncannonfort.com/Re-enactment.htm

Was going to try and go but I kind of got the impression it would be one
    of those events that's advertised well but after going through hell and high water traveling and trying to get to the place and dragging along a girlfriend with no interest that it would be a bit of a let
    down once ya got there.

Last year on the RTE news "I think" had feature it, there was a bunch of guys
    dressed up as German Soldiers with all the bells and whistles. Thought it was
    funny watching one of them getting interviewed in front of the Camera with
    Iron Cross and everything on show.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭MAD Ozzie

Ok thats true, but its to be biger and better this year, with a load from the US, UK, and Gremany coming and a huge battle on the Sunday.
    Never know if you dont go. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

kdouglas wrote: »
    Just so people know, Duncannon is a military show and re-enactment event, there may or may not be a skirmish happening, but any skirmish that does take place will be a private game only after hours.

Anyone taking part in the the displays will not, under any circumstances, have BBs loaded in their AEG at the time of the display or at any other time during the day.

Thanks for the clarification - but I didn't expect an improvised skirmish by any means! I really was just thinking of taking a look at the show if I was in the area...

(I really need to add a 'tongue-in-cheek' indicator to my posts :-) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Ironbar

I will try to persuade the missus to go. Maybe a new pair of shoes will do....:D

bullets wrote: »
    Do peeps think it would be worth going to?

I saw pics of previous years and there did not seem to be a whole lot
    to the day apart from some trucks, guns and some people dressed up.
    Think there is only 80's re-enactors taking part on a back WWII event.

There are a few here but the pics look Odd a little dead or empty
    theres something just not right about them:
    http://www.duncannonfort.com/Re-enactment.htm

Was going to try and go but I kind of got the impression it would be one
    of those events that's advertised well but after going through hell and high water traveling and trying to get to the place and dragging along a girlfriend with no interest that it would be a bit of a let
    down once ya got there.

Last year on the RTE news "I think" had feature it, there was a bunch of guys
    dressed up as German Soldiers with all the bells and whistles. Thought it was
    funny watching one of them getting interviewed in front of the Camera with
    Iron Cross and everything on show.

~B

A lot of these events take publicity pics on 'press days' which are usually the day before it opens to the public. This was done for T4BB, which is why you didn't see the massive crowd packed like sardines in a can when you viewed the previous years pics on their website.

And you don't need a big turnout for it to be fun. Good weather, a beach 30 secs away, good company, some military/airsoft demo's, interesting equipment/vehicles/people & a great atmosphere....sounds good to me!

Opening Hours:
    June - September Daily 10am - 5.30pm
    Guided Tours Available:
    10:30am - 12:30pm - 2:00pm - 3:00pm - 4:30pm
    Admission:
    Adults - €5.00
    Children, Seniors - €3.00
    Family Groups - €12.00

anyone driving down tomorow morning pm me or email me ,please need a lift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

I might try to get down for this myself. Its either that or skirmish in Swords. The military enthusiast in me wants to go to Duncannon but the trigger finger is itchy. Decisions, decisions. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

heading down Sunday :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

I might head down sunday too., :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Real Steyr Dave

Hi lads, just saw this. I'm part of a Medieval re-enactment group in Cork and while I won't be there myself, if you're taking a break from skirmishing and wanna see how they did old school before guns have a look out for guys in chainmail and bashing each other about spears and swords.....
    Gets me going anyway!:D

have a good weekend there!

Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    I might try to get down for this myself. Its either that or skirmish in Swords. The military enthusiast in me wants to go to Duncannon but the trigger finger is itchy. Decisions, decisions. :cool:

i think pauls open monday anyway, what with the bank holiday and all., :D
    so hopefully duncannon sunday, hrta monday., sounds like a plan to me.,:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Unfortunately I have to work Monday :mad: But there is always Wednesday :D

Im gonna head down in a few minutes., right now im stuck listening to westlife whaling away in crokepark for their sound checks., help me!! :(

we've got a little world of our own...
    Well i wish they'd f00k off to that little world and not whinge outside my house.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

vtec wrote: »
    Im gonna head down in a few minutes., right now im stuck listening to westlife whaling away in crokepark for their sound checks., help me!! :(

we've got a little world of our own...
    Well i wish they'd f00k off to that little world and not whinge outside my house.,

*pats vtec on the back*

there, there its okay, you just dont appreciate great Irish

music :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

blay1 wrote: »
    *pats vtec on the back*

there, there its okay, you just dont appreciate great Irish

music :pac::pac::pac:

Since when do Westlife play Irish music ? Most of their stuff is written by a computer in the basement of their record company building :D

Shiva wrote: »
    Since when do Westlife play Irish music ? Most of their stuff is written by a computer in the basement of their record company building :D

they have songs wrtten for them? I thought they only ripped off other

peoples music with bad cover versions :pac:

jaysuz help me!
    their singing "dont blame it on sunshine, blame it on the boogie" now.,lol

EDIT: and "let me entertain you" robbie williams, i wonder if they have any songs that are actually theirs?

jaysuz help me!
    their singing "dont blame it on sunshine, blame it on the boogie" now.,lol

EDIT: and "let me entertain you" robbie williams, i wonder if they have any songs that are actually theirs?

:pac::pac::pac:

lol resale value is gone on that house :p

:pac::pac::pac:

lol resale value is gone on that house :p

nah, the a culchie would love to live here in the summer when all that GAA cr*p is on., :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

How did Duncannon go? Pics/reviews?

~B

I got some pics but i was there a bit late, Will add them to the airspoft group when i get a chance., :)
    Got some american woodland for "minja" too., :D

nah, the a culchie would love to live here in the summer when all that GAA cr*p is on., :D

not a fan of the oul gaelic i see :p

me neither :pac:

One from today,
    They are some hugeee wheels!,
    2542475451_f0bec21b25.jpg

Just pulled this off the camera,
    Sorry jonney, I cant resist., :D

2543356422_d6ed77ccdd.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

nice pics vtec
    pity I had to leave so early yesterday
    but the rest of the weekend was great
    my liver is currently getting serious payback
    and I'm sunburnt
    but this morning to have a real shower, was pure magic
    and being back in my warm bed :)

skirmishing in the fort itself was seriously good fun
    and lets just say Pete from Go Tactical has a sore arse due to my sniperin skills :D:D:D

Got seriously drenched yesterday and ended up being in normal clothes, or
    "urban camo" as we were calling it:p

sadly I made no videos this time.
    was having too much fun :D

Everyone that came down - thanks for a superb weekend, it was nice to have some airsofters around to offset all ze chermans.

i dont mind what people say about ye - youse are all awrigh in my book.
    let us know when you are coming down to cork , give plenty of notice to setup the traps i mean scenarios ,yes thats the one ,scenarios.

and time for ozzie to import the dangerous scorpions , spiders , rocks etc.

and johnnie - for the love of god wear the dublin jersey - just for the laugh.you can always cover it up with british DPM

Well that Duncannon event could have done with a lot more advertisement. Not exactly the huge turnout we would have hoped for, though it got very very busy at our tent at times. (Just imagine 2 of us trying to keep an eye on a dozen kids/teens + a few adults at the shooting range!)

As usual, we were quite popular. The poor (and really nice) paintball people didn't get too many visitors until after we shut down our free shooting range. Oh, and we found a new way to intergrate paintball with airsoft. If you place a paintball at the end of any AEG barrel, you turn it into a point-blank paintball shotgun. Paint splattered everywhere in a 120 degree radius for a few feet. :D

Cheers to the Cork Airsoft guys for loaning us a table for the sat/sun. It really helped us out. Sorry for the coffee stains on the table. (Note: leaving a cup of coffee on a display table of AEG's is just asking for trouble).

A big thanks to the other re-enacters who were so friendly and helpful (we borrowed everything from ramps to ladders to people)

I think that evening skirmish in the fort has hooked quite a few new airsofters....even though they got their collective arses kicked :p

I took a few pics and I'll add them to the pool later or tomorrow...well, at least the ones that aren't embarrassingly bad.

Overall, a good weekend for airsoft and for everyone involved (even those that turned up a day late...yes, I mean you Gatling). Only downside was that shop selling super-cheapsoft AEG's to kids. Far too many young kids running around with loaded LPG's (at €7 for a Mp7 with laser, kids could buy them with pocket money!). Though, I have to say, there were no reports of anyone being injured/shot with them, but a few signs had bb indents in them :mad:

Just imagine 2 of us trying to keep an eye on a dozen kids/teens + a few adults at the shooting range!

i dont need to imagine.
    if id a penny for everyone who wanted to field strip the steyr , i could have packed up and gone home on saturday night!!

31 pics added to the Irish Airsoft group on Flickr.

Bloody website is a pain to use when you've forgotten your userid, password & the email address you registered with :p

http://www.flickr.com/groups/irishairsoft/

Note: I am one of the worst photographers in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭JohnReisman

Rabbit, actually those are cool shots. A lot more balanced than all the photos I took. Anyway click here for the selection I have uploaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

not a fan of the oul gaelic i see :p

me neither :pac:

tut tut tut:p

Glad to see you survived your westlife ordeal vtec:D

Mweelrea wrote: »
    tut tut tut:p

Glad to see you survived your westlife ordeal vtec:D

I didnt, i just legged it down the country instead., :D
    was worth a boring drive.,lol

I didnt, i just legged it down the country instead., :D
    was worth a boring drive.,lol

lol can't blame ya for running, still though it could have been worse..
    It could have been boyzone :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Mweelrea wrote: »
    lol can't blame ya for running, still though it could have been worse..
    It could have been boyzone :eek:

They're not the same band ? How can you tell ?
    I thought Boyzone started getting old, put on wigs and renamed themselves !

Shiva wrote: »
    They're not the same band ? How can you tell ?
    I thought Boyzone started getting old, put on wigs and renamed themselves !

Lol the only way i can tell is that there's more people in boyzone.Other than that its pretty much the same.
    Give me a real band with real instruments anyday!:)

Boyzone were at Duncannon? OMG, I missed them. They be my heroes.

Everybody sing now...

I have a dream, a gun to buy
    To help me cope with anything
    If you see the wonder of a TM gun
    You can take the future even if you fail
    I believe in airsoft
    Something good in everything I see
    I believe in airsoft
    When I know the time is right to shoot
    I'll cross the stream - I have a dream

I have a dream, a fantasy
    To help me through reality