Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That annoying little arse bag on the coca-cola ad!!

• 28-05-2008 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭

Im assuming most of you have seen the coke ad where the little mincer sits down beside a chick at the bus stop. Starts pretending like a bottle of coke was ringing in that annoying Nokia ring tone and gives it to her. All smiles and what not. Just thinking what would actually happen if you did that to a girl at the bus stop in Dublin.

I'm guessing a nice face full of pepper spray and a stiletto impaling your scrotum.

Any other ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

the bottle would probably end up some where unpleasent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I mentioned this very topic to a few female friends of mine and most actually thought it would be lovely. I was dumbstruck :confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I'd give it to her (where's the evil smiley face?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Rohypnol's a hell of a drug!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Daftendirekt

I mentioned this very topic to a few female friends of mine and most actually thought it would be lovely. I was dumbstruck :confused:.

In theory it's lovely, in practice it's a face full of pepper spray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

theres alot of the same ads on the same subject.
    id say the gal would kick him up the balls if it was real or say piss off you pervert!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

I am of the female side of the jungle, and I'd be fairly smitten by the whole situation. The ad still makes me go 'Awwww'. It's shameful, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I think that ad is hilarious. You don't get many funny ads these days, but that one's quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

I like that ad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Phantasm wrote: »
    I am of the female side of the jungle, and I'd be fairly smitten by the whole situation. The ad still makes me go 'Awwww'. It's shameful, really.

me too, i think its really cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭celticwe

i would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

ffs women! get a life!

it's post #2000, i have to flame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I can't see the appeal TBH.

Just looks cheesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

What we dont see however , is that the girl is a psycho killer. Who takes the cola can from her admirer takes a sip and giggles. Then outta f*ckin nowhere she takes a knife slashes his neck and proceeds to feed on the meat inside.

Once finished she walks away from the bloody corpse and with crazed look on her face mumbling "ever day should have its golden moments".......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I like the advert.

Id kiss her on the lips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

I like the ad, always makes me smile! Although so did 'arse bag' in your title :D

snyper wrote: »
    I like the advert.

Id kiss her on the lips
    youd be lucky! the girl from the ad would slap yer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

The bird would take the Coke and fcuk off and you'd be left sitting there like the muppet you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

I think that ad is hilarious. You don't get many funny ads these days, but that one's quite good.

You ARE joking yourself aren't you??Hilarious??That ad??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

hunter164 wrote: »
    The bird would take the Coke and fcuk off and you'd be left sitting there like the muppet you are.

but she's waiting for the bus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Depending on which part of the city / which type of girl:
    "Are you foookinnnn mentullll or wha'?! Fook afff!" *girl reaches for knife*

"A bawttle of Coke? hawh! Daddy taught me never to smile for anything less than a Beemer." *girl reaches for knife*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

If the girl didn't like Coke, she'd dump the entire contents of that bottle over his head.
    If she liked Coke, she'd dump half of the contents of that bottle over his head and drink the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭who's yer one?

im a girl! i think the ad is really sweet, and the way to my heart is with caffeine (and sammiches), so its got that goin for it.BUT i think id be incredibly weirded out in reality .he'd get a polite 'uh yeah yr alright there thanks mate' and id get on the next bus that came along, wherever it was heading. its just one of those things that on tv is sweet, but the real world, a lot of these romantic gestures are creep/obsessive/stalker-like. (damn reality gets in the way of a ripping good time, i say!)

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

I think its sweet! Although if some guy did that to me in real life you'd be forgiven for thinking there was something wrong with him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

I'm a girl and i think the ad is a load of balls. I'd laugh at someone who did something like that, what a sap! looks like I'm in the minority though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭andyl222

I'm pretty sure that ad set the date rape awareness groups back about 2 years worth of work... I mean anything could be in that bottle, and subsequently her.... a cheesy ring tone joke and she leaves herself vulnerable to any sick pervert on a bench waiting for a bus. what a slut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

It would have been much funnier if his Coke was set to vibrate instead. After 5 seconds of him humming at her, she'd be convinced he was a perv.

I wonder how many gobshites have tried this since seeing the ad?

Karoma wrote: »

"A bawttle of Coke? hawh! Daddy taught me never to smile for anything less than a Beemer." *girl reaches for knife*
    lol

javaboy wrote: »
    It would have been much funnier if his Coke was set to vibrate instead. After 5 seconds of him humming at her, she'd be convinced he was a perv.

I wonder how many gobshites have tried this since seeing the ad?
    i think she'd like the vibrating though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭armada104

The ad is perilously close to being cheesy but manages to stay just on the right side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Maybe it says something about me and my relationship but i see the ad as a guy trying to be cute with his girlfriend ,probably after doing something wrong, by makin a cheesy joke. Thats what i do anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Or instead of it being cute....it could just be some weird guy on a bench showing signs of severe mental degradation. **ring tone noise** opens a bottle of hands it to girls "its for you!" Then he proceeds to take his phone out and have a few swigs out of it...with that refreshing "Ahhhhhh" afterward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Karoma wrote: »

lol,
    She could leave you with the coke but rob your phone with said knife....

I wonder would she have been as friendly if he'd made the crazy frog noise instead. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Ok so you take the coke off him, then what?

Your bus arrives and he jumps up and lumbers on with you. His big ugly mug gurning in concentration at you as he tries desperately to think of something to say. He pays first and ushers you upstairs to the back of an empty bus

You sit down and he crams his way in beside you. You can tell he's sitting unnecessarily close but you’re too polite to ask him too move.

He is humming the nokia tune over and over and starts getting louder and louder. His leg, twitching furiously, is pressed hard against your thigh.

You look desperately around the bus but noone is sitting upstairs near you.

"Drink your coke," he slurs and you can tell his gimlet eyes are undressing you, “Go on it’s lovely.”

“Em, thanks,” you reply, torn between hoping the bus doesn’t slow down before your stop or it does and somebody comes upstairs.

Anything to get this crazed lunatic away from you.

You take the cap off and he leans closer. You can hear his panting and the sharp hiss of his expectant breath. You know that his eyes are fixed determinedly on your neck.

You pretend to take a sip and smile shakily. “Oh, that was lovely, thank you,” you mutter and smile nervously.

“You’re my wife now,” he growls, as the knife comes flashing out.

OR

You’re so freaked out that, after being offered the coke, you hum the Nokia tune and pretend it’s your phone ringing so you can ditch him and his obvious weirdness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

If I was the dude in that ad, I'd open (answer) the bottle and it would just spray sticky fizzy coke everywhere.

I have no luck when it comes to **** like that.

I think you need to be black to do something like that anyway.
    A couple of whities from the west of Ireland just looks stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Annee

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Maybe it says something about me and my relationship but i see the ad as a guy trying to be cute with his girlfriend ,probably after doing something wrong, by makin a cheesy joke. Thats what i do anyway :D

That's exactly what I saw it as well! Never took it from the point of view that they were strangers.

I doubt she'd take it if they were.

DanGerMus wrote: »

Ohhhhh yeeeeaaahhh.
    Somebody ring coke and find out:

a) if he is in a relationship with this girl?
    b) what he did wrong that he's trying to make up for?
    c) what happened next?

I bet he knifed her and robbed her hairband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Popinjay

It's like all that nonsense in movies where the guy won't take no for an answer and spends the whole time coming up with vomit inducing sugary shite to win a girls heart.

The ladies sit and watch the movie and blubber about how romantic it is.
    Reality = Restraining order

Popinjay wrote: »
    It's like all that nonsense in movies where the guy won't take no for an answer and spends the whole time coming up with vomit inducing sugary shite to win a girls heart.

The ladies sit and watch the movie and blubber about how romantic it is.
    Reality = Restraining order

That recent rubbish with Jessica Alba and penguins is a perfect example.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

would you not be afraid the coke bottle was full of rohypnol? i would run away very fast

That recent rubbish with Jessica Alba and penguins is a perfect example.

Any film with a half naked Jessica Alba is not rubbish my friend.
    What I'd give for just 20 seconds with that woman, even less, 15 would probably do me.

irishbird wrote: »
    would you not be afraid the coke bottle was full of rohypnol? i would run away very fast

.......but then you'd miss your bus????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Heh, women eh?

I mean what's the real difference between what happens in the ad and when I buy young wans alcopops in exchange for a drunken n'n'out in the bushes later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Popinjay

Jessica Alba sleeps with penguins?

Hawt!

MikeySligo wrote: »
    Any film with a half naked Jessica Alba is not rubbish my friend.
    What I'd give for just 20 seconds with that woman, even less, 15 would probably do me.

Exactly. 20 seconds. Not a whole 90 minutes of her trying to act. Eye candy only thanks Jess. No talky.

:D:D LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

this is a gas thread..i could actually see that ad working on alot of women more so foreign women id say tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

In theory it's lovely, in practice it's a face full of pepper spray.
    Bingo. Women think they'd like this kind of impulsive romantic gesture but in fact they'd give your man the ice queen stare, walk off and tell all their mates about the weirdo they had the misfortune to meet at the bus stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

haha its lovely if they think the guy doing it is cute if its someguy there not attracted to they're freaked out!